PACIFIC & ORIENT BHD

KLSE (MYR): P&O (6009)

0.65 - 0.665

6 people like this.

563 comment(s). Last comment by NatsukoMishima 2024-07-05 10:47

JimYeoh

1,514 posts

Posted by JimYeoh > 2013-05-22 14:41 | Report Abuse

good dividend payout..cheers..

BC475654

605 posts

Posted by BC475654 > 2013-05-22 14:48 | Report Abuse

Bingo!Pay day !pay day!Special dividend of 15.17 sen +tax-exempt 3.82 sen per share.Thank u ,P & O.

3CGOLD

114 posts

Posted by 3CGOLD > 2013-05-22 15:56 | Report Abuse

Anybody gt TP for ths counter?

nicole76

805 posts

Posted by nicole76 > 2013-05-22 16:21 | Report Abuse

Should be RM2.30 to RM2.40 easily....

max8

681 posts

Posted by max8 > 2013-05-22 16:52 | Report Abuse

RM2.30 may not be so easy. See if it could break 1.80 2moro.

midastouch

116 posts

Posted by midastouch > 2013-05-22 17:11 | Report Abuse

The dividend is attractive and may draw a lot of investors. RM2.00 is a realistic target before ex date.

JimYeoh

1,514 posts

Posted by JimYeoh > 2013-05-22 17:12 | Report Abuse

maybe the day after tomorrow..will try to break 1.80

mery

51 posts

Posted by mery > 2013-05-22 17:19 | Report Abuse

星期五,没有股市。卫赛节。

sethoylo

146 posts

Posted by sethoylo > 2013-05-22 23:16 | Report Abuse

let us pray for this stock.. tmw hit 1.8

midastouch

116 posts

Posted by midastouch > 2013-05-26 01:03 | Report Abuse

Did not hit 1.8 as a result of stock market volatility on Thursday. Bound to attract dividend hunters on Monday. A very generous dividend indeed.

Posted by khunpaenlptim > 2013-05-27 10:05 | Report Abuse

so cheap and dividend is excellent, hope it will hit rm4.50

nicole76

805 posts

Posted by nicole76 > 2013-05-27 10:40 | Report Abuse

Confident it will hit above RM2.00 !!!

nicole76

805 posts

Posted by nicole76 > 2013-05-27 10:40 | Report Abuse

Every year the dividend has been increasing and the price chart for this company is uptrend over the last two years.

max8

681 posts

Posted by max8 > 2013-05-27 10:48 | Report Abuse

I bought it to get this special dividend ang pow, but may keep for long term (1 year at least) for its appreciative potential.

nicole76

805 posts

Posted by nicole76 > 2013-05-27 10:57 | Report Abuse

ya me too :) after reading the financial report found it it's a very strong company with good cash flow, too. So this is also a keeper for me targeting 50% profit out of it, if it's still steadily going up then going to keep for 5 years to get more than 100% return.

Posted by seerongzhi > 2013-05-28 16:01 | Report Abuse

hi! I am new here. I bought this shares weeks ago. Do I need to do any extra application to be entitled for the dividend? Or the dividend will be paid directly to my savings account? hmm...

fatty_tang

296 posts

Posted by fatty_tang > 2013-05-28 16:06 | Report Abuse

any procedures that you dont understand, better go ask your remisier

midastouch

116 posts

Posted by midastouch > 2013-05-28 19:54 | Report Abuse

As long as you keep the share until Ex date, dividend will be credited into your bank account. It is as simple as that. You have earned it!

Posted by seerongzhi > 2013-05-28 20:58 | Report Abuse

Thanks a lot midastouch! Best luck on you :)

Posted by teor cheosoon > 2013-05-28 21:46 | Report Abuse

yes, long term investment stock

kcfan

1,881 posts

Posted by kcfan > 2013-05-28 21:59 | Report Abuse

Good stock must keep !!!

Darren Kho

733 posts

Posted by Darren Kho > 2013-05-28 23:33 | Report Abuse

Do we have to pay tax for the dividend or it's already deduct before it paid to us? Any sifu pls help

max8

681 posts

Posted by max8 > 2013-05-29 05:46 | Report Abuse

The 15.17cent one shall deduct 25% and 3.82cent received in full.

Darren Kho

733 posts

Posted by Darren Kho > 2013-05-29 09:04 | Report Abuse

not fly yet? thought the dividend is attractive

max8

681 posts

Posted by max8 > 2013-05-29 09:43 | Report Abuse

Stock buying behavior is not a sure programming

lwalk

1,144 posts

Posted by lwalk > 2013-05-29 21:15 | Report Abuse

not enough publicity maybe in the newspapers..

max8

681 posts

Posted by max8 > 2013-05-29 21:48 | Report Abuse

The special dividend in fact had been announced few month back. So those bought early had valued such ang pow. Nevertheless the stock is quite a good choice to hold in long term ^^.

