DUFU TECHNOLOGY CORP. BHD

KLSE (MYR): DUFU (7233)

+0.07 (3.29%)

2.16 - 2.24

11 people like this.

7,762 comment(s). Last comment by calvintaneng 7 hours ago

SuperPanda

11,431 posts

Posted by SuperPanda > 2018-07-30 13:15 | Report Abuse

if 1.20 can stay for 2-4 wks, it can test new resistance 1.30

Nafster

31 posts

Posted by Nafster > 2018-07-31 16:00 | Report Abuse

nice

itch

1,178 posts

Posted by itch > 2018-07-31 16:14 | Report Abuse

1.40 coming soon !!!

RJ87

5,121 posts

Posted by RJ87 > 2018-07-31 16:30 | Report Abuse

RM1.4 next stop. TP1.6, proper PE10 like how DUFU deserves.

SuperPanda

11,431 posts

Posted by SuperPanda > 2018-07-31 16:31 | Report Abuse

earlier than expected : )

Simple man

898 posts

Posted by Simple man > 2018-07-31 17:40 | Report Abuse

break 1.30. this week will reach 1.40.

SuperPanda

11,431 posts

Posted by SuperPanda > 2018-08-01 09:27 | Report Abuse

sold 1.30. see again next time. thanks dufu. almost 20% gain less than a month.

SuperPanda

11,431 posts

Posted by SuperPanda > 2018-08-01 09:29 | Report Abuse

i still believe i will rise further. good luck to all. i will come back when the time come.

Yael Jasper

2,178 posts

Posted by Yael Jasper > 2018-08-01 10:10 | Report Abuse

wahahaha, good profit

Lim Tek Wai

2,386 posts

Posted by Lim Tek Wai > 2018-08-01 10:33 | Report Abuse

Keep going, rise rise rise

RJ87

5,121 posts

Posted by RJ87 > 2018-08-01 10:35 | Report Abuse

lucky u Super Panda...i sit here wait about a year liao...Finally, sampai jugak....

TP should be about 1.6, given it's stable earning and 50% dividend policy.

Posted by Darren Khor > 2018-08-01 10:40 | Report Abuse

i've hold this share at RM0.59 since 2016, re-enter few times at average RM1.10, my target price atleast RM1.80 above. good dividend payout, better rate than FD :)

Lim Tek Wai

2,386 posts

Posted by Lim Tek Wai > 2018-08-01 11:11 | Report Abuse

Huge profit, thankssss

SuperPanda

11,431 posts

Posted by SuperPanda > 2018-08-01 11:55 | Report Abuse

RJ87, certain buy will gain and certain not. But as long cmpny makes money, no need to worry. When rest of tech stock trading above value, investor will come buy whats attractive to them.

SuperPanda

11,431 posts

Posted by SuperPanda > 2018-08-01 11:57 | Report Abuse

This stock still hve big potential to move further up. PE15 at least by end year.

Posted by shareinvestor88 > 2018-08-01 20:05 | Report Abuse

Sell n Run before come down. HDD is in downtrend.
SSD is in trend

vic_amat87

606 posts

Posted by vic_amat87 > 2018-08-02 08:57 | Report Abuse

If u want sell, then u sell. Dun ask people to sell...lok

RJ87

5,121 posts

Posted by RJ87 > 2018-08-02 09:59 | Report Abuse

Join the monkeys n faster sell ya!

Once the edgy monkey are gone, then DUFU will realize it’s true value.

RJ87

5,121 posts

Posted by RJ87 > 2018-08-02 10:01 | Report Abuse

Faster sell all ya shareinvestor88

P.S. vic_amat87, I think he missed the boat and trying to buy now.

Posted by Chang Yee Fong > 2018-08-02 10:17 | Report Abuse

OK before I can write my analysis and research I have to disclose that I bought over 1 million shares of DUFU in February this year. The reason I did is below.

