TA ANN HOLDINGS BHD

KLSE (MYR): TAANN (5012)

+0.03 (0.75%)

3.98 - 4.07

5,190 comment(s). Last comment by enning22 4 weeks ago

power88

1,588 posts

Posted by power88 > 2016-05-22 08:34 | Report Abuse

Business
Ta Ann to see better numbers ahead
May 21, 2016, SaturdayShare this:TweetEmail
.KUCHING: Ta Ann Holdings Bhd (Ta Ann) reported a slow start to the financial year 2016 but analysts see promising prospects in the group, backed by its palm oil segment and possible recovery in its timber division.

Of note, Ta Ann recorded a net profit of circa RM14 million, which generally came below market an analysts’ expectations.

Nevertheless, analysts favour the company’s plantation earnings prospects as well as potentials in the timber division.

In a report, the research arm of AmInvestment Bank Bhd (AmInvestment Bank) said the group earnings were impacted by lower log and plywood volume and prices and traditionally, 1Q produces lower log and plywood volumes.

For Ta Ann’s plantations segment, it noted that 1Q is traditionally is also traditionally the weakest quarter for fresh fruit bunches (FFB) production and it is entering the peak crop season in 3Q16.

Nevertheless, it said, “We maintain our earnings forecasts for now, as it could still make up for the shortfalls to expectations, in view of the higher FFB production and crude palm oil (CPO) prices as well as higher log harvest in the months ahead.”

It added that it maintained its FFB production growth at 14 per cent and CPO price assumption at RM2,300 per tonne for FY16 forecast.

Meanwhile, the research arm of Affin Hwang Investment Bank Bhd (Affin Hwang Capital) pointed out that Ta Ann’s log prices have started to decline since late 2015 to about US$221 to US$236 per m3 from a high of US$289 per m3 in 3Q15.

“The high log prices and depreciation of the Indian rupee against the US dollar had pushed away Indian buyers, the largest log customers, to source for lower-cost logs in Papua New Guinea and the Solomon Islands.

“However, we believe that the decline in log prices would attract Indian buyers to Sarawak again,” it opined.

The research arm of Public Investment Bank Bhd (PublicInvest Research) also noted that plywood prices are likely to recover in 2Q given the low plywood inventory, stronger yen and better-than-expected to gross domestic product (GDP) data from Japan, which would give a boost for plywood orders.

“On the sales volume, log exports are expected to remain in the range of 160,000 to 170,000 cubic metres this year while plywood would also stand around 190,000 cubic metres,” it added.

On Ta Ann’s plantations sector, it noted that Ta Ann has allocated a lower capex of RM50 million for FY16 as majority of its plantation land are fully planted (only less than 1,000 hectares left for new planting).

Meanwhile, Kenanga Research said it anticipated stronger performance in Ta Ann’s plantation segment in 2Q16 as CPO prices have remained stable above RM2,500 metric tonne since mid-March, while FFB production should continue rising in line with cropping patterns.

Overall, it maintained a ‘market perform’ call on the stock and said it believed stabilising timber demand and better plantation outlook is offset by lower than expected timber volume.

PublicInvest Research maintained an ‘outperform’ rating on the stock. It said, “We think that the recent sharp fall in the share price performance has fully priced in the poor results for this year.

“Further downside risk is unlikely and will be capped by the current attractive dividend yield of 5.1 per cent. At current market cap, the timber concession business, which contributes at least 50 per cent earnings to the group, is significantly overlooked.”

Affin Hwang Capital maintained its ‘buy’ call and said it continue to like Ta Ann for the rising plantation earnings given the increasing matured plantation areas, FFB and CPO production, and its 5.1 per cent 2016 estimate dividend yield.

Aside from that, AmInvestment Bank upgraded its call of the stock to ‘buy;, given the oversold position, with a good dividend yield of 4.7 per cent, in addition to the capital gains upside.

Read more: http://www.theborneopost.com/2016/05/21/ta-ann-to-see-better-numbers-ahead/#ixzz49LAMh2qD

power88

1,588 posts

Posted by power88 > 2016-05-22 08:34 | Report Abuse

buy call.. haha

Posted by chiongster1234 > 2016-05-22 10:47 | Report Abuse

-.-\\\

saschl

310 posts

Posted by saschl > 2016-05-22 10:49 | Report Abuse

A very sincere warning on all Swk counters, seems all such counters really controlled by crocodiles who work on insider news, a live and undeniable case is Taan, Share price of Taan dropped by >15% before results announced on last Thursday, the fucking crocodiles kept on throwing! Very clearly, these blood sucking, damned to death crocodile insiders know the the fuckingly poor results of deadly Taan which were announced last Thursday! Damned, all these blood sucking crocodiles who earned by insider news will
all be condemned to early and premature deaths via the most horrible means!!

