MAXIS BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): MAXIS (6012)

-0.04 (1.10%)

3.57 - 3.61

1,786 comment(s). Last comment by Needluck 3 weeks ago

JT James

321 posts

Posted by JT James > 2016-04-05 02:22 | Report Abuse

Maxis losing a lot of their customers. Better sell before its too late. Just go to their facebook page and check for yourself

Investeye

2,347 posts

Posted by Investeye > 2016-04-05 13:40 | Report Abuse

It's true as many friends were ported out from maxis to digi and celcom, those under contracts are very frustrated. So the q2 (apr~jun 2016) result will be worst!

Junichiro

2,057 posts

Posted by Junichiro > 2016-04-05 14:44 | Report Abuse

While this may be true, there are also many who are porting out of Digi due to slow speed. So who is the main bene? Umobile, I think

goesky

21 posts

Posted by goesky > 2016-04-05 18:48 | Report Abuse

better run before the news get fire, actually the news already fire but the share price still maintained, i think the next quarter report should be see the bad results, other nokia ? ( we didnt do anythings wrong but somehow, we lost. )

Junichiro

2,057 posts

Posted by Junichiro > 2016-04-05 19:28 | Report Abuse

Every telco suffers from churn rate. They lose some n gain some. The question is whether it is net gain or net loss. The price can still hold because the big boys think otherwise.
If you know somebody working there, you are able to know. But we do not have those info.

The battle ground, I believe, is the quality n speed of its mobile broadband. If u buy something cheaper but suffers from slow speed, it is certainly a waste.

By the way, I am using Digi n I am thinking to shift to other telcos. If others can offer better speed, I do not mind paying extra $10-$20 per month.

Junichiro

2,057 posts

Posted by Junichiro > 2016-04-05 19:30 | Report Abuse

I have more than 1 line and I have already shifted one from Digi to Umobile. At least, it is faster than Digi. You can see Digi's price is stagnant.

goesky

21 posts

Posted by goesky > 2016-04-05 20:24 | Report Abuse

2014 i say good bye from maxis to umobile , starting i worry about umobile coverage but until now i.m still waiting the answer where location umobile without coverage? 2014 monthly payment about Rm 150 every extra call to other telco charge (every minute RM 0.13 ) 3 GB data.(maxis call this is old package if u wanna change new plan u cannot benefit for this low rate) now i using umobile i60 plan Rm 60 , 5 GB other call only charge (every 30 sec Rm 0.10 ) sometimes umobile will give me extra 1 GB data.

Next two three years dont tell me still got any contract lock in period, the market already open if the company still keeping like the old elephant , market will show the results. let us wait and see.

xexlone

387 posts

Posted by xexlone > 2016-04-06 08:23 | Report Abuse

throw maxis share today & port out to Digi first.....

kenken

176 posts

Posted by kenken > 2016-04-06 11:21 | Report Abuse

Maxis is the only Telco in Malaysia that having both Fixed line and Mobile services..
TM offers Fixed line service only whereas Axiata, Umobile, Digi offers Mobile services only

Who knows, one day, Maxis will follow TM to split into a Fixed line and a mobile service companies? Then, Maxis shareholders will own two companies shares.

Junichiro

2,057 posts

Posted by Junichiro > 2016-04-06 11:43 | Report Abuse

I have already bad experience with Digi. Why port out to Digi? Digi's CEO should be purchasing its shares in the open market to instill some confidence in the company.

Junichiro

2,057 posts

Posted by Junichiro > 2016-04-06 11:47 | Report Abuse

Maxis CEO have already done so by purchasing its share at $6.33

Junichiro

2,057 posts

Posted by Junichiro > 2016-04-06 12:03 | Report Abuse

By the way Maxis AGM is on 20 Apr. You can ask Lundal whether many customers are porting out of Maxis.

Junichiro

2,057 posts

Posted by Junichiro > 2016-04-06 12:26 | Report Abuse

Latest report fr Kenanga.
"...the poor Celcom’s performance as a result of heightened competition and flattish performance in Digi. Maxis’ service revenue (3.8% YoY in FY15), on the other hand, continued to gain traction as a result of a continued uptrend in its prepaid and stable postpaid revenue."

timed

152 posts

Posted by timed > 2016-04-06 12:59 | Report Abuse

yes, bad impact for maxis

Posted by youngblood29us > 2016-04-07 13:53 | Report Abuse

many loyal customers have ditched Maxis..i might follow suit if Maxis doesn't revamp its data package soon..A news on Maxis overcharging a customer has gone viral too

BoPoint

154 posts

Posted by BoPoint > 2016-04-07 19:39 | Report Abuse

I dont see any reason to not port out from Maxis. Why pay more?

21,636 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-04-07 23:00 | Report Abuse

Kill maxis, it has gone viral....

xexlone

387 posts

Posted by xexlone > 2016-04-08 09:00 | Report Abuse

luckily throw first.....

aceman03

187 posts

Posted by aceman03 > 2016-04-08 09:39 | Report Abuse

Maxis down trend...
50% discount soon...

