Recent boom of O&G mentioned in the budget is good new as drilling in this region is intensified. This has sparked many interest in o&G counters. I think to date Alam has won three smaller contracts which has helped their bottom line. The only problem is Alam is not under Petronas shortlist only because their older vessels not in line with Petronas' specifications. I am not sure if they associates have it but i think not because recent analyses reports suggested none. So they have to await regional OSV contracts which I think will come if recent events suggest anything. Indonesia, Thailand and Myanmar oil sector seems to be booming, not forgetting reliable Brunei. They are only missing out on plum contracts by Petronas expected in the region of USD35bn over the next three years.
Perdana I am not too sure. Not done detailed studies yet to offer anything news worthy.
Thanks KC for the details and assessments on Alam. I agree with you on the recent sparked and sparkle interest in O&G. I m taking careful position in both counters till year end. Do you have a blog site ? Thanks again.
Dear KC, You are certainly popular in i3investor site. Your views and thoughts are much appreciated and noticed. I despise those rude and mindless comments made on you. Especially the fake Taylor's kid with 500k. Yes ,I also enjoy Eddie Murphy's humour. Especially the movie , Holyman. Hence ,I sinonised my nick from that word. I have been using it since.
Alan can go places as O&G is the theme play now. The only thing is, are people buying because of anticipation or fundamentals? The million dollar question! In Alam's case, the last three contracts justifies their price rise.
The Taylor kid got it wrong only when he said Petronas will give contracts. Don't mislead the people!
THE BUZZ Alam Maritim Resources’ (Alam) jointly controlled entity, Alam Swiber DLB (L) Inc has secured an agreement with Newcruz Offshore Marine Pte Ltd for the charter of a pipelay barge identified as 1MAS-300. The deal is worth RM18m. OUR TAKE Positive but no changes to our earnings forecast. The contract is valued at approximately RM18m for a firm charter of 175 days only, commencing by the third week of October 2012. We are making no changes to our earnings estimate as we had earlier assumed some job replenishments for Alam’s pipelay barge and associated vessels.
Turnaround prospects intact. Including yesterday’s contract, Alam has already secured three contracts worth RM137m in a short span of three months since August. We continue to believe that the company’s turnaround prospects could be intact provided that it could i) continue to secure new contracts and improve the execution of its operations, and iii) strengthen its earnings track record in the coming quarters. Moving forward, we expect more projects to be handed out to Alam in the next six months in anticipation of more activities in the oil and gas sector (O&G) next year.
Maintain BUY. In line with our overweight call on the O&G sector, we believe that Alam’s valuations could rerate towards 10-12x forward earnings if it is able to improve its earnings track record in the coming quarters. Despite making no changes to our earnings estimate, we are revising our fair value upwards to RM1.25 as we rollover our valuations to 12x FY13 earnings. Maintain BUY.
KC ..It's neither anticipation nor fundamental here. More of greed and herds instinct for the recent O&G sparks and sparkle. That's how it works in this market here. I took position because of the volume surge. Sometime plain stock fundamentals are overlooked. Could not justify price surge with newly inked contracts too. Brother.Just lunch money here
Benalac was and still is a heartache to me. I took position at 1.18 average since March. It has value in correct fundamentals ,great business model ie."Producing land from diesel and sand at strategic locations" and good family managed company. Each time ,when its price push up a few cents up ,someone pull it down to 1.14 or lower. This push and pull repeats for weeks and months. Yet I waited patiently in belief of its value. When it hit 1.20 on 2.10.12,I unloaded everything as my patience wore out that very day. Today ,it hit 1.44. I lost the opportunity of profiting 26K here. An expensive lesson on good fundamental stock and market play learned. Eden Thean ,if you are looking for good fundamental company ,there is a long list of them in KLSE. Without market play ,they remain good fundamental companies. I hope excelyou's enthusiasm in Alam Maritim is in line with market play. KC ,looking forward to your comments
For me, I only looking for the financial statement, izit wrong or correct? Recently I had put the companies my watchlist are evergrn, skpres,ksl, mudajya and ihh...any problem with all these companies?
Sarawak: Alam Maritim Resources Bhd (Alam Maritim) has been viewed to be potentially on track to a turnaround of its financial outlook on the back of securing three contracts worth RM317 million since August this year.
The latest contract was bagged by its jointly controlled entity Alam Swiber DLB (L) Inc in which it signed an agreement with Newcruz Offshore Marine Pte Ltd worth RM18 million for the charter of a pipelay barge identified as 1MAS-300.
OSK Research Sdn Bhd (OSK Research) was positive on the news but made no changes to its earnings estimate as it had earlier assumed some job replenishments for Alam Maritim’s pipelay barge and associated vessels.
