MALAYSIAN PACIFIC INDUSTRIES

KLSE (MYR): MPI (3867)

+0.90 (3.46%)

26.00 - 26.98

4,165 comment(s). Last comment by James_Bond 10 minutes ago

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2015-08-19 18:24 | Report Abuse

My biggest mistake in investment is that I do not take profit especially in bear market.

kakashi

2,943 posts

Posted by kakashi > 2015-08-19 18:47 | Report Abuse

Nice Nice...nice rebound...unisem, MPI, Gtronic...Many ppl making good profit. Too bad I not able to capitalize on this.
Anyone taking profit d?

Bsngpg, yes, I am with you. I cut loss now. A bit too late. Wipe out all my profit I ever make in stock market. The worst ever defeat for me...In fact, I am making loss already... terrible.
Nonetheless, its a very painful good lesson. Always Always put a stop loss

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2015-08-22 12:21 | Report Abuse

Kakashi : I am with you too that my profit in many years has been wiped out recently as I was greedily and overly bet on few unfortunate speculative counters. I have made loss already too. However this is not my worst defeat.

My another big mistake in investment is that I do not know how to cut loss thus I carry along my loss till another spring season. Luckily this time around, my overall div yield is higher than FD which can cushion my capital loss on paper.

Firebird2

1,730 posts

Posted by Firebird2 > 2015-08-22 12:34 | Report Abuse

bsngpg, kakashi, lots of people are hit badly these days. However, the lessons learned now are invaluable and for those who live to fight another day, a pheonix will rise from these burning ashes, dont you think so?

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2015-08-22 13:28 | Report Abuse

FF2: was it wellcall where I met you last time? nice to meet you again. I am not hit too badly as at today, if not because of the latest few speculative big bets, I would still in positive zone. Anyway, since I like to eat salted fish, I am ok with thirst. Most importantly, my div yield is higher than FD and housing loan rate, therefore I can still smile when seeing passive income coming in each month albeit the capital was burn down each month.

Firebird2

1,730 posts

Posted by Firebird2 > 2015-08-22 13:44 | Report Abuse

bsngpg, yes in wellcal thread we met. Good to know that you are doing well. Think a lot of ppl are affected by the downward spiral. But perhaps in speculative counters that don't pay any dividends... they are the first to be dump hard...
But at the same time, this is actually a great opportunity for those that went through times like this and learned hard.....

hatnag

116 posts

Posted by hatnag > 2015-08-23 09:54 | Report Abuse

Don't worry, the best is yet to come. This is just a temporary hiccup. The best has to come before the worst sets in. Always remember this. Good luck to those still holding this stock. Cheers.

kakashi

2,943 posts

Posted by kakashi > 2015-08-24 19:25 | Report Abuse

bsngpg, great to know we both learn valuable lesson. Although cut loss late inflict heavy losses, but manage to gain good profit thru put warrant. Take profit today as well.
Strong earnings from MPI !! I really love this stock, lets hope it drop below 6 then can go in again

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2015-08-24 21:35 | Report Abuse

OMG! Eps for q4=18 cents.

lching

1,402 posts

Posted by lching > 2015-08-24 22:44 | Report Abuse

bsngng, its a pity that such a good result come out when the market sentiment is extremely weak.

kakashi

2,943 posts

Posted by kakashi > 2015-08-24 23:06 | Report Abuse

good stock in bad times will also become weak...that's the usual case....waiting, waiting

Posted by Elvin Beh Chun Yen > 2015-08-25 22:43 | Report Abuse

AffinHwang valued MPI using PB ratio which is not a good way to value such companies. A better method would be DCF or PE.

kakashi

2,943 posts

Posted by kakashi > 2015-08-26 19:02 | Report Abuse

Discounted cash flow? So base on DCF, what is the intrinsic value for MPI? RM6?

Posted by Elvin Beh Chun Yen > 2015-08-26 21:28 | Report Abuse

haha. if u think its 6, then quickly sell lo ;)

kakashi

2,943 posts

Posted by kakashi > 2015-08-27 14:06 | Report Abuse

Haha..where got if I think...there is a calculation one...Actually, I am thinking it will hit RM9. I am waiting to collect this stock but for me, now is not the time yet

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2015-08-28 09:57 | Report Abuse

Kawan Kawan : ha! ha! 6.80 now, even the highest price of our series of averaging down action last couple weeks has brought in paper profit alraedy.

