AFFIN BANK BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): AFFIN (5185)

2.88 - 2.92

4,057 comment(s). Last comment by beluga 2 days ago

Markv572421

3,335 posts

Posted by Markv572421 > 2022-06-10 09:05 |

Posted by kitmanworld > 2022-06-10 09:21 | Report Abuse

wow...huge discounted price now....

Markv572421

3,335 posts

Posted by Markv572421 > 2022-06-10 09:39 | Report Abuse

you go buy laa if you want ,.....i move other counter ...this affin counter useless !!

aklobi

294 posts

Posted by aklobi > 2022-06-10 13:51 | Report Abuse

@Markv, ok you sold! Go away! Why are you still here?

ZenSen

69 posts

Posted by ZenSen > 2022-06-10 15:29 | Report Abuse

after DRP, will drop to RM1.80? so should we sell the shares now?

Markv572421

3,335 posts

Posted by Markv572421 > 2022-06-10 15:34 | Report Abuse

Sell laa .what for you keep ....no use laa this counter
ZenSen

after DRP, will drop to RM1.80? so should we sell the shares now?

4 minutes ago

Posted by kitmanworld > 2022-06-10 16:35 | Report Abuse

wah shit...this FF is really bad ass

TheContrarian

9,279 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2022-06-10 18:16 | Report Abuse

This week from 7/6 to 10/6, EPF could have possibly sold 3 million Affin shares, so another 7 million to sell.

10bagger10

1,007 posts

Posted by 10bagger10 > 2022-06-13 20:03 | Report Abuse

Thecontrarian, is it time?

Posted by kitmanworld > 2022-06-14 10:17 | Report Abuse

macam ada slight rebound ini hari

aklobi

294 posts

Posted by aklobi > 2022-06-16 22:58 | Report Abuse

I love Affin bank.. it's showing the middle finger to those fake doomsayers

Posted by jeffrey1166 > 2022-06-17 16:08 | Report Abuse

keep buying

Posted by spectre001 > 2022-06-20 11:01 | Report Abuse

With current price, those apply DRP is making wrong decision right...

Posted by jeffrey1166 > 2022-06-21 15:31 | Report Abuse

almost same drp 1.88 price let wait q3 up to 2.5

aklobi

294 posts

Posted by aklobi > 2022-06-22 15:51 | Report Abuse

Affin is showing resilience

Posted by redhotpepper > 2022-06-22 16:04 | Report Abuse

Resilience? which part ?

aklobi

294 posts

Posted by aklobi > 2022-06-22 19:22 | Report Abuse

Not gone below drp..

aklobi

294 posts

Posted by aklobi > 2022-07-07 16:00 | Report Abuse

REDHOTPEPPER: Still questioning Affin's resilience?

Posted by smartmove100 > 2022-07-08 15:35 | Report Abuse

should be firm, forming strong base.. next above rm 2

aklobi

294 posts

Posted by aklobi > 2022-07-09 15:05 | Report Abuse

Eid Mubarak to all! Let's pray to Allah that the price will be above 3 next year ;)

aklobi

294 posts

Posted by aklobi > 2022-07-18 19:07 | Report Abuse

50 cent per share special dividend will be declared some time in the near future. I think the price will gradually rise towards then.

hng33

20,262 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2022-07-20 12:16 | Report Abuse

Bought affin at 1.94

hng33

20,262 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2022-07-20 12:39 | Report Abuse

US rate hike is good feel factor for local bank + incoming special dividend

hng33

20,262 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2022-07-21 14:53 | Report Abuse

special dividend range 20-25sen is expected soon

hng33

20,262 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2022-07-22 12:49 | Report Abuse

Chart higher high, bullish signal

hng33

20,262 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2022-07-22 19:51 | Report Abuse

Affin CEO & preseident openly buy share, he must know insiders news, big special dividend is coming.

Waiting to be rewarded :D)

Posted by jeffrey1166 > 2022-07-23 11:57 | Report Abuse

special dividend is sep right

hng33

20,262 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2022-07-23 13:41 | Report Abuse

hope so :D)

Posted by redhotpepper > 2022-07-24 00:07 | Report Abuse

@Aklobi, 50 sen dividend? What's the logic? You want to share some insight/formula on how you get the 50 sen dividend?

Posted by smartmove100 > 2022-07-25 09:34 | Report Abuse

heard of a dividend this morning too... fr a broking house's..

aklobi

294 posts

Posted by aklobi > 2022-07-25 15:34 | Report Abuse

@redhotpepper: i read it somewhere and I could always be wrong as I am not in the midst of the market in Malaysia and I don't speak Malay. Seems you're still sour when I was right about the "resistance" comment and the fact the share price shot from 1.86 a month ago to 2.05 today. If you want to be grumpy, by all means be grumpy, but with someone else.

TheContrarian

9,279 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2022-07-25 23:40 | Report Abuse

@aklobi, you are not Malaysian?

aklobi

294 posts

Posted by aklobi > 2022-07-26 01:09 | Report Abuse

@TheContrarian, I am a Saudi Arabian currently living in London. I've been buying Affin since 2014.

