AFFIN BANK BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): AFFIN (5185)

-0.11 (3.29%)

3.23 - 3.35

4,041 comment(s). Last comment by ScotFree 4 days ago

aklobi

282 posts

Posted by aklobi > 2017-07-28 23:39 | Report Abuse

titus 2.69

aklobi

282 posts

Posted by aklobi > 2017-07-29 00:48 | Report Abuse

titus: 9 out of 10 research predict price targets above the current price. Average price target of all research is 2.875. The highest price target is 3.30. The lowest and only negative price target is 2.55. There are 2 buy recommendations, 1 sell recommendation, and 7 hold recommendations. Conclusion: DON'T WORRY

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2017-07-30 06:27 | Report Abuse

Hi aklobi, thanks for sharing. I normally don't trust much on analyse report. My average cost is 2.50. After last friday, affin is 50% my portfolio. If there is opportunity, will get some tomorrow. Lets all here huat together in affin.

aklobi

282 posts

Posted by aklobi > 2017-07-30 19:08 | Report Abuse

titus.. I bought Affin at 2.11 and sold at 2.95.. This is my second ride.

aklobi

282 posts

Posted by aklobi > 2017-07-30 19:09 | Report Abuse

Let me share my prediction with you guys: The Quarter results will be announced on or after mid August. The results are expected to be positive and therefore might ignite a rally for Affin from now until the result announcement. We might see the price reach 3.10 or even more. I could be wrong.

Bulat

567 posts

Posted by Bulat > 2017-07-31 16:42 | Report Abuse

ARE YOU SURE? good excellent great wonderful

Bulat

567 posts

Posted by Bulat > 2017-07-31 16:44 | Report Abuse

rhb and ambank the last result no ok. after still up lah

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2017-07-31 16:50 | Report Abuse

bought a little more affin today. Let see tomorrow how it perform

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2017-08-01 16:43 | Report Abuse

going south. Thought after cw expire should rebound. Maybe the entire stk market is curse by the 1mdb. Forget that this is a national issue which hv some effect on the klse. Since now it has defaulted, expecting downtrend for bursa???

alvinchiam

1,555 posts

Posted by alvinchiam > 2017-08-01 16:50 | Report Abuse

This bank very very cheap laa.. we will the boat..

alvinchiam

1,555 posts

Posted by alvinchiam > 2017-08-01 16:51 | Report Abuse

if want to buy no volume.. must keep...

alvinchiam

1,555 posts

Posted by alvinchiam > 2017-08-01 16:52 | Report Abuse

if miss the boat.. no chance.. u can see bank very expensive..

TheContrarian

9,171 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-08-01 19:04 | Report Abuse

Affin downside is much limited but there's great upside potential if there's ever going to be a merger with another bank. It is worthwhile to include it into your portfolio of undervalued counters. To me it's too cheap not to have. Bought some at 2.57 today.

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2017-08-02 14:27 | Report Abuse

TheContrarian, I have been accumulated a lot and every time I see it go lower, I just could not stop nibbling. Hope it doesn't fall into a coma and keep drifting south.

aklobi

282 posts

Posted by aklobi > 2017-08-02 16:15 | Report Abuse

Titus.. my strategy is shut your screen and go do something else. Sooner or later you'll be pleased with the price. Monitoring the price everyday is not benefitial. Big Fish eat small fish who keep monitoring the screens by playing a psychological game and depressing the stock price.

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2017-08-02 16:21 | Report Abuse

thanks aklobi. I still have some cash left. Hence, whenever if drift lower, i buy a little bit more. That is why monitoring the stk. I guess i have accumulated enough. Going to see this when the next QR release.