Junichiro

2,057 posts

Posted by Junichiro > 2016-04-08 09:59 | Report Abuse

They are having their AGM on 20th Apr. See what answers they give to your questions. The fact is that the whole sector is affected. I am not buying into this sector now.

cooling

1,676 posts

Posted by cooling > 2016-04-08 15:19 | Report Abuse

bye bye maxshit...

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3890167/+2340

all postpaid customers are leaving...

xexlone

387 posts

Posted by xexlone > 2016-04-08 15:29 | Report Abuse

coming soon WEBE.....maxis will much left behind with competition and CUstomer will more feel get cheated!!!! maxis should do something before this!!!!

Posted by projecti2016 > 2016-04-08 15:34 | Report Abuse

bye bye maxis.

changpw

17 posts

Posted by changpw > 2016-04-08 15:34 | Report Abuse

Postpaid ARPU going to drop ....

cooling

1,676 posts

Posted by cooling > 2016-04-08 15:36 | Report Abuse

without postpaid customers...maxis is game over

Junichiro

2,057 posts

Posted by Junichiro > 2016-04-08 19:19 | Report Abuse

What happened to Maxis may also spread to other telcos. Here is why. I have a line with UMobile n months after I signed up, I noticed that the new package for newbies offers more GB than mine for the same price. I ask them whether mine would be automatically upgraded. They say no. I have to terminate my package, pay up the bill n pay deposit, fees to sign up for the new package.

You can check the package u are using n compare it with the new packages n u will know. Businessmen are businessmen.

Digi lost lots of customers during their 3G upgrade. Celcom lost a lot last year due to their IT problem. Now Maxis. Telcos actually have to thank us for pointing out their mistakes. We are doing them a favour.

mtx5381

Posted by mtx5381 > 2016-04-08 21:13 | Report Abuse

bye bye maxis

da4444

424 posts

Posted by da4444 > 2016-04-08 21:14 | Report Abuse

Bye maxis...sell now before it drop further

kcyin

24 posts

Posted by kcyin > 2016-04-08 21:18 | Report Abuse

價格戰‧數據戰‧明訊前景看淡

(吉隆坡8日訊)政府重新分配頻譜,明訊(MAXIS,6012,主板貿服組)資本和營運開銷將有上漲風險,加上馬電訊(TM,4863,主板貿服組)——P1即將加入戰圍,市場競爭激化,分析員繼續看淡明訊前景。
興業研究表示,儘管明訊第四季的每名用戶收入(ARPU)比同儕來得佳,但相信在接下來季度,其流動服務營收將面對逆風。
該行估計明訊後付訂戶/收入中的78%/72%可能易受價格戰和數據戰所影響。
明訊近期在東馬推出更廉宜的MaxisONE後付計劃,以及在社交媒體上引起爭論的行銷活動,可能對品牌和流失率帶來影響。
興業研究指出,TM-P1預訂在4月13日推出的流動電訊服務,可能帶來破壞,通常新入場者都會削價以爭取市佔率。
一旦馬電訊決定善用它在企業固定線路市場的優勢,提供交叉銷售和綑綁流動解決方案,明訊規模龐大的企業客戶基礎長期而言可能受壓。
政府即將於2016年8月公佈頻譜費,興業研究認為,此費用應屬可管理水平,因政府已考量了行業龐大的資本開銷需求。但是,明訊可能需要重新調整其無線電/發射器和優化網絡,資本和營運開銷仍面對上升風險。明訊的淨債務/營運盈利超過1.8倍,是行業最高水平。
興業研究保持財測不變及保持“沽售”評級,目標價4令吉70仙。(星洲日報/財經‧報道:李勇堅)

Source: http://biz.sinchew.com.my/node/134568

Junichiro

2,057 posts

Posted by Junichiro > 2016-04-08 21:20 | Report Abuse

Celcom is offering cheap packages to attract customers as they lost a lot of them during their IT problem.

Junichiro

2,057 posts

Posted by Junichiro > 2016-04-08 21:23 | Report Abuse

Actually, holding the key are the big funds eg. EPF. If they do not throw, the price will be stable. Not only Maxis, other counters also.

21,636 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-04-08 21:25 | Report Abuse

Rm4 seems too high also now!

linjie

187 posts

Posted by linjie > 2016-04-08 21:31 | Report Abuse

massive troop port out this weekend, every day 10k people port out

goesky

21 posts

Posted by goesky > 2016-04-08 21:35 | Report Abuse

Maxis cant do anythings right now if they give u an offer like other telcos, in the future the quarter report confirm will show bad results,the share price still maintained because the big boy cant easily to sell them share but if u wait until AGM i think u cant run that time , good luck share holders.

Junichiro

2,057 posts

Posted by Junichiro > 2016-04-08 22:35 | Report Abuse

Other telcos also did these stupid things. One of them is DIGI. I have written comments about it earlier. Imagine you can't receive calls n sms in yr house and you complained. But they did nothing. BUT the bill came and ask for payment. How do u feel?
I was at the handphone shop when the incident happened n I happened to see a businessman living in my area buying a handphone which can handle 2 sim cards. He told me he did not want to be held hostage by any telco. The whole episode lasted 1 month over.
I have commented on DIGI's facebook n yet nothing happened. Maybe it the problem is not widespread. If they are that responsible they should have at least given me some discount on the monthly bill. Due to their fault, I was forced buy another line from Umobile.