Abudance

2,211 posts

Posted by Abudance > 2013-05-29 21:58 | Report Abuse

It's gone up from 1.20 to 1.72 since Jan

Posted by ANGELIA12 > 2013-05-30 11:22 | Report Abuse

this counter have good fundamental value .....good dividend pay out.
2moro 2nd quarter financial report will out soon....let's wait ......

allan88

95 posts

Posted by allan88 > 2013-05-30 20:39 | Report Abuse

Good qtr result. However with disposal of insurance arm 49%, and without revenue stream from new investment, is it right to just sell off after received the special dividend?

max8

681 posts

Posted by max8 > 2013-05-30 22:17 | Report Abuse

@allan88: What I understand here is the stake acquisition of Sanlam is becoming its major shareholder and not disposing or foregoing its insurance revenue. Such should be a plus point. Correct me if I am wrong.

allan88

95 posts

Posted by allan88 > 2013-05-31 08:13 | Report Abuse

Hi max8, thx for sharing yr understanding. From what i read on the circular, it was a sale of the insurance arm business (subsidiary of P&O holding) of 49% to Sanlam. Thus a portion of the proceeds of teh sale were distributed to shareholders as a rewards, while a bigger portion of it are hold back for new business venture. It was not a private share placement exercise with Sanlam bought the stake. The deal was done by May'13. So in coming qtr, there will be financial impact as I believe insurance business accounted for bigger portion of total revenue/profit. So unless I see the management team act fast by utilizing the cash to grow, it will be not an attractive investment for me, unless I just to hope for Dividend payout. Hope I have miss out something here. I do hope to see a fast moving management team in P&O.

max8

681 posts

Posted by max8 > 2013-05-31 08:37 | Report Abuse

Thanks allan.

max8

681 posts

Posted by max8 > 2013-05-31 08:46 | Report Abuse

小股东大权利:认识公司建议
财经周刊 投资观点 小股东大权力
http://www.nanyang.com/node/516610?tid=687

太平洋与东方股东特大顺利进行。

除了股东大会,公司还会进行一些集资或回馈股东的建议,这些建议到了最后阶段,都需要举行股东特别大会,来寻求股东通过。这些建议包括:
1)送红股或送凭单计划;
2)配售附加股、优先股或债券计划;
3)股票拆细和整合计划;
4)私下配售股票计划;
5)削资重组计划;
6)资本回退计划;
7)股票回购计划;
8)股息再投资计划;
9)雇员认购股票计划;
10)更改或脱售核心业务计划,等等。
太平洋与东方售核心业务
上述第10项提到脱售核心业务,最近的例子就是上周太平洋与东方(P&O,6009,主板金融股)的股东特大,旨在寻求股东通过售卖其49%保险业务。
由于整个交易金额涉及2.7亿令吉,占公司2012年审计后财务约109%,因此,需要必须召开特别会议,讨论及通过此项议案。
太平洋与东方脱售价,是账目比率(Price to book ratio,PBR)的2.46倍,为近年来保险行业的最高比率,再加上只售出49%,还是牢牢控制住主动权,太平洋与东方可说是促成了一项非常成功的买卖。
而且,整个交易是以现金进行,事成之后,太平洋与东方虽然少了其保险业一半的贡献,却手握至少1.5亿现金,变成了一只现金牛,同时,股东们也会得到一笔每股15仙的特别股息,大家都乐于见到这项交易水到渠成。
质问股权蔑视股东
太平洋与东方股东特大顺利进行,倒是之前的股东大会出现了一点小插曲,美中不足。
事缘一些小股东对公司账目盘问不休,公司主席怕耽误到下来的股东特大,打算限制发言,引起股东的不满。
其中有一位印裔股东发问时,主席竟质问他拥有多少股票,大有蔑视之意,立刻引起其他股东的不满。
一般上股东拥有多少股票是属于个人私隐,并不因为他有一百股或一万股来决定他可以问几个问题,公然询及其股权,而且暗喻股权大小决定公司决策(虽然这的确是事实),很容易引起不愉快的情绪,群起而攻之。
幸好董事部总算是做成了一单好买卖,最终大事化小,小事化无,大会圆满完成。
有时,公司一旦完全脱售核心业务,将陷入PN17的情况,那么,证监委员会将给予公司12个月的时间,来合理化其业务方向,或寻找另一个替代的核心业务,不成功的话,公司可能被停牌和最终除牌。
刚列入这类PN17的例子有稳大(ADVENTA,7191,主板工业产品股)和益资利金融(ECM,2143,主板金融股)。
至于最近开始商谈脱售核心业务的公司,有CBSA(CBSA,0041,主板科技股)。公司在3月1日收到一份收购其咨询和广告业务的建议书,价值1.2亿令吉,董事局需在3月12日给予答复。
~~
Found this. You may google translate if needed.

