TALIWORKS CORPORATION BHD

KLSE (MYR): TALIWRK (8524)

+0.01 (1.25%)

0.80 - 0.81

2,022 comment(s). Last comment by Tanleechoo 2 weeks ago

Posted by longtermvalue > 2022-05-23 15:31 | Report Abuse

Usually they Post their QR last week of May. Any reason to suspect bad QR?

Posted by sianglong91 > 2022-05-24 10:59 | Report Abuse

Is it any addition or amendments to the QR results? Seems like this time delayed.

Pinky

3,215 posts

Posted by Pinky > 2022-05-26 17:50 | Report Abuse

yea stable dividend as always

And Rasau packages contributing to construction division already

2Invest

97 posts

Posted by 2Invest > 2022-06-10 17:18 | Report Abuse

May be some of you here take this as a dividend stock. But bear in mind that a good dividend stock is if the company give away 8/10cents (not necessary 80% of EPS) he makes.

But this company give away > 100% of its EPS that's send another message.

That's my 2 cents.

Pinky

3,215 posts

Posted by Pinky > 2022-06-10 17:39 | Report Abuse

@2Invest EPS is calculated based on EARNINGS, a.k.a. accounting profits. In deriving at accounting profits, you have a lot of non-cash items like depreciation, amortisation, impairment etc, to name a few.

Imagine you built a highway for RM100M. And you get to collect toll from it for 50 years. So, to put a simple picture, maybe you will depreciate/amortise the highway cost over 50 years, so it's RM2M p.a.

You collect 5M toll revenue.
RM2M amortisation.
Earnings = RM3M

Remember, the cost, the CASH is paid out during the construction period. You are only absorbing the accounting expense now.

You are perfectly okay to pay out RM4M or even RM4.5M as dividends, after covering your cash overheads like salaries etc.

Posted by ageetkumar > 2022-08-03 14:37 | Report Abuse

Continuing the rationale from the discussion above, during covid lockdown times toll revenue would have been lower (indeed reflected in the reported revenues). But now toll revenues are back to normal. So shouldn't dividends be higher too?

Pinky

3,215 posts

Posted by Pinky > 2022-08-11 14:52 | Report Abuse

Susahnya nak go above 95 sen

Pinky

3,215 posts

Posted by Pinky > 2022-08-25 09:03 | Report Abuse

Dividend again! How not to love TALIWRK

Posted by sianglong91 > 2022-08-31 21:01 | Report Abuse

Steady dividend payout as always =)
Wondering why LTH keep dumping the shares?

Pinky

3,215 posts

Posted by Pinky > 2022-09-01 08:26 | Report Abuse

This is a boring old man stock - little capital appreciation opportunity

Pinky

3,215 posts

Posted by Pinky > 2022-11-03 10:18 | Report Abuse

Let's hope dividend maintain the same

Posted by jungleman > 2022-11-08 01:41 | Report Abuse

@sianglong91 same thought here, wondering why LTH keep selling Taliworks

getingreal

404 posts

Posted by getingreal > 2022-11-14 12:30 | Report Abuse

Div should be announced tonight. Agreed of concern is LTH continued selling for some time now and I am sure it is holding the share price down. Maybe just a rebalancing. I think if LTH were serious in wishing to dispose, they should have no problem placing a big chunk or all in an off-market transaction (maybe Lim would buy?).
They may of course have some inside info. Hard to see why they would sell a solid stock with a regular 7.4% Dividends as LTHs portfolio may not be overflowing with good Dividend stocks. It maybe they just need some cash to buy tea and cakes or new cars for the Management.

Posted by ageetkumar > 2022-11-17 11:35 | Report Abuse

No dividend this quarter?

getingreal

404 posts

Posted by getingreal > 2022-11-17 12:34 | Report Abuse

Dividend announcement is due this week, but maybe they decided to wait until next week after the election as all eyes are now on the clowns in that circus. Payment is not due till end December so no real hurry to announce.

Pinky

3,215 posts

Posted by Pinky > 2022-11-17 16:36 | Report Abuse

dun need to worry about Taliworks

Posted by sianglong91 > 2022-11-21 07:36 | Report Abuse

Wondering if the new government will affect Taluworks operating systems or not

getingreal

404 posts

Posted by getingreal > 2022-11-21 19:27 | Report Abuse

Declared: 3rd interim Div of 0.0165 Ex 6th Dec paid 23rd Dec.