darrenliew

968 posts

Posted by darrenliew > 2017-08-03 14:09 | Report Abuse

GOOD BUYING OPPORTUNITY
1Q PROFITS ALTO UP 6.6% COULD HAVE BEEN MUCH BETTER IF NOT FOR THE ADDITIONAL NPL/GIL OF RM200M PROVIDED FOR 1 REAL ESTATE AC (WHICH IS ACTUALLY PERFORMING BUT TECHNICALLY CLASSIFIED IN 1Q AS IT WAS IN THE PROCESS OF RESTRUCTURING & RESCHEDULING (R&R). IF THIS AC CONTINUES TO PERFORM BY MEETING ITS OBLIGATIONS UNDER ITS R&R (I.E. WITHIN THE 6 MONTHS OF 1Q AND 2Q) IT WILL BE DECLASSIFIED. AFFIN BANK WILL BE ABLE TO REDUCE ITS NPL/GIL BY RM200M (by 21.6%)AND ALSO WRITE BACK ITS PROVISIONING FOR THIS AC INTO ITS PROFIT AC. (THIS AC IS ALREADY PERFORMING BEFORE ITS R&R. WITH THE BANK’S MORE ACCOMODATING TERMS UNDER THE R&R IT WILL BE EVEN EASIER TO CONTINUE TO PERFORM. HENCE WE CAN EXPECT AFFIN’S 2Q RESULTS (TO BE RELEASED SOON) TO BE VERY GOOD.
(attached herewith relevant report by HL Investment Bank:-
Affin Holdings - Clear the air on asset quality
Author: HLInvest | Publish date: Wed, 31 May 2017, 09:54 AM
• Hosts briefing. Affin organized conference call post-1Q17 briefing. To recap, Affin’s 1Q17 net profit of RM123.2m (+6.6% YoY, -30.4% QoQ) was broadly in line with expectations but with rising absolute NPL by +21.6% QoQ.

• Spike in NPL explained. Management explained that the spike in NPL was caused by one specific real estate account located in Klang Valley worth RM200m that was classified under restructured and rescheduled (R&R). To note, the R&R account is classified under impaired loans despite the account still performing. The R&R loans will be reclassified as non-impaired with provisions written back if the borrowers continue to service the loans timely within these six months. In the case of Affin, the particular R&R account is fully collateralized and does not required additional provision. Excluding this account, Affin’s NPL would have declined by 5.5% QoQ, lowering GIL to 1.54% from 2.0%.
• Higher opex temporary. This is rather a seasonal issue as Affin booked various one-off related costs such as IT and Affinity. For instance, the additional 200 headcounts since last year had spiked its personnel cost. For establishment cost, the change in IT vendor will lead to cost saving for Affin to the amount of RM3.5m/month, translating into RM24.5m for FY17 alone. Management guided that such savings will lead to lower CTI in the region of 58% by end of FY17 from 66.4% currently.
• Steady NIM. Despite higher cost of funds by 40bps YoY, Affin’s NIM accelerated by 13bps to 1.97%. This is chiefly driven by higher loans yield. Recall that Affin had replaced RM1.6bn loans with higher yield loans.
• Loan growth intact. Still eyeing 8% loan growth, which will be driven by both retail and SME segment. Management admitted that it is now playing a catchup game with other banks in the SME segment. Nevertheless, it is making swift progress in attracting SME players to achieve its targeted loan growth.

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2017-08-04 11:06 | Report Abuse

Affin releasing the next QR around 3rd week. Let's see how it performed.

TheContrarian

9,171 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-08-05 11:54 | Report Abuse

Malaysia having a 1MDB sentiment problem.

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2017-08-07 16:19 | Report Abuse

if due to 1mdb, holding cash also no use....soon it will be banana paper....
Sigh, unless convert to foreign currency

Posted by shortinvestor77 > 2017-08-09 11:15 | Report Abuse

wait and see affin result. argument is useless.

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2017-08-11 11:36 | Report Abuse

looks like entire market is down.....cut loss

Posted by shortinvestor77 > 2017-08-11 15:54 | Report Abuse

BYE-BYE, TITUS.

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2017-08-11 17:06 | Report Abuse

shortinvestor77, oppsss.....typo......i plan to cut loss but didn't execute yet....hehe....so pretty much in the boat.....

TheContrarian

9,171 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-08-11 21:15 | Report Abuse

Titus, you need to diversify into several good unvalued counters.

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2017-08-11 23:30 | Report Abuse

TheContrarian, any good recommendation especially with current market uncertainty?

