MALAYSIAN AIRLINE SYSTEM BHD

KLSE (MYR): MAS (3786)

37 people like this.

15,107 comment(s). Last comment by wallstreetrookie 2020-04-18 11:57

Posted by betulbetullcakap > 2014-07-20 00:46 | Report Abuse

Nobody expected this to happen, and it is terrible wake-up call for the world to start paying attention to conflict zones, and start comprehending that if a region in the world is unsafe, we are all equally, as global citizens, stand to be affected by it.

Posted by betulbetullcakap > 2014-07-20 00:48 | Report Abuse

Just because we live in a conflict free zone, in our comfortable homes, does not mean we are immune to seemingly never-ending conflicts, be it in Gaza or Ukraine.

Posted by betulbetullcakap > 2014-07-20 00:57 | Report Abuse

This is especially true for Malaysians. For decades, we had grown in a relatively peaceful, and "secure" environment. Security had been our utmost priority, and often security came before passion, tension, or even life choices.

We were okay with settling for second best in this country as long as our rice bowl was taken care of, and we were able to drive comfortable cars and live in comfortable homes.

But MH17, if anything, reflects once again how fragile our lives were, just like the rest of the world.

siantao

11 posts

Posted by siantao > 2014-07-20 00:58 | Report Abuse

u r right

Posted by betulbetullcakap > 2014-07-20 00:59 | Report Abuse

We grew up in schools being taught that we didn't have natural disasters to contend with, so we are somewhat a blessed nation, that we are special compared with other countries. No, we are not. We are as flawed and as gifted as other nations in the world

Posted by betulbetullcakap > 2014-07-20 01:01 | Report Abuse

Our lives are also fragile, even though we are supposedly immune to natural tragedies. This is a fact of our human existence. So, where do we move on from here?

Posted by betulbetullcakap > 2014-07-20 01:02 | Report Abuse

We fly tomorrow. We live tomorrow. We go to the airports again tomorrow. Not to be disrespectful to those on MH17, but to prove our resolve as a nation!

lt54

80 posts

Posted by lt54 > 2014-07-20 01:05 | Report Abuse

Ss3u the ceo ahmad jauhari has already flown to amsterdam n is at mas european office as quoted in star biz news

Posted by dereklim > 2014-07-20 01:22 | Report Abuse

Take this as God sign. God didn't give us earthquake, tonado, tsunami etc. But He show us some pain through 2 plane tragedy. We are blessed for so long that we start to quarrel over race and religion issues. If we ignore God sign, more bad will come.

anbz

5,163 posts

Posted by anbz > 2014-07-20 01:25 | Report Abuse

Dont forget also 2014 ... 2+0+1+4 = 7
Ini kaunter ALL 7 ... jackpot mari
semua org kutuk bukan apa pun... mau menangguk di air yg keruh
ini kaunter goverment punya... belum pernah dlm sejarah malaysia, kaunter gov dibiarkan begitu saja ... dulu bank bumiputera dan bank rakyat bankrupt... bank rakyat 2 3 kali rasanya
just believe, do not pay attention to all noise ... they're just a bunch of noises, seeking to buy cheap
sekali khazanah kasi SIA tumpang kaki... RM2 dlm tangan ... this must be the best gamble and opportunity of a lifetime u can get
look also at proton after help by the gov
the 2nd tragedy will only makes the gov and khazanah act faster and more determined than ever
im guessing within a month

Posted by Muhammad Jamaluddin > 2014-07-20 01:31 | Report Abuse

Totally Agee with anbz

saltedfish

3,282 posts

Posted by saltedfish > 2014-07-20 01:34 | Report Abuse

SIA masuk MAS? You are asking the gomen to let LKY masuk Putrajaya lah

anbz

5,163 posts

Posted by anbz > 2014-07-20 01:35 | Report Abuse

What ever the rot it is...STILL WE MUST BE BEHIND MAS... because it's ours... it's our country's ... either u own the share or not ... either the scums and parasites are making a life or corrupted money from it... it is still ours... even more than 130 netherlands who died in the tragedy believe in MAS... cheer up, time will come and changes to happen... I believe in MAS 100%. Now the worlds become more familiar about MALAYSIA... can surf the internet... let us begin a new future... remember russia? German? China? Japan? How time have passed. How from ruin...they're all now world giant... except japan may be

