AFFIN BANK BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): AFFIN (5185)

2.48 - 2.51

3,891 comment(s). Last comment by TheContrarian 4 hours ago

Posted by jeffrey1166 > 2022-04-27 15:57 | Report Abuse

tp 2.45

LouiseS

286 posts

Posted by LouiseS > 2022-05-05 21:53 | Report Abuse

AFFIN BANK: 大马市值第八大银行,值得投资吗?
AFFIN BANK BERHAD 2021 年度财报分析
https://youtu.be/gaymhmizz6c

aklobi

271 posts

Posted by aklobi > 2022-05-06 04:41 | Report Abuse

LouiseS, English please? Maybe just a summary

TheContrarian

8,625 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2022-05-06 08:19 | Report Abuse

AFFIN BANK: The 8th largest bank in Malaysia by market capitalization, is it worth investing in?
AFFIN BANK BERHAD 2021 Annual Financial Report Analysis
https://youtu.be/gaymhmizz6c

TheContrarian

8,625 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2022-05-06 08:20 | Report Abuse

@ aklobi, that's what LouiseS posted.

aklobi

271 posts

Posted by aklobi > 2022-05-06 13:12 | Report Abuse

Thanks TheContrarian.. and the answer is?

Posted by jeffrey1166 > 2022-05-06 16:41 | Report Abuse

cheap keep buying

Markv572421

3,047 posts

Posted by Markv572421 > 2022-05-11 09:49 | Report Abuse

Boring Affin

Posted by kitmanworld > 2022-05-11 15:04 | Report Abuse

Yes, a boring counter. No momentum, catalysts not powderfull also

joyvest

10,089 posts

Posted by joyvest > 2022-05-16 13:42 | Report Abuse

That bugger claimed that there were "hidden hands" to destroy the company and remove him as CEO. Bullshxts.

Who is the mastermind of all this falsification of statements and misrepresentation with an agenda to swindle?

The hidden hands?

aklobi

271 posts

Posted by aklobi > 2022-05-17 11:06 | Report Abuse

Here we go, lift off began

TheContrarian

8,625 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2022-05-17 11:28 | Report Abuse

12.5 sen dividend coming.

aklobi

271 posts

Posted by aklobi > 2022-05-17 13:50 | Report Abuse

TheContrarian, when is the AGM and expected payment?

Posted by warrantKing > 2022-05-17 20:15 | Report Abuse

Not so soon lah , earliest also end of June . Becasue somemore got dividend reinvestment option to go , then wait for listing somemore.

TheContrarian

8,625 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2022-05-17 20:30 | Report Abuse

@aklobi, AGM is next week on 25th May.

loribalak

146 posts

Posted by loribalak > 2022-05-18 11:30 | Report Abuse

Yes AGM is 25 May. Shareholders have to approve the dividends at the AGM

Posted by jeffrey1166 > 2022-05-18 15:11 | Report Abuse

keep buying n wait for dividend 13 cents tp 2.45

loribalak

146 posts

Posted by loribalak > 2022-05-18 17:54 | Report Abuse

Yes. Looking forward to the special dividend (sale of asset management business) on top of the 12.5 sen final dividend

loribalak

146 posts

Posted by loribalak > 2022-05-19 10:00 | Report Abuse

Up 3 sen to 2.17 at the moment. I reckon the sale of the asset management business is the one that should move the needle

TheContrarian

8,625 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2022-05-19 10:05 | Report Abuse

Yes, that second sale would take Affin beyond RM2.50.

Posted by kitmanworld > 2022-05-19 11:24 | Report Abuse

@TheContrarian, beyond RM2.50? You must be kidding.

troy88

2,555 posts

Posted by troy88 > 2022-05-19 11:48 | Report Abuse

Well done. Dark horse in banking sector

aklobi

271 posts

Posted by aklobi > 2022-05-19 12:06 | Report Abuse

A fair price in my opinion is 2.50. The potential to reach 3 within 1 year is not impossible

TheContrarian

8,625 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2022-05-19 12:45 | Report Abuse

Only 30 sen to reach RM2.50.

loribalak

146 posts

Posted by loribalak > 2022-05-19 14:11 | Report Abuse

I think it is possible. Looking at their presentation to analysts on the sale of the asset management business (see affin.listedcompany.com/misc/investor_presentation/Briefing_28_Jan_2022.pdf), it appears that
1. The asset management business gives them a profit of about RM72m per year
2. The sale proceeds they are getting from the sale is about RM1.4b
3. It appears they are going to reinvest RM1b, hence my guess is that they are going to pay special dividend of RM400m.

Assuming they are going to pay the RM400m special dividend, that translates to about 18sen per share.