TheContrarian

9,171 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-08-12 00:40 | Report Abuse

I try to diversify into different sectors. I don't expect the market to be as good as it has been during the first half of the year. I think the undervalued companies that announce improved quarter on quarter results will see their share prices go up and stay up. I'm betting on OSKVI to announce impressive QR next week.

Posted by apolloang > 2017-08-12 00:50 | Report Abuse

be patience,the market is going no where,everyday slow death.down then at the close of low,then the next day down again.it won't crash down,cos if crash down the sharks cannot sell,so they use this method,down then push back up a bit so retailers thinking of rebound,got trapped again.

TheContrarian

9,171 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-08-12 01:22 | Report Abuse

apolloang, Cepatwawasan did pretty well after release of its QR two days ago.

Posted by shortinvestor77 > 2017-08-12 12:40 | Report Abuse

If really market down, those (like me) that invested in stocks with dividends will just close eyes to receive our handson dividends (more than 3% that bank offer even market down) every year. Nothing to worry. But if you invest in no dividend stock, you have to worry.

Posted by shortinvestor77 > 2017-08-12 12:41 | Report Abuse

Anyhow, no show for US and NK. Don't worry.

Posted by shortinvestor77 > 2017-08-12 12:44 | Report Abuse

Dow Jones 21,858.32 +14.31 0.07%
Nasdaq 6,256.56 +39.68 0.64%

TheContrarian

9,171 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-08-12 16:00 | Report Abuse

Dow Jones was stable last nite which is good. Many counters have been falling which is a good buying opportunity for people who has the cash to buy.

TheContrarian

9,171 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-08-16 09:36 | Report Abuse

Anyone bought OSKVI?

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2017-08-16 11:30 | Report Abuse

nope.....too bad as was busy. But congrats to you and those have bought.

TheContrarian

9,171 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-08-16 12:37 | Report Abuse

I'm sincere in sharing opportunities.

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2017-08-16 16:46 | Report Abuse

Thanks TheContrarian. Hope you can share more in future.

Buybuybuy

695 posts

Posted by Buybuybuy > 2017-08-17 15:43 | Report Abuse

Trading buy call due to the strong result which is going to release next week. Trading buy call 3.50. buy now before the good news release.

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2017-08-18 10:48 | Report Abuse

if it really goes up to 3.50.......i be laughing all the way to the bank. I believe TheContrarian will be rolling all the way because he holds much more....

Beza

1,847 posts

Posted by Beza > 2017-08-18 14:03 | Report Abuse

The finance & insurance and business services stepped expanded 5.1% and 8.5% respectively.
http://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/kianweiaritcles/130290.jsp

aklobi

282 posts

Posted by aklobi > 2017-08-19 21:00 | Report Abuse

Hello guys.. hope to celebrate with you next week!

Posted by shortinvestor77 > 2017-08-19 22:32 | Report Abuse

Sure!

1,800 posts

Posted by 4444 > 2017-08-20 22:34 | Report Abuse

Every year Aug QR sure out before 20th. Why 2017 so late? Very bad QR shorting wrong stocks?
https://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/stk/fin/5185.jsp

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2017-08-21 08:43 | Report Abuse

bad Q??....hmmm....maybe they issue today,....hehe...
not other choices. Just need to wait patiently...

1,800 posts

Posted by 4444 > 2017-08-21 20:45 | Report Abuse

Where got out? Bad Q likely?

titus bad Q??....hmmm....maybe they issue today,....hehe...
not other choices. Just need to wait patiently...
21/08/2017 08:43

TheContrarian

9,171 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-08-22 16:07 | Report Abuse

Slow down Affin, slow down.

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2017-08-22 16:14 | Report Abuse

are you still collecting??

TheContrarian

9,171 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-08-22 16:35 | Report Abuse

CIMB bought the call warrants from me at RM2.5914, got my cheque from them last week. So any price below that is good for me.

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2017-08-22 16:49 | Report Abuse

i see....then today volume and it went up is most probably contributed by you.....lol....