SURIA CAPITAL HOLDINGS BHD

KLSE (MYR): SURIA (6521)

-0.02 (0.91%)

2.18 - 2.28

825 comment(s). Last comment by Believe3222 3 weeks ago

tonywong8

466 posts

Posted by tonywong8 > 2022-12-22 13:31 | Report Abuse

After fulfill of Rm1.3 Billion commited investment, the excess balance will hopefully to be distributed to shareholders and dividend payout hope to see increase to more than 70%. Good to shareholders including Sabah Government, the major shareholder.

SincereStock

2,008 posts

Posted by SincereStock > 2022-12-22 14:57 | Report Abuse

@StartOfTheBull

"Not advisable to buy and sell later."

"I bought it before the latest QR and I have no intention to sell it unless it reaches above my target price."

so you did what you don't is not advisable? so much contradiction

Posted by StartOfTheBull > 2022-12-22 15:05 | Report Abuse

I was telling to speculators, not to me myself. I am a partly short term but mostly long term investor. Of course it also depends on the situation.

SincereStock

2,008 posts

Posted by SincereStock > 2022-12-22 15:07 | Report Abuse

maybe you should say not advisable for short term trade. "later" can be both short term and long term.

I myself bought this stock definitely intention to buy low sell high, not just for 4% dividend. of course I hope for short term return. But I don't complain if I need to wait long.

beside, nothing wrong to bought in after good QR as long as the price is still low. I did that before in this counter. took some profit when it rised significantly &, sold all right after a bad QR while the price is still acceptable with little profit left. and now reenter after a gd QR at lower price that I last sold all.

definitely a good counter here and price does move. advisable to buy and sell later if you got extra money and patience

SincereStock

2,008 posts

Posted by SincereStock > 2022-12-22 15:10 | Report Abuse

of course I might be wrong this time and the price may as well go south anytime. if that happen I also won't complain, might even top up more. just don't complain if you think you did a right investment. i.e. as simple as buying a undervalue stock

tonywong8

466 posts

Posted by tonywong8 > 2022-12-22 17:59 | Report Abuse

This counter is doing monopoly business and it will not lose money. The only i worried is that after 12 years when the concession expired, if Sabah government don't want to extend the concession, the company will worth nothing. Now with further extension of 30 years, the company will has 42 years to operate. The port operation alone already can maintain Rm50 millions profit in expectation Sabah economy will growth few % per annum and the revenue/profit will increase accordingly. With the company go into property development and cruise business, expected the future growth for the company is bright, i will keep the share for the dividend unless the company is privatised by the prospector Syed Mokhtar's group whom will listed his port business in KLSE soon.

Nepo

3,287 posts

Nepo

3,287 posts

Posted by Nepo > 2022-12-27 15:21 | Report Abuse

Will this LNG facility helps to boost up Suria revenue like Bintulu Port Bhd?

Posted by StartOfTheBull > 2022-12-27 15:26 | Report Abuse

Sabah can't consume all LNG, I think large portion of it would be exported through ports in Sabah.

Posted by stockraider > 2022-12-27 17:38 | Report Abuse

Suria will benefit loh!

Nepo

3,287 posts

Posted by Nepo > 2022-12-28 14:41 | Report Abuse

" We understand that the tariff revision was approved in principle by the State Cabinet in 2020 for implementation at a later date that will be decided by the state government. The tariff has remained the same over the past 35 years."
https://klse.i3investor.com/web/blog/detail/AmInvestResearch/2022-12-27-story-h-302787750-Ports_Beneficiary_of_growing_global_trade_activities

Posted by snowball2000 > 2023-01-16 17:38 | Report Abuse

The Board of Directors of Suria Capital Holdings Berhad (“Suria Capital”) is pleased to announce that the Sabah State Government has approved for Sabah Ports Sdn Bhd, a wholly owned subsidiary of Suria Capital, to enter into a strategic collaboration with DP World, a leading provider of worldwide smart end-to-end supply chain logistics.