anbz

5,163 posts

Posted by anbz > 2014-07-20 01:41 | Report Abuse

Putrajaya=MAS? what makes u to conclude that? Lu banyak sangat makan ikan masin salted fish... otak pikir pun pakai taram saja ... haha please be more intellectual ... your opinion may describe who u are... so please dont make a dunce of yourself ... clown... bozo the clown

Posted by AyamTua > 2014-07-20 01:45 | Report Abuse

ha ha ha for once in my short lifetime on this dreaded God forsaken land and counters

agreed with anbz

anbz
4447 posts
Posted by anbz > Jul 20, 2014 01:41 AM | Report Abuse

Putrajaya=MAS? what makes u to conclude that? Lu banyak sangat makan ikan masin salted fish... otak pikir pun pakai taram saja ... haha please be more intellectual ... your opinion may describe who u are... so please dont make a dunce of yourself ... clown... bozo the clown

izoklse

5,231 posts

Posted by izoklse > 2014-07-20 02:01 | Report Abuse

I also for the first time agree 100% with anbz. Now people around the world know much about our country Malaysia. The entire world doing this coverage of MH 370 & MH 17. Now people will talk about Malaysia. I watch in yahoo a lot of comment come from people are they even do know where Malaysia is. And when watch the tv and news about MAS ...they started to know a lot not only about our airline but also about our country. Its same happen to 9/11 tragedy where USA blame it to islamic terrorist and people afraid or even skeptic about Islam. It make a lot of book related to islam and 9/11 sold out and one things so amazing is that people start to learn about islam and even the number of convert to islam in America increase tremendously. So when think about it again, fate already crafting MAS future and i also believe in MAS that they can turn around the company as now world wide they are known to the people and Malaysia are on the eye of international community.

izoklse

5,231 posts

Posted by izoklse > 2014-07-20 02:06 | Report Abuse

http://www.malaysia-today.net/sias-disinformation-campaign/

Following the MH17 crash, SIA posted a single-sentence message on Facebook and Twitter which said: “Customers may wish to note that Singapore Airlines flights are not using Ukraine airspace”. A German weekly news magazine, however, revealed that Singapore Airlines jets flew over the same eastern Ukraine area 75 times in the past week.

SIA says sorry for ‘insensitive’ post on MH17

(Channel News Asia) – Singapore Airlines (SIA) on Saturday (July 19) apologised for its social media postings following the crash of Malaysia Airlines MH17.

“We are aware that our Facebook and Twitter update on Friday morning may have come across as insensitive to some,” an SIA spokesperson said in reply to queries from Channel NewsAsia. The post was in response to requests from customers who had asked for information about the airline’s flight routes, the spokesperson said in a statement.

“We recognise that the information could have been better communicated and we sincerely apologise if it had offended our customers and anyone else in the online community,” the statement said.

It added that SIA is “deeply saddened” by what happened to flight MH17. “Our thoughts remain with the families and loved ones of the passengers and crew who perished on board.”

Following the MH17 crash, SIA had posted on Facebook and Twitter a single-sentence message which said: “Customers may wish to note that Singapore Airlines flights are not using Ukraine airspace”. It posted another message an hour later, which said: “Our thoughts are with the passengers and crew of MH17 and their families.”

READ MORE HERE

SIA used same MH17 flight path 75 times in past week, says magazine

(The Malaysian Insider) – As fingers point at Malaysia Airlines for allowing flight MH17 to fly over a war zone, a German weekly news magazine has revealed that Singapore Airlines jets flew over the same eastern Ukraine area 75 times in the past week.

In contrast, MAS planes only flew over rebel-held Donetsk 48 times within the same period, Spiegel Online reported, citing flight tracking website flightradar24.com.

