KECK SENG (M) BHD

KLSE (MYR): KSENG (3476)

+0.14 (2.42%)

5.82 - 5.92

8 people like this.

3,452 comment(s). Last comment by prudentinvestor 10 hours ago

Posted by stockoperator > 2014-05-04 20:32 | Report Abuse

My Dear Mr Prudent: That is Why after making so much money it is time Now we invest with Higher Law in mind. I am very slowly getting this idea through which is one of my main purpose in this forum. It is High time Now for each one of us to graduate from the school of just making money.

For example, I have to say No to Mr I very kind recommendation of Hap Seng above. Why? Because of its Business in credit financing which I could not agree upon as a beneficial Business to society as a whole. SAME goes to BAT/Resort/GENTIng/Btoto/Magnum of which I cant agree with their Business.

Posted by stockoperator > 2014-05-04 21:10 | Report Abuse

I would agree on Cefiro statement on dividend policy as a first step. I hope company will take the first step and we shall see how sincere is that.

cefiro22

383 posts

Posted by cefiro22 > 2014-05-04 22:22 | Report Abuse

Comments noted > Thanks...That's a good return on investment by any standard. Just wait patiently for the next move when this Company will re-structure it's business into two separate entities. It is an abnormally to continue listing it under "Industrial Products", which is not it's core business.

cefiro22

383 posts

Posted by cefiro22 > 2014-05-05 09:58 | Report Abuse

To "stockoperator"..re your posting May 4,...have to agree with what you say and to include Carlsberg/Guiness?.....worse of all stocks is....without pointing fingers if you go to this link>>
http://theintelligentcruiser.com/man-commits-suicide-after-losing-big-in-cruise-ship-casino/

tehtarik

35 posts

Posted by tehtarik > 2014-05-05 14:42 | Report Abuse

stockoperator - saya setuju dan tabik pendirian saudara - memang wajar kita melabur dengan niat yang tinggi dan baik. Kurang sangat orang yang berfikiran seperti saudara

HJey

1,368 posts

Posted by HJey > 2014-05-05 17:25 | Report Abuse

I will never walk away from alcohol, gambling & smoking. Bursa is one big casino

Posted by stockoperator > 2014-05-05 20:44 | Report Abuse

You have not suffered enough yet my friend.

Posted by stockoperator > 2014-05-06 13:20 | Report Abuse

It is true that you cant walk away for example fear and greed. Where else can you go as the world is inside you? Where else can you run as you always carry those fear and greed inside you right? Walking away is surely more ideology way of saying things in simple context.

cefiro22

383 posts

Posted by cefiro22 > 2014-05-07 09:24 | Report Abuse

To "stockoperator"...fear and greed are the two inherent characteristics in all human beings and when it comes to the stock markets, it depends on the individual how "to each his own" handles the situation. It looks like you are more of an investor than a trader. Keck Seng to me is not a trader's delight as it prefers to coast along at its own pace, quietly making money and hoarding it and not caring a damn how the minority shareholders feel. The least we can do is to attend the AGM and voice our displeasures and put forward constructive proposals as we have vented in this Forum. Alternatively, let us give our proxies to the Minority Shareholders Watch Group and request if they are prepared to raise our displeasure at the AGM on our behalf on why the Company are giving us such miserable returns in dividends.

Posted by stockoperator > 2014-05-07 13:58 | Report Abuse

As i said In financial market price volatility is true. 20-30% up or down is very normal. IS our mind prepared to accept that? IF not there is always fear and greed. So fear and greed is the OUTCOME of unprepared mental state. However In Long term all the emotion/includes Boom and Bust will be smoothed out and Good Business Value will prevail. (it explains voting machine and weighing machine right?)

Lets say Your KSeng, Ask:
1) What is the reason of Buying at the first place? Have I read enough past year Annual Report and understand its Business? Then you wont have to ask plantation or property? It is actually Manufacturing right?

Is the reason/Value still there from the time of Buying until NOW? (good corporate practice and governance is my core value as well but up to you as I cant force it through)

2)What if the price move up 20-30%? Or what if the price move down 20-30%?
IF you ever think that price will not move up or down 20-30% then we are at complacency or Unprepared mind; And when it happens we will be either be panic or too excited right?

Always have your emotional check once a while.

I never wish bad things to KSeng and i hope it will always give good return to those faithful ya.

iafx

4,632 posts

Posted by iafx > 2014-05-09 09:44 | Report Abuse

tahps, fareast r all $7+ ctrs, see how much latest div payout

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2014-05-09 16:47 | Report Abuse

This counter hasn't dropped low enough (below RM 6.50) or gone up high enough (above RM 7.50) for me to trade.

Posted by stockoperator > 2014-05-10 01:23 | Report Abuse

Basically Look out for medium sized company like K Seng (Not too Big like top 10 market cap/Nor Small Cap) a High quality company in a Growing Sector. Study the ten year chart make sure it has never drop more than 30% before.

