HONG LEONG INDUSTRIES BHD

KLSE (MYR): HLIND (3301)

-0.02 (0.19%)

10.52 - 10.62

7 people like this.

2,553 comment(s). Last comment by lionel messi 3 days ago

x3mg33

133 posts

Posted by x3mg33 > 2022-01-29 22:36 | Report Abuse

check this link for motorcycle production and sales in SEA. does not show by brand but gives an idea on overall sales n production. MASAAM represents malaysia.

https://fami-motorcycle.org/databases/

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2022-02-07 15:45 | Report Abuse

I believe HLIND (Hong Leong Yamaha) like many other companies that produces branded and quality products pay higher than minimum wages to retain skill and productivity. So the impact should be minimal. Also, raising of minimal income domestically means more B40 can afford motorcycles which is their favourite choice of transportation. Therefore I think the positive impact should be higher than the negative impact.

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2022-02-07 15:46 | Report Abuse

As for the number of workers, I don't have the info but I don't think 15k is the right number. The actual number could be A LOT smaller.

Posted by i3lurker > 2022-02-07 20:12 | Report Abuse

number of employees is compulsory disclosure inside accounts

observatory

1,018 posts

Posted by observatory > 2022-02-10 19:15 | Report Abuse

Disposal by key shareholder. Although it's insignificant to its total 238 million shareholding, I wonder why.

https://www.bursamalaysia.com/market_information/announcements/company_announcement/announcement_details?ann_id=3232124

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2022-02-10 23:03 | Report Abuse

To lure you selling

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2022-02-16 11:18 | Report Abuse

As a result, labor intensive and low productivity business will be flushed out over time. Service sector including restaurants and hotels will be more challenging. Leaders in the manufacturing sector that produces excellent products that help the productivity of the B40 and M40 (domestic and export) such as home appliances, motorcycles, furniture etc. will remain profitable and continue to enjoy growth because they are able to not only pass the cost to the customers but increases the price moderately as the purchasing power of the lower classes improve globally.

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2022-02-16 11:22 | Report Abuse

The increase of minimum wages are always connected to very high exports. I believe government's faith and courage to increase the minimum wages mainly comes from the result of very good and sustainable export.

ykloh

508 posts

Posted by ykloh > 2022-02-16 23:51 | Report Abuse

the frequent upward adjustment of min wage level is due the weak ringgit and political expediency. govt looks good for raising the min wage level but if that is not accompanied with increase in productivity, industries and consumers will suffer.

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2022-02-18 18:46 | Report Abuse

Hi zzprozaz, it is a good result as long as sales is more than 40,000 units. Anything above that is excellent. This is expected because lots of people trying to avoid the sst by buying before 1st Jan 2022. If every month can maintain 41,500 then annual EPS should be quite satisfactory.

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2022-02-18 18:47 | Report Abuse

If Ajinomoto is priced at RM 15, HLIND should be priced about the same.

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2022-02-22 21:27 | Report Abuse

Hume is a seperate entity

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2022-02-24 10:47 | Report Abuse

Sales remain strong. Just that cost is high. The high cost will be soon transferred to the consumers.

zzprozaz

131 posts

Posted by zzprozaz > 2022-03-01 15:10 | Report Abuse

Sardin, do you know when will Hlind raise their ASP of yamaha motorcycle? Is it raised already?

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2022-03-04 15:02 | Report Abuse

@zzprozaz, raised already, more than enough to cover cost hike and prosperity tax and profit increase if monthly TIV maintain above 40,000.

zzprozaz

131 posts

Posted by zzprozaz > 2022-04-16 12:35 | Report Abuse

Sardin, where to know yamaha motorcycle ASP raised already? Any news?

Posted by stockraider > 2022-04-17 14:23 | Report Abuse

Min pay Rm 1500....more people can afford motor loh!

Good for HL Ind loh!

Posted by stockraider > 2022-04-17 14:24 | Report Abuse

Also Yen cheap...better margin for motorcycle loh!

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2022-04-22 18:12 | Report Abuse

That was the first time. 2nd time is this https://www.zigwheels.my/new-motorcycles/yamaha

DickyMe3

658 posts

Posted by DickyMe3 > 2022-06-08 21:22 |

RWG

1,051 posts

Posted by RWG > 2022-06-13 18:10 | Report Abuse

this counter look very stable, even klci drop like shit

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2022-06-30 15:00 | Report Abuse

Not surprising with defensive business and good dividend yield.

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2022-06-30 15:01 | Report Abuse

It is accumulating energy and momentum to revisit RM9 or higher. This may happen by end of Aug.

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2022-08-19 18:42 | Report Abuse

It has now happened for quite some time. With recent Q4 result I think the price will inch slowly towards RM 10 till the announcement of next quarter result. For the share price to grow to RM 10, it requires annual EPS of close to RM 1 and annual dividend that is close to 60 sen, in view of rising interest rate environment and trend.

Posted by Fabien _the efficient capital allocator > 2022-08-19 19:56 | Report Abuse

EPS at RM1, you are implying PE of 10x. HLI has always trade above 10x multiple because if you striped out their net cash (which is about 50% of market cap), it's ex-cash PER is less than 7x.

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2022-08-22 17:41 | Report Abuse

I'm trying to be conservative

alexnada

33 posts

Posted by alexnada > 2022-10-26 17:51 | Report Abuse

Anyone have any idea why the sudden jump? insider news?

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2022-11-14 22:07 | Report Abuse

Hi Alexnada, because it is going to show record high of quarterly revenue (quite sure) and EPS (>50% sure) in the quarterly report that is to be released soon. And looking at the share price pattern, I suspect someone is trying to put a ceiling in order to collect more tickets from impatient shareholders before the good news is finally released.

