WEIDA (M) BHD

KLSE (MYR): WEIDA (7111)

787 comment(s). Last comment by calvintaneng 1 month ago

Posted by Najib Zamry > 2012-08-08 23:32 | Report Abuse

If one were to look at plantation alone it is already worth RM 240 million alone and this is not core business of Weida. Weida 's market capitalization is only Rm160 million. So you can calculate how much is Welda worth. My target price is RM1.80

fandi

280 posts

Posted by fandi > 2012-08-09 09:06 | Report Abuse

Najib, you are spot on. Will buy some around 1.42. Thanks for valuable input.

fandi

280 posts

Posted by fandi > 2012-08-09 14:40 | Report Abuse

Bought 10K at 1.42. Done.

Posted by Jian Bin Siew > 2012-08-09 15:57 | Report Abuse

Welcome on the same "boat"... Let us sail to north all the ways.

limsgn

45 posts

Posted by limsgn > 2012-08-10 21:40 | Report Abuse

Najib,thanks 4 ur comment, we'r confident to go in agn. but 2day drop back to RM1.40.......

necro

4,726 posts

Posted by necro > 2012-08-12 02:48 | Report Abuse

BULLISH LAGI NI....

fandi

280 posts

Posted by fandi > 2012-08-13 09:14 | Report Abuse

Najib can buy more Weida?

Posted by Namoyaki Takarajima > 2012-08-24 15:19 | Report Abuse

TA: 20% Stohcastic line crossed. Vol. picking up. Strong support are at 1.43 today. 5d analysis are at 1.42, 1mnth are at 1.45/46. Pending 50% line crossed where 1.60 is possible because Weida are at 26.7% moving up towards 30% to 50%. Other FA, lets check out wht Najib Zambry will bring for us.

necro

4,726 posts

Posted by necro > 2012-08-24 15:21 | Report Abuse

wei namo komen laa sikit aku nya BUY..hahahahahha
try and error ni..
hahahahahha
ko agk2 bla dividen dia out ek??

Posted by Namoyaki Takarajima > 2012-08-24 15:28 | Report Abuse

necro, busy racing lah! GPS seem confused with North & South terminology. LOL. Weida OK already, buy and its a Bear to Bull position. No worries. Your MBFHLDG-WA is worrying me now. 0.230 seems possible! (Sorry Weida, intercept wth MBF a bit)

necro

4,726 posts

Posted by necro > 2012-08-24 15:32 | Report Abuse

hahahahaha...
noe noe im worried too..
im target next week..if more seller next week at 0.25 probally i sell..
but looking at mom their support at 1.09..probally ok kot stays in 0.25
market mgu ni sucks laa..
ramai cuti lagi

Posted by Namoyaki Takarajima > 2012-08-25 09:02 | Report Abuse

necro, where got 'ok kot' or 'kot-kot' in share market! if you want to 'kot-kot' you go and play 'kut'lah, play 'duit kut' on the street.

Posted by Namoyaki Takarajima > 2012-08-27 09:36 | Report Abuse

Thanks NZ for Weida recommendations. Weida had a Good Start today.

fandi

280 posts

Posted by fandi > 2012-08-27 11:25 | Report Abuse

NT, look at how much plantation land worth now in Sabah....
Oil Palm Estate (Sabah, Sarawak, Perak, Johor, Kelantan)

1. KELANTAN KEPONG PALM OIL ESTATE

Size: 21,932 acres (8,875 Ha)
Components: 6 plots of Palm Oil Estates including one plot of Rubber Estate with 3 oil mills, inclusive with the package price
Ages: 9 - 12 years
Land Tenure: Freehold
Selling price to buyer: RM 34,000 per acre

2. KALUMPANG KUNAK, TAWAU, SABAH ESTATE

Size: 4,988.33 acres (2,018.7 Ha)
Ages: 6 - 9 years
Selling price to buyer: RM 35,000 per acre (Total price=RM174,591,550)
Land Tenure: Country Lease (CL)

