MALAYSIAN AIRLINE SYSTEM BHD

KLSE (MYR): MAS (3786)

37 people like this.

15,107 comment(s). Last comment by wallstreetrookie 2020-04-18 11:57

Sohai

692 posts

Posted by Sohai > 2014-07-18 09:49 | Report Abuse

Cutloss

aunloke

974 posts

Posted by aunloke > 2014-07-18 09:51 | Report Abuse

MAS last 10 flight has been diverted from the conflict area why this ill fated flight was directed back to the conflict area. Who directed it ? May be KIEV should give the answer.

WTChia

35 posts

Posted by WTChia > 2014-07-18 09:52 | Report Abuse

Yap... Dun under estimate the change of effect MAS toward my stock market. If MAS down, market could be vanishing. Just imagine the debt hold by MAS? How about the Financial Depart who loan to MAS. If MAS down, financial sector could be the second follower and affected current politicians. As conclusion, govt can't let MAS down...(Just my personnel opinion). However, as a nation, I strongly feel that we should not fighting each other at this moment... we shall tight and united.

WTChia

35 posts

Posted by WTChia > 2014-07-18 09:53 | Report Abuse

Sorry... not my stock market...it is ours.

kelvinongbk

1,076 posts

Posted by kelvinongbk > 2014-07-18 09:58 | Report Abuse

Why was MAS flying over a conflict area when other Airlines are diverted...to save fuel? How much fuel is saved when now we have lost an airplane...295 lives...so sad...safety should be the 1st priority

zackboy

242 posts

Posted by zackboy > 2014-07-18 09:59 | Report Abuse

Putin's plane was a few minutes ahead of MH17, using the same route. Very bad luck. Could be Ukraine's missile too.

WTChia

35 posts

Posted by WTChia > 2014-07-18 10:00 | Report Abuse

Why should we run? Where can we go? We r still Malaysian... Stay tight and overcome the current situation.

caxton

74 posts

Posted by caxton > 2014-07-18 10:03 | Report Abuse

MAS still have assets to let Bank lelong, Bank still can recover the debts. But shareholders got nothing.

WTChia

35 posts

Posted by WTChia > 2014-07-18 10:04 | Report Abuse

No doubt... I have dump in even more xxk this morning. I dun hope for any return but hope for good shape of ours nation. May GOD blessing us... I could loss all the money but not the nation spirit.

sampool

634 posts

Posted by sampool > 2014-07-18 10:05 | Report Abuse

no wonder.

Posted by mastermarcus > 2014-07-18 10:06 | Report Abuse

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/07/17/ukraine-audio-malaysia-airlines-crash_n_5597452.html

Ukraine's state security agency, also known as S.B.U., released an edited version of the purported audio tapes between separatist rebels and Russian military intelligence to reporters in the wake of the crash.

"Just now, just now, a plane has been shot down," the man S.B.U. identified as Bezler says at the start of the recording, according to a HuffPost translation.

In a second conversation, which according to S.B.U. took place after rebels inspected the site of the crash, a man says that "the plane broke into pieces in the air." He adds later that they are "100 percent sure it's a civilian plane."

WTChia

35 posts

Posted by WTChia > 2014-07-18 10:07 | Report Abuse

Dun ppl believe there will always a sunny day after rain?

WTChia

35 posts

Posted by WTChia > 2014-07-18 10:09 | Report Abuse

We always able to earn back the wealth we loss but not the nation...

eric3311

234 posts

Posted by eric3311 > 2014-07-18 10:14 | Report Abuse

Don't catch a falling knife !

Melvin G

601 posts

Posted by Melvin G > 2014-07-18 10:19 | Report Abuse

Wow chia good for you. dump in more money to average down.. What a wise choice. You must be very very wisdom to invest in a company that making losses every quarter.

Unless Mas started to earn money, i see no future for the time being and you are just trying your luck for a rebounce.

sampool

634 posts

Posted by sampool > 2014-07-18 10:21 | Report Abuse

this mh17 is more serious then mh370 cases.. dun play play.

maya1301

660 posts

Posted by maya1301 > 2014-07-18 10:22 |

WTChia

35 posts

Posted by WTChia > 2014-07-18 10:26 | Report Abuse

I do make some in the market but not in MAS... I just thinking this is the time to support MAS (nation) now. I'm not asking anyone to join, but just dun fighting each other.