Observe Price Consolidation/side way movement for at least 2 years and initiate a Buy. Price is reasonable and attractive at this point of time as price consolidates while earning keeps expanding and wait for price moving out of range. The Longer you wait the better it is. Meantime you enjoy the dividend. The down size risk is 30% which is of low probability and there is no preset upside gain.

If price moves in your favor of more than 30% and range of range most likely you are right and will be able to Hold the stock for very very long period of time as what you need to do is only Take profit of this Stock Only the price moves down more than 30% of its High (Surely you still have Profit). If this is indeed a High quality company you will be able to add on position along the way during its about 20% or so correction.

well, we really hope to Hold forever.

Posted by stockoperator > 2014-05-10 18:34 | Report Abuse

For example if KSeng consolidates in between Rm5.5 and RM6.5 for number of years then it is a Buy again.

Posted by stockoperator > 2014-05-11 11:47 | Report Abuse

So our objective is Wealth Building/TO BE Rich/OUT of Rat RACE Not Profit taking. Once objective is clear then we can understand the process is structured in such a way.

So much time has been spent on the whole process of identifying good business and holding on with the company in good time and bad time, hopefully we could build the wealth from the business NOT just the profit ya. As by taking the profit is like we are admitting the mistakes in the whole process.

Happy investing.

SUPERDADDY

400 posts

Posted by SUPERDADDY > 2014-05-12 12:46 | Report Abuse

Thx Leslie for sharing. A lot of weak holders have been shakened off by the slow and lethargic movements of its shares lately. For those on board, let us sail together with the momentum. Cheers!!!

eht6769

711 posts

Posted by eht6769 > 2014-05-16 16:56 | Report Abuse

Last minute up for 8 cent

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2014-05-16 17:28 | Report Abuse

eht6769, It wasn't last minute "push". Keck Seng's share price had already reached RM 7.12 more than one hour before the market closed. I think it may be speculative play again. Keck Seng should announce its latest quarterly results in about 10 days. Its performance is expected to be good.

eht6769

711 posts

Posted by eht6769 > 2014-05-19 16:29 | Report Abuse

low volume

eht6769

711 posts

Posted by eht6769 > 2014-05-19 16:39 | Report Abuse

move after QR ...

eht6769

711 posts

Posted by eht6769 > 2014-05-21 16:16 | Report Abuse

surely has good result coming quater....

limayseng

2,076 posts

Posted by limayseng > 2014-05-23 14:06 | Report Abuse

only trading at 1 lot , looks pathetic....n really sad.....

SUPERDADDY

400 posts

Posted by SUPERDADDY > 2014-05-26 10:42 | Report Abuse

Keck Seng Inv (HK) climbing higher today up HKD0.12 at HKD6.64. Even though its not directly related, it shows the type of confidence international investor have on the group of companies. Time will prove that our wait is not futile. Cheers!!!

eht6769

711 posts

Posted by eht6769 > 2014-05-26 11:21 | Report Abuse

Result will out today....hope has nice look

SUPERDADDY

400 posts

Posted by SUPERDADDY > 2014-05-26 11:41 | Report Abuse

The results either today or the next couple of days is expected to be within the normal range. Anything more shall be a small bonus for the group. No worry as the company has a solid foundation to move further ahead in near future. Cheers!!!

eht6769

711 posts

Posted by eht6769 > 2014-05-28 15:08 | Report Abuse

stable on rm7, waiting good result

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2014-05-28 18:14 | Report Abuse

Bad result. Might drop to RM 6.50 again.

ykloh

514 posts

Posted by ykloh > 2014-05-28 21:55 | Report Abuse

Keck Seng is just a so so company. It has some good assets but the management has done little to increase shareholder value. The Ho family is treating it like a privately owned company. Better returns can be had elsewhere.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2014-05-29 12:14 | Report Abuse

It appears that Keck Seng's management have become more and more proactive over the past few years. First, they disposed of Parkway Holdings shares and made a huge profit. Then they divested some of the company's listed investments and now acquired a hotel in New York for US$ 82 million. This is certainly much better than keeping money in banks and earn 1% interest a year. Property is still very reasonably priced in the US.

Posted by stockoperator > 2014-05-30 17:10 | Report Abuse

Investment is based on Hard Fact IF they are doing good job then people will come back and surely i will re-invest again and again. Never so unconsciously attached to the company. Our unconsciousness will create unnecessary attachment.

Posted by stockoperator > 2014-05-30 17:14 | Report Abuse

Selling good company if they are Not doing good Job is very hard. Buying once average company if they are doing good job is very hard as well.

