MALAYSIAN AIRLINE SYSTEM BHD

KLSE (MYR): MAS (3786)

37 people like this.

15,107 comment(s). Last comment by wallstreetrookie 2020-04-18 11:57

Mat Cendana

2,331 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-12-14 19:28 | Report Abuse

The capital reduction proposed: if one is holding 100,000 units now (which is of 1.00 par), will he still have 100,000 after it becomes 0.10 par? Or is there a share consolidation too as what had happened with others, like TimedotCom? Usually, in this kind of exercise, you'd end up with only one-tenth. But the share price will be adjusted upwards, of course, due to less shares floating around.

Posted by Matsaham Mashuk > 2012-12-14 20:02 | Report Abuse

Hmm..still downtrend.waiting for rebound(window dressing).cash is king..smile--)

chleong

596 posts

Posted by chleong > 2012-12-14 20:37 | Report Abuse

MC, the proposed rights issue, par value value reduction, share premium account reduction will not affect the AMOUNT of share you hold. there is no mentioning of share consolidation. like timedotcom share consolidation is cosmetic, not being label penny stock for big cap counter. anywhere MC just to ask what will happened if mas cw expired will it become zero or half sen.

Mat Cendana

2,331 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-12-15 00:57 | Report Abuse

If I'm not mistaken, after a CWs expiry, the holder either gets money in the form of the difference as per its ex. price and ratio OR nothing back if it fails to strike. That's how I understand it. In a way, it's somewhat fortunate that the holder doesn't have to fork out the difference when a CW doesn't strike:-)

Mat Cendana

2,331 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-12-15 01:14 | Report Abuse

A 3:2 rights means the investor will have more than twice what he already have now after subscribing, right? 100,000 now + 150,000 rights = 250,000. This is major and it's not surprising EPF is paring down its shares. I don't think it will sell all. But at the same time we don't know how many more shares it intends to sell. And what about the other substantial shareholders? If they start selling also then the price will slide further. Will it get down to 0.60? Not impossible. Everything depends on what the big boys' plans are.

chleong

596 posts

Posted by chleong > 2012-12-15 15:49 | Report Abuse

Thanks MC, very painful regretted never sell early. OK not only it is "major" it is lose lose situation to those holding on to MAS shares. Shareholder won't get anything except pumping in more money, unlike Junior Sukuk which is for fund raising they get guaranteed return. Shareholders have better choice rather than pumping money to MAS. On top of that did you ever see the CRITICAL SUPPORT for the MAS share price lately they allow it to go down even further. All this while who is supporting MAS share price. BASI BUSUK lagi BUSUK. Before that epf is supporting at 1.00 and selling to buyer at 1.01 to 1.03 range. what about NOW???
all the CW already almost around 50% premium (lesson learned from CW), yes mas-cn expiry period is attractive but if MAS share continue to remain stagnant say 0.85 plus economic slowdown, it will be doomsday, very risky MC. one more thing is that the maths for CW most critical adjustment lies with (R/S) 0.60 rights vs 0.85 share. if 0.60 vs 0.7 the adjustment will be 0.96 exercise price for MAS-CK (ex 1.05) & 0.914 for MAS-CN (ex 1.00).
In a more positive scenario, lately the sell down by epf WHO are these willing buyers collecting. ??? maybe they will pump it back??? i am not certain about it, "wait & see" until things get clear. well this is all my personal analysis at this juncture and i could be Wrong

Posted by tayguansong > 2012-12-15 21:02 | Report Abuse

lost about 4k in mas....bought at 85...sold at 78....maybe it's good thing also as now is 72.....forget the golden rule-NEVER CATCH A FALLING KNIFE..

ggecko

1,937 posts

Posted by ggecko > 2012-12-15 21:25 | Report Abuse

tayguansong, u'll make your 4K back thru other stocks eventually in the future, in the mean time, forget about your loss.. remember about the golden rule u just mentioned - never catch a falling knife.

chleong

596 posts

Posted by chleong > 2012-12-15 21:59 | Report Abuse

lost about 2K in MAS ... bought at 88.5 go down to 81.5 rebound back at 86.5 never cut loss at this moment. sold at 81.5. bought again at 82 sold at 82.5..... selling pressure to strong, have back out an wait.
lost quite a number of round in other counters this 2 months when profit taking is there, when they suddenly throw down, i play contra cos all my cash fully invested in slow but good potential counter. too slow till i have to sell at a loss to cash out for other uptrending counters. lesson learned "Cash is King" & "1 to 1/2 sen profit for contra play" ...... total lost 20K... total gain 30K still profitting 10K but now burn off more than 20K ....well not too bad for 9 Months Amateur Here. the WILL POWER to get BACK is there, lost a bit focus, confusion, regret & resentment set in. have to exercise more restrain & patience. i fighting the "emotion" FEAR of LOSS here

benson911

639 posts

Posted by benson911 > 2012-12-15 22:01 | Report Abuse

We as Malaysians waste lot of money for this lousy GLC company, wil never touch this stock even at RM0.1.