Hope MPI to reap in even more profit to cover my big loss on properties counters.

lching

1,402 posts

Posted by lching > 2015-08-28 11:54 | Report Abuse

yes, good news for those believe in MPI's fondermentals.

kakashi

2,943 posts

Posted by kakashi > 2015-08-28 17:48 | Report Abuse

MPI really nice...still haven't go in yet but on my radar.

hatnag

116 posts

Posted by hatnag > 2015-08-30 22:15 | Report Abuse

Mpi is a really nice counter. It is surviving very well in an extremely tumultuous market. This shows the power of strong fundamentals, good prospects and a very honest 'towkay' (ie the HLeong group) running the company. With the extra exchange rate gains from US dollar receipts I I I I expect a higher dividend in Dec. By the way, news of M&A may surface again. If Mpi is acquired by foreign parties you can expect a hefty price!

lching

1,402 posts

Posted by lching > 2015-10-10 00:29 | Report Abuse

pity that upside cannot be sustained. but i think this company is strong enough to withstand the strengtening of ringgit.

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2015-11-07 21:02 | Report Abuse

全球首9月銷售穩健‧半導體股向好 .首選則為馬太平洋 2015-11-07

(吉隆坡6日訊)全球半導體領域今年首9月銷售額成長2.9%至2千520億美元,比全球半導體交易統計(WSTS)全年預測2.3%高。同時,汽車領域和手持裝置需求強勁,分析員對整體行業維持正面評價。

MIDF研究指出,半導體9月銷售成長雖然按年下滑2.8%至284億美元,但按月成長1.9%,並且也是近兩個月以來第一次高於280億美元銷售額,相信是受到需求減緩和強勢美元導致9月成長的放緩。

歐日銷售下跌10.6%和11.4%
達證券表示,從各區域來看,今年區域各國第一次獲得按月成長。不過,按年除了中國獲得5%成長外,各大區域9月銷售都在下跌。其中以歐洲和日本下跌10.6%和11.4%最為嚴重,相信這是和強勁美元有關。美國仍持續按年下跌3.9%,亞洲太平洋地區(除了以上國家)下跌3.5%。
展望未來,相信光電子半導體的產品會獲得更廣泛的運用,尤其是在汽車領域方面。根據《研究和市場》雜誌全球光電子市場在2014至2019年每年會獲得17.4%的複利成長(CAGR)。光電子半導體在普遍運用在剎車等和照明上。
感應器和電氣執行器銷售在9月獲得2.9%成長至7億6千萬美元,累計9個月銷售則成長1.1%至64億4千萬美元。
前3年做產能投資
明年進入調整期
MIDF也指出,雖然半導體部份產品銷售亮眼,但經過前3年產能大筆投資,明年該領域產能將會進入調整期。達證券分析員表示,該公司訂單出貨比(Bookto Bill Ratio)為1.07倍,高於平均值。全球半導體訂單的按年成長了35.1%,出貨量則增長了19.7%。
但根據目前下季需求不明朗的情況下,生產商們紛紛採取保守的產能方針,估計下個月出貨量會減少。
基於馬幣對美元持續走低有利於出口和特定產品需求走高,證券行們對於該領域都維持正面的評價,MIDF研究對於該領域看法為“正面”,達證券則仍維持“超越大市”評級不變。
MIDF研究給予旗下追蹤3家半導體公司馬太平洋(MPI,3867,主板科技組)、友力森(UNISEM,5005,主板科技組)和益納利美昌(INARI,0166,主板科技組)買進評級。大型公司方面,首選則為馬太平洋。( 星洲日報/財經‧報道:傅文耀)
點看全文: http://biz.sinchew.com.my/node/125604?tid=23#ixzz3qoIKvPWi

huahtai98

770 posts

Posted by huahtai98 > 2015-11-08 22:15 | Report Abuse

bsngpg thank you for the new report on semicon prospects.

lching

1,402 posts

Posted by lching > 2015-11-12 12:57 | Report Abuse

bsngpg, MPI broke 7.20 ceiling!

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2015-11-12 13:05 | Report Abuse

lching: 7.20 is still low for me to sell.

lching

1,402 posts

Posted by lching > 2015-11-12 13:05 | Report Abuse

agreed. will only sell above 8.00

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2015-11-12 13:27 | Report Abuse

Yes, above 8. However I guess the coming qtrly results would be great and greater which will certainly open up my appetite to even higher. Let's see how things progress.

