FOCUS LUMBER BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): FLBHD (5197)

0.415 - 0.415

17 people like this.

10,232 comment(s). Last comment by mkmk 3 weeks ago

investabc

129 posts

Posted by investabc > 2016-11-28 14:05 | Report Abuse

To convert retained profit to capital means bonus issue ?

tksw

12,796 posts

Posted by tksw > 2016-11-28 17:15 | Report Abuse

ivestabc sifu, Generally yes, but company can also use share premium for bonus issue. But I dun see the need for the company to give bonus issue as it has plenty of cash to pay dividend, no major capex, and some substantial shareholders are Taiwanese

investabc

129 posts

Posted by investabc > 2016-11-28 17:35 | Report Abuse

Thankyou tksw sifu

tksw

12,796 posts

Posted by tksw > 2016-11-28 17:36 | Report Abuse

yfchong sifu, FLB so far dun have bad record. Last time oso kena one shipping delay. This is something beyond their control. It is not a delay in order, only shipment delay. Pentamaster last 2 qtrs got delayed order and almost freak me out, I feel not confidence and slowly sold the shares after the price move up back, but the price then rocketed 30-50 %... really painful. FLB is in much better situation. The management showed their ability to handle the impact of minimum wages, and takes step to acquire new machinery to broaden their products range, and this will aid further reducing the impact of minimum wages. If the company still practising holding a lot of USD in their accounts, and if the USD reamains strong at the year end, there will be unrealised exchange gain again.

tksw

12,796 posts

Posted by tksw > 2016-11-28 17:41 | Report Abuse

so far we see the Company management did not cash out the company money by other way, but only dividend payment, a plus point to note. Though there is no written dividend policy, the company historically do pay 40% to 50% of their profits as dividends at year end, and they pay fast, thus they pay "interim"dividend eventhough at the year end, this I see they try to avoid the formality of going thru AGM approval, which take longer time.

investabc

129 posts

Posted by investabc > 2016-11-28 19:17 | Report Abuse

Director is buying. Good sign

Posted by stockraider > 2016-11-28 19:58 | Report Abuse

FLB today quite steady mah....!!

geary

6,363 posts

Posted by geary > 2016-11-29 22:09 | Report Abuse

Net-Nets value investing is suitable for all Value investors. Why it is d easiest way made famous by late Graham n Schloss. Especially Schloss who only use d financial statements to analyse company. D balance sheet is crucial for him to Buy companies below its net worth, n he bought more than 100 stocks. At present FLBHD net worth is approximately Rm 1.15. Good luck!

geary

6,363 posts

Posted by geary > 2016-11-29 23:00 | Report Abuse

Both d late masters of value investing never hold their protfolios for more than 2 years. Any increased of 50% they soldl! If after 2 years never increase they sell anyway. U see they still got tons of money n live happily until old age!! Bye!

tksw

12,796 posts

Posted by tksw > 2016-11-30 08:52 | Report Abuse

geary sifu, how about WTK and Trop... U got buy or not?

geary

6,363 posts

Posted by geary > 2016-11-30 13:41 | Report Abuse

I usually don't recommend stock. Work hard n check for yourself whether both companies has mean 10 years ROE N ROIC having double digits. If have its has d competitive advantage. D product or service can Sell! As for Net-Nets u won't buy company with high debt. Actually not many companies in Bursa, less than 50 meet my requirements. Thanks!

latjiu

222 posts

Posted by latjiu > 2016-11-30 15:18 | Report Abuse

@geary

Can you share the calculation for the net worth to be RM 1.15?

tah16600

2,646 posts

Posted by tah16600 > 2016-11-30 15:39 | Report Abuse

Price now more than nta , sell woh !

chl1989

2,552 posts

Posted by chl1989 > 2016-11-30 18:48 | Report Abuse

bunch of talkcocksingsongers . haha

geary

6,363 posts

Posted by geary > 2016-11-30 20:33 | Report Abuse

D late Schloss was nearly killed during world war 2, n Graham lost both his shirt n pant. That why u guys better be careful, so many con artists in this stock markets! U know d word written in Chinese of $, it is 2 swords fighting! Confirm wz your brain n stomach it for few days before making final decisions. Don't blame others. Right or wrong decision is yours! At d end of d days it is all about $ n keeping at least your underwear on. U will find many swimming naked when d tide is low! Bye!

geary

6,363 posts

Posted by geary > 2016-11-30 20:39 | Report Abuse

Googlization!!! not in dictionary! U can learn so many things. U ask God or Google!!!

latjiu

222 posts

Posted by latjiu > 2016-11-30 22:41 | Report Abuse

talk 3 talk 4

Posted by stockraider > 2016-11-30 22:47 | Report Abuse

Same people come here to give advice but give very vague advice...that followers also get very very confuse loh....!!

