AFFIN BANK BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): AFFIN (5185)

-0.11 (3.29%)

3.23 - 3.35

4,041 comment(s). Last comment by ScotFree 4 days ago

TheContrarian

9,171 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-06-15 09:05 | Report Abuse

Today since the bull market started, it's getting more difficult to find good bargains near the bottom. I would say Affin is one now. For other than Affin there was Cresbuilder only two weeks ago but has since rallied 20%. Most importantly you must do a bit of your own research. investing in shares is taking calculated risk to maximize gains A bull market like now comes once in a decade or so.

Posted by Equityengineer > 2017-06-15 17:48 | Report Abuse

But the price is keep closing down. What is the moat that can start the uptrend..

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2017-06-15 20:24 | Report Abuse

It does look like the price is closing down. But if we look carefully, there is no seller. Seller park at much higher price.

aklobi

282 posts

Posted by aklobi > 2017-06-16 02:22 | Report Abuse

TheContrarian, you said "I would say Affin is one now".. thats why I can't find any other stock thats worth diversifying!

aklobi

282 posts

Posted by aklobi > 2017-06-16 02:28 | Report Abuse

TheContrarian, you said "I would say Affin is one now".. thats why I can't find any other stock thats worth diversifying!

TheContrarian

9,171 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-06-16 12:13 | Report Abuse

Your case too much concentration in Affin. I'm spread out over a dozen counters a one stage, some which I have totally exited like OSKVI, Ancom, Malton, PUC etc. Some I am adding more like Affin-CV, Insas-WB etc.

TheContrarian

9,171 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-06-16 16:30 | Report Abuse

Do not chase Affin!!! Someone said it will drop to 2.55 or even 2.50. ;-)

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2017-06-16 17:18 | Report Abuse

Hi TheContrarian, who say drop to 2.50? Sound more like sarcasm.....lol...
Anyway, i'm glad i did add some earlier. Looking to continue to add more if indeed it drop.

TheContrarian

9,171 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-06-16 17:52 | Report Abuse

Oh well, que sera sera, whatever will be, will be. The future's not ours to see. What will be, will be

jackyle

584 posts

Posted by jackyle > 2017-06-16 18:16 | Report Abuse

TheContrarian so happy till sing song. Sure heavy in CV liao

TheContrarian

9,171 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-06-16 18:37 | Report Abuse

Little bit only.

TheContrarian

9,171 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-06-16 18:39 | Report Abuse

Me scared lah, someone wrote in large, large letters so long, long. So scared to buy. Can fall to 2.55 or even 2.50,

TheContrarian

9,171 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-06-16 20:32 | Report Abuse

Can't read Chinese. Good or bad on Affin?

jackyle

584 posts

Posted by jackyle > 2017-06-16 21:18 | Report Abuse

Local banks perform better profits compare to foreign banks during Q1 2017. Affin rated as buy, Price: 2.64, Target price: 3.5 by TA securities

yuanlong57

1,528 posts

Posted by yuanlong57 > 2017-06-16 21:26 | Report Abuse

TheContrarian, install the KLSE Screener app in your smart phone or tablet pc. Within the KLSE Screener app there's a menu with built-in Chinese-English translator which should give you a fairly decent, intelligible translation.

TheContrarian

9,171 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-06-16 21:48 | Report Abuse

Thanks jackyle.

TheContrarian

9,171 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-06-17 09:43 | Report Abuse

yuanlong, I have downloaded the App but I can't find any built-in translator in the menu.

yuanlong57

1,528 posts

Posted by yuanlong57 > 2017-06-17 11:22 | Report Abuse

If you have whatsapp on your smartphone or tablet, I could try to send you a recorded video screen to show you the process.

TheContrarian

9,171 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-06-17 11:51 | Report Abuse

I think the problem is my Nokia phone OS which is Windows 8.

yuanlong57

1,528 posts

Posted by yuanlong57 > 2017-06-17 12:30 | Report Abuse

Oh, I see. The problem lies in the proprietary Symbian OS used by Nokia phone. Not compatible with the Android-based KLSE Screener.

TheContrarian

9,171 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-06-17 12:38 | Report Abuse

Windows 8 not Symbian OS. My Nokia is a Lumia.

yuanlong57

1,528 posts

Posted by yuanlong57 > 2017-06-17 14:14 | Report Abuse

TheContrarian, I think you may be in luck. My internet search shows there is also a Free KLSE Screener (Bursa) APK for Windows 8.
Version: 0.9.8.11
Developer: neobie
Category: FINANCE

Try this link for details:
http://windows8apk.com/APK_KLSE-Screener-Bursa_Windows8.html

Best of luck.

TheContrarian

9,171 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-06-17 14:35 | Report Abuse

I have downloaded and installed but there no translator button in my version.

yuanlong57

1,528 posts

Posted by yuanlong57 > 2017-06-17 14:39 | Report Abuse

Try to check firmware update.

yuanlong57

1,528 posts

Posted by yuanlong57 > 2017-06-17 14:41 | Report Abuse

If the firmware is the latest, I suppose it should also feature the same menu functions.

yuanlong57

1,528 posts

Posted by yuanlong57 > 2017-06-18 07:22 | Report Abuse

TheContrarian, try these procedures.
Run your KLSE SCREENER.
1. Menu > Market > Search > Watch > News
2. Tab @ News.
3. Select any Chinese article by tabbing at the screen.
4. At the top right corner of screen, you'll see 3 white squares.
5. Tab @ the 3 white squares.
A pop-up with 5 submenus appears.
6. Choose the 5th submenu 文Translate
Bingo, the entire article will be automatically translated into English.
Note: The procedures I've stated here are based on the Android version of KLSE Screener installed on my Huawei Mate 9.