It said Russian airline Aeroflot flew over the area 86 times in the past seven days, Ukraine International Airlines 62 times, and Germany’s largest airline, Lufthansa, 56 times.

“Overflights were recorded here in the past seven days in a radius of nearly 240km to the Ukrainian industrial city.

“In the ranking of the airlines, MAS is at fifth place with 48 overflights… the data shows that the region of Donetsk experienced brisk air traffic,” said Spiegel Online.

izoklse

5,231 posts

Posted by izoklse > 2014-07-20 02:14 | Report Abuse

See how Jahat this singapore airline SIA. And yet there is a people here recommending SIA takeover MAS.I didnt trust SIA a bit. Thanks to Germany to blow and revealed that Singapore Airlines jets flew over the same eastern Ukraine area 75 times in the past week.

aqoanxsk

17 posts

Posted by aqoanxsk > 2014-07-20 05:21 | Report Abuse

After the tragic mystery of flight MH370, the toxic image from new disaster could prove too much for loss-making carrier: experts

Already losing about $1.6m a day, there will be 'no miracles' for the airline, says an expert.

Hit by two astonishing tragedies in quick succession, the Malaysia Airlines brand may become the airline industry's equivalent of asbestos or News of the World — toxic to the public and, experts say, impossible to redeem.

Just four months earlier, a Malaysia Airlines jetliner carrying 239 people disappeared about an hour after taking off from Kuala Lumpur. The jet has still not been found, a source of profound unease for travellers and the aviation industry.

"I can't think of anything they can do to save themselves," said Mohshin Aziz, an aviation analyst at Maybank in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

"Perception-wise, it really hits home," Aziz said. "It's very difficult to fight against negative perception."

Even before the flight 370 mystery, state-owned Malaysia Airlines was in serious financial trouble. In an industry notorious for impoverishing shareholders and irking customers, Malaysia Airlines had long stood out for years of restructurings and losses.

That disaster, and the bumbling response of the airline and Malaysian Government, deeply scarred the carrier. Now, the once-proud national airline is facing the unthinkable again.

Already losing about $1.6 million a day, there will be "no miracles" for Malaysia Airlines, Aziz said. Before the Ukrainian disaster, his opinion was the airline didn't have the capacity to survive beyond a year. The airline's share price fell about 9 per cent yesterday.

Unlike flight 370, the responsibility for which is pinned on Malaysia Airlines, this second disaster appears largely beyond the airline's control.

But it may face questions about why it continued with flight paths over eastern Ukraine, the heart of a violent rebellion by Russians in the country, when some airlines were circumventing the country.

For air travellers in Asia, who have many options thanks to the budget airline boom, the Malaysian carrier will be even less attractive now.

Its brand in the rest of the world, where it became known largely because of the flight 370 mystery, will become more closely associated with the worst fears of flyers.

Josh Gokul, an Australian university student on a layover at Incheon Airport in South Korea, said he had flown with Malaysian Airlines before and its service was "fantastic". But he's now "very hesitant" about using the airline. "Flying is scary enough."

His friend, Dayne Rodgers, waiting for a flight to Brisbane, said even very cheap fares might not convince him to fly with Malaysia Airlines.

Within Malaysia, the shock is palpably raw.

"I was stunned," said 48-year-old shopkeeper Reezal Mohamed. "At first I could not understand. It's unbelievable."

Malaysia Airlines has been in the red for the past three years. Last year, its losses ballooned to 1.17 billion ringgit ($423.38 million), nearly three times its 2012 loss.

As a state-owned carrier, it has to fly unprofitable domestic routes, and its strong union has resisted operational changes. Nimbler discount rivals such as Air Asia have expanded rapidly, while Malaysia Airlines has been slow to change direction.

Seth Kaplan, managing partner of industry newsletter Airline Weekly, said the airline was in worse shape financially than almost any other airline before flight 370 vanished.