Posted by sianglong91 > 2022-11-21 21:00 | Report Abuse

The dividend payout is expected and we're all gonna love it. But... What's with the fall of net profits?

getingreal

404 posts

Posted by getingreal > 2022-11-22 12:08 | Report Abuse

It's OK, nothing to be concerned about, Dividends will continue.
See: https://klse.i3investor.com/web/staticfile/view/479882

Pinky

3,215 posts

Posted by Pinky > 2022-12-20 11:19 | Report Abuse

Why Tali keep kena dumped...

Posted by sianglong91 > 2022-12-21 12:31 | Report Abuse

The sellout because of the missed forecast of revenues?? But I do have faith that the rebounds in revenue happen at the next quarter report. Keep it for stable dividends and more solar energy is going to be harvested in the coming months. What concerns me is the dumps from LTH as there's no source about it.

getingreal

404 posts

Posted by getingreal > 2022-12-21 18:04 | Report Abuse

We will have to wait for the next report to see if the drop in profit was due to one off aspects. I note that T-Haji have not sold any shares since the end of November. Hopefully they have finished their selling. Time will tell. Div yield of 7.76 is undeniably attractive, so I see limited downside.

Posted by Lester Teow > 2022-12-22 18:24 | Report Abuse

Because the current dividend yield is not sustainable after langkawi gold egg missing

getingreal

404 posts

Posted by getingreal > 2022-12-22 18:51 | Report Abuse

Old news, Langkawi concession expired Oct 2020, more than 2 years ago.

Posted by Lester Teow > 2022-12-27 14:07 | Report Abuse

if they cant find another golden egg goose, cant sustain the dividend with current business. the solar farm is not impressed also

Posted by Lester Teow > 2022-12-27 14:14 | Report Abuse

i own this stock quite heavily, i only raise my concern

getingreal

404 posts

Posted by getingreal > 2022-12-29 12:36 | Report Abuse

We can only rely of what we are officially told by Taliworks reputable management who in this case are not conmen. Based on the assurances given in the following article, I'm not selling my shares and I fully expect to continue to get my dividends. https://klse.i3investor.com/web/staticfile/view/479882

Pinky

3,215 posts

Posted by Pinky > 2022-12-29 13:15 | Report Abuse

I have no concerns about their toll and water treatment businesses

My only question mark is - "Is solar business REALLY a sustainable, profitable?"

getingreal

404 posts

Posted by getingreal > 2022-12-29 15:01 | Report Abuse

Again, we can only rely of what we are officially told by Taliworks reputable management who in this case are not conmen. Based on the assurances given in the following article the power production is already sold so cash flow should be assured. I think in the longer-term power can only get more expensive as its heavily subsidized in Malaysia, this bodes well for better revenue stream in due course. If Sola power is a dead end, then the whole world has it wrong. It is a must to lessen the reliance on coal and other fossil fuels. I expect large international sola power producers will emerge in coming years and may look at Taliwoks Power as a target for expansion. Who knows maybe Taliworks will be a big international player in years to come. With this acquisition Taliworks is already one of the largest, if not the largest Sola power generators in the region.
I'm not selling my shares. SEE:- https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/taliworks-completes-four-solar-projects-acquisition

Posted by Lester Teow > 2023-01-03 16:09 | Report Abuse

As at Sep'22, the cash flow is negative from operation. Means the partial dividend is funded by borrowing/reserve, not from operation. The reserve will deplete one day.

Pinky

3,215 posts

Posted by Pinky > 2023-01-08 19:59 | Report Abuse

True that. On second look, I'm sceptical the renewable energy segment can sustain this dividend level going forward. Took profit and moved elsewhere. Bye Tali, thanks for the past dividends.

getingreal

404 posts

Posted by getingreal > 2023-02-09 14:28 | Report Abuse

Dividend announcement is coming later this month. I expect 1.65 cents, again.

Pinky

3,215 posts

Posted by Pinky > 2023-02-16 20:30 | Report Abuse

Don't like the results. Weak.

Posted by sianglong91 > 2023-02-17 10:05 | Report Abuse

Alamak the results...not very wow-ING, the authorities for the grants keep delaying and delaying. Its like a four legged table lost one leg...

cwc1981

975 posts

Posted by cwc1981 > 2023-03-04 19:21 | Report Abuse

Just going through the results. Just wondering y the dividend payout is higher than earnings? Is this sustainable?