chleong

596 posts

Posted by chleong > 2012-12-15 22:08 | Report Abuse

yeah you are right, me being opportunistic hoping they will SUPPORT and rebound later which never came. MAS critical SUPPORT is GONE, thats is scary. they let you down or die holding

trader66

206 posts

Posted by trader66 > 2012-12-16 19:47 | Report Abuse

MAS is proposing a capital reduction of par value from RM1.00 to RM0.10, this is to write off its loss from its share premium. Furthermore its renouncement right issue may fix a share price of below its current price which analyst is speculating its price to be below 50 cents. Thus this may push its price lower. It is advisable to dispose and wait for a strong support to enter again

Pak Lah

197 posts

Posted by Pak Lah > 2012-12-16 19:53 | Report Abuse

The best indicator for a rebound is not the chart. Only start the buying when EPF stop the selling.

trader66

206 posts

Posted by trader66 > 2012-12-16 21:36 | Report Abuse

Agreed with Pak Lah. It seems EPF has initiated the selling pressure which was followed by most fund managers. Only us ignorant retailers jump to buy. Sigh! Sigh! Sigh!

hatifahs

221 posts

Posted by hatifahs > 2012-12-16 22:30 | Report Abuse

How can mas management proposed right issue without shareholder approval ,anybody knows about it,?

talk2pkc

2,300 posts

Posted by talk2pkc > 2012-12-16 22:34 | Report Abuse

Malaysia BOLEH lah ........ MAS is desperate and they will have little option but to put push thru Right issue , ma

Posted by devilnevercry > 2012-12-17 09:39 | Report Abuse

they got option. Daylight robbery even in ur dream

Posted by Matsaham Mashuk > 2012-12-17 10:36 | Report Abuse

Mmm..possible for rebound after sell-off last week.patience..smile--)

pilato

236 posts

Posted by pilato > 2012-12-17 13:09 | Report Abuse

Still downtrend

bathgel

265 posts

Posted by bathgel > 2012-12-17 14:13 | Report Abuse

0.65 to rebound

dliew888

93 posts

Posted by dliew888 > 2012-12-18 12:16 | Report Abuse

Seems well supported at 0.70 and selling is also subsiding. Rebound from here?

Posted by Joyce Lang > 2012-12-18 14:14 | Report Abuse

hopefully rebound..stuck long time ago..sigh

Hustle

3,615 posts

Posted by Hustle > 2012-12-18 15:05 | Report Abuse

wah want to sleep...drop fast2 lah wasting fking time only...

eric3311

234 posts

Posted by eric3311 > 2012-12-18 15:24 | Report Abuse

MAS drop AA drop, look like need to use yatch as the primary mode of transportation.

Hustle

3,615 posts

Posted by Hustle > 2012-12-18 16:15 | Report Abuse

Hehe should we invest MISC now :)

Mat Cendana

2,331 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-12-18 18:10 | Report Abuse

Looks like the selling by EPF especially isn't over yet. I'm with @Pak Lah - it doesn't matter what the technical charts say... oversold or not, if EPF (or fund managers) continue to sell, it will continue to drop. Regardless of MAS' problems, it's the *share price* that I'm interested in. Doesn't look like so at the moment but I feel there will be opportunities. The Reward-Risk will have to be justified first. At the moment, no one can say where's the support - "low" can become "lower".

hatifahs

221 posts

Posted by hatifahs > 2012-12-18 18:31 | Report Abuse

I think mas will aborted their right issue?Is it possible? and push the price back for election fund? I think not impossible in Msia boleh just a joke!

Hustle

3,615 posts

Posted by Hustle > 2012-12-18 19:29 | Report Abuse

If pakatan win may be he will do 20 to 1 capital restructuring hehe

trader66

206 posts

Posted by trader66 > 2012-12-18 23:51 | Report Abuse

Agreed with Mat Cendana and Bathgel which Mas may trade lower if it continues to keep silent to its details of capital reduction

dragonking

3,496 posts

Posted by dragonking > 2012-12-19 09:27 | Report Abuse

newbie here just bought mas, saw gravesone doji. I am still learning technical

Posted by Matsaham Mashuk > 2012-12-19 10:22 | Report Abuse

Mmm..possible for rebound.patience.nothing to loss..smile--)

Hustle

3,615 posts

Posted by Hustle > 2012-12-19 10:30 | Report Abuse

Yup,MAS already eat king cup sardines that rich with omega3,good for prevent heart attack :)

sheep

3,844 posts

Posted by sheep > 2012-12-19 10:34 | Report Abuse

going down ....rebound today?