TheContrarian

9,171 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-06-18 07:46 | Report Abuse

I don't have a "news" button!

TheContrarian

9,171 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-06-18 07:47 | Report Abuse

I think only Android and Apple phones have "news" in the menu.

yuanlong57

1,528 posts

Posted by yuanlong57 > 2017-06-18 08:47 | Report Abuse

If "News" is available for Android and Apple phones, there is no reason why it is left out in Windows 8 Lumia. Could it be subhidden under some kind of pop-up menu? Sorry, there's so much I can help here.

TheContrarian

9,171 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-06-18 09:21 | Report Abuse

I tried clicking every menu and sub-menu still can't find news. I have bursa announcement menu. I have world stock index display. Anyway, thanks. I'm glad I downloaded it as I can view world stock index easily now. Thanks.

yuanlong57

1,528 posts

Posted by yuanlong57 > 2017-06-18 09:38 | Report Abuse

Not at all. Can suggest to the app developer to add this feature. Otherwise, wait for another firmware update.

yuanlong57

1,528 posts

Posted by yuanlong57 > 2017-06-18 09:44 | Report Abuse

I see that LBAlum that you've been nurturing since acquiring it @ 0.78 has been appreciating in considerable capital value these days. Looks tempting to me.

TheContrarian

9,171 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-06-18 10:14 | Report Abuse

I think I bought in April or last month when price corrected after breaching 70 sen first time. Felt it was undervalued then since I read aluminum price has been rising. But I didn't have time to research the company. It was grab first and hope for the best.

yuanlong57

1,528 posts

Posted by yuanlong57 > 2017-06-18 10:31 | Report Abuse

Do you have any specific time-price projection for LBAlum?

TheContrarian

9,171 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-06-18 11:05 | Report Abuse

No, I'll only assess it after it releases its QR this month.

yuanlong57

1,528 posts

Posted by yuanlong57 > 2017-06-18 12:35 | Report Abuse

QR is the decisive game changer?

TheContrarian

9,171 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-06-18 12:54 | Report Abuse

QR will give me an idea whether to take profit or to hold longer.

Posted by msgpic2003 > 2017-06-19 18:31 | Report Abuse

Cannot up pula

Posted by shortinvestor77 > 2017-06-21 13:33 | Report Abuse

KUALA LUMPUR: Two Malaysian banks - Malayan Banking Bhd (Maybank) and Affin Bank Bhd - were honoured at The Asian Banker Risk Management Awards and Risk Technology Implementation Awards 2017 held in Singapore earlier this month.

Maybank bagged the Achievement in Risk Management Award while Affin netted Liquidity Risk Technology Implementation of the Year.

In a statement on Tuesday, Affin Bank said it was able to improve its operational efficiency, reporting capabilities, and risk analysis, and achieve its overall objective of improved risk management and business decision-making, by implementing Moody’s Analytics solutions.

“The implementation of these solutions has further strengthened Affin’s risk management capabilities, in line with the recently launched Affinity — a strategic transformation programme of the group,” said Affin Bank managing director and chief executive officer Kamarul Ariffin Mohd Jamil.

“With the ability to perform more frequent and more granular data analytics, we are in a better position to monitor and manage our risk exposures in accordance with our risk appetite, and to institute early corrective action when required.”
Read more at http://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2017/06/20/maybank-and-affin-clinch-awards-for-risk-management-initiatives/#ybcUvD8JBgUYpkR2.99

Posted by southcitynumber2 > 2017-06-22 22:08 | Report Abuse

good banking stock

aklobi

282 posts

Posted by aklobi > 2017-06-28 20:37 | Report Abuse

Eid Mubarak all.. Anyone in Kuching or Bintulu this weekend and wana meet for a quick coffee & chat about stocks? plz let me know. TheContrarian: Any insight into where Affin is headed? Might it go lower? thnx

TheContrarian

9,171 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-06-28 20:42 | Report Abuse

Affin seems to be consolidating. On one hand there are buyers slowly nibbling, on the other hand there's always desperate selling after 4pm.

Beza

1,847 posts

Posted by Beza > 2017-06-29 12:32 | Report Abuse

Samsung Asset Management is buying Malaysian banking, property and construction stocks on bets the government will pump prime ahead of the election, according to Hong Kong-based fund manager Alan Richardson. Meanwhile, it’s paring technology and commodity-related holdings.
Read more at http://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2017/06/29/the-ringgit-is-easily-asia-strongest-currency/#wyuIqW7Z0zpbjzUA.99

titus

4,159 posts

Posted by titus > 2017-06-29 17:10 | Report Abuse

Hi Shortinvestor77, thank for the link. I use google translate as was not able to read the Chinese character. Took me quite awhile to understand and was looking where is affin stand in terms of their recommendation. Could not find it.
At the end, saw BUY recommendation for Allianz and Effing Holdings. I guess Effing = Affin...lol

Posted by shortinvestor77 > 2017-06-29 17:12 | Report Abuse

Yes.It's buy call for Affin.