Posted by MuscleBluechip > 2016-05-22 11:55 | Report Abuse

Bo brain muscle , low life .

Jeremykid

236 posts

Posted by Jeremykid > 2016-05-22 12:01 | Report Abuse

@muscle, which analyst? Give us the link please

Posted by MuscleBluechip > 2016-05-22 12:05 |

Posted by MuscleBluechip > 2016-05-22 12:14 |

Jeremykid

236 posts

Posted by Jeremykid > 2016-05-22 13:21 | Report Abuse

RHB research only gave warning on the day itself (18/5), not few months back. It's a downgrade btw.

somo1

178 posts

Posted by somo1 > 2016-05-23 21:27 | Report Abuse

1Q2016 result just don't make sense in view of the still robust corresponding monthly production numbers released. I just can't trust the financials announced. Bad corporate governance in full display! I guess this stock will stay off my radar for now...

Invest1188

772 posts

Posted by Invest1188 > 2016-05-24 13:03 | Report Abuse

Agree with you

Gabriel Khoo

1,035 posts

Posted by Gabriel Khoo > 2016-05-24 17:02 | Report Abuse

If you think their biz is viable and good for long term then just stay. Otherwise can look around. No point to continue release disappointment and frustation here. Chill

kakashit

1,472 posts

Posted by kakashit > 2016-05-24 21:53 | Report Abuse

What i saw is juz a bunch of ordinary investors who cannot stomach paper loss

I dun mine sharing u my cost, I bought taann-cf and averaged down to 0.049, but now the sp is only 0.015

Currently, im suffering unreliazed loss of 70%!! and it is gonna expired at the end of September with the execise price of rm5.5

But i still sleep soundly as usual everynight.

Dun wish me goodluck or god bless me, coz I nvr need luck or god in the road of investment

Posted by murali > 2016-05-24 22:06 | Report Abuse

U need super investor......

Posted by murali > 2016-05-24 22:07 | Report Abuse

He can buy u free lunch...

enning22

2,947 posts

Posted by enning22 > 2016-05-25 16:49 | Report Abuse

there was a slow down ,in logs and plywood demand in last quarterly report,on demand from INDIA and Japan,has slow down, but by second part of the year, demand from these two countries will improve.Many foreign manufacturing businesses made their exits from China , due to higher labors cost ,reallocated their business into India,,while Japane has implemented negative interest rate, this action would stimulate consumers depand in general,housing demand could expected to be stronger.

hng33

20,534 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2016-05-26 15:37 | Report Abuse

Bought back Taann at 3.86

Posted by shortinvestor77 > 2016-05-26 17:53 | Report Abuse

How many you bought normally?

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2016-05-26 19:44 | Report Abuse

Directors acquired many shares
Meaning is good news

hng33

20,534 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2016-05-27 09:17 | Report Abuse

YESSSSSSSS, gradually recovering back again

hng33

20,534 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2016-05-27 15:23 | Report Abuse

Sold back all Ta ann at 3.96, lock in contra profit, free up capital

WilburR2

876 posts

Posted by WilburR2 > 2016-05-27 15:46 | Report Abuse

hng33

20,534 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2016-05-27 15:47 | Report Abuse

Wow....Ta ann gengggggggg

WilburR2

876 posts

Posted by WilburR2 > 2016-05-27 15:50 | Report Abuse

lol jesting, but shld recover as oversold
div & bi next mth

Gabriel Khoo

1,035 posts

Posted by Gabriel Khoo > 2016-05-27 16:48 | Report Abuse

Posted by shortinvestor77 > 2016-05-28 17:29 | Report Abuse

Funds accumulating. We believe almost all Sawarak counters were forced to contribute for the Sarawak election campaigns. That's why their net profits so low or negative. Surely these contributions could not be mentioned clearly in the actual accounting.

Gabriel Khoo

1,035 posts

Posted by Gabriel Khoo > 2016-05-30 10:55 | Report Abuse

enning22

2,947 posts

Posted by enning22 > 2016-05-31 16:15 | Report Abuse

Malaysia Raises Palm Biofuel Blend for Transport Sector to B10
2016-05-31 07:13:28.242 GMT
By Niluksi Koswanage
(Bloomberg) -- Govt agrees to strengthen biodiesel program
by increase blend to B10, or blending 10% palm methyl ester with
90% petroleum diesel, Malaysia Commodities Ministry says in e-
mailed statement.