The approval was conveyed via a letter by the State Economic Planning Unit and received by Suria Capital on 16 January 2023. The key areas of the collaboration are the management and operation of Sapangar Bay Container Port as well as investment of logistics and supply chain infrastructure in Sabah.

This announcement is dated 16 January 2023.

Posted by snowball2000 > 2023-01-16 17:38 | Report Abuse

DP World is an Emirati multinational logistics company based in Dubai, United Arab Emirates. It specialises in cargo logistics, port terminal operations, maritime services and free trade zones. Formed in 2005 by the merger of Dubai Ports Authority and Dubai Ports International, DP World handles 70 million containers that are brought in by around 70,000 vessels annually. This equates to roughly 10% of global container traffic accounted for by their 82 marine and inland terminals present in over 40 countries. Until 2016, DP World was primarily a global ports operator, and since then it has acquired other companies up and down the value chain.

Nepo

3,287 posts

Posted by Nepo > 2023-01-17 08:30 | Report Abuse

Posted by bnmacai > 2020-09-13 23:03 | Report Abuse

Nepo,

Poic is a direct competitor, not a complement. You may check what POIC offers. Unless one day Suria come up and say they gonna acquire POIC bla bla... but it won’t happen. Not for now. Taiwanese is holding certain % is Poic.

==================================================
Posted by human > 2020-09-14 16:03 | Report Abuse

Poic is Palm Oil Industrial Cluster (POIC).
The current Poic is new 28++ acres development of palm oil processing industries with port facilities.

Suria Capital has 4 main business segments, one of them is port operations which operate under subsidiaries Sabah Ports Sdn Bhd.
SPSB main revenue is from 7 ports and 1 oil terminal.
One of SPSB ports Lahad Datu Port is serving existing developed palm oil industries.

Poic Lahad Datu ports facilities is meant to support industries under the new Poic development while SPSB Lahad Datu ports facilities is serving existing Lahad Datu developed palm oil industries.

These ports are not meant to compete with each other.

Suria Capital major shareholder is Warisan Harta Sabah (Sabah State government investment arm) while POIC is setup by Sabah state government to attract investment to Sabah.

They are different and not conflicting.
=======================================

I re-read and re-read the above comments..still give me a impression that POIC is a direct competitor of Suria.
Only if Suria acquire POIC, if not..Suria further growth is restricted..

Any latest and updated news regarding POIC? How is POIC now..?

tonywong8

466 posts

Posted by tonywong8 > 2023-01-20 14:43 | Report Abuse

Business collaboration will bring benefit to the company. In order to reap the benefit is to buy the company share or be the shareholder. At the moment, Suria shares are no much in the market and buying certain % will push up the share price.

tonywong8

466 posts

Posted by tonywong8 > 2023-02-16 11:52 | Report Abuse

Suria should raise its dividend policy from 35% to 50% to attract more investors as cash required for future expansion is limitted.

SincereStock

2,008 posts

Posted by SincereStock > 2023-02-17 09:30 | Report Abuse

locked a few profit at 1.19 this morning, need to be cautious a bit in case the next QR doesn't live up to expectation, will top up more again if given chance at cheaper bargain

tonywong8

466 posts

Posted by tonywong8 > 2023-02-17 09:52 | Report Abuse

Anticipated some funds are coming to buy the share.

Posted by stockraider > 2023-02-19 14:50 | Report Abuse

Potential takeover coming from Abu Dhabi, Spore and berunai loh!

