GENTING MALAYSIA BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): GENM (4715)

+0.04 (1.89%)

2.15 - 2.23

33 people like this.

43,736 comment(s). Last comment by Balian de Ibelin 13 minutes ago

skybursa

1,485 posts

Posted by skybursa > 2021-01-06 14:39 | Report Abuse

HOW COME NO NEWS AT ALL? Gloves counters all news came out with a few hundred infection. You are talking about 3000 not 309 hundred

skybursa

1,485 posts

Posted by skybursa > 2021-01-06 14:40 | Report Abuse

2 condo units under emco only
Nothing to do with the resort & casino.

ongth60

557 posts

Posted by ongth60 > 2021-01-06 14:45 | Report Abuse

I dont want to count the chickens, but if democrat win -> house (democrat) + senate (democrat) + president (democrat). if you want to pass a bill you need to have majority.

ongth60

557 posts

Posted by ongth60 > 2021-01-06 14:46 | Report Abuse

https://www.nst.com.my/business/2019/04/480606/genting-malaysias-rm18bil-mashpee-write-reversed

https://www.congress.gov/bill/116th-congress/house-bill/312

https://www.nrdc.org/stories/biden-nominates-deb-haaland-secretary-interior

https://www.capecodtimes.com/story/news/2020/12/17/mashpee-wampanoag-tribe-deb-haaland-nomination-department-interior-secretary/3947835001/

https://joebiden.com/tribalnations/
The Obama-Biden Administration recognized this vital responsibility and took 542,000 acres of land into trust for tribes — including land that the Trump Administration then tried to take away from the Mashpee Wampanoag tribe.
As President, Biden will uphold trust and treaty responsibilities and continue to place land into trust for Indian tribes. The U.S. Supreme Court’s Carcieri decision made fulfilling that responsibility harder by restricting the federal government’s ability to put land into trust.

ongth60

557 posts

Posted by ongth60 > 2021-01-06 14:50 | Report Abuse

This the land that was trusted to the Wampanoag for the Genting development but got reversed by the Secretary of Interior (during Trump era), so there is a bill to reverse that -> got passed in House but stuck in Senate (due to Repulican control). Furthermore, this is the land was original trusted to the tribe when Biden was VP.

Posted by 752_michael_chan > 2021-01-06 14:53 | Report Abuse

Democrats to win Senate tonight?.. prepare bullets for tomorrow

ongth60

557 posts

Posted by ongth60 > 2021-01-06 15:16 | Report Abuse

We are potentially talking about rm1.8 billion gain in the accounting book.

DestinyL

4,744 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2021-01-06 15:30 | Report Abuse

Ooooo almost 1 year NP

choysun

4,413 posts

Posted by choysun > 2021-01-06 16:09 | Report Abuse

@michael_chan Confirm Democrats won dy lo. One confirmed, the other leading highly likely to win liao! :)

choysun

4,413 posts

Posted by choysun > 2021-01-06 16:23 | Report Abuse

@AbcSoup2020 Already told you that I have, why ask me to go ahead? Hahaha

Posted by 752_michael_chan > 2021-01-06 16:40 | Report Abuse

Thanks @choysun for the update. Hopefully stock market has corrected in the afternoon...tomorrow to rally ??

Posted by stocksyndicate > 2021-01-06 16:47 | Report Abuse

Hopefully no election. Mydin still in control

yy89

138 posts

Posted by yy89 > 2021-01-06 21:26 | Report Abuse

Tomorrow all will know a big news

Dartmaster

1,029 posts

Posted by Dartmaster > 2021-01-06 21:34 | Report Abuse

tomorrow rm 2.3 got la big news .... interstate gonna be ban lol

yy89

138 posts

Posted by yy89 > 2021-01-06 21:39 | Report Abuse

Interstate no idea, but 2.3 maybe

yy89

138 posts

Posted by yy89 > 2021-01-06 21:49 | Report Abuse

Skytropolis Indoor Theme Park will be closed from 06 - 16.01.2021, except for weekends (09 & 10.01.2021, 1pm - 7pm) with limited rides available

Something is brewing. Someone mentioned early, hope MCMC won't waste time

choysun

4,413 posts

Posted by choysun > 2021-01-06 22:17 | Report Abuse

Any speculation is fake news :p

choysun

4,413 posts

Posted by choysun > 2021-01-06 22:40 | Report Abuse

Targeted MCO is good. Red and Green zones have different rules. We get the best of both worlds, bring down infection numbers, while minimising impact to businesses.

greedy44444

2,497 posts

Posted by greedy44444 > 2021-01-07 08:05 | Report Abuse

Something brewing in Genting Highlands ? Bad news anytime. Beware !

Goodprofit

1,022 posts

Posted by Goodprofit > 2021-01-07 08:06 | Report Abuse

First World Hotel at Canteen workers win jackpot 3000 need check lio

apple168

6,236 posts

Posted by apple168 > 2021-01-07 08:11 | Report Abuse

We heard MCO will be reintroduced next week...
GenM business will be affected for sure! Limiting movement interstate and within the state. Good Luck! We believe GenM share price will be challenged with previous low 1.8-2.0 if MCO reintroduced next week!