WTChia

35 posts

Posted by WTChia > 2014-07-18 10:27 | Report Abuse

I do donated some to charity as you mentioned..

zackboy

242 posts

Posted by zackboy > 2014-07-18 10:27 | Report Abuse

Considering the Lockerbie's case, Libya was willing to pay $2.7 billion. What are the odds that Russia will do that?

Posted by Beginner1989 > 2014-07-18 10:30 | Report Abuse

This is a good time to reenter or average your loss..

parker

829 posts

Posted by parker > 2014-07-18 10:30 | Report Abuse

what's the impact if MAS been privatized??

AdCool

3,861 posts

Posted by AdCool > 2014-07-18 10:33 | Report Abuse

This is not just a plane crash or accident or even involve only MAS. It could be a trigger point and boiling point of the tension between the West and Russia. It could spark a war if not being managed properly and carefully.

Then all counters in all markets would be doomed.

getrich

645 posts

Posted by getrich > 2014-07-18 10:33 | Report Abuse

with this second incident, i find it hard for MAS to recover. People might try to avoid MAS, sales might drop. Anyhow this is my personal opinion, see how thing goes from now.

WTChia

35 posts

Posted by WTChia > 2014-07-18 10:34 | Report Abuse

Thanks for the idea... Keep my word. If I do make some in MAS this round... I will donate all to the charity centre.

kclee

110 posts

Posted by kclee > 2014-07-18 10:34 | Report Abuse

WTChia, i respect you for donating to charity. But I have to point out that pouring your money into MAS is not a way to "save" the nation nor MAS. You are not doing it in any logical sense. Market place is a place not belong solely to the company. Once a company is listed it is PUBLIC LISTED. the money that u pour in or dump in has now become a fund for punter to play around with. the money that you pour and loss in MAS now might be the money those punter earn from the same counter. THINK before you act.

might as well you donate the money that u pour into MAS directly to the family of the passenger.

RIP.

sampool

634 posts

Posted by sampool > 2014-07-18 10:35 | Report Abuse

yes, war could spark... now see wat usa reaction.

badrul

6 posts

Posted by badrul > 2014-07-18 10:42 | Report Abuse

will buy on fear, will sell on greed.

Posted by Kian Leong Lim > 2014-07-18 10:47 | Report Abuse

Why didn't MAS steered its planes away from war hit zone like all the other airlines such as US airlines, SIA, and European airlines....As long as we Malaysians are not as good as we thought we are, we are going to suffer again and again! Not everything can be solved by having money alone.
But Thank YOu MAS anyway, for waiting taxpayers money and innocent lives. I think Hell is waiting for you if you still do not want to repent and start doing necessary things, you know
what I mean.....

Posted by Yong Chun Wah > 2014-07-18 10:50 | Report Abuse

fell to 18.5sen this morning, now recovering to 20.5sen, may be, khazanah is buying back more mas shares before announcing the privatisation of MAS very soon, really cant wait.... fingers crossed

tpchuayap

855 posts

Posted by tpchuayap > 2014-07-18 10:50 | Report Abuse

It is always easy to make comment and give our opinion but bearing in mind, we were not at their position when thing happened. It will not be fair to ask question on why the pilot did not do this and that.

To be fair to all, wait for the official investigation and god bless all

Posted by Yong Chun Wah > 2014-07-18 10:51 | Report Abuse

MH17 will quicken the privatisation of MAS, I believe :)

metalmonk

174 posts

Posted by metalmonk > 2014-07-18 11:01 | Report Abuse

Kian leong, other airline like lufthansa also fly over the ukraine airspace.. they are not flying over the civil war area, cremea.. it was just not MAS luck as due to this incident, only FAA now declare the airspace over all ukraine are declare not safe and no fly zone.. even emirates now has suspended their flights (not even using detour around ukraine) Only american airlines gave instructions not fly thru ukraine when civil war started.

Lets just pray and give condolences to the victims.. No use bashing as other airlines too fly over there..

zackboy

242 posts

Posted by zackboy > 2014-07-18 11:05 | Report Abuse

Yes, a lot of planes use the route as well before the tragedy of MH17 happened. Black cloud hangs over MAS. Even it was reported that Putin's plane flew over the area 30 minutes earlier.