Posted by dickyen1988 > 2023-02-28 18:36 | Report Abuse

tomorrow break 1.20 pls...well done SURIA

SincereStock

2,008 posts

Posted by SincereStock > 2023-03-01 09:02 | Report Abuse

super satisfying result, so glad to be able to topped up even more today 9am at just RM1.2

tonywong8

466 posts

Posted by tonywong8 > 2023-03-01 10:10 | Report Abuse

Based on year profit amount of Rm59.5 millions, 2022 dividend will be 6 cents. Less early Jan, 2023 dividend of 1.5 cents, we expected next month announcement of dividend pay out of 4.5 cents and to be paid by July, 23

SincereStock

2,008 posts

Posted by SincereStock > 2023-03-01 11:18 | Report Abuse

I really don't understand the reason behind those who sell today at yesterday price after such super QR announced lol

just glad that I am still being able to top up even more without any significant price gap up this morning haha thanks those who sold to me

tonywong8

466 posts

Posted by tonywong8 > 2023-03-01 12:14 | Report Abuse

SincereStock, i think big funds are behind to collect the shares. They will not want gap up as will increase their cost. They are long term investors and will hold for many years. They are business partner and will bring good business to the company.

tonywong8

466 posts

Posted by tonywong8 > 2023-03-01 12:27 | Report Abuse

MelaccaSecurity has foreseen the profit margin will increase along the years to come. I think coming 2 years, will see the share price moving up and by 2025, Suria will be booming with DP World come into operation. The operation at KK will shift to Spangar Bay and the existing port land at KK( 29 acres) will be allocated for development.

SincereStock

2,008 posts

Posted by SincereStock > 2023-03-03 11:23 | Report Abuse

come liao lo, so easy to play this counter, good QR but price flat, it is just like time freezing, no brainer to no enter / top up at that time

Posted by dickyen1988 > 2023-03-03 11:33 | Report Abuse

Yes finally break 1.20, current price still undervalue. No point to sell at this juncture, just hold for it.

SincereStock

2,008 posts

Posted by SincereStock > 2023-03-03 11:39 | Report Abuse

@dickyen1988 agree!

Posted by snowball2000 > 2023-03-03 12:34 | Report Abuse

both price and volume suddenly surge.... what is cooking?

tonywong8

466 posts

Posted by tonywong8 > 2023-03-03 13:49 | Report Abuse

Containers handling charges per TEU in Malaysia:
1. PORT KLANG RM 470.00
2. PENANG PORT RM 485.00
3. TANJUNG PELEPAS RM506.00
4. PASIR GUDANG RM477.00
5. SABAH PORT RM350.00
Sabah ports still the cheaper handling charges in Malaysia. Should consider 15% increase in tarrif after 35 years stay flat.

pantor

319 posts

Posted by pantor > 2023-03-03 18:18 | Report Abuse

Harbour has much better earning than suria but not going up as fast as suria. What is the rationale?

SincereStock

2,008 posts

Posted by SincereStock > 2023-03-04 13:10 | Report Abuse

@pantor SURIA's EPS is more sustainable (and growing) as the sole biggest port operator in SABAH. SURIA's NTA also higher allowing higher market price cap.

I am holding both HARBOUR and SURIA (with SURIA has more stakes). both definitely undervalued now

tonywong8

466 posts

Posted by tonywong8 > 2023-03-04 17:18 | Report Abuse

I am more prefer to Suria after announcement of extension for another 30 years of concession. 12+30 years is for DP World to come in to collaborate in operation and will take up certain % of share in the company. Otherwise, why need to announce 12 years away, not like Bintulu port only announced months to expire. Share price not moving up may not reflect in short term extra earning, it must be long term earning to come as Suria. Further more, Suria may be go into shareholder restructuring with DP world.

tonywong8

466 posts

Posted by tonywong8 > 2023-03-04 17:31 | Report Abuse

For DP World to has certain stake of Suria share holding( or private placement ), management will most likely to issue certain % of Suria's share to them at higher price. We are now might be at the corner for the share restructuring process.

