Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > Dec 23, 2012 11:21 AM [I agreed what you had posted. There is a danger of using TA if the stock is not FA sound. Hence there is a cut loss if the buy signal is a wrong one. My custom software has a cut loss signal to inform you to get out if you are wrong.]..... [Of course, I will prefer to buy stock which fulfills both FA and TA. The advantage of using TA is to catch the right timing to avoid unnecessary waiting time or holding the stock. If you have limited cash, TA is a prefer way so that money is utilised efficiently.]
Mr Ooi, although I am no fan of TA, I find your response very logical and appropriate. I think those who follow your method would never go terribly wrong, and may be would be more than 50% right. However, most market players, at least retail market players, including remisiers, more than 90% of them, are purely TA people. so one can see the great influence of this "chart won't lie" thingy. They apply this to every stock, TA or FA stocks without exception. The problem with doing this blindly even for FA stock is, in my opinion, wrong. This is because if you follow FA strictly, you look at the company's business, its future, its operating efficiencies etc and try to evaluate what is the intrinsic value of the company, and buy at a comfortable margin of safety (Warren Buffet). Different people may do it differently but the basic principle of FA is there. If one apply TA blindly to it, after the share price drop (below its support level?)may be because of general market condition or a quarter of slight under-performance, they will sell them like they want to quickly get rid of this terminal disease or something,while the fundamentals of the company hasn't changed a bit. Or when they find a highly undervalued stock but because there is no breakout(?) yet, they have to wait for it to go up by say 20% to get the buy signal(?), then only they buy. This means sell low and buy high. This is in total contradiction to value investing. I always advocate that small time retail market players should invest in the market rather than trading to have a chance to get reasonable return of their money. Very low probability of gambling with big boys and TA experts.
rally coming soon to kay-n-am ..... while buying this stock i am listening to Kimberley's "Ai Ni" .... this is a good song for lovers ... i am dedicating this song to ms L .... 'woh ai ni' ....
hehehe not just rally .... it is the 'grandmother' & 'grandaunties' of all rally .... lol ... just watch hehehe ... after that only go holland, sweden or new zealand .. hehehe 'kung hei fatt fatt choy' & happy new year ...
yungshen1, you have a good record of the dividend payment by knm in the other thread. Very good. Now could you do me (rather you) a big favour by adding up all the dividends a shareholder holding say 1000 shares would have received since then until now. I also believe you would have a good record of all the right issues by knm, you know those issues which knm collected money from him. Now make a summary of total dividends received vs total right issue money that shareholders would have forked out. Look at it and see what can you observe. Go a step further, include the money that shareholder forked out to buy the 1000 knm shares last time, a rough price about that time would do. Now add the right issue money and the money for buying the shares. Now of course that shareholder would have a lot more than 1000 shares after all these right issues. Now multiply the number of shares with the knm share price now and see what is the total value of knm shares he has now. Compare what he has come out and what he could get now, and see how much this shareholder has made. We will talk about the opportunity cost of the money come out later. Believe me, it is very very important for you to do this exercise.
kcchongnz, no need to bother this fellow yunshen1. If he has ever such ability do the computation, he would not have kept reminding others to buy KNM. Let him live in his own world.
What Fat Cat mention about TA is quick make sense,since TA only survive at bull market.If not,all broker have can change name to richer already.At bull market you only have to paste the news paper that full with stock counter at the wall and we use a analysis tool called dart to pick the counter. :)
Ah Chung, I never follow apa ini Perdana Petroleum. Never! So don't know much about it. Anyway since you asked, I must give a shot by looking at its recent annual report 2011. Ouch, it is real bad. Why did you bother to ask me about this company? Revenue has dropped from 665m to 256m from 4 years ago while earnings plunged from 156m to a lost of 69m, holy shit! A check of its this year's performance, it seems to turn around to a profit of just 12m for the last three quarters, or 2.4 sen per share. Huge debt of 223 m, resulting interest payment up to 18 m a year. The management blamed it on the Europe debt crisis bla bla bla. But why its competitor Coastal Contract can do so well?
Thank you kcchongnz Perdana petroleum making lost for the past 2 year. but start to pick up profit after third quater this year. Dayang become majot share holder in perdana (19.9%) if i not mistaken Perdana sell all shake in petra energy partly to settle the bank loan. Many securities firm give a buy call to this counter with target 1.30-1.50 . Dayang major share holder can give many contract for perdana for renting vessel due to it huge project. that what i knew about perdana. anyway i thank you for share infor above. i did view many of your comment it which is support by solid data and this really can help many other peoples not to jump into bad counter lose their hard earn money. Good job to carry on brother. wish you Merry Chrismas and happy new year .....
Chung, you are right. One should look at the future rather than the past of a company. My analysis is based on its financials, which is the past, not relevant. Just a passing comment. One shouldn't based too much on the forecast of the future too because it has been proven again and again, forecasting usually wrong on the overly positive side. Another point is how much work can Perdana can from Dayang? How much is that actually translated to the bottom line this year, next year, next few years? Can a kid survive if every time he has to depend on his parents? Can Perdana now get jobs, profitably executed from other clients? Bear in mind that it hasn't been proven so. I am just simply throwing some questions only. They may not be relevant.