One thing people keep harping about is how SSD is on the rise while HDD is in the decline. My research says otherwise. Here are some facts.

HDD is cheaper per GB than SSD. The price difference ratio is 5 to 1. People might say that in the future SSD will get cheaper. Maybe but it isn't possible in the next 3-4 years because of one big factor raw material cost.

The raw material used to make SSD is Silicon. However it is also the same raw material that is used to make motherboards, CPU's, smartphone chips, and also Solar panels. What that means in the same raw material that SSD is based on is literally being used by a lot of high growth industry. Since there is a high demand for the raw material for SSD chips the price of the raw material will be high and will not go down. In fact that price of Silicon has steadily been going up and up this year. You can check it out for yourself here.

http://original.metal.com/metals/silicon/prices

So HDD is not going to be downtrend for a few years because while SSD prices stay high companies still need data storage in fact they need a lot of data storage. Research "Big Data" for anybody who wants to understand what I am talking about. With a price ratio of 5 to 1 all the big companies will be buying HDD in large amounts for their data centers.

Now we go into why DUFU is doing great while other HDD manufacturers in Malaysia is not doing so well.

I recommend you all check out Western Digital and Seagate quarterly reports not just their earnings reports but the whole thing and you will realize that a large reason for their Earnings growth in the past year or two is HDD sales but a specific type of HDD sales. It is a new technology of HDD which is called "Helium Filled Hard Disks." Just read up on this tech to understand why HDD drive sales while growing the number of units sold isn't really growing.

Thus Western Digital and Seagate is introducing Helium Filled HDD drives into the market and their storage capacity is big going into the 12TB range. Whats great about the new Helium HDD drive sales is they are just barely fulfilling their current orders of these drives. Their isn't very many for the consumer market. Just go to Low Yat or any Tech Stores in Malaysia and ask if they have High Capacity Helium Filled HDD drives and none of them will have any in stock.

Which brings me to DUFU because if you all read companies annual reports including the management reports you will find that DUFU is the only HDD maker in Malaysia making Helium Filled HDD drives. Hence their earnings have been great compared to other HDD makers in Malaysia.

Posted by Chang Yee Fong > 2018-08-02 10:42 | Report Abuse

Oh yeah I also forgot Helium filled drives uses 50% less power per TB than other HDD drives and even SSD drives.

https://blog.westerndigital.com/rise-helium-drives/

Combine the lower original cost per GB of buying the disk drives, and the lower power cost and you have companies like Google gobbling up Helium HDD drives the moment they become available. It wouldn't surprise me if companies like Western Digital and Seagate have a back order for Helio Drives.

DL60

248 posts

Posted by DL60 > 2018-08-02 11:21 | Report Abuse

Thanks CYF for generously sharing your views and research. Now, I have a very good reason to hold on to this counter.

Yael Jasper

2,178 posts

Posted by Yael Jasper > 2018-08-02 12:18 | Report Abuse

Keep rising, gogo

LCKS

22 posts

Posted by LCKS > 2018-08-02 16:37 | Report Abuse

Thanks for sharing CYF. It's good info.

itch

1,178 posts

Posted by itch > 2018-08-02 22:29 | Report Abuse

Great analysis CYF. Thanks for the effort.

RJ87

5,121 posts

Posted by RJ87 > 2018-08-03 11:01 | Report Abuse

New milestone unlock...1.4...

Next stop 1.47-1.5 with destination 1.65-1.75

Simple man

898 posts

Posted by Simple man > 2018-08-03 11:19 | Report Abuse

hmmm possible to drop below 1.4 before go up higher?

vic_amat87

606 posts

Posted by vic_amat87 > 2018-08-03 12:07 | Report Abuse

Bullish... no doubt

rain89

Posted by rain89 > 2018-08-03 16:29 | Report Abuse

When is ex date for dividend ?