max8

681 posts

Posted by max8 > 2013-05-31 08:49 | Report Abuse

http://biz.sinchew.com.my/node/71564?tid=18
改善流通率‧太平洋東方或分拆股票
熱股評析 2013-03-13 18:19

(吉隆坡13日訊)太平洋與東方(P&O,6009,主板金融組)尋求計劃以改善股票的流通率,肯納格研究認為,股票分拆是可能性的方案,不僅正面看待股票分拆計劃,也相信資本管理是該股的另一催化劑。
此外,該公司在脫售旗下太平洋與東方保險(POI)的49%股權後,擁有加強核心資本的能力,若管理層未發掘投資目標並決定回退過剩資本予股東,2013財政年的股息預測25.4仙有望上調。
太平洋與東方在脫售保險臂膀49%股權予南非保險公司桑南(Sanlam),宣佈特別股息15仙,肯納格保守估計,該公司2013年的派息率為40%。
隨管理層表示,對內部核心資本比170%感到舒適,肯納格因而相信,上述股息預測或潛在走高,因管理層可能在2013財政年前,降低內部核心資本比,自200%減低到170%。
汽車保險業務最獲利
肯納格表示,太平洋與東方擁有最獲利的業務-汽車保險,同時,由於索償撥備太高,該公司可能在2013財政年獲得津貼回撥,並有望降低索償素質的疑慮。
肯那格認為,該公司可能在今年進行回撥,促使索償比較預期的50%低,一旦該公司的索償素質的信心增加,投資者對該公司的支持也將提高。
管理層表示,該公司索償比改善,並可能降低到40%。
肯納格保持太平洋與東方“超越大市"評級,同時上調該公司的目標價,自1令吉36仙調高到1令吉80仙,以反映該公司令該公司未來12個月的股票回酬達12%,股價潛在升幅達38%。
肯納格也提到,該公司目前股價僅為2014財政年本益比和股價賬面值的6.9和0.7倍,估值廉宜,更重要的是,該公司的淨週息率達5.7%,因而預見,投資者對該股的購興增加。(星洲日報/財經)

nicole76

805 posts

Posted by nicole76 > 2013-05-31 09:13 | Report Abuse

translation please....

caesar

16 posts

Posted by caesar > 2013-05-31 14:48 | Report Abuse

wait for retracement to enter? 1.80 still a good buy?

dlsh2

35 posts

Posted by dlsh2 > 2013-06-03 09:45 | Report Abuse

should be up till the dividend ex-date. however, i believe the business model is sustainable and should be geared for better earnings.

lwalk

1,144 posts

Posted by lwalk > 2013-06-03 15:37 | Report Abuse

Tomorrow tuesday is the last day to be entitled for the big dividend...

Darren Kho

733 posts

Posted by Darren Kho > 2013-06-03 16:29 | Report Abuse

We'll see how the dividend attract the people :)

Posted by tonylim > 2013-06-03 16:31 | Report Abuse

Darren, from my past experience, there is a 75% chance it will go down.
Is Ang still in P&O

Posted by tonylim > 2013-06-03 16:34 | Report Abuse

I am using the 25% left to clear all today

Darren Kho

733 posts

Posted by Darren Kho > 2013-06-03 16:36 | Report Abuse

Why said so? If it goes down I think still worth for long term investment

nicole76

805 posts

Posted by nicole76 > 2013-06-03 20:38 | Report Abuse

Definitely will still go up after ex-date adjustments (down to 1.50-1.60 and up again)... it has been an uptrend for the last two years. so this is a keeper for me until RM2.40 with the new investors buying into P&O insurance share.

Posted by teor cheosoon > 2013-06-03 22:55 | Report Abuse

yes, should keep for long term

kcfan

1,881 posts

Posted by kcfan > 2013-06-04 11:48 | Report Abuse

What your opinion to sell or buy before ex-date of dividend last by today?

chia88

1,189 posts

Posted by chia88 > 2013-06-04 13:25 | Report Abuse

Ex tomo div 18c. Is this a good buy?

eklee21

24 posts

Posted by eklee21 > 2013-06-04 13:46 | Report Abuse

sell at 2morrow

Darren Kho

733 posts

Posted by Darren Kho > 2013-06-04 16:04 | Report Abuse

I bought 200 lots at 1.80 , it's for the dividend n i'll keep it for long term. This company quite promising for long term investor. NOT recommend for contra and traders

Darren Kho

733 posts

Posted by Darren Kho > 2013-06-04 16:06 | Report Abuse

eklee21 , why sell at tomorrow ? the securities have to be transfer to ur account on 7th June then only u entitled for the dividend . Pls correct me if I'm wrong tq