yungshen, if a company's share price is RM2 and it gives 2 sen dividend a year, the dividend yield is 1% (0.02/2.00). You compare this with if you put your money in FD in bank which say you get 4%. Which investment is better? Moreover putting your money in a stock is subjected to risk, risk of losing your money or your expected return does not materialized. If i want to invest in stock, I would want a return of minimum 10%, for a risky company like knm. My risk premium would be 6% (10%-4%). To calculate your return from knm, say you bought 1000 share of knm at 6.00 in 2008. So you pay 6000. Along the way, knm have many right issues, extracting money from shareholders. By now your 1000 shares have say increased to 3000 shares. But you may have forked out another say 4000 for your right issues. so now your cost is 10,000 now (6000+4000). Add up all the dividends you have received through the years, say total of 2000. So your actual cost now is 8000 (10000-2000). With the price of knm at 45 sen now, your worth of your share is 1350 (3000shares*0.45). So what is your gain? 1350-8000= a loss of 6650, or 83%! This is just rough estimation. I have ignored the time value of money; a ringgit 5 years ago is worth much nore than a ringgit today. If I have taken that into account, the loss is much worst. Is that really that bad for KNM? I think it won't be far off. Just look at the 5-year chart at the link below: http://www.shareinvestor.com.my/charts.pl?id=7164&action=charts_history 5 years ago the share price of knm was 6.50. It is now 45.5 sen. The loss is 93%!!! The chart i think would have adjusted for all the dividends and right issues. Of course if knm turns around, the share price of 45,5 sen may provide a great opportunity to make big money, will it? Yes, if the somebody fry it which is likely. Yes, if that apa ini Borsig listed and do well. But when somebody fries the share, many more people will lose money again. No if my take of its fundamentals are correct. The fundamentals of knm is so so shitty and eve if, yes if, Borsig do well, so what? How much will it improve knm financials? But I can't see anything wrong of my analysis of its fundamentals as posted by me in this thread. Nobody, none has disputed what I have seen. The point is if you are interested in a peeny stocks, there are so many of them which have much higher probability of making money. Why knm then?
Kc , you forget the share consilation in 2010 : 4 share to 1 share. From par value 0.25to 1.00 . So you have to calculated again and glossing rate should be far more than your calculation .
Sorry. As said before, I don't communicate with davesingh's newly assigned figment of imagination: Dumbo jumbo! Poor chicken singh, still so obsessed with me even as he has entered the underworld!
Posted by davesingh > Dec 20, 2012 04:28 PM | Report Abuse and i said to myself, oh what a wonderful world.... skies so blue.. red roses bloom.. petgas at rm20.. and i said to myself oh what a wonderful world...
ambani, the chart i have appended in my last posting has taken care of everything; dividends, right issues, consolidation, whatever. But why ah so many of these corporate exercises gone through for knm? Can't you see the management has been more interested in all those corporate wheeling dealings, telling people that it would be taken private because it is way "undervalued", but never happen, frying share price rather than focus on its company business?
I read that someone said CPTeh is stock market sifu?more like a con-man. teaching basic technical analysis at an expensive cost..everything is money for him..he's not making money from the stock market..but from bunch of nooooob being con by him.especially newbies in stock market. he is a self proclaim expert..better off learn from books and forum..
This is a capitalist country. If you don't like it, don't buy it. Willing buyer willing seller. He is trying to make a living too. Don't spread rumors that someone is a conman, if it just a matter of personal opinion, unless you personally experience that he cheats you, like selling you a stone but entice you to pay the price of gold. Learning things like TA is a subjective one. Everybody claims his is the best while others are rubbish. So very subjective. Cannot say people con you. Well one should judge himself.
Jumbo believes KClow not confident esp using word "think"
Posted by KC Loh > Dec 26, 2012 11:01 AM | Report Abuse
I really wonder who samdogass is, one appearance and chicken Dave disappears. And ran for his life!
Must be powerful! Jumbo would not last against him I think LOL
-------------------
Jumbo see KClow not keep to words....say many time the below statement but still comment. Careful of double talk politician!
Sorry. As said before, I don't communicate with davesingh's newly assigned figment of imagination: Dumbo jumbo! Poor chicken singh, still so obsessed with me even as he has entered the underworld!
If champions and respect are made of the volume of posting, then it might as well also reflect the achievement of a 100 meter runner doing the longest time.
This book is the result of the author's many years of experience and observation throughout his 26 years in the stockbroking industry. It was written for general public to learn to invest based on facts and not on fantasies or hearsay....
Posted by kcchongnz > 2012-12-24 05:09 | Report Abuse
Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > Dec 23, 2012 11:21 AM
[I agreed what you had posted. There is a danger of using TA if the stock is not FA sound. Hence there is a cut loss if the buy signal is a wrong one. My custom software has a cut loss signal to inform you to get out if you are wrong.].....
[Of course, I will prefer to buy stock which fulfills both FA and TA.
The advantage of using TA is to catch the right timing to avoid unnecessary waiting time or holding the stock. If you have limited cash, TA is a prefer way so that money is utilised efficiently.]
Mr Ooi, although I am no fan of TA, I find your response very logical and appropriate. I think those who follow your method would never go terribly wrong, and may be would be more than 50% right. However, most market players, at least retail market players, including remisiers, more than 90% of them, are purely TA people. so one can see the great influence of this "chart won't lie" thingy. They apply this to every stock, TA or FA stocks without exception. The problem with doing this blindly even for FA stock is, in my opinion, wrong. This is because if you follow FA strictly, you look at the company's business, its future, its operating efficiencies etc and try to evaluate what is the intrinsic value of the company, and buy at a comfortable margin of safety (Warren Buffet). Different people may do it differently but the basic principle of FA is there. If one apply TA blindly to it, after the share price drop (below its support level?)may be because of general market condition or a quarter of slight under-performance, they will sell them like they want to quickly get rid of this terminal disease or something,while the fundamentals of the company hasn't changed a bit. Or when they find a highly undervalued stock but because there is no breakout(?) yet, they have to wait for it to go up by say 20% to get the buy signal(?), then only they buy. This means sell low and buy high. This is in total contradiction to value investing. I always advocate that small time retail market players should invest in the market rather than trading to have a chance to get reasonable return of their money. Very low probability of gambling with big boys and TA experts.