Primeinvestor

1,454 posts

Posted by Primeinvestor > 2018-08-03 16:52 | Report Abuse

heard Q2 - making 9mil

one year make 35mil X pe 10x = RM2.10

RJ87

5,121 posts

Posted by RJ87 > 2018-08-03 17:37 | Report Abuse

Great closing...

@Primeinvestor, 4.5 mil will be dividend...

itch

1,178 posts

Posted by itch > 2018-08-03 18:35 | Report Abuse

With this momentum 1.6 in no time!!! Congrats to those who are patient.

RJ87

5,121 posts

Posted by RJ87 > 2018-08-04 01:22 | Report Abuse

1.6...1.6 next stop...who interested please come onboard... =D

Posted by Investor 9999 > 2018-08-05 08:11 | Report Abuse

Chan Yee Fong's comment on while Dufu is wrong --- " Which brings me to DUFU because if you all read companies annual reports including the management reports you will find that DUFU is the only HDD maker in Malaysia making Helium Filled HDD drives. Hence their earnings have been great compared to other HDD makers in Malaysia."

Dufu manufacture spacer ring and spinner which cater to all types of HDD. Just that the bigger Neraline HDD used more pieces of spacer rings. For Nearline Hdd, with 8 disc in a HDD, Dufu now supply 7 pieces of spacer ring instead of 1 spacer ring compared to small HDD. Agreed that the Nearline HDD is the growth area arising from expansion of IOT, Cloud, Server storage.

Copied from Annual Report of Dufu

Looking Ahead 2018
We expect to achieve our goals through our continued focus on driving profitable volume performance, applying pricing
discipline and controlling costs. We still believe in driving a profitable volume growth. Despite the declining unit sales
of global shipment of Hard Disk Drives (“HDD”), the demand for HDD storage has not. In fact, total capacity shipments
continue to set records with average capacities of HDDs have almost been skyrocketing in recent years. The long-term
future of HDDs likely rests with high capacity HDDs, especially in data centers and in particular for the growing mass
content in the clouds. Today, the robust growth in the net storage capacity for high capacity HDDs that serve primarily the
cloud storage applications is made possible by adding the number of disks and heads.
This bodes well for Dufu considering that the anticipated volume
growth of HDD spacers correlates with the trends in number of
disks required in a single HDD.

I did not see your name appearing in shareholder list holding of 1 mil shares unless you held thru nominees.

I have written of Dufu undervaluation but noone believe until now

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2018-08-05 10:09 | Report Abuse

Interesing.......

Posted by Chang Yee Fong > 2018-08-05 10:22 | Report Abuse

Hi Investor 9999 in reply to your points. Please go to page 16 of the annual report you just copied and check out this paragraph.

And all this is made possible by the continual trend of HDD makers increasing the numbers of disk media to drive up hard
drive capacities using various platform such as “helium filled enclosure” HDD. Thankfully for us, orders from our customers
involved in the HDD industry remain strong as our spacers grew in tandem with the increase in the number of disk media
required in a single HDD. This recent development enforces our belief that mechanical hard drives are here to stay and
we shall continue to invest in capex and time in supportive of our customers’ strategy to develop products that serve the
HDD market which we believe our revenue stream in this segment will continue to grow moderately in the coming years.

Now I would like you to look at all the other HDD component manufacturers in Malaysia like JCY and look through all their annual report from 2016 till today and do a keyword search for "Helium" or even "Heli".

DUFU is the only one in the HDD manufacturers or even HDD component makers in Malaysia that has the word Helium in their financial statement. In fact there is a specific wording in the statement you pasted, "High Capacity HDD" which DUFU talks about. That statement is also lacking in all the other HDD manufacturers financial statements. All the other HDD makers in Malaysia want to be involved in the new "High Capacity HDD" components sales but DUFU is the only one in Malaysia doing actual sales on that area of the HDD market.

It is good you called me to be more precise and I should have said that "DUFU is the only HDD component manufacturer in Malaysia that makes something used with Helium filled drive technology."