Posted by cooledhawk123654 > 2023-05-23 09:51 | Report Abuse

jz releases 1st q result, anybody know what is investment designated at fair value rm 97m under the current asset??

Pinky

3,215 posts

Posted by Pinky > 2023-05-23 18:11 | Report Abuse

@cooledhawk123654 see note B13

Pinky

3,215 posts

Posted by Pinky > 2023-05-23 18:12 | Report Abuse

Most likely unit trust money market funds

Posted by cooledhawk123654 > 2023-05-23 23:53 | Report Abuse

thanks Pinky..

getingreal

404 posts

Posted by getingreal > 2023-05-26 09:06 | Report Abuse

Star 25th May 2023:-
PETALING JAYA: Taliworks Corp Bhd expects steady contribution from water and solar segments, with a slight dip for its highways, going forward.
Recognition from its construction segment is likely back loaded in financial year 2023 (FY23).

The company expects to pay 6.6 sen dividend per share (DPS) and its dividend yield of 8.1% remains its key focal point.
It foresees no issues in maintaining the 6.6 sen DPS going forward, HLIB Research said after attending a briefing with the company. Based on previous guidance, it said, optimising the capital structure in its renewable segment could add another RM120mil to RM130mil to its existing RM191mil cash pile, including investments.

Posted by DividendGuy67 > 2023-06-05 17:46 | Report Abuse

cwc1981, that's a tough question to answer. Clearly, EPS is not a good measure, because it is an accounting measure that doesn't reflect TALIWRK's cashflows properly, because it is after depreciation and non-cash adjustments that understates its cash generating abilities.
However, committing to 1.65 sen every quarter requires RM33 million cash payouts - that's a lot of money.
Q1/23 cash has improved than Q4/22 and Management indicates they can further improve from their renewables segment by over RM100 million, but Management can say anything.
One measure is EBDA (Earnings Before Depreciation and Adjustment). For Q1/23, it improved to RM23.6m vs RM20.0m the prior quarter. But RM23.6m is still less than RM33m dividends. So, I'm wondering if investors should be worried?
However, its EBITDA (Earnings Before Interest, Tax, Depreciation, Adjustment) is 36.3m, larger than 33m. But doesn't TALIWRKS have to pay interest costs, and taxes? And after payment, they don't really belong to shareholders anymore isn't it? So, how to justify?
However, if you look at its Cash holdings, after paying out 33m, its cash balance grew from 48m to 76m.
In short, yes, it looks fishy, but:
1. Management indicates they have no problem to support 1.65 sen dividend (but do you trust them?)
2. Cash increases. (but do you understand how cash has increased?)
3. Management further indicates there's room to improve the renewables segment (but do you trust them?).
If unsure, keep it a small proportion of your portfolio and don't be greedy with the high dividend yield.
Because Return OF Investment is much more important than Return ON Investment.

cwc1981

975 posts

Posted by cwc1981 > 2023-06-18 10:38 | Report Abuse

Thanks DG 67. Haha after seeing your analysis I think I need to do more homework. Thanks

Pinky

3,215 posts

Posted by Pinky > 2023-06-19 11:27 | Report Abuse

I think we don't need to worry about Taliworks at least until year 203X, so long as they still have the highways and the water contracts. Worst case scenario drop a bit dividend per quarter, but easily still more than 6% annual yield.

getingreal

404 posts

Posted by getingreal > 2023-08-03 16:13 | Report Abuse

Dividend announcement is coming later this month. I expect 1.65 cents, again.

Posted by DividendGuy67 > 2023-08-07 23:09 | Report Abuse

Looking forward to see its quarterly report in 2+ weeks time ... can't wait.

Posted by DividendGuy67 > 2023-08-07 23:11 | Report Abuse

Price has taken a dive since Feb 2023 when swing high was 0.985. Today 0.800. Fortune favors the bold, dare to buy at 0.800?

Posted by DividendGuy67 > 2023-08-07 23:17 | Report Abuse

Typo. swing high 0.985 Mar 2022. Nearly 18 months of downtrending, testing the patience of long term traders/investors.

Posted by DividendGuy67 > 2023-08-07 23:18 | Report Abuse

If 1.65 sen quarterly dividend hold, that's 6.6 sen per year. Divide by 80 sen = 8.25% dividend yield! Tempting!