Posted by stockraider > 2023-03-07 20:01 | Report Abuse

Veli good buy loh!
Steady gain mah!

tonywong8

466 posts

Posted by tonywong8 > 2023-03-08 11:22 | Report Abuse

Yesterday and today were in profit taking stage after rally for 2 days. Yesterday, last hour buy up was strong, ending one cent higher. We are not able to know the private placement price to DP World, but definately higher than present price. The future earning for Suria is difinately promising and it will be 42 years, if we assumed average of 20 cents profit per annum with PE of 8.5, at least Suria price is Rm1.70

cbkia4896

872 posts

Posted by cbkia4896 > 2023-04-04 15:50 | Report Abuse

this not the goreng suria, if u here for goreng go away :P

nicholas99

9,841 posts

Posted by nicholas99 > 2023-04-04 16:00 | Report Abuse

tomorrow got SANSURIA. SONSURIA.

SincereStock

2,008 posts

Posted by SincereStock > 2023-04-06 10:07 | Report Abuse

@cbkia4896 I am not here waiting for goreng. I am waiting for privatization / take over offer by Syed Mokthar only, hopefully it would be very soon

beluga

271 posts

Posted by beluga > 2023-04-25 14:53 | Report Abuse

SM want. DP World also want. But Sabah government want to have control of its own port. Dilemma la.

Posted by stockraider > 2023-04-25 17:33 | Report Abuse

Privatization is a possibility loh!

But most importantly Suria is undervalue & pays good div loh!

Nepo

3,287 posts

Posted by Nepo > 2023-04-25 20:15 | Report Abuse

Volume noticeably increase with strength look like this stock gonna to breakthrough

tonywong8

466 posts

Posted by tonywong8 > 2023-04-28 11:11 | Report Abuse

Today may has good news about this Suria, dividend, annual report and hopefully good announcement.

Posted by snowball2000 > 2023-04-28 17:59 | Report Abuse

"We are also excited about the prospects of Indonesia relocating its capital to Nusantara, East Kalimantan. This would make the capital closer to Sabah especially to our east coast ports. Tawau Port clearly holds a strategic advantage as it shares extensive land and maritime borders with Kalimantan. The prospect to broaden and merge with bigger
hinterlands is immense and we are keen to start exploring opportunities with our Indonesian counterparts to facilitate business growth."
Source: Page 15 of Annual Report 2022

Posted by snowball2000 > 2023-04-28 18:01 | Report Abuse

"SK Nexilis and Kibing Group, two major foreign investors have set up
a production base in Kota Kinabalu Industrial Park (KKIP). The generation
of cargo from these facilities will increase cargo volume handled
at Sabah Ports and on a larger scale, boost the contribution of the
manufacturing sector to the State’s gross domestic product (GDP).

With the future partnership with DPW, we can expect to benefit immensely
from DPW’s expertise in logistics solutions and supply-chain operations
thus setting a game changing landscape for Sapangar Bay Container
Port and Sabah as a whole."

SincereStock

2,008 posts

Posted by SincereStock > 2023-05-10 16:51 | Report Abuse

sold a few at RM1.26 preclose today, need to be extra cautious during QR season

SincereStock

2,008 posts

Posted by SincereStock > 2023-05-20 20:19 | Report Abuse

Property development and leasing
The property development’s revenue was derived from the leasing of Gallery Shoppes at
Jesselton Quay. These Gallery Shoppes are part of the entitlement accorded to the Group from
the first phase of the Joint Venture with SBC Corporation Berhad (“SBC”) which has been
completed and delivered in year 2022.
It is expected that the second phase of the project will commence in year 2023 based on revised
terms stated in the Amended and Restated Agreement dated 30 November 2022.
For the current quarter and year-to-date, the property development segment contributed <1%
to the Group’s revenue (31 March 2022: Nil). As of the interim financial date, 64% of the gallery
shoppes were committed by tenants.

Is that means Jesselton Quay's leasing will start contributing to SURIA's revenue starting next QR?

SincereStock

2,008 posts

Posted by SincereStock > 2023-05-26 09:17 | Report Abuse

sold a few at 1.20 today. needed some cash to buy MBMR