But the rest of my points on the cost of SSD and HDD is still reasonably accurate including the cost of SSD not going down due to the price of that raw material.

That's because that research doesn't exist anywhere I had to do it myself and run the numbers on total Silicon and Silicate supply and demand. Those number is on a definite uptrend. Then compare those same raw material demands with Aluminum the main raw material for HDD which is less volatile and much more flat than Silicon.

Though I do believe I made one other inaccurate statement on my second post I should have left SSD out of the power usage equation because SSD is still more power efficient per GB than even Helio HDD's.

For your second statement I did say I bought DUFU in February. The annual report would have included big shareholders of the company from December 2017. I would not be listed at the time the report was written.

To prove that I am a legitimate share investor I'll give you the name of previous companies where I bought large quantities.

Check out BP Plastic Annual Report from the financial year 2013 till 2015 you'll see my name in a couple of those reports. Or if you are able to go back further. Check out the the company MOLAC (Malaysia Online Access) before they got bought over by the Berjaya group in 2007 if I remembered correctly. My name appears on their final 2006 annual report before it happened.

RJ87

5,121 posts

Posted by RJ87 > 2018-08-05 14:04 | Report Abuse

Investor 9999, who say people don't? I start collecting since last year Feb and made few rounds of money...Large stake in in Feb this year too. But that's only 10% of what Chang Yee Fung invest. Small timer unlike you big timers.

Simple man

898 posts

Posted by Simple man > 2018-08-06 10:23 | Report Abuse

strong resistance at 1.47-1.48

Yael Jasper

2,178 posts

Posted by Yael Jasper > 2018-08-06 11:11 | Report Abuse

Good!

RJ87

5,121 posts

Posted by RJ87 > 2018-08-06 12:12 | Report Abuse

Next stop 1.5....do some punting first...

Simple man

898 posts

Posted by Simple man > 2018-08-06 16:44 | Report Abuse

strong resistance.. hard to penetrate through

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2018-08-06 16:45 | Report Abuse

Very strong

Simple man

898 posts

Posted by Simple man > 2018-08-06 16:48 | Report Abuse

many is selling at 1.45-1.46. Tomorrow may correction due to saturated.

michaelwong

3,068 posts

Posted by michaelwong > 2018-08-06 17:07 | Report Abuse

If cannot break 1.46 profits taking will set in. Can break means further strong uptrend to surmise

RJ87

5,121 posts

Posted by RJ87 > 2018-08-06 17:37 | Report Abuse

When QR come out EPS 8, those who set resistance and did profit taking will regret

SuperPanda

11,431 posts

Posted by SuperPanda > 2018-08-06 17:50 | Report Abuse

when price 1.0 nobody comes analysis and dare to comment, after price rocket then said bought 1mil shares

SuperPanda

11,431 posts

Posted by SuperPanda > 2018-08-06 18:02 | Report Abuse

i had sold mine and have no shares now, so i will be natural here

in terms of earnings, i dont expect dufu will have bigger growth more but will just sustain it, at pe10, the stock seems still cheap compare to sector pe but in term of volume, its not big

if price move >1.50, it have overly bought and anytime to consolidate soon. its dangerous to enter for new buyer but its good to take profit for short trade

for long hold, it depends on your own TP

i sold early but never regret, collecting 20% gain less than a month is already good.

DL60

248 posts

Posted by DL60 > 2018-08-06 18:47 | Report Abuse

SuperPanda,congratulation that you have exited with a cash profit. You could have made more profit if you stay longer, but considering you hold the counter for such a short period of time, you have done well in your investment.

RJ87

5,121 posts

Posted by RJ87 > 2018-08-06 19:45 | Report Abuse

It overbought now But Its still undervaluie

Simple man

898 posts

Posted by Simple man > 2018-08-06 23:55 | Report Abuse

Overbought.
It will retrend till next week. Support 1.35