For raider...very straight fwd...FLB is a buy loh.....!!

In fact, this morning selling pressure very strong, but raider sifu manage to take them out mah....!!

This flb, should slowly creep out loh...!!

investabc

129 posts

Posted by investabc > 2016-11-30 22:59 | Report Abuse

Oh the good old days but very little relevance. Nowadays 21 century things are fast and cun mah.

chl1989

2,552 posts

Posted by chl1989 > 2016-12-01 17:23 | Report Abuse

when are they going to announce div?

popo92

578 posts

Posted by popo92 > 2016-12-02 10:56 | Report Abuse

I think next quarter will announce dividend. After they collect back their receivables, with higher forex gain :)

chl1989

2,552 posts

Posted by chl1989 > 2016-12-02 11:19 | Report Abuse

what? usually they will announce by dec.

geary

6,363 posts

Posted by geary > 2016-12-03 01:36 | Report Abuse

Gd am! @latjiu, sorry about dat! Well for net-nets is called net current asset value @NCAV. U just have to get d total current asset n minus d total liabilities n divided by number of share outstanding. I think if u buy at dis price should be okay, cause i projected d average owner EPS should be around 0.18. U will get d PE of 8.5 times earnings n EY of 11.68. This was what d late Graham desire earnings power, for company with stable earnings, consistent dividend n even erratic or zero growth. Company with too much downtrend earnings or deficits when there is no recession, don't qualify. D best is to buy company with uptrend owner earnings, even by a conservative 2%. Gd luck!

red_85

1,259 posts

Posted by red_85 > 2016-12-03 01:44 | Report Abuse

switch to liihen if you want buy export stock..
liihen good dy , low pe and stable income..
flbhd is too unstable...is just a like a gamble..
in such bad market sentimental, buy a stable stock better than a high risk counter..

Posted by stockraider > 2016-12-03 10:16 | Report Abuse

FLB have been stable making monies & paying good dividend for many many years mah....!!

It has plenty of cash too....!!

Some of the aspect is better than Liihen loh...!!

5,863 posts

Posted by yfchong > 2016-12-03 10:18 | Report Abuse

Hope can seebsome fire works next q

chl1989

2,552 posts

Posted by chl1989 > 2016-12-03 11:01 | Report Abuse

i have emailed to management to consider splitting one off div payout to 4 quarters. :)

Posted by Ezra_Investor > 2016-12-03 11:07 | Report Abuse

Thanks chl1989 :)

Personally, I think they may/ may not pay divvy this year, this is because they have just converted a huge chunk of cash to marketable securities, which I assume they will not sell them so fast.

And we have not heard how much the upcoming machine they ordered costs, so management may choose to be prudent in distributing cash during this period of time.

Nonethless, maybe you could throw in an opinion or two and tell them dividend will help stabilize the share price which in turn helps keep investor's capital in the company.

Posted by stockraider > 2016-12-03 11:10 | Report Abuse

Ezra,

Marketable securities are cash....it is money market placement mah..!!
Also FLB have never fail to pay good div every year mah....!!

FLB latest this year hold record cash mah...!!

Posted by Ezra_Investor > 2016-12-03 11:20 | Report Abuse

Yes you are right, but not entirely correct raider.

While marketable securities can be considered cash and is usually converted within 1 year time frame, they are usually converted only when the need of cash arises.
It's like why would you sell your shares if you don't need the cash?

Remember, paying divvy means losing the opportunity for reinvestment.
Plus the income from marketable securities just started rolling, so you'd assume they'd yield it further before selling them.

Two sides to a coin, always consider both possibility.

Posted by stockraider > 2016-12-03 11:28 | Report Abuse

Ezra,

I think u r wrong loh....money market have fixed term of maturity just like Fixed deposits mah...!!
overnight,1, 3, 6, 12 months term just like FD loh..!!

They is no different with cash fixed deposits loh...!!

Posted by Ezra_Investor > 2016-12-03 11:31 | Report Abuse

Not necessary, but partially yes.

Marketable securities are defined as any unrestricted financial instrument that can be bought or sold on a public stock exchange or a public bond exchange.