Posted by Kian Leong Lim > 2014-07-18 11:13 | Report Abuse

A company is like a person, you fate depends on you ability and how efficient you are. You are experiencing terrible things of missing plane episode and bombardment of airplane because of ineffectiveness. A person who falls down because of oversight can not blame others and especially Allah for his tragedies, especially saying that bad things are caused by black cloud hanging over a person. Maybe if someone fail his exams also he can say it is because of black cloud passing by.......

tiennhieu

719 posts

Posted by tiennhieu > 2014-07-18 11:15 | Report Abuse

MAS this year really in bad luck, 2 cases of plane accident in less then half a year. This is also not include the other minnor incident.

Posted by Yong Chun Wah > 2014-07-18 11:15 | Report Abuse

MAS should be taken private asap, cant wait... as a public listed co, a lot of announcements, etc are required which complicate restructuring, slowdown the processes, etc etc :)

zackboy

242 posts

Posted by zackboy > 2014-07-18 11:19 | Report Abuse

Kian Leong, what are you talking rubbish. Ever heard of the word "Fate"?

Posted by Yong Chun Wah > 2014-07-18 11:25 | Report Abuse

also as a public listed co, a lot of news will be released to the financial websites, newspapers, etc , further tarnishing mas image, etc.... the best for mas now, to get delisted , etc.... relisted later like JAL.... It can list Firefly, Terminal services, mas eng

zackboy

242 posts

Posted by zackboy > 2014-07-18 11:26 | Report Abuse

Agree. It is the time to delist MAS now and fire all those deadwoods and and the union.

Posted by nissansuny1234 > 2014-07-18 11:27 | Report Abuse

game over?

Posted by Yong Chun Wah > 2014-07-18 11:32 | Report Abuse

in my opinion, it is a must to take MAS out from bursa asap... khazanah cannot have honeymoon anymore, it must be now or never :)

Posted by Kian Leong Lim > 2014-07-18 11:40 | Report Abuse

Before then you are losing the China's market, now you are scaring away the European market, I think it is better to admit our mistakes. You want to tell the rest of the world that human lives are very cheap and so they can be wasted just like that. We have forgot our responsibilities as human being, and this is how we treat ourselves and other foreign nationals, we build a company to take away people's lives. Jack, you must be very proud of yourself at this moment.

jtpc2006

984 posts

Posted by jtpc2006 > 2014-07-18 11:45 | Report Abuse

heavy buying queue for MAS, excellent bargain even before this latest MH17 tragedy. Whether privatize now or later, the price will climb again up to at least 25 sens territory and wait for Khazanah to announce plans. So if you have money to spend, grab this bargain price.

Posted by japanesebeancurd > 2014-07-18 12:05 | Report Abuse

Kian Leong - I disagree with your argument above. As the biggest critic of the Government and GLCs, I can say without a doubt that MH370 is a shit storm caused by information blackout from certain parties.

However, MH17 is yet to be found guilty on MAS part. I strongly believe that they were just in the wrong place at the wrong time. This presents an opportunity for risk takers to participate and buy up the panic sold MAS shares.

I do not think any person, let alone company would want to endanger human lives. And as ICAO and IATA clarified, the route was declared safe for passage and there would not be any incident if the plane had stayed its course. Then again, we do not know at the moment whether did the plane divert from its planned course causing the triggering of the Ground-to-Air missile.

Before any concrete information is disseminated, let's all be like a sponge - absorb more info until you have enough to go around.

Posted by japanesebeancurd > 2014-07-18 12:06 | Report Abuse

jtpc2006 - Agreed. I predict MH17 to have minimal impact on MAS shares. The loss of human lives cannot be reversed and is a travesty but we have to now more importantly bring those responsible to justice.

Posted by baiyuensheng > 2014-07-18 12:08 | Report Abuse

what will be the possibilities of directions of mas restructuring and how the shares be impact accordingly? MAS shares a keeper?

kkng0819kk

1,566 posts

Posted by kkng0819kk > 2014-07-18 12:20 | Report Abuse

Proton is seeking taxpayer 's subsidy on R &D, similarly mas also can ask some form of management crisis and emergency grant fr. Gov as well!