Goodprofit

1,022 posts

Posted by Goodprofit > 2021-01-07 08:15 | Report Abuse

MCO definitely needed due to yo cases already sky high

Dragonboy

371 posts

Posted by Dragonboy > 2021-01-07 08:25 | Report Abuse

If drop below 2 load more. Stand by bullet better : )

Jeffreyteck

4,247 posts

Posted by Jeffreyteck > 2021-01-07 08:32 | Report Abuse

Last chance.

choysun

4,413 posts

Posted by choysun > 2021-01-07 08:35 | Report Abuse

I suppose that's what the shorties would love you to think? :p

freddiehero

16,722 posts

Posted by freddiehero > 2021-01-07 08:35 | Report Abuse

will come. back close. door

freddiehero

16,722 posts

Posted by freddiehero > 2021-01-07 08:36 | Report Abuse

lucky price 1.80

Bgt 9963

7,445 posts

Posted by Bgt 9963 > 2021-01-07 08:42 |

jeffchan1901

1,406 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2021-01-07 08:58 | Report Abuse

let it drop below 2, by month end sure will pump somemore.

drkelvin20

694 posts

Posted by drkelvin20 > 2021-01-07 09:00 | Report Abuse

as of this morning, it was reported that MCO 2.0 next week is a faked news.

https://www.malaymail.com/news/malaysia/2021/01/06/fake-nsc-says-of-circular-purporting-preparations-for-mco-2.0/1938013

Posted by 752_michael_chan > 2021-01-07 09:00 | Report Abuse

陽光總在風雨後..the sun is always behind the storm! Another sunny day ahead... GenM! Go...go..go

drkelvin20

694 posts

Posted by drkelvin20 > 2021-01-07 09:12 | Report Abuse

My thinking, the share price may not bottom to below rm 2 again for genm, it was exceptional case back in March first time MCO was announced...it caught all surprise and there was sudden dip in share price, as it was never happened before, and at that times Vaccines is no way seen.

This time round, i think even with the more stringent CMCO, or targeted CMCO, even if this really take place, the effect will be minimal, because market is anticipating vaccines roll out...plus most retailers are more ready...

I don;t think genm or genting will bottom to March-20 level...Because market has witnessed a string rebound in genting and genm after reaching bottom in March 20...so the same panic shock sell may not happen this round...

This is what I think, my two cents.

Again...study own analysis, invest on own risk...do not follow others, risks on own.

Lets see how market react to this increased cases. But eventually market should recover with vaccine roll outs.

By the way, more vaccine roll out news is expected today from MOSTI KL, which will shed more lights on the vaccination process...

Bgt 9963

7,445 posts

Posted by Bgt 9963 > 2021-01-07 09:19 |

ongth60

557 posts

Posted by ongth60 > 2021-01-07 09:21 | Report Abuse

RM 1.8 billion wampanoag write down reversal potentially incoming to offset the loss during mco, dividend potentially retain, take a look at the last quarterly report ( the write down has all been accommodated for the MCO effect), this should add 0.40 to the share price.

drkelvin20

694 posts

Posted by drkelvin20 > 2021-01-07 09:24 | Report Abuse

I could draw a analogy here...I think many people hold at higher than current share price for GENM, back in March it dropped to below rm 2...because people not expecting the Covid to surge and now people have seen a string rebound close to rm 2.7 from 2.0...

SO I bet those holding at higher than curent share price, i do not think many will sell now at loss, to catch the unknown rm 2....knowing that share price rebound is a matter of time, just like it happened in last 2-3 months...

Now retailers are more prepared...knowing the GenM rebound is a matter of time, I do not think many will cut loss to hope for unknown RM 2 to buy back....

Plus vaccine roll out anytime now...

And Many countries started vaccination, and if the result on efficacy on mass scale vaccination out with very positive data, i bet and I think genm and genting will rebound very strong.

My two cents...study on your own and do own analysis...risk on own.

limkokthye

6,039 posts

Posted by limkokthye > 2021-01-07 09:33 | Report Abuse

kita undi lagi, hari hari cakap undi, hari hari jatuh

Posted by adamwarlock > 2021-01-07 09:34 | Report Abuse

@drkevin20 obviously you still don't know what happening nw. pls extend your antenna

drkelvin20

694 posts

Posted by drkelvin20 > 2021-01-07 09:58 | Report Abuse

@adamwarlock...maybe you are right. But i do my own analysis and study...I will keep my holdings and average down the cost if it dips further...

One thing I always believe, qoute from Warren BUffet "buy when people fear, sell when people greedy".

It is a fear time now. If I can hold, I will hold during fear time and even buy some to average down the cost if the share dips further.

Bgt 9963

7,445 posts

Posted by Bgt 9963 > 2021-01-07 10:09 | Report Abuse

Hoot9yee.....!

Posted by adamwarlock > 2021-01-07 10:12 | Report Abuse

@drkevin20 https://youtu.be/y0kT-mrcMgA

Posted by adamwarlock > 2021-01-07 10:14 | Report Abuse

@drkevin20 if base on warren buffet quote , why dont buy glove counter. nw everybody fear glove

OnionK1ng

91 posts

Posted by OnionK1ng > 2021-01-07 10:17 | Report Abuse

woo-hoo, discount price

kevin5059

933 posts

Posted by kevin5059 > 2021-01-07 10:17 | Report Abuse

@adamwarlock, itu queing to check in hotel ?? haha

Posted by Godstock8888 > 2021-01-07 10:25 | Report Abuse

bad news

Posted by adamwarlock > 2021-01-07 10:26 | Report Abuse

@kevin5059 you dont know cantonese?

OnionK1ng

91 posts

Posted by OnionK1ng > 2021-01-07 10:32 | Report Abuse

news is news, I heard about it also yesterday. so, I anticipated the dip today. BUT, how accurate is the news? how much influence it is to the stock?

the so called vaccine in February seems like a good news, but the market didn't sky rocket blow of it. stock is just a guessing game aka gamble. good luck

OnionK1ng

91 posts

Posted by OnionK1ng > 2021-01-07 10:33 | Report Abuse

blow = bcos*

SonOfaGun

290 posts

Posted by SonOfaGun > 2021-01-07 10:33 | Report Abuse

Choysun how???