* Govt to also implement B7 program in industrial sector
* Both programs to be implemented progressively from June
* Both pogrames expected to contribute to annual consumption
of 709,000 tons of crude palm oil domestically
* Programs to contribute to saving of 820m liters of diesel/yr
* Biofuel to be supplied by Malaysian Biodiesel Assoc. that
consists of 22 members

Posted by shortinvestor77 > 2016-06-01 21:08 | Report Abuse

Good news.

power88

1,588 posts

Posted by power88 > 2016-06-01 23:57 | Report Abuse

usd 4.16....ta ann soon back to RM5

power88

1,588 posts

Posted by power88 > 2016-06-03 15:26 | Report Abuse

GO RM5

power88

1,588 posts

Posted by power88 > 2016-06-03 15:26 | Report Abuse

RM WEAK

kakashit

1,472 posts

Posted by kakashit > 2016-06-04 23:07 | Report Abuse

好吧,这三个月就要看木材跟油棕的产量定胜负可。

四月的鲜果串产量已经恢复平均以上

Posted by chris_phing > 2016-06-06 20:01 | Report Abuse

bonus issue on 7June, how will it affects the price?

Jeremykid

236 posts

Posted by Jeremykid > 2016-06-07 09:24 | Report Abuse

Price has been adjusted like today

Posted by chris_phing > 2016-06-07 10:03 | Report Abuse

dropped to 3.3, time to Buy!!!!

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2016-06-07 13:10 | Report Abuse

Is bonus issue ex today
Not price drop

Posted by chris_phing > 2016-06-07 13:56 | Report Abuse

Hi RainT, i am newbie in stock, what is the different?
As long as i buy at lower price, it should be alright, right?

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2016-06-07 19:06 | Report Abuse

Lower price meaning more affordable. ..such as u can buy more shares with more lower price
But for already is shareholder is the same
Example before bonus own 800 shares with cost 4.11 per share
After bonus share own is 960 shares cost is 3.425
Get free 160 shares and the price also reduce

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2016-06-07 19:09 | Report Abuse

Bonus issue other than to reward shareholders is also to make the shares more liquid
With lower price and higher number if shares then more easy to sell /buy
Example like AIRASIA , SKPETRO have very high number of shares so their daily volume always is top
Also got company the shares outstanding very low and not liquid and the offer and bid price will different a lot

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2016-06-07 19:12 | Report Abuse

Taan is good plantation company and the price still affordable
Other good plantations company like KLK already high in price and if want buy need many cash
So Taan is the most affordable and good in fundamental among all plantations company after I have compare

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2016-06-07 19:13 | Report Abuse

So hold for long term with hope will capital appreciate and get dividend as well
Now taan dy is 6% better than fd

power88

1,588 posts

Posted by power88 > 2016-06-07 23:11 | Report Abuse

director keep buying

Posted by chris_phing > 2016-06-08 11:23 | Report Abuse

RainT, Thanks for the Explaination. ^^

enning22

2,947 posts

Posted by enning22 > 2016-06-09 23:33 | Report Abuse

many people had misintrepreted the first quarter financial report which showed smaller earning,you must take into account ,usually first quarter jan-march , had many holidays, like christmas/new year,chiness new year etc,business operation slow down ,palm oil low production,by second quarter, sale would normalized and is picking up strong ,then you could see better picture.i am still bullish.

1,902 posts

Posted by 007 > 2016-06-10 16:11 | Report Abuse

Dear Chris_phing,
hold for long term is a bad approach, don't be miss led by the so call self claim sifu
The key point is growth, I will not hold a stock for nothing, worst for long term.
Think about strategy-technical chart can be misled, likewise fundamental can be confusing
Don't waste your hard earn money

1,902 posts

Posted by 007 > 2016-06-10 16:15 | Report Abuse

if many people misintrepreted wrongly the quarter result, why the share price not going up? don't you think you are in the wrong side, market forces never wrong. It's supply and demand

Jeremykid

236 posts

Posted by Jeremykid > 2016-06-10 21:59 | Report Abuse

@007 personally I think what you said might be correct, but this counter for the past 10 yrs have been operating well with consistent/ growing revenue and profits. However, people might overreact towards the fall of profits for the quarter. Morever, EPF has been selling earlier even before the result is out. If you were here last month, then i believe u would have noticed panic selling when the price fell drastically. In fact, directors have been buying for the past few weeks, in quite large volume. If they themselves do not have confidence in the company, i cant think of any reason behind the acquisition of shares, almost everyday.

http://www.bursamalaysia.com/market/listed-companies/company-announcements#/?company=5012&category=all&page=1
Above is the announcement of shares acquisition of directors between 25/5 to 8/6.

Therefore, I believe in the value of the company and the performance of company in the coming quarters. And, i think there's no right or wrong in terms of strategy to either buy with trend or buy and hold. Just my opinion, cheers :)

1,902 posts

Posted by 007 > 2016-06-11 10:34 | Report Abuse

Directors need to defend their company share price, very normal however is no relation to company health, yes company can do well for the last 10 years. but this quarter very very bad, next quarter will be good?, I think we cannot base on luck or believe to invest. Many unknown.
Some are trying to find the bottom but no one know where/when is the bottom
Yes there is no right or wrong strategy but there is always a better one
buy and hold is a bad strategy, try to find bottom is a bad strategy