Hustle

3,615 posts

Posted by Hustle > 2012-12-19 10:38 | Report Abuse

Friday may be today the weather not so bright...

dliew888

93 posts

Posted by dliew888 > 2012-12-19 11:23 | Report Abuse

RHB says limited downside on the stock as it has dropped 30% from the announcement of restructuring exercise. What do you guys recon? I think 0.655 is good entry as is very near its NTA.

Posted by KC Loh > 2012-12-19 14:02 | Report Abuse

Come down a bit more :)

http://thestarmobile.com/jsp/news/viewNews.jsp?newsID=275760&catID=2

trader66

206 posts

Posted by trader66 > 2012-12-19 14:22 | Report Abuse

Affin Research said it was neutral on the development and it maintained its earnings forecast.
"Share price has fallen to a low of 70 sen following the recent announcement of the capital raising exercise. Given the tough operating environment coupled with the group's financing risk for its huge capex programme, we maintain our SELL recommendation.
"We have lowered our target price of to 64 sen (from 85 sen previously) based on a price-to-net tangible asset multiple of 1.0 time on higher risk of more capital raising exercise," it explained.

trader66

206 posts

Posted by trader66 > 2012-12-19 14:25 | Report Abuse

Support will be at 64 cents as per research house. Now is not the bottom with down side trend another 5 to 7 cents. Be prudent

Mat Cendana

2,331 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-12-19 14:53 | Report Abuse

It's very tempting to jump in right now when you just compare the present price with the 0.80 it was at recently. But the fact that the 0.70 immediate support didn't hold is not encouraging and hints of more shedding to come. MAS simply must go back up to 0.70 today. If it fails to do so, then maybe we should just stand at the sidelines for the time being.

By the way, I'm going to take a risk with the CN. But it must be at 0.02. At this price I believe the downside risk is minimal. Expires 30/10/13 so I hope there's more than enough time for *something* to happen with MAS and pushing the warrant up again.

chleong

596 posts

Posted by chleong > 2012-12-19 16:58 | Report Abuse

after all my complain without support, at least support level at 0.68, 0.67. how long it can hold till it break?

hatifahs

221 posts

Posted by hatifahs > 2012-12-19 21:27 | Report Abuse

Tp by osk only 52 cent so now mas became third liner! Pls refer to osk report today.

Mat Cendana

2,331 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-12-20 06:50 | Report Abuse

On the same day as OSK's report, RHB and MIDF have also given TPs of 0.82 and 1.03 respectively. Notice the discrepancies here, which only goes to show that your guess is as good as any of these so-called experts and authorities.

From these three reports, in my opinion, the best one is from RHB. Not only does it mention the risks, it also took note of the fact that MAS' share price has gone down so much that a technical rebound looks imminent. Or so it does. But the problem is this 900-pound gorilla in the form of EPF - I wouldn't want to buy when these fellows are selling.

hatifahs

221 posts

Posted by hatifahs > 2012-12-20 07:42 | Report Abuse

I'm actualy not understand wat behind the story epf selling at this price?wat is epf agenda? Who is the buyer? Why just throw in the market? Unless like us small traders!

dliew888

93 posts

Posted by dliew888 > 2012-12-20 07:42 | Report Abuse

MC is right and we have no idea when the selling will stop despite of the stock is hugely oversold. It has been a week since the selldown and there is no sign of rebound. Best is keep watching and jump in to make a quick buck when it finally rebounds.

trader66

206 posts

Posted by trader66 > 2012-12-20 08:51 | Report Abuse

Chartist commented that it is still a down trend. Who is selling now ? EPF and fund houses are the culprit to its major drop. Its bottom is not yet reached, suggest to stay away till its rebound

eric3311

234 posts

Posted by eric3311 > 2012-12-20 10:12 | Report Abuse

semua turun EPF collect duit utk pilihanraya. KLSE become ATM machine now.

MCWONG

402 posts

Posted by MCWONG > 2012-12-20 12:22 | Report Abuse

Mean m.gov no money la start sell prot. wil keep drop

dliew888

93 posts

Posted by dliew888 > 2012-12-20 12:29 | Report Abuse

Ask Dr M to support lo with US$44b I think MAS can even hit RM5+

MCWONG

402 posts

Posted by MCWONG > 2012-12-20 12:43 | Report Abuse

hahaha Dr.M is kedekut la. In only never out.

Mat Cendana

2,331 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-12-20 15:04 | Report Abuse

Suddenly going up! Caught most people unaware.