I am thinking to port my Digi line to Maxis in view of the fact that they have increased the data GB.

Anyway there is no such thing as brand loyalty. Probably those British universities taught so. But those Australian Uni says there is no such thing as brand loyalty. Leave those business that give u a bad deal.

Junichiro

2,057 posts

Posted by Junichiro > 2016-04-08 22:38 | Report Abuse

Whatever mistake they have done earlier is theirs and not mine to care. I care for the present moment only.

Junichiro

2,057 posts

Posted by Junichiro > 2016-04-08 23:00 | Report Abuse

In truth, it is the big funds like ASM, EPF which determine the price. None of them are going to make it fall like no tomorrow which can damage their own investments. One day they sell and the next day they buy it back.

Investeye

2,347 posts

Posted by Investeye > 2016-04-08 23:16 | Report Abuse

Expect the price down further as it customers are very unhappy as the latest revised plan is still very expensive and only for MaxisOneplan, what about other plans like iValue and Surfmore? It customers will continue port out to others.. better invest in Digi or Axiata then catch the falling knife!

Shadows

462 posts

Posted by Shadows > 2016-04-08 23:44 | Report Abuse

Customer unhappiness will effectively affect the business revenue. Once customer switch to other telco, it will take years to win them back especially competitor like umobile are doing so well.

changpw

17 posts

Posted by changpw > 2016-04-08 23:52 | Report Abuse

last Quarter ARPU is 102, now other telco compete with plan from 70-80. if the ARPU drop RM10 due to the coming new plan and competitive market , it is expect to lost 80million income quarterly... :O

andychucky28

1,600 posts

Posted by andychucky28 > 2016-04-09 01:16 | Report Abuse

Ha, now they are trying to con their customers with free data. Ya free, but very very slow during the evening.

kcyin

24 posts

Posted by kcyin > 2016-04-09 07:17 | Report Abuse

Frankly speaking, the maxis marketing team has totally failed in this latest turmoil. When their rivals have started this "marketing war" months ago by offering better plans in lower prices. They should react it fast, at least do something.

However, probably because of the past experience, they might assume most of the 'loyal' customers(who have been supporting them since decades ago) will keep staying with them.

Perhaps, the past experience makes maxis to be "over-confident". So, they just kept promoting their MaxisOnePlan, e.g. RM98 for 1GB data(unlimited calls & sms) while their rivals already offered the plans around RM70 to RM80 for 7GB to 10GB(unlimited calls & sms) months ago. Worse, they chose to adopt a "defensive" strategy by implementing the "apartheid system" in order to counter offer the one who porting out from them.

Sadly, it's the straw that broke the camel's back, their so called "loyal" customers keep porting out...like there's no tomorrow, just like a "snowball effect". And they realized they were wrong ultimately.

Posted by Marvyn Choong > 2016-04-09 08:10 | Report Abuse

Maxis should be punished more severely.. I ported out long again when my contracts expired.. Been cheated by Maxis for years for cheap free phones, and 24 months contract for lousy expensive plan...

Investeye

2,347 posts

Posted by Investeye > 2016-04-09 09:40 | Report Abuse

Previously Maxis is leading on providing a good offering of advance smartphones under contact but data allocation is too stingy. They emphasized on network speed and consistency. I too believed on its until I port out from maxis recently. Then only I discovered that other network is also able to deliver the expected performance but much cheaper!

andychucky28

1,600 posts

Posted by andychucky28 > 2016-04-09 12:12 | Report Abuse

I think most of us experienced been cheated by this crab operator.

Junichiro

2,057 posts

Posted by Junichiro > 2016-04-09 20:08 | Report Abuse

Thanks kcyin, yr comments offers the most insight into what actually went wrong. This is an important lesson to those in the marketing line. Those guys in Maxis were caught with their pants down. The price war was started by Celcom when they too experienced the large exodus of customer.
Well, they would experience lost of some subscribers n learn this lesson. Restructure their package to make more attractive n start another price war.

ryan7642

1,998 posts

Posted by ryan7642 > 2016-04-09 20:56 | Report Abuse

I think Maxis short term will look downward to rm5-5.5 after this recently hottttt revised plan package~~~they gonna lose at least 10-15% of the postpaid client for sure due to their arrogant N stubborn N stupid video recently..

jasonor

1,004 posts

Posted by jasonor > 2016-04-09 20:59 | Report Abuse

customer loyalty only exist if you CONTINUE to gives something of value to your customers consistently. few years ago maybe 1gb is alot, but now? hey... few days also finish ady lah..

Wow123

1,971 posts

Posted by Wow123 > 2016-04-09 21:05 | Report Abuse

like digi also same pls change ceo

davidkkw79

5,068 posts

Posted by davidkkw79 > 2016-04-09 21:27 | Report Abuse

Maxis please tutup kedai, close shop