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2015-11-12 13:30 | Report Abuse

Hi lching: I am accumulating SKPRes. Do you know about this company?

huahtai98

770 posts

Posted by huahtai98 > 2015-11-12 13:58 | Report Abuse

Go 9.50 first.

huahtai98

770 posts

Posted by huahtai98 > 2015-11-12 14:01 | Report Abuse

Possible M&A. More likely being acquired by foreign group.

lching

1,402 posts

Posted by lching > 2015-11-12 15:19 | Report Abuse

bsngpg, are u hoping it to become the second VS?

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2015-11-12 15:30 | Report Abuse

lching : I am buying into its future FY17 Ends March. How much do you know about it ?

lching

1,402 posts

Posted by lching > 2015-11-12 15:50 | Report Abuse

i didnt like plastic related business n i regret i miss VS. buying into future earning could be risky, more so its 2 years ahead. you think SKP is worth to wait? whats your TP?

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2015-11-12 19:13 | Report Abuse

During news conference after AGM in sep15, its boss said that revenue will be probably at 1.3 bil and 2.3 bil year end Mar16 and Mar17 respectively with margin 7.5%. The forecasts are supported with new acquisition on Tecnic and 2 big contracts secured from its major customer, Dyson. If the forecasts materialize, eps would be 9 cents and 16 cents for FY16EMar and FY17EMar. These are before the dilution effect from the mature warrant in Jun17. DPO is traditionally at 50%, thus div would be 4.5 and 8 cents or yield at 3.2% and 5.7% for FY16 and FY17 with today’s closing at 1.40. If taking in the dilution effect from warrant, the numbers will be adjusted down a bit.

lching

1,402 posts

Posted by lching > 2015-11-12 23:30 | Report Abuse

谢谢分享,我再看看。

huahtai98

770 posts

Posted by huahtai98 > 2015-11-17 20:03 | Report Abuse

MPI 1st qtr very good profit: eps 24.7 sen. Dividend 8 sen. Revenue increased almost 18% y-o-y to 386.6 million. Can still hold on to shares. Cheers.

lching

1,402 posts

Posted by lching > 2015-11-18 01:07 | Report Abuse

if we annualise the result, it is almost 1 dollar!

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2015-11-18 07:35 | Report Abuse

Even with conservative 25% discount on qtrly earning, annualized eps would be 75 cents. With PE at 13, new TP would be10. Thus I "unfortunately" but willingly have to wait for many more months to reap my profit after 10. Sigh! The planned short term investment becomes long term. Good problem.

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2015-11-18 11:31 | Report Abuse

Since I think it can go up much higher, I bought in another lot today although this one averages up my overall entry price a bit.

lching

1,402 posts

Posted by lching > 2015-11-18 16:32 | Report Abuse

with the huge volume today i m in fact a little worried. thinking of selling 1 lot to you, hehehe.

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2015-11-18 16:48 | Report Abuse

I bought at 7.54.
I also added 3 lots of Inari too at 3.91.

lching

1,402 posts

Posted by lching > 2015-11-18 17:47 | Report Abuse

u buy at a good price. i q to sell at 7.76 not done. i still hold quite some UNISEM but no INARI.

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2015-11-18 17:57 | Report Abuse

In fact I am now over expose to technology counters on MPI, Inari, JCY and GTronic. The first one on the wait to sell list is JCY.

lching

1,402 posts

Posted by lching > 2015-11-18 17:57 | Report Abuse

volume is multiple year high, if it signals the return of foreign fund, than we all can meet at $10!

jeannie

459 posts

Posted by jeannie > 2015-11-19 11:17 | Report Abuse

never know the highest...best sell some and keep some...even it goes down, we have gained some to cover...my humble opinion.

lching

1,402 posts

Posted by lching > 2015-11-19 14:59 | Report Abuse

agreed.

huahtai98

770 posts

Posted by huahtai98 > 2015-11-19 20:18 | Report Abuse

After a long rest the phoenix has not only risen from the ashes some two years ago but has now taken to flight again! It won't be a short flight folks. Do take note of the latest developments in the company.

spy008

177 posts

Posted by spy008 > 2015-11-20 13:34 | Report Abuse

Fly up high~~

enning22

2,899 posts

Posted by enning22 > 2015-11-21 13:13 | Report Abuse

read the latest finacial result ,almost triple more then previous, it show company still expanding ,particularly the set up in China is a proven success,and global economy is still on well recovering track,let's see more advances ahead.

spy008

177 posts

Posted by spy008 > 2015-11-25 21:10 | Report Abuse

Come read my 7 page analysis on MPI (mainly chinese)

http://www.investalks.com/forum/forum.php?mod=redirect&goto=findpost&ptid=10637&pid=3749556&fromuid=17850