BRITISH AMERICAN TOBACCO (M)

KLSE (MYR): BAT (4162)

-0.01 (0.13%)

7.67 - 7.79

9 people like this.

12,675 comment(s). Last comment by Income 4 days ago

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-02-17 09:55 | Report Abuse

huat ar

Posted by Bingjiwang > 2020-02-17 10:04 | Report Abuse

Carlsberg vs BAT, I will choose BAT

Panorama1

971 posts

Posted by Panorama1 > 2020-02-17 10:23 | Report Abuse

In this uncertain equities market environment, it is always safer to pick up stocks near their bottom prices, if we decide to stay invested in equities over the medium/long term. The challenge is always in predicting the “exact” bottom as we will not be correct all the time. Fine examples of recent opportunities for “bottom fishing” were SP Setia, SKP, SuperMax, Top Glove, Luxchem, Padini, MYEG, Petron, Hengyuan etc. Time & Tides wait for no man. Panic Buy when others are panic selling :-) There will always be differing opinion that makes share investing exciting and opportunities to make monies.

Posted by Bingjiwang > 2020-02-17 10:29 | Report Abuse

Panorama view is awesome

Posted by CatchThe Bull > 2020-02-17 10:41 | Report Abuse

Estimate dividend will be 29sen or higher. Expected QR release today.

posby

976 posts

Posted by posby > 2020-02-17 10:51 | Report Abuse

i3 expected 21st Feb

Posted by Bingjiwang > 2020-02-17 11:00 | Report Abuse

February 21 result announcement, Friday surprise

Posted by CatchThe Bull > 2020-02-17 12:12 | Report Abuse

Results were released from Feb 11 to 26th based on previous records.

Panorama1

971 posts

Posted by Panorama1 > 2020-02-17 14:11 | Report Abuse

Time & Tide Waits For No Man. A word of caution - Bottom fishing strategy will not work in Covid-19 negative sectors like Aviation, Tourism, Hospitality, Retail and Banking sectors at this juncture though and no point fighting the opposing tide. Share price/valuation based on 2020 evolving Covid-19 negative impact will determine the entry prices.

Panorama1

971 posts

Posted by Panorama1 > 2020-02-17 14:48 | Report Abuse

See LuxChem (glove related) Q4 results announced today even prior to Covid-19 positive impact in FY2020 :-)

Wow123

1,971 posts

Posted by Wow123 > 2020-02-17 15:14 | Report Abuse

batman return

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-02-17 15:24 | Report Abuse

HUAT ARRRR

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-02-17 16:15 | Report Abuse

lai lai lai....big or small?

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-02-17 16:17 | Report Abuse

HUUUUAAAAT ARRRRR

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-02-17 16:19 | Report Abuse

Big fat dividend is coming......close eye buy

DollyLucky

215 posts

Posted by DollyLucky > 2020-02-17 17:13 | Report Abuse

88 sen

Posted by Bingjiwang > 2020-02-17 23:48 | Report Abuse

12 tutup price is a good sign

5354_

4,764 posts

Posted by 5354_ > 2020-02-18 04:21 | Report Abuse

Haters also disappear when up? Why shout below RM 11, <10 become less and less?

GooShem

1,330 posts

Posted by GooShem > 2020-02-18 06:07 | Report Abuse

only up 1% hahaha

Posted by Bingjiwang > 2020-02-18 08:27 | Report Abuse

Tangkap satu, lepas 11 kut ?

Panorama1

971 posts

Posted by Panorama1 > 2020-02-18 09:30 | Report Abuse

Asal ada Ops Tangkap, BAT akan terus naik. PH sangat perlu pendapatan cukai untuk “Stimulus-2020”.

Wow123

1,971 posts

Posted by Wow123 > 2020-02-18 09:32 | Report Abuse

betul dapat cukai

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-02-18 09:38 | Report Abuse

HUUUAAAT AARRR

Posted by Bingjiwang > 2020-02-18 09:41 | Report Abuse

Gempar smuggling is good for legal BAT

posby

976 posts

Posted by posby > 2020-02-18 10:02 | Report Abuse

Ada Lateefa koya..
Ada LGE..
Ada Bador ...bador say sebelum bersih luar.. Bersih dalam dulu.. Dalam bersih luar mesti bersih... Isi isi tersirat..

Semua integrity orang.. No play play..

Cloudboy

456 posts

Posted by Cloudboy > 2020-02-18 11:00 | Report Abuse

With this market condition....BAT really offer a good alternative for us

Somemore we r invest in a good governance company with quarterly dividend payout ...

Do your homework and stay invest in this low interest environment

whenarmada

144 posts

Posted by whenarmada > 2020-02-18 11:25 | Report Abuse

i bought this share around 11.30 till 11.76. i have been trading stocks since 1993. forget abt crisis 1997, 2008. I dont see such a quality stock with such a low price. I could be wrong, but i dont think I could be that wrong. every bluechip stock needs a bad news to drive it down. but the bad news seems to be ok, it is a matter of government enforcement. it is not talking about huge debt or bankruptcy. my advise to young investors, just keep buying this stock, a stock that u could keep forever, of course dont expect it will fly within a short period, in few years time, it shall reach rm50.

whenarmada

144 posts

Posted by whenarmada > 2020-02-18 11:33 | Report Abuse

with about 10% dividen, the buffer is huge, even the coming profit is half gone, u still have 5% dividen, that means about 90% of market share are belonged to smuggling, which is very unlikely to happen. even if it does happen, 5% dividen is good enough for investors to rush to buy.