3. KINABATANGAN, SABAH ESTATE

Location: 1.11km off km 60, Jalan Keningau – Nabawan Rd, Sungei Labau, Kinabatangan.
Size: 25,001 acres (10,117.5 Ha)
Ages: 8 - 13 years
Selling price to buyer: RM 33,000 per acre (Total price=RM825,033,000)
Land Tenure: Country Lease (CL)

Posted by Namoyaki Takarajima > 2012-08-27 11:36 | Report Abuse

Yes Fandi, thanks for the updates. More infos/updates coming in for Wieda.

Posted by Namoyaki Takarajima > 2012-08-28 10:17 | Report Abuse

Good catch! a C-Cup chart! Very stubborn to get to 1.40!

Posted by Namoyaki Takarajima > 2012-08-29 09:36 | Report Abuse

ALERT on WEIDA, Pending BUY Call/Signal.

fandi

280 posts

Posted by fandi > 2012-08-29 11:52 | Report Abuse

Bought Another Weida at 1.42 15k

Posted by Namoyaki Takarajima > 2012-08-29 14:07 | Report Abuse

WEIDA climbing up to 80% Stochastic line. Vol. increased.

Posted by Ismail Abdullah > 2012-09-20 18:43 | Report Abuse

Any advice ....

jtpc2006

984 posts

Posted by jtpc2006 > 2012-09-27 10:19 | Report Abuse

bro NajibZ, another of your gems fruiting again. This was once a laggard, now climbing fast. KFima will do the same soon.

Posted by Najib Zamry > 2012-09-27 10:36 | Report Abuse

JTPC2006, patience is the key and surely you will be rewarded.

Posted by Ismail Abdullah > 2012-09-27 18:23 | Report Abuse

Manage to sell at 1.430.

fandi

280 posts

Posted by fandi > 2012-10-02 15:29 | Report Abuse

Najib Zamry and NT, Weida is back with so many good news. We are laughing all the way to the bank now. Phew phew.

Posted by Chew Kew Yang > 2012-10-02 15:40 | Report Abuse

What is the tp?

fandi

280 posts

Posted by fandi > 2012-10-09 09:50 | Report Abuse

Najib where are you Weida is 1.50...wah kah kah

jtpc2006

984 posts

Posted by jtpc2006 > 2012-10-09 14:56 | Report Abuse

NajibZ is a happy man..I will also be just as happy when KFima rises :):)

Posted by Najib Zamry > 2012-10-09 15:05 | Report Abuse

JTPC2006, trust me once they shake out weak holder, Kfima will come back. Just look at Weida. They pushed down the stock to 1.38 and now no more seller.

jtpc2006

984 posts

Posted by jtpc2006 > 2012-10-09 15:34 | Report Abuse

thanks NazibZ. Just a matter of waiting and patience,I have the confidence in Kfima, then it's my turn Fandi.

fandi

280 posts

Posted by fandi > 2012-10-10 11:59 | Report Abuse

Najib, Weida 1.58 now.

Posted by Najib Zamry > 2012-10-10 12:08 | Report Abuse

Fandi, you monitoring company too tight. I am aiming for 30% return for this counter.

jtpc2006

984 posts

Posted by jtpc2006 > 2012-10-10 14:50 | Report Abuse

now 1.59, .... sit back and relax, NajibZ's expectation 30%+.

Posted by teohkiankoon > 2012-10-16 07:15 | Report Abuse

Hi! this is too conservative because this counter's plantation asset alone if revalue is worth at least RM4 to RM5 a share.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2012-10-19 16:12 | Report Abuse

Is Weida a good investment?
Profit from operation decreased for fy 2012 ended March 2012, higher material cost of HDPE, contract disputes resulting in impairment loss etc. Low margin (7.6%) and low asset turnover; Low ROE of 10.4% and even that also only achieved with high financial leverage of 2.4 times. I can't tolerate negative cash flows from operations (CFFO) for the last two years, 20m for last year. Why negative CFFO? So called "earnings" tied up in receivables instead of real cash. Can those receivables all be able to collect? I doubt so. Part of it is shown in the "impairment loss" of 5.5 m last year. I think there will be more "impairment loss" to come. Why I think so? I was a civil engineer and have been in construction before. It is a norm. Balance sheet like "sai". Keep on borrowing money (200m now) because no cash mah. Some more need cash to plant oil palm, dabbles in property etc outside its scope of competence. Aren't you too late in these new stuff? What is the market valuation? At 1.61, PE 9 and total enterprise value 11 times EBIT! OMG, I won't even pay half for it! Should you value Weida based on its acreage of palm oil plantation? Go dream lah. Like that every palm oil plantation is highly undervalued already.
There are so many undervalued company to invest, but why Weida?

Posted by Najib Zamry > 2012-10-25 11:15 | Report Abuse

What if Weida managed to sell the plantation at RM20,500 per hektar just like what the news mentioned in the Business Times today as Weida also has 6,500 oil plam hektar estate in Bintulu?

TH Plantations plans Sarawak acquisitions

By Ooi Tee Ching Published: 2012/10/25

RM200m DEAL: 6,500ha oil palm estate and quarry in Bintulu

TH PLANTATIONS Bhd is set to buy 6,500ha of oil palm estate and a quarry in Sarawak for more than RM200 million.

"It's a brownfield block in Bintulu, away from native customary land. The oil palms are young, between two and five years old," a source said.

"It's going for RM20,500 per hectare. It is at a slight premium because this Bintulu estate includes a quarry mine, separately priced at around RM70 million. It has income-generating rock reserves of up to 30 years," the source told Business Times.

"Currently, TH Plantations landbank is about 45,000ha. If you count the 46,000ha block of estates to be transferred from parent company Lembaga Tabung Haji and this Bintulu estate, it will come up to around 100,000ha," the source said.

Five months ago, TH Plantations told the stock exchange that itwanted to buy 45,738ha of agricul-ture landbank from its parent company Lembaga Tabung Haji for RM536 million.

The acquisition is to be satisfied via the issuance of 209.23 million new THP shares at an issue price of RM2.56 per share. If the deal goes through, TH Plantations' agriculture landbank would double from the current 44,933ha to 90,671ha.

The deal to double TH Plantations' landbank hit a snag last week when Sabah Forestry Department rejected the execution of the teak and rubber plantation development agreement with TH-Bonggaya.

Read more: TH Plantations plans Sarawak acquisitions http://www.btimes.com.my/Current_News/BTIMES/articles/thp25/Article/index_html#ixzz2AHEFZByl

Posted by kcchongnz > 2012-10-25 11:34 | Report Abuse

THPlant buys the plantation land by issuing shares at 2.56. Firstly THPlant is only trading at 2.32 now. Secondly there will be a dilution of shares as there will be 82 million new shares of THPlant, or 16% more shares. Thirdly what is Weida going to do with the money after selling the land. Is their business is to sell land? Wasn't the main intention of Weida to buy this land for growth purpose as their core business has been going no where? Assets are of little use if they don't give you good return. There is a finance blog which has been promoting some palm oil stocks saying how much land they have and what is the potential value (per share) of this land etc. But can every palm oil company sell their land and realize increase of so much value per share or not? What is business in the first place without the palm oil land? Looks like every palm oil stock is selling at huge discount. So why the share price doesn't go up, instead most of them tanked? It is the same for property stocks. If speculated land value dictates the value of the share, every property company share also highly undervalued already. Why are their share price still so lethargic?

Posted by tuniamasingh > 2012-10-25 15:26 | Report Abuse

Najib, both Weida and TH Plant suspended. Let's wait and see who is the final winner.

fandi

280 posts

Posted by fandi > 2012-10-25 15:31 | Report Abuse

Najib Zamry,TH PLANT and WEIDA suspended. Any update?

Posted by Najib Zamry > 2012-10-25 15:59 | Report Abuse

3.1.3 Basis of arriving at the Indicative BSV Disposal Consideration
The Indicative BSV Disposal Consideration of RM212,504,000 was arrived at on a willing buyer-willing seller basis based on the adjusted unaudited NA as at 31 August 2012 of BSV after taking into consideration the market value of the BSV Lands of RM315,216,924 as appraised by WTW.
The market value of the BSV Lands was derived using the ‘Investment (Discounted Cash Flow) Method’ of valuation via WTW’s Valuation Certificate, based on the material date of valuation of 30 August 2012 (“Valuation Certificate”).

Earnings and earnings per share
The realised gains arising from the Proposed Disposals will depend on the respective NA of BSV and MWM at the time of completion of the Proposed Disposals.
Based on the Indicative Disposal Considerations, the Weida Group is expected to realise a net gain on disposal of approximately RM121.15 million(1) based on the latest audited financial statements of the Weida Group for the FYE 31 March 2012, assuming that the Proposed Disposals had been effected in the FYE 31 March 2012. The net gain represents a net income per share of approximately RM0.95 per Weida ordinary share of RM0.50 each.
Strictly for illustrative purposes only, the Weida Group is also expected to enjoy interest savings of approximately RM4.38 million per annum after repayment of bank borrowings from the Proposed Disposals proceeds as well as interest savings from the de-consolidation of the bank borrowings of BSV as detailed in Note (1) of Section 5 of this announcement.
Upon completion of the Proposed Disposals, BSV and MWM will cease to contribute to the future earnings of the Weida Group. Nonetheless, BSV and MWM have been incurring operating losses since BSV and MWM became the subsidiaries of Weida. Although BSV and MWM recorded profits after taxation for the FYE 31 March 2012, the aggregate contribution of BSV and MWM to the Weida Group’s net profit based on its latest audited financial statements for the FYE 31 March 2012 were insignificant.

Posted by Najib Zamry > 2012-10-25 16:01 | Report Abuse

Weida's Net Assets will increase from the current RM1.60 to RM2.56 after the disposal.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2012-10-26 05:21 | Report Abuse

NZ, as i thought that u r a fundamental investor, i would like to share with u a screen which i guess many fund managers would use to screen stocks, the Pitroski screen, before they even start to value the stock.
The screen shows that Weida, with the exception of just one year in 2007, is a weak to a very weak stock when looking at its historical change in profit, margins, operating efficiencies, balance sheet and cash flows etc. Last year it score just 1 point out of 9, the weakest category of stock. You can compute its Pitroski score yourself with the following link as guideline.
http://www.investopedia.com/terms/p/piotroski-score.asp#axzz2AGSs15nJ
Yeah, these lousy scores may be the past and the fortune of Weida may change for the better for the future, or will it? My point is Weida is not cheap with the present market valuation, and why should one pay so much just with the hope that it will change soon, and change must be huge to make the price worthwhile to buy?
Many people in this forum would argue that "why bother so much about the numbers" as i can see most of them are punters. But if you think u r an investor, i think it pay to look at this before u think Weida is such a great stock to buy.

Posted by teohkiankoon > 2012-10-27 13:37 | Report Abuse

Hi! Kc with due respect I am also a civil engineer but I looked at it differently because Weida’s existing engineering businesses are already doing fairly well especially its water tanks and sewerage products manufacturing business which is generating a very stable profit of 20+ to 30 million a year. Then its tele communication towers construction and maintenance contract business which is BOT(Built-operate and transfer) in nature and payments are receive over 10 bullet payments over 10 years hence the high borrowing and receivables need to fund this business. It profit is good and clients(TM, Digi and Maxis) are very reliable. So your so call Pitroski score could be skew. The impairment loss of 5.5m that u mentioned is a one off one and it is only a provision provided for the
5% retention fund (of a completed Sewerage project in Syria) that was jammed up due very likely to operation & maintenance problem disputes. According to Weida’s latest quarterly result it had reported receiving some form of advances and payments already even though at a slow pace hence the reason why no more impairment was allowed in its this latest quarterly result. Regarding their sale of the plantation recently annouced – it is only about 8500 acres of the 16000 acres that they own and from this sale they will receive cash of RM151m cash and their costs is only about RM30m giving rise to an extra ordinary gain of RM121m which is equivalent to EPS of 0.94 and if the sale goes through it will enhance their NTA from 1.60 to 2.56. Their estates are bought at very low cost of less then RM2500 per acres about 5 to 6 years ago hence the reason why I said it is very undervalue because plantation assets which is realizable anytime when they sell them at 4 to 5 times the price over 5 to 6 years are real assets. Let us see what happen on Monday okay? Like I said I am just a civil engineer and no financial expert so this is just my 2cents of sincere sharing of my little understanding of this stock….

Posted by KC Loh > 2012-10-27 14:13 | Report Abuse

Congrats all Weida holders. Windfall from TH Plantation. And CPO is probably recovering by end of the year barring El Nino's (and probably flooding) effects!

Posted by kcchongnz > 2012-10-27 16:45 | Report Abuse

teohkiankoon, I think you are more than a civil engineer. Tell me I am right that you are also involved in this investment industry, working for a broker firm?. Because you have answered almost all of my concerns about Weida nicely with full justifications; about the "10 bullet payments" for works of telecommunication towers (hence answering its high receivables and borrowings), about its steady engineering business incomes (though I am just neutral about this sector). I didn't know that it is about to sell of some shares of oil palm plantation companies it owns and going to net a cash of 150 m. To me that is the most positive news as Weida with the proceeds of this sales would reduce its debts in a big way and its balance sheet would sparkle. That would also solve its persistent cash flows problems. Hey, don't blame me for ignorance about the prospect of Weida. I am just an engineer (hehe). Would I invest in Weida now? No, I don't think so unless Weida has decided to sell of all its undervalued plantation land (realizable any time as alleged) at the price it sells to THPlant and distribute all the proceeds of cash to shareholders. Show me the money! Sigh, that is why I still haven't made any really big killing in the stock market.

Posted by Najib Zamry > 2012-10-29 09:15 | Report Abuse

What If I tell you if the major shareholder intends to distribute the money and call it a day? speculation or fact? Let's wait and see. If you have followed my post on Weida previously, you will know what I am trying to imply now.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2012-10-29 13:32 | Report Abuse

If Weida can sell off the land at the price stated which raised the NTA to the valued 4-5 times(?) as stated. If the company has also decided to call it a day and distributes all the money upon liquidation of the company at NTA to all shareholders. If this and that of what you said are all true, of course I want buy Weida at present price. I would even buy if the price is double the present price. But on second thought, I can't take what you said as fact. I am not saying you are bluffing. But my thinking is if there are facts, the price of Weida should never be at its present price in the first price. In view of its poor past operating efficiencies and it spoor cash flows, and I don't know the above are facts, I think I will still give it a pass since there are so many other better companies around. Sigh, that is why I never get rich.

Cloud87

Posted by Cloud87 > 2013-05-04 15:44 | Report Abuse

Any new update on weida? Last quarter profit should have booked in the extraordinary gains..

Cloud87

Posted by Cloud87 > 2013-05-14 00:28 | Report Abuse

No sellers?

weida

Posted by weida > 2013-05-21 10:49 | Report Abuse

Yes! 4th quater result coming out soon - latest by next week and its result is going to be sparkling with EPS of near to RM1.00 and the full year EPS will be around RM1.20....NTA will be expected to increase from current 1.60 to 2.70.

manahin

244 posts

Posted by manahin > 2013-05-22 08:52 | Report Abuse

HOLIAU!!