"It's just hard to imagine they could have even survived the first incident without a lot of government help and now they're going to need even more."

http://www.nzherald.co.nz/business/news/article.cfm?c_id=3&objectid=11295889

Posted by Fortuneball > 2014-07-20 08:54 | Report Abuse

THE WALL STREET JOURNAL News Alert
U.S. Ties Russia to Downed Malaysia Airlines Jet
New U.S. intelligence assessments indicate that Moscow likely provided pro-Russia separatists in eastern Ukraine with sophisticated antiaircraft systems in recent days, matching evidence put forward by Ukraine and bolstering charges that Russia was the source of the weapon that shot down Malaysia Airlines Flight 17 this week, killing 298.

U.S. officials say they now suspect that Russia supplied the rebels with multiple SA-11 antiaircraft systems by smuggling them into eastern Ukraine with other military equipment, including tanks. Further, U.S. officials believe the systems were moved back across the border into Russia following the shoot down of the jetliner.

Posted by Fortuneball > 2014-07-20 09:02 | Report Abuse

Your jet engines can be stolen and your submarine does not submerge, you want to go to war with Russia?

Posted by Fortuneball > 2014-07-20 09:05 | Report Abuse

Anbz, you shouldn't attack saltedfish like you are more superior than him

Posted by Fortuneball > 2014-07-20 09:07 | Report Abuse

Since you touted so much about how Malaysia can come back like Russia, Jspan, China....then why you need SIA here? Lol

Azlin

11 posts

Posted by Azlin > 2014-07-20 09:07 | Report Abuse

Mana Boleh!!!!!

Posted by Fortuneball > 2014-07-20 09:11 | Report Abuse

Do not called others bozo unless you have proved beyond very validly your argument against others, for anything short of that will only show your action like a clown

Azlin

11 posts

Posted by Azlin > 2014-07-20 09:21 | Report Abuse

Macam macam gelagat. Must be transparent...apalah statement.....kakakaka
http://malaysiandigest.com/frontpage/29-4-tile/509808-special-investigation-body-on-flight-mh17-crash-must-be-fully-independent-muhyiddin.html

Cweed

2,262 posts

Posted by Cweed > 2014-07-20 09:49 | Report Abuse

Mr Hishammuddin and Mr Najib, who are cousins, also lost a relative who was on MH17 - their 83-year-old step-grandmother, Puan Sri Siti Amirah.

- See more at: http://www.straitstimes.com/news/asia/south-east-asia/story/malaysia-airlines-mh17-crash-malaysian-pm-najib-visits-victims-famil#sthash.mLbx6dyl.dpuf

Cweed

2,262 posts

Posted by Cweed > 2014-07-20 09:59 | Report Abuse

http://www.thestar.com.my/News/Nation/2014/07/20/MH17-crash-Dutch-PM-warns-Putin/
Updated: Sunday July 20, 2014 MYT 9:07:27 AM
MH17 crash: Dutch PM warns Putin on 'last chance' to help with plane disaster

AMSTERDAM: Russian President Vladimir Putin has one last chance to show he is serious about helping rescuers recover the bodies of the victims of the crash of Malaysia Airlines flight MH17, the Dutch prime minister said on Saturday.

More than half the passengers aboard the flight, which crashed near a village in eastern Ukraine, were Dutch citizens, and images of recognisably Dutch personal belongings and passports strewn across the crash site have shocked the Dutch public.

"I was shocked at the pictures of utterly disrespectful behavior at this tragic spot. It's revolting," Mark Rutte said,

Ameera

2,921 posts

Posted by Ameera > 2014-07-20 10:37 | Report Abuse

Hahaha...."don't talk like a girl"..... hemmmmsss.....it's HIM mah......

a1b2c3d4

52 posts

Posted by a1b2c3d4 > 2014-07-20 11:17 | Report Abuse

beyong 2020, all Boeing jetliners will get missiles dictate radar screen. So any missiles will *air turn - back* ..~~

a1b2c3d4

52 posts

Posted by a1b2c3d4 > 2014-07-20 11:19 | Report Abuse

civilian of malaysia suffer lots because of (bad karma),surround leaders done many *cruel* ...recalls the events happened in Malaysia years ago.

jolie2

2,039 posts

Posted by jolie2 > 2014-07-20 11:31 | Report Abuse

look at the usa on the sept 11, How fast they take action.
no need to investigate. Just send armies to afganistan and attack.
No talk.