Our High conscious mind rules supreme.

eht6769

711 posts

Posted by eht6769 > 2014-06-03 21:49 | Report Abuse

This is good news if kseng hv right invest and get good return

eht6769

711 posts

Posted by eht6769 > 2014-06-03 22:00 | Report Abuse

In future years ... At least select business increase chance for earning time

eht6769

711 posts

Posted by eht6769 > 2014-06-04 15:42 | Report Abuse

吉隆坡28日讯)激成(KSENG,3476,主板工业产品股)斥资逾2.6亿令吉购下美国纽约的万豪春季山丘酒店(Marriot Springhill Hotel)。

该公司向马交所报备,独资子公司KSG企业于昨日签署买卖合约,以8200万美元(约2亿6333万令吉)购下这家酒店。

万豪春季山丘酒店位于曼哈顿中城(Midtown),建筑屋龄仅为1年,酒店面积达7万1300平方尺,目前的住客率达88%。

激成指出,在完成资产收购后,公司负债权益比率将达12.3%。

Posted by stockoperator > 2014-06-05 13:51 | Report Abuse

It was wrong of me to comment on How business should be conducted and How shareholders should be treated.

Posted by leslieroycarter > 2014-06-05 14:22 | Report Abuse

AGM is coming, if u r not satisfied , do attend and give suggestions for co to move forward....

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2014-06-07 15:39 | Report Abuse

Those who bother to read in detail Keck Seng's latest annual report and compare it with the year before would have found out that major share holders (those holding above 100,000 shares each) had been net sellers of Keck Seng shares, selling almost 2 million shares though the 5 substantial share holders picked up a total of 100,000 shares. The total number of share holders also increased by 468.

Posted by leslieroycarter > 2014-06-10 11:25 | Report Abuse

dead counter if the same old mgt were to hold office again....

Posted by stockraider > 2014-06-10 12:05 | Report Abuse

Raider would like to give special advise to loyal kseng shareholder loh.....!!

I remember in 2002...raider's sifu....senior analyst....went to kseng agm....in johore bahru....and interacted....with kseng major shareholder....that time kseng was only rm 1.30 before bonus issue loh...!!

He requested...a fair reward...to loyal shareholder....and management reciprocrate.....and increase dividend payout...and SHORTLY few yrs declare a bonus as well....!!

THE REASONS, I USE THIS EXAMPLE....IF U NOT SATISFY....GO AND MEET THE MANAGEMENT....SOMETIME....THEY DO ANSWER YOUR CALL....!!
LIKE WHAT HAPPEN TO KSENG.....!!

YES....GO AND MEET KSENG...OWNER IN JB LOH....THEY R ACTUALLY NICE PEOPLE MAH.....!!

SUPERDADDY

400 posts

Posted by SUPERDADDY > 2014-06-10 14:00 | Report Abuse

Hello sifu Raiders, haven't heard from you for quite a while.Great to hear from you again. Myself still holding firmly to Kseng despite so many negative comments. Cheers to fellow holders!!!

cefiro22

383 posts

Posted by cefiro22 > 2014-06-11 09:57 | Report Abuse

Yes...stockraider, agree with your sound advice. Go to AGM, if cannot at least write to them officially to table your suggestions for discussion at the AGM, instead of only venting out our frustrations in this Forum. I have done that on one issue > that they fix a policy to set aside a more generous % of the profits towards dividend payout.

huat888

514 posts

Posted by huat888 > 2014-06-16 15:40 | Report Abuse

KSeng is flush with cash. But dividend peanut. past yrs 10 sen per FY. Latest the best is 10.5 sen.

SUPERDADDY

400 posts

Posted by SUPERDADDY > 2014-06-17 17:58 | Report Abuse

Jz be patient, I believe every holders shall be rewarded soon. Cheers!!!

thteh

106 posts

Posted by thteh > 2014-06-17 23:56 | Report Abuse

Hope the management is also reading this forum to know how retail investors feel.

eht6769

711 posts

Posted by eht6769 > 2014-06-25 11:26 | Report Abuse

How abt AGM detail, has body go acquiry something from management

Posted by Tan Siew Ting > 2014-06-26 17:58 | Report Abuse

Holland is the word for this counter......

SUPERDADDY

400 posts

Posted by SUPERDADDY > 2014-06-26 18:22 | Report Abuse

No worry Ms Tan, In fact Holland is doing pretty well at the World Cup. For this counter, we need to have plenty of patient. I've 20 years experience investing in this particular stock (in fact the first stock I invested). Cheers!!!

56,158 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2014-06-26 18:27 | Report Abuse

Superdaddy is correct. Over a longer term Keck Seng should do well. It has lands in Tg Puteri & Kong Kong. Pengerang Oil & Gas & Purported 3rd Iskandar Bridge Link should benefit KSeng.

If you have Extra Money Buy Mulpha now as Offer Price at 44.5 cts. I bought KSeng years back at only RM2.60.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2014-07-11 20:16 | Report Abuse

There could be another speculative play towards the end of next month just before Keck Seng announces its second quarter financial result and interim dividend.

Posted by leslieroycarter > 2014-07-17 09:39 | Report Abuse

another bumper dividend in August!