“We continue to believe that the company’s turnaround prospects could be intact provided that it can continue to secure new contracts and improve the execution of its operations as well as strengthen its earnings track record in the coming quarters.
“Moving forward, we expect more projects to be handed out to Alam Maritim in the next six months in anticipation of more activities in the oil and gas sector (O&G) next year.”
Taking a similar positive stance on the news was the research arm of Kenanga Investment Bank Bhd (Kenanga Research) which opined that the latest contract win showed that the company “is able to mobilise its pipe lay barge on a spot term basis to keep the vessel occupied during the domestic monsoon season.”
“We have been guided that the pipe lay barge is to be chartered out to India in bareboat condition, hence giving a better earnings margin to the group on the back of the lower cost incurred compared to time charter condition.”
The research house was brought to understand that the daily charter rate would be US$35,000 (about RM108,000) for a firm period of 175 days.
Based on a projected 35 per cent net margin for the contract, it expected a net income contribution of RM6.3 million from the entire contract.
It also expected proportionate net earnings recognition of RM1.6 million each for the fourth quarter of 2012 (4Q12) and 1Q13 respectively, which it had factored in into its financial year 2012 (FY12) and FY13 estimates earlier.
Given that Newcruz Offshore Marine Pte Ltd and Swiber Offshore (India) Pvt Ltd are Swiber Holdings Ltd’s subsidiaries Kenanga Research believed that through such a strategic networking tie-up, that Alam Maritim would be able to secure more international charter agreements in the future.
“The trend of its increasing order book implies a better prospect for the group and the sector moving forward.
“We expect a strong second half of 2012 on the back of an assumed vessel utilisation rate of a healthy 80 per cent for its offshore support vessel (OSV) segment and the execution of the remaining RM10 million of its RM20 million Sabah Oil and Gas Terminal project.” Citing lower than expected figures for OSV utilisation, charter rates and project replenishments as potential risks to its unchanged forecasts for FY12 to FY14, Kenanga Research maintained the target price of RM1.14 per share.
Despite making no changes to its earnings estimate, OSK Research revised its fair value for the stock upwards to RM1.25 per share as it rolled over its valuations to 12 times FY13 earnings.
In line with its bullish view on the O&G sector, the research house believed that Alam Maritim’s valuations could rerate towards 10 times to 12 times forward earnings if the latter would be able to improve its earnings track record in the coming quarters.
Alam Maritim share price is holding the fort at RM 0.50 - RM0.53 for almost 3-4 months since last surge on Oct 2012.
The Chairman of the company Ahamad Sufian bought shares on Jun 04, 2012 from the open market. He paid RM 0.50 for 10,000 shares, added to his interests of 965,000 shares.
Lemabaga Tabung Haji who has quite a respectable records in buying small cap companies has been buying in the open market as well. They already have substantial interests of 9.59% in the company. The dates of open purchased were:
12 July 250,000 shares 13 July 250,000 shares 16 July 250,000 shares 17 July 250,000 shares 18 July 250,000 shares 19 July 250,000 shares 20 July 250,000 shares
The insiders are buying. So why dont we buying too.
The rise is too fast, im sure there willbe some profit taking in the coming days. Especially when dow dropped 3 digits on fri. But based on the contracts in the bag... This share looks a good bet!
How you all evaluate this counter? in term of TA or FA? I review this counter report at 2010 is profit loss but 2011 is start to make profit.Anyone know why 2010 this counter profit is loss? How many project currently owned this counter?
Insider is buying again or retail investors, pushing price to RM0.665. More contracts are likely to announce soon. If it happen, the next level should at RM0.77
People who like this
You should check in on some of those fields below.
Title
Category
Comment
Confirmation
Click Confirm to delete this Forum Thread and all the associated comments.
Report Abuse
Please Sign In to report this post as abuse.
Featured Posts
MQ Trader
Introducing MY's First IPO Fund for Sophisticated Investors!
MQ Chat
New Update. Discover investment communities that resonate with your ideas
MQ Trader
M & A Value Partners IPO Equity Fund has been launched - Targeted 13% Return p.a
Latest Videos
0:17
New IPO: A café chain operator, distributor, and retailer, Oriental Kopi Holdings Berhad aims to list on the ACE Market!
MQ Trader 1009 views | 6 d ago
0:17
New IPO: Solar PV EPCC services provider, Northern Solar Holdings Berhad aims to list on the ACE Market!
This book is the result of the author's many years of experience and observation throughout his 26 years in the stockbroking industry. It was written for general public to learn to invest based on facts and not on fantasies or hearsay....
necro
4,726 posts
Posted by necro > 2012-10-18 14:53 | Report Abuse
buy laa xwant aa!!?