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2022-11-23 19:02 | Report Abuse

When the coming quarterly result is finally announced, the share price has a possibility to reach RM 10.

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2022-11-23 19:06 | Report Abuse

The sales was boomed by re-opening of Malaysia-Singapore borders. In mid-term future, the sales of motorcycles will be supported by rising car prices and B40's weaker affordability for car.

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2022-12-01 22:30 | Report Abuse

Floating tickets are drying up. Share price will be lifted up like the hungry alligator jumping out from the water.

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2023-01-05 10:44 | Report Abuse

High energy prices in Europe makes our tiles more competitive in international market. Don't forget that Italy and Spain are top 5 export countries in the world. They are both hit with high energy cost and yet their sales are intact, that shows how high is the demand.

Posted by lionel messi > 2023-01-06 16:33 | Report Abuse

Sardin, what was the above Nanyang article all about? I can't read chinese.

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2023-01-06 23:59 | Report Abuse

Hi Messi, just use Google translate. I think Google can translate better than I do. :)

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2023-01-07 00:02 | Report Abuse

Basically it says that record motorcycle sales (Malaysia) observed in 2022.

Posted by lionel messi > 2023-01-07 15:54 | Report Abuse

Thanks Sardin. Am just an uncle and very tech cacat. Don't know how to use Google translate. Notice you are very in tune with this counter. I love everything about this counter too. Fundamentally sound, high div, small cap, well managed, price relatively stable and wonderful prospect. Keep sharing important news. Current price level is quite value for money I think. Better yield than any fixed deposits. Cheers.

ykloh

508 posts

Posted by ykloh > 2023-01-09 00:04 | Report Abuse

highly illiquid

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2023-01-09 16:12 | Report Abuse

Hi Messi, according to the above news, 700,000 motors could have been sold in Malaysia in 2022. I think the real figure is above 680,000 or around that. In addition to that HLIND is planning to build 400 mil new porcelain plant (Guocera expansion) and complete it by end of 2024. I believe this will be funded internally and only costs a fraction of its net cash. Though HLIND did not disclose the IRR but I expect this to result in the increase of EPS by above 10 sen annually. Although main markets might be heading to recession but energy crisis in Europe for the present and coming years might be a golden opportunity for high energy consumption industry in Asia such as Malaysia which has the access to both the advanced technology to meet EU standard and cheaper energy prices.

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2023-01-09 16:26 | Report Abuse

Hi Ykloh, the price of this stock is very sensitive to the dividend amount. A small increase of dividend will cause the price to grow significantly. This is also partly due to its lower floating tickets (which is reflected by its lower trading volume also). One year later you might want to recall this.

Posted by lionel messi > 2023-01-09 17:03 | Report Abuse

Thanks Sardin, really great info. You are really an expert in this counter. I am hoping they will deckare a rights and bonus issue in the near future. More liquidity so that can buy more into it cheaper.

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2023-01-09 22:27 | Report Abuse

I feel that HLIND is led by management and owned by major shareholder who are focussing on the profitability and stability of the business only rather than market cap and liquidity of the share. I don't think they would even spend a night to think about bonus issue. But higher ordinary dividend and a better than history special dividend is something more likely to happen. The large pile of cash, I predict that it would be released in next 5 years either in the form of dividend or business expansion (e.g. the plan to expand Guocera). The reason is very simple, if you can't find a good investment opportunity even in a recession, why continuing holding the cash beyond the reasonable level? Other than that I actually hope one day Hong Leong Yamaha and Guocera can be listed seperately to maximize the total market cap. I just don't see the synergy and value to put motorcycle and tile business under the same group. It is currently being like that probably because Guocera is not big enough to be justifiable as a seperate listed company but this could be different when the RM 400 mil expansion takes place. It is about two times the current property, plant and equipment of the Group.

Posted by lionel messi > 2023-01-10 06:14 | Report Abuse

Great insights Sardin. Sounds logical and make a lot of sense. I vaguely remember few years back there were talks of HLI being taken private. Is this still likely to happen. I suspect it's very possible looking at the past modus operandi of Quek Leng Chan. Love to hear your views on this.

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2023-01-10 11:11 | Report Abuse

He could have thought of that when he was much younger. If he did recently, he had just lost a good opportunity to do so in last year when HLIND was hit by pandemic and stock price dip unreasonably. Now the industry is experiencing strong rebound. The earning in current fiscal year has a very good chance to break record high. It was hard and is only going to be harder to privatise this company. My personal view is that HLIND is still too small to worth his energy, time and patience to do so. I think he'd only pick the big game like Guoco eventhough he failed at last. At the age of 82, I don't think he has the time and need to do this either. The best choice is to cheer with minority shareholders and make everyone happy like the late Tan Sri Teh did.

Posted by lionel messi > 2023-01-10 12:26 | Report Abuse

Thanks Sardin. Although I don't fully concur with your views of their possible privatisation but nevertheless, taking the cue from your bullish earnings projection I better load up more of this counter. On hindsight one year down the road, should be a bargain at present value. Have a happy and prosperous CNY.

Posted by lionel messi > 2023-01-11 14:16 | Report Abuse

Sardin, who has the bigger market share? Boon Siew Honda or Hong Leong Yahama?

Sardin

797 posts

Posted by Sardin > 2023-01-12 18:06 | Report Abuse

In Malaysia, Yamaha has the biggest market share and it has been so for years.

Posted by lionel messi > 2023-01-13 09:03 | Report Abuse

Thanks Sardin for the valuable info.

Posted by stockraider > 2023-01-13 18:03 | Report Abuse

This is the best bluechip u can buy loh!