Posted by redhotpepper > 2022-07-26 17:06 | Report Abuse

Hi @Aklobi, I see. Thanks for the "Insight". :) I am not grumpy, just curious :)

Posted by Jonathan Keung > 2022-07-26 18:04 | Report Abuse

Wow. Long term investment

aklobi

294 posts

Posted by aklobi > 2022-07-27 16:11 | Report Abuse

@Jonathan Keung, it ticks so many boxes:
1- A bank
2- Islamic
3- Backed by a strong institution ( Malaysia Army I think)
4- Profitable
6- Potential for takeover with a strong book value (more than double the last time I checked).
Nothing to dislike. Correct me if I am wrong. Add points as you see fit

aklobi

294 posts

Posted by aklobi > 2022-07-27 16:12 | Report Abuse

7- low pe ratio

hng33

20,262 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2022-07-27 17:00 | Report Abuse

Good closing, thumb up Affin

Posted by warrantKing > 2022-07-27 19:59 | Report Abuse

Affin wait RM2.5 lah

Posted by jeffrey1166 > 2022-07-28 10:21 | Report Abuse

ya let wait q3 2.5 n special dididend 0.5 soon

Posted by warrantKing > 2022-07-28 10:51 | Report Abuse

They are guessing special dividend at 15sens , as AFFIN need the capital to grow the Loan segment.
Collect the golden eggs , not killing the golden goose .

hng33

20,262 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2022-07-28 11:03 | Report Abuse

Asset disposal monetize RM 1.5 billion, cash out 70sen/share. Affin affird to payout at least 30% to reward shareholder

aklobi

294 posts

Posted by aklobi > 2022-07-28 17:29 | Report Abuse

@TheContrarian, where are we heading?

kyliew

1,383 posts

Posted by kyliew > 2022-07-28 20:47 | Report Abuse

US economy is technically in recession with the latest Q2 GDP data out

Posted by redhotpepper > 2022-07-29 15:00 | Report Abuse

hmmm, where is Affin heading? Up or down?

Posted by redhotpepper > 2022-07-29 15:25 | Report Abuse

Its CeO is also buying a lot of share, must be anticipating some event......

TheContrarian

9,279 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2022-07-29 16:42 | Report Abuse

@aklobi, we are heading for RM2.50 :-)

TheContrarian

9,279 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2022-07-29 16:44 | Report Abuse

@aklobi, I am curious why you have invested in Affin but not the bigger banks?

aklobi

294 posts

Posted by aklobi > 2022-07-29 17:51 | Report Abuse

@TheContrarian, The bigger banks didn't tick all the boxes I mentioned above, at the time. I was looking for higher potential.

Posted by redhotpepper > 2022-08-01 08:18 | Report Abuse

From an investment bank:

We maintain our GGM-derived PBV TP of RM2.45 (COE: 11.3%, TG: 3.0%, ROE: 7%) and OP call. Post a meeting with the group at its recently launched TRX Headquarters, we are convinced of AFFIN achieving its ambitious FY22 targets with some resiliency against economic headwinds. Disposal of its business units will help to fuel its key banking division’s endeavours. There is no adjustment to our TP based on ESG of which it is given a 3-star rating as appraised by us. AFFIN is one of our 3QCY22 sector top picks.

Key takeaways are as follows:

- Disposal of AHAM to boost organic growth in banking division. The sale of AHAM will unlock RM1.54b in cash, likely to be sealed by the end of July 2022. This will elevate CET-1 levels to 16% (from 13.7%). The group opines that injecting said capital could stimulate the group’s banking units and add NII of RM190m (+11% to current estimates) in two years. Meanwhile, due to non-compete agreement, AFFIN will abstain from any new asset management ventures for 18 months post sale.

- Capital considerations first and then dividends. The group opines that it will ensure working capital targets are sufficiently fulfilled before it considers the quantum of special dividends that may be paid. Of the RM1.54b proceeds, if we were to estimate a payout of 25% to shareholders, this could translate to c.18.0 sen in special dividends or 9% yield while still keeping CET-1 level at c.15.8%.

- AXA to also close in 3QFY22. The disposal of stakes in AXA Affin Life and General to the JV with MPI Generali (estimated to be completed end-Aug 2022) will provide additional RM155m cash while still being earnings accretive as an associate. That said, operational integration of this JV is expected to only materialise by 1QFY23. Post merger, the combined gross written premium is expected to stand at c.RM2.0b, behind market leader Allianz’s RM2.35b book. There could be a two-pronged growth enjoyed with Generali’s non-cannibalistic product offerings on top of operational synergies from the merged entity, uplifting the segment’s overall contribution to beat its historical 5% of group earnings, going forward.

- Unhindered by recent macro developments. The group remains confident that its 12% loans growth (industry highest) target for FY22 is attainable. Although recent OPR hikes pose headwinds to affordability, strength of the SMEs is expected to remain solid as the local economic growth remains on track. This will be balanced by the launch of its mobile banking app in 4QFY22 to keep CASA and funding costs sticky. Meanwhile, NOII will be cushioned by encouraging reception of its wealth products amidst sluggish investment and trading performance.

Post update, we leave our FY22E/FY23E assumptions unchanged.

Maintain OUTPERFORM and TP of RM2.45. Our TP is based on a GGM-derived PBV of 0.48x (COE: 11.3%, TG: 3.0%, ROE: 7%) on our FY23E BVPS of RM5.07. We believe AFFIN’s monetisation of its business units (AHAM and AXA Affin) could progressively refine AFFIN’s identity as a more comparable traditional bank akin to its listed peers, which may at times fetch a higher valuation for the group. At the meantime, its dividend yield prospects of 5-6% (excluding possible special dividends) could incentivise investors to overlook its low ROE levels which should gradually be enhanced with its growth plans.

Risks to our call include: (i) higher-than-expected margin squeeze, (ii) lower-than-expected loans growth, (iii) worse-than-expected deterioration in asset quality, (iv) slowdown in capital market activities, (v) unfavourable currency fluctuations, and (vi) changes to OPR.