On top of that, they claim that the remaining RM1b reinvested in the banking business will yield RM152m income after tax. So the extra earnings (after tax) is about RM80 million per year. Based on PE ratio of say 8, that would give additional EPS of 30sen.

So based on the above, my guess is there is 18sen + 30en = RM48sen upside. That is on top of the 12sen dividend. So yes, I think RM2.50 is possible.

The above is purely my speculative view.

TheContrarian

8,625 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2022-05-19 14:20 | Report Abuse

@loribalak, nice sharing.

TheContrarian

8,625 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2022-05-19 14:22 | Report Abuse

Overnight Dow Jones crashed over 1,100 points (for people who doesn't know) but Affin share price climbs. What does it tell you?

beluga

271 posts

Posted by beluga > 2022-05-19 14:27 | Report Abuse

its largest shareholder need money. LTAT needs to declare dividend to its members too. Need to make everyone happy. Then election. :)

TheContrarian

8,625 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2022-05-19 14:36 | Report Abuse

Yes, LTAT badly needs dividend, Boustead also badly needs dividend. Affin is a banking group that is currently traded at half its net assets value per share. Currently EPF is selling down because they needed cash badly for the RM10k withdrawals.

Posted by stockraider > 2022-05-19 15:08 | Report Abuse

Very good investment with special div coming mah!

aklobi

271 posts

Posted by aklobi > 2022-05-19 15:11 | Report Abuse

It's nice to see the largest stakeholder (LTAT) advocating hard for the interest of all shareholders, including us. I personally am not looking to receive cash, but to reinvest. Can anyone guess the price of the share reinvestment from div proceeds?

Posted by kitmanworld > 2022-05-19 15:13 | Report Abuse

Can ask what's the criteria to earn the dividend? Must buy tis share from what time ?

TheContrarian

8,625 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2022-05-19 15:28 | Report Abuse

@aklobi, if you elect for dividend reinvestment, the shares issued to you will be around 10% discount to the prevailing market price.

loribalak

146 posts

Posted by loribalak > 2022-05-19 15:29 | Report Abuse

In the past, the dividend reinvestment (i.e. dividend is paid via issuance of new shares instead of cash) has always be at about 10% discount on the average closing price.

So let's say you are entitled to dividend of RM100. So if you opt for cash dividend, you get RM100 cash.

Let's assume the average closing price of the shares for the past 5 trading days is RM2, then apply 10% discount. That gives you a share price of RM1.80 per share. So if you go for the dividend reinvestment, you will get RM100/RM1.80 in shares, i.e. approx 55 shares. So if the share price remains at RM2, then you can sell the 55 shares for RM110!

Why do banks (e.g. Maybank etc) do this? Simple reason... they need capital for their lending business. So if they pay out cash, there is less capital for them to lend.

TheContrarian

8,625 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2022-05-19 15:48 | Report Abuse

For people who doesn't know, Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation of Japan is 2nd largest shareholder in Affin, holding indirectly over 23% equity.

TheContrarian

8,625 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2022-05-19 15:54 | Report Abuse

Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation is the 2nd largest banking group in Japan and the 80th largest company in the World.

TheContrarian

8,625 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2022-05-19 15:55 | Report Abuse

If LTAT were to ever decide to exit Affin, Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation can easily buy over.

Posted by jeffrey1166 > 2022-05-19 16:16 | Report Abuse

latest tp 2.55 june keep buying today as well me

TheContrarian

8,625 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2022-05-19 16:31 | Report Abuse

12.5 sen dividend confirmed coming.

Posted by kitmanworld > 2022-05-19 16:58 | Report Abuse

The dividend, if share bought after the dividend date, still entitled to it ?

Posted by jeffrey1166 > 2022-05-19 17:10 | Report Abuse

dividend is mid of june right

Endgame

718 posts

Posted by Endgame > 2022-05-20 12:13 | Report Abuse

Bila 3? Dah tunggu lama

loribalak

146 posts

Posted by loribalak > 2022-05-20 12:35 | Report Abuse

If Affin can maintain 2021 PBT of about RM700 mil going forward, and assuming P/E ratio of 10 (most other banks about this size has PE ratio of about 10-14), that would give a rough valuation of RM7b. So price per share should be around RM3.29

Posted by kitmanworld > 2022-05-20 13:54 | Report Abuse

so means the current price of affin is only between RM2.10 to the most at RM2.20 ? Or need wait result from QR in AGM ?

TheContrarian

8,625 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2022-05-22 21:49 | Report Abuse

@loribalak, may I know how long you have held shares in Affin?

LouiseS

286 posts

Posted by LouiseS > 2022-05-23 08:11 | Report Abuse

大马九大银行股哪一家最值得投资?
https://youtu.be/Q6Hw0ITlkvQ

Posted by kitmanworld > 2022-05-23 10:45 | Report Abuse

apa tu??