If you want to investigate, take years, By then , everyone would forget , just like the MH370.

Then the victim just die for nothing.

kkng0819kk

1,566 posts

Posted by kkng0819kk > 2014-07-20 11:41 | Report Abuse

Malasia only boleh in malaysian bolehland,beyong it,we jadi tak boleh!

andychucky28

1,600 posts

Posted by andychucky28 > 2014-07-20 11:43 | Report Abuse

Aya.. our gov only know how to bully us only lah. If outside, like mouse only.

nomanland

3,221 posts

Posted by nomanland > 2014-07-20 11:52 | Report Abuse

jolie2, please... Talk is easy, doing is another thing. What is the lowest temperature have you ever faced? My experience, -35C before wind chill factor. Sending troops there is like asking them to go to hell and freeze their asses before a single bullet is shot.

andychucky28

1,600 posts

Posted by andychucky28 > 2014-07-20 12:04 | Report Abuse

Its is a mass murder case, and we still negotiating with them to enter the area. Here bully us with threatening words, over there like frog only. Jump here jump there.

nomanland

3,221 posts

Posted by nomanland > 2014-07-20 12:08 | Report Abuse

jolie2, not to disagree with you. I reach a stage where I will say, "I don't give an eff anymore". Take care of myself, family, and friends. That is it. As for the country, that is a question I won't want to think about it anymore. As for you, take care and enjoy life.

nomanland

3,221 posts

Posted by nomanland > 2014-07-20 12:12 | Report Abuse

andychucky28, looks like the Malaysia government is eating their own medicine.

andychucky28

1,600 posts

Posted by andychucky28 > 2014-07-20 12:24 | Report Abuse

are we being targeted?

aunloke

974 posts

Posted by aunloke > 2014-07-20 12:25 | Report Abuse

It seems that someone has already concluded who did the shoot down mind that it's not that simple why not take a look of these conspiracy theories
http://thecrux.com/the-very-latest-on-the-crisis-in-ukraine/

nomanland

3,221 posts

Posted by nomanland > 2014-07-20 12:25 | Report Abuse

jolie2, please take a cold shower and this will reduce your horny hormones about going to war. Do you know the meaning of "consequences" if that really happen?

Nallayak

928 posts

Posted by Nallayak > 2014-07-20 14:06 | Report Abuse

Some other people's war, why wade into it, we should start war with MAS management for no Risk management or study esp as MH370 incident means all risks must be studied, CEO no leadership or paralysed or waiting to go means nothing is done . Need new CEO immediately, maybe even a cabinet minister to fix problem

jolie2

2,039 posts

Posted by jolie2 > 2014-07-20 14:42 | Report Abuse

dulu lain, sekalang lain

dulu punya mas --
mana ada system
mana ada standard

sikalang punya mas---
MANA ADA SAFETY

Posted by AyamTua > 2014-07-20 14:43 | Report Abuse

maybe just maybe this piece of pantun can help move MAS? kikikiki

Posted by jolie2 > Jul 20, 2014 02:42 PM | Report Abuse

dulu lain, sekalang lain

dulu punya mas --
mana ada system
mana ada standard

sikalang punya mas---
MANA ADA SAFETY

jolie2

2,039 posts

Posted by jolie2 > 2014-07-20 16:26 | Report Abuse

my hormones no change after taken shower. Still want to talk about war.

Read this:
Will Malaysia Airlines MH17 Tragedy Provoke World War 3?

http://au.ibtimes.com/articles/559600/20140718/malaysia-airlines-mh17-global-war-u-s.htm#.U8t78kCWntg

sampool

634 posts

Posted by sampool > 2014-07-20 16:36 | Report Abuse

anyting can happen... but mayat keluar 1st...

kkng0819kk

1,566 posts

Posted by kkng0819kk > 2014-07-20 18:10 | Report Abuse

Suda naik pangkat fr 17 to mh19?