SUPERMAX CORPORATION BHD

KLSE (MYR): SUPERMX (7106)

+0.015 (1.78%)

0.85 - 0.875

99 people like this.

222,538 comment(s). Last comment by wbwanabe 47 minutes ago

henry992

21 posts

Posted by henry992 > 2023-04-20 12:50 | Report Abuse

This could be an inspiration to a new movie called 'Superman buying a plane to fly'.

AdCool

3,862 posts

Posted by AdCool > 2023-04-20 13:45 | Report Abuse

good that her daughter resigned.
been causing lot of losses due to that contact lens biz since 7 years ago. Keep burning the money.

1invest1

1,467 posts

Posted by 1invest1 > 2023-04-20 14:32 | Report Abuse

@AdCool is right.
Contact lens ind looks simple, but is not.
Big boys are too big to compete agst.
They're big brands & very established.

cwc1981

1,178 posts

Posted by cwc1981 > 2023-04-20 14:35 | Report Abuse

Small matter. Many family own business is like this. Just that never made public officially. Ask those working in public listed family owned companies. Sure got lots of this kind of gossip.

cwc1981

1,178 posts

Posted by cwc1981 > 2023-04-20 14:37 | Report Abuse

Don't think those quiet one is ok. Supermax is just unlucky one to made headlines

Albukhary

2,969 posts

Posted by Albukhary > 2023-04-20 14:39 | Report Abuse

Based on my experience, sometime buying "plane" maybe due to diplomatic.

For example, you want US government to import your product, so you need to give back something. So you need to buy the plane / machine / anything from US to make the deal with the US government. Same practice apply to Europe or China.

I mean this is very common, when your company has reach certain size, or the volume is really big, this kind of diplomatic deal is very common.

nicholas99

9,851 posts

Posted by nicholas99 > 2023-04-20 14:42 | Report Abuse

ya macam elon musk and zuckerberg

nicholas99

9,851 posts

Posted by nicholas99 > 2023-04-20 14:43 | Report Abuse

Zuckerberg’s Meta to lay off another 10,000 employees
Zuckerberg's jet, a Gulfstream G650, has burned at least $158,448 worth of jet fuel across 28 different trips between Aug.21 Oct 2022

1invest1

1,467 posts

Posted by 1invest1 > 2023-04-20 14:44 | Report Abuse

@henry992's comment is Perfect.

This could be an inspiration to a new movie called
'Superman buying a plane to fly'.

Why you need 2 jet planes ?
1) one to fly to US, another to fly return to KL.
2) one for him & one for wife, each one gets one

They have diff schedules, but still can meet.
They may be at diff places, but still can meet.
Bcos got 2 jets on call anytime anyday.

Not too bad, shareholders help them ENJOY.

Albukhary

2,969 posts

Posted by Albukhary > 2023-04-20 15:11 | Report Abuse

Why this Cicile keep on mentioned about the plane, and don't want mentioned any single word on her venture into contact lens business? At least tell public how much she has made / loss for the past few years. Transparent mah.

alenac

2,648 posts

Posted by alenac > 2023-04-20 15:16 | Report Abuse

Father old school type, run a publicly listed company like a sole proprietor. But the daughter wants accountability and she got transparency. Shareholders should propose a resolution to sack the father in the company's best interest. Off course this will be defeated but no harm done. Just to prove a point.

Posted by cooledhawk123654 > 2023-04-20 15:57 | Report Abuse

wll the disclosured by her daughter lead to the government authourity probe into the company??

Posted by cooledhawk123654 > 2023-04-20 16:18 | Report Abuse

Any elements of fraud??

Posted by cooledhawk123654 > 2023-04-20 16:22 | Report Abuse

if not, then still ok...except share price fall almost 11%

49,866 posts

Posted by pang72 > 2023-04-20 17:00 | Report Abuse

It is unexpected the mismanagement happening in such reputation company.
Nowaday many breaking news leak out on listed company which is shocking

49,866 posts

Posted by pang72 > 2023-04-20 17:14 | Report Abuse

SBB 7.3mils at 90c is another similar mistake like TG SBB at rm6, 7,8,9...

Posted by NorthernStar > 2023-04-20 18:08 | Report Abuse

boss want to start an airline business.

kmohan62

484 posts

Posted by kmohan62 > 2023-04-20 18:18 | Report Abuse

Almost half of the total share holdings held by public...transparency and good governance are all the more important...looks like the BODs except the daughter is beholden to majority shareholder...it appears everyone has to toe the line...not good for a public listed company especially in terms of decision making and determining the future direction of company...the fact that the daughter is speaking out shows worm coming out of the woodwork...

Posted by Kyson Lee > 2023-04-20 18:29 | Report Abuse

Petty woman raises petty issues to seek cheap attention.
Really immature. The consequences of appointing unqualified woman into the Board to just comply with qouta to desciminate against qualified man candidates.

Posted by Kyson Lee > 2023-04-20 18:40 | Report Abuse

Such petty woman only knows how to make losses in her management like the contact lenses venture.
Her immaturity and selfish mentality resulted her to always thinking the whole board of directors were wrong only she was right.
Thanks God, such unqualified and immature woman had left the Board of SUPERMAX. It is a blessing to all shareholders of SUPERMAX and have better future for better profits in SUPERMAX.

49,866 posts

Posted by pang72 > 2023-04-20 18:51 | Report Abuse

The next REVENUE? I don't know..
Just watch closely

ivanlau

1,361 posts

Posted by ivanlau > 2023-04-20 19:23 | Report Abuse

Pls only consider this stock at 0.75 , today closing 0.85 still hv room to drop.....

Posted by NatsukoMishima > 2023-04-20 22:49 | Report Abuse

Actually the daughter is tried her best to rectify her father mistake ,so that there wont be other court cases coming soon , but if all gamblers like u still holding until that time then u got no way to run , plus more net loss coming few years ! When they bought luxury condo in 2021 we already known this company management not worth to invest !

Posted by NatsukoMishima > 2023-04-20 22:53 | Report Abuse

40 sens is the real value!

Bullkobear

320 posts

Posted by Bullkobear > 2023-04-20 22:56 | Report Abuse

Durian runtuk….bad news is good news

Posted by NatsukoMishima > 2023-04-21 02:30 | Report Abuse

Do u think their book is ok

curiousq

958 posts

Posted by curiousq > 2023-04-21 04:08 | Report Abuse

Already making loss, still want to buy new aeroplane, why can't he wait a bit later? his daughter's objection makes sense !!

Abrahmi

59 posts

Posted by Abrahmi > 2023-04-21 06:20 | Report Abuse

No accountability Running it like personal property
Legistators must step in

myinvestor

1,216 posts

Posted by myinvestor > 2023-04-21 07:09 | Report Abuse

Cecile has not create value to the company for past 7 years as Ceo and exd. Other non exd received only RM120k annual salary. She is getting USD400k in salary as non exd. Probably the highest paid non exd in Bursa listed companies. Removing her saving the Supermx as least RM2000000 a year.

myinvestor

1,216 posts

Posted by myinvestor > 2023-04-21 11:18 | Report Abuse

It is board members fiduciary duty ensure to reduce cost in management during the difficult time. It is better for her to resign than to sack her.

joyvest

10,190 posts

Posted by joyvest > 2023-04-21 12:32 | Report Abuse

One thing for sure,this co is not receptive to criticism no matter good or bad.

They have the nasty habit of deterring ,stifling people from telling the truth and fact. People from this forum are of no exception.

I bet my comment would be removed soon.It happened to me before and I am not surprised. Some of them in this forum are troopers for the company.

joyvest

10,190 posts

Posted by joyvest > 2023-04-21 12:43 | Report Abuse

Just because the company has tons of net cash ,it doesn't mean you can spend lavishly and extravagantly on something as you like as a chairman.

Why don't you reward your loyal shareholders with more dividend instead?

joyvest

10,190 posts

Posted by joyvest > 2023-04-21 12:52 | Report Abuse

Let's put it this way and ask yourselves with this simple question " has the director ,as a steward ,acted in the best interest of the shareholders?"

If yes, he or she has upheld his or her integrity and professionalism.

If not,he or she is good for nothing and just a clown in the BOD.

KML889

1,092 posts

Posted by KML889 > 2023-04-21 13:05 | Report Abuse

It was the BOD decision and approval. It's legit whether you like it or not. It is not like buying a yacht then that's clear cut lavishly spent on personal whim and misappropriation of public funds. I can accept buying personal jet planes for traveling within US and Europe for business needs. One avenue to table this spending on the next AGM

KML889

1,092 posts

Posted by KML889 > 2023-04-21 13:07 | Report Abuse

I'm sure the reply on this query during AGM will be, you boleh jual your shares if you don't like it. Quote unquote. Haha

joyvest

10,190 posts

Posted by joyvest > 2023-04-21 13:37 | Report Abuse

We all know it was the BOD decision but whether they have acted in the best interest of shareholders remains to be challenged

You can buy anything at your whim and fancy but using" for business use" as a justification.

The unexpected fortune of the co is merely due to the "blessing in disguise " . Had it not been due to the pandemic, the company would not have been in this position.

Can you make 10 times profit of your spending on the lavish jet or not? If you can't,your shareholders would ditch you.

Posted by Adrian Tan > 2023-04-21 15:20 | Report Abuse

Minority shareholders must press MSWG to champion us all at the next AGM to grille the BOD on their efforts towards corporate governance and what they are doing to raise the company’s return on equity. Granted that ASP is market driven, what are they doing in diversification to move away from over dependency on gloves. Whether they have ever considered switching to other products using their existing production plants or available fund. A sustained 10% ROE is not too much to ask.

merck

996 posts

Posted by merck > 2023-04-21 23:06 | Report Abuse

They have sales office in Korea SG JP HK Aussie Begium UK Germany Canada Brazil. Their Condo in Florida. Office in Chicago. New setup glove making in Texas. Naik bicycle or sampan move around?

Jokers2020

2,006 posts

Posted by Jokers2020 > 2023-04-22 06:49 | Report Abuse

dump the share n buy kossan topglov better.Bod not reliable

Easyguy

42 posts

Posted by Easyguy > 2023-04-22 21:23 | Report Abuse

Buy when people panic selling

Havefun

377 posts

Posted by Havefun > 2023-04-24 10:24 | Report Abuse

Why buy plane and incur so much cost to maintain it? Poor governance and speak volume about the owner mind set is not interested in creating more value anymore.

joyvest

10,190 posts

Posted by joyvest > 2023-04-24 11:30 | Report Abuse

Buying a private jet is just the beginning of the expenses, there are additional costs that come with owning a private jet, such as:

1. Maintenance costs: Regular maintenance is required for private jets to ensure they are safe to fly. This includes engine upgrades, inspections, and routine repairs. The cost of maintenance depends on the type and size of the private jet.

2. Insurance: Private jets require insurance coverage, which could cost hundreds of thousands of dollars per year. The type of coverage and the value of the private jet can impact the cost of insurance.

3. Fuel costs: Fuel is one of the most significant costs associated with owning a private jet. The cost of fuel can vary depending on the location and the fluctuating prices in the aviation industry.

4. Hangar and parking fees: Private jets need to be kept in a secure location, preferably a hangar, during downtime. Renting or purchasing a hangar, as well as parking fees at airports, can be quite expensive.

5. Crew salaries and training: Pilots, flight attendants, and other staff members must receive salaries, training, and certifications, which can add up to significant costs.

6. Taxes: Owning a private jet means you are likely to incur various taxes, such as sales tax, use tax, and property tax, depending on the location and regulations.

7. Upgrades and modifications: Private jet owners may choose to upgrade their planes with modern technology, entertainment systems, or modifications, which come at an additional cost.

Overall, owning a private jet is an expensive undertaking, and it is crucial to consider and budget for these extra costs before purchasing one.

Can you make ten times or more profits of your extravagent purchase /replacement of the new private jet? The hidden costs above can cause you a bomb month in month out and at the expense of shareholders in terms of reduced and or squeezed dividend payout.

CHHu

100 posts

Posted by CHHu > 2023-04-24 11:53 | Report Abuse

this Old Thai better go back to jail...no good corporate in his mind run company like private company in fact he only hold 38% of it....Thanks Cecile for defending minorities shareholders interest

myinvestor

1,216 posts

Posted by myinvestor > 2023-04-24 12:43 | Report Abuse

The proposed aircraft is business class falcon 10x jet and flying range of 8000 nm which need not require to refuel or stop when travel to intended destination. Bring in customers from Europe and US to Malaysia will be as ease and in shortest time. Technical support personnel can be easy send to Texas factory to resolve any startup machinery problem. Have an advance aircraft for the purpose to bring in more value to company is good investment. Note that Supermx products are 100% exported. The top exd are constantly needed to built good relationship with customers from Eu and US by visiting each other country and thus bring in more sales.

Posted by NatsukoMishima > 2023-04-24 13:22 | Report Abuse

Supermax = salute + revenue + serba 2.0 !

Crazy dump tomorrow!

49,866 posts

Posted by pang72 > 2023-04-24 19:29 | Report Abuse

Wah!! So bad meh

Posted by Investor126 > 2023-04-25 09:24 | Report Abuse

Founder has no credibility as I said earlier. Your long waited reserved cash will not reach you but his own pocket. You are just his tool for this speculation.
Be wary. More is coming soon.

alenac

2,648 posts

Posted by alenac > 2023-04-25 09:28 | Report Abuse

Staff and directors take commercial flights even 1st class still cheaper than buying & maintaining a plane.
myinvestor
The proposed aircraft is business class falcon 10x jet and flying range of 8000 nm which need not require to refuel or stop when travel to intended destination. Bring in customers from Europe and US to Malaysia will be as ease and in shortest time. Technical support personnel can be easy send to Texas factory to resolve any startup machinery problem. Have an advance aircraft for the purpose to bring in more value to company is good investment. Note that Supermx products are 100% exported. The top exd are constantly needed to built good relationship with customers from Eu and US by visiting each other country and thus bring in more sales.

20 hours ago

49,866 posts

Posted by pang72 > 2023-04-25 14:50 | Report Abuse

83c liao..

Habis liao..

Another bod fight company after Revenue

joyvest

10,190 posts

Posted by joyvest > 2023-04-25 15:11 | Report Abuse

It is not necessary to buy a private jet if your product is 100% exported.

While a private jet can be a convenient form of transportation for frequent business travel, it is not the only option available. There are many other transportation options such as commercial flights, cargo shipping services, and local distributors who can help with the logistics of exporting your product. Buying a private jet can be a substantial expense as already highlighted previously, and it may not be worthwhile if your business can achieve its goals without it.

Cecile was right in pointing it out that The co had already got one that was obtained a year ago and there was no need to fork out the unnecessary money to replace it with a new one..wasting at the expense of the shareholders' reserve