Marketable equity securities can be both common stock or preferred stock, commercial paper, banker's acceptances, Treasury bills and other money market instruments.

Posted by Ezra_Investor > 2016-12-03 11:34 | Report Abuse

Aiyah any is fine lah, we're just speculating what they are anyway, not like we'd know since we're not management.

geary

6,363 posts

Posted by geary > 2016-12-04 11:59 | Report Abuse

Business sense both LiiHen n Flbhd are good, both products export to US. Tariffs increase 35%, it is still debating, d US House n Senate need to approve Trump policy n lot of things said during election don't happen after that. Concerns that d stock markets will tank were silly! I project d US GDP will grow around 2% over a period of several years, will lead to wage increase and gains in stock markets worldwide. Nobody can grow d GDP above 4% in real terms over few years, as said by President-Elect, d math is too extraordinary. As for LIIhen d reasonable price should be below 2.40., as for Flbhd around 1.60. For Liihen d NCAV is only 0.65, that means it has higher total liabilities.

Posted by stockraider > 2016-12-04 12:44 | Report Abuse

If trump were to impose punishment tariff is likely Liihen will suffer badly compare to FLB...Why ?

Liihen is a finish good manufacturer mah.....so if USA don want to import and want to make it themselves....they will impose high tariff loh...!!

FLB is a raw material input manufacturer....which USA company need to import to make furniture themselves mah...!!
If they impose high tariff the USA manufacturer cost will be high loh..!!

So think lah....!!

tksw

12,796 posts

Posted by tksw > 2016-12-04 22:15 | Report Abuse

stockreaider sifu, US can grow tropical trees ma... kakaka

Posted by stockraider > 2016-12-04 23:53 | Report Abuse

he...he...he...Raider agree USA can plant tropical trees....!!
They can plant in Florida & Hawaii loh....!!

But not practical mah...it is better to plant coconut in Hawaii and plant orange in Florida compare with planting tropical wood loh...!!

Just imagine the value chain of furniture making like that loh...!!

TREES & wood timber.....!!

Processing to Plywood..!!

Make furniture.....!!

If every process the cost in USA is 50% higher...u can imagine how much it cost practically loh....!!

Just import....the raw material & make furniture...at least ur cost is one round higher at 50% compare with u do every thing with have 3 rounds of 50% higher mah...!!

Bizfuneng

883 posts

Posted by Bizfuneng > 2016-12-05 08:34 | Report Abuse

Make sense!!

tksw

12,796 posts

Posted by tksw > 2016-12-05 11:12 | Report Abuse

stockraider sifu, U veli pandai... next time I follow you find eat

5,863 posts

Posted by yfchong > 2016-12-05 11:13 | Report Abuse

Pls announce dividend

investabc

129 posts

Posted by investabc > 2016-12-05 14:06 | Report Abuse

Tropical wood takes 20 years to mature. By that time u s would have changed few presidents mah.

tksw

12,796 posts

Posted by tksw > 2016-12-05 14:43 | Report Abuse

yfchong sifu, wait

Liau San

11 posts

Posted by Liau San > 2016-12-05 23:04 | Report Abuse

no dividen this year ?

Posted by Aeric Khoo Guan Tee > 2016-12-06 10:27 | Report Abuse

No,next year March

chl1989

2,552 posts

Posted by chl1989 > 2016-12-06 11:14 | Report Abuse

wth. seriously? no div in 2016?

Tom Leem

55 posts

Posted by Tom Leem > 2016-12-06 11:30 | Report Abuse

strong hold 1.52

5,863 posts

Posted by yfchong > 2016-12-06 13:03 | Report Abuse

Cliff hanging or strong support

Posted by Aeric Khoo Guan Tee > 2016-12-07 00:11 | Report Abuse

No divided in this year…
Next year

chl1989

2,552 posts

Posted by chl1989 > 2016-12-07 13:50 | Report Abuse

oh crap! why am i still here if without div :)

4,333 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2016-12-07 16:07 | Report Abuse

Flbhd got more than 80 cents cash in its piggy bank but refuse to pay even 1 cents to shareholders this year.....some more, profit warning in upcoming quarter... It's very hard to break the results of 31 Dec 15 la...

EPS
31 Dec 16 - Guess what???
30 Sep 16 - 2.79 cents
30 Jun 16 - 4.5 cents
31 Mar 16 - 3.21 cents
31 Dec 15 - 10.37 cents