Cloudboy

456 posts

Posted by Cloudboy > 2020-02-18 11:33 | Report Abuse

BAT price now really offer us.....one golden moment in time to accumulate and invest

Panorama1

971 posts

Posted by Panorama1 > 2020-02-18 11:46 | Report Abuse

My triple Averaging Down strategy working well. From “paper loss“ to “paper profit” and I am not exiting anytime soon even at 12.20 :-) The Best Is Yet To Come.

luckycharm

385 posts

Posted by luckycharm > 2020-02-18 12:04 | Report Abuse

Yes best golden time to accumulate b4 rm20

Nepo

3,389 posts

Posted by Nepo > 2020-02-18 12:10 | Report Abuse

If there is another fall, then make sure I have sufficient fund to buy in..
Will it happen?

luckycharm

385 posts

Posted by luckycharm > 2020-02-18 12:23 | Report Abuse

Keep for dividen lor price really attractive to collect...

Posted by Bingjiwang > 2020-02-18 12:47 | Report Abuse

2006 I bought at 66 rm

Panorama1

971 posts

Posted by Panorama1 > 2020-02-18 12:58 | Report Abuse

I am definitely keeping as endowment funds and gifts to my grandchildren. It might be the best gift for their education funds since my average cost is so low as compared with RM66 !

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-02-18 13:25 | Report Abuse

My favourite is BATman

davidkkw79

5,068 posts

Posted by davidkkw79 > 2020-02-18 13:28 | Report Abuse

Corona virus can make unto become batman also

Posted by CatchThe Bull > 2020-02-18 15:24 | Report Abuse

As long as BAT not privatize, you can actually buy it and enjoy the dividend for life.

laychee

1,743 posts

Posted by laychee > 2020-02-18 15:58 | Report Abuse

Bat or P4? Huanan Seafood Market doesn't sell bats but other animals that may eat bats.

Posted by SpicyMcDeluxe > 2020-02-18 17:41 | Report Abuse

Vape!!!

kelvin17

565 posts

Posted by kelvin17 > 2020-02-18 20:44 | Report Abuse

panorama1need to consult you , someone bought the share at 66 in 2006 , today is 12 .As you know the co revenue and profit are on the decline each year so by the time your children have the share it could be much lower price than today. why you believe this business can improve with time from now on

Posted by Bingjiwang > 2020-02-18 21:32 | Report Abuse

66 in 2006, dividend was approximately 35 k over 15 years, reinvested 35 k into BAT gradually, its still quite ok compared to pn 17 investment

SUMATECRM1

364 posts

Posted by SUMATECRM1 > 2020-02-19 00:12 | Report Abuse

Wheres PN 17?

Panorama1

971 posts

Posted by Panorama1 > 2020-02-19 05:56 | Report Abuse

Of course, BAT business will not improve significantly over time. However, you need to bear in mind that my entry price at an average cost of RM11 plus (not 66 or even 20) is very low indeed for a high dividend yield counter. BAT is facing the full brunt due to the illicit cigarettes level at 65% as at the last quarter mainly due to lax enforcement issues and market risks aversion. Our Government need to focus on the eradication of illicit cigarettes smuggling immediately to prevent major tax leakages in the shadow economy. With revenue plunging (lower oil prices, negative tourism effect due to Covid-19, lower tax revenue etc.), the urgency is there to act fast on all these tax leakages with the assistance of Customs & Police to mitigate against the high recession possibility for Malaysia in 2020. BAT will not head back to it’s hey day share price level due to steps taken globally to reduce smoking but it should not be at the current share price level. Market has no memory. I am a non-smoker too :-)

bose00

1,061 posts

Posted by bose00 > 2020-02-19 06:43 | Report Abuse

the share price does not reflect the quality of the company.
its the illicit cig problem that does the harm.

Posted by CatchThe Bull > 2020-02-19 08:42 | Report Abuse

@Panorama1 agreed with your points. Another main challenges for tobacco business is the demand for traditional tobacco Vs e-Cigarette. The drop of smokers statistic worldwide also influence investors from giving higher premium evaluation to tobacco company. Other than that, i think all negative point of views already price in at current BAT price level.

gggSTOCK

116 posts

Posted by gggSTOCK > 2020-02-19 09:24 | Report Abuse

theres no sign of uptrend since 2015 and so funny that people think is worth to keep

whenarmada

144 posts

Posted by whenarmada > 2020-02-19 10:02 | Report Abuse

this stock is not for trend trader.

whenarmada

144 posts

Posted by whenarmada > 2020-02-19 10:07 | Report Abuse

this stock is for those looking for good and bargain stock. something on sale at a lower price than its true value: