OLDTOWN BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): OLDTOWN (5201)

10 people like this.

2,545 comment(s). Last comment by haziqaz 2024-01-26 14:28

Star8888

353 posts

Posted by Star8888 > 2017-05-08 10:34 | Report Abuse

Big like to moneySIFU, congrates.

SALAM

1,025 posts

Posted by SALAM > 2017-05-08 10:37 | Report Abuse

More than RM10 million profit thro selling own company shares in Apr. will be shown in June QR ??

5,852 posts

Posted by moneySIFU > 2017-05-08 10:40 | Report Abuse

Thank you for your kind words, probability, Henry & Star :)

5,852 posts

Posted by moneySIFU > 2017-05-08 10:41 | Report Abuse

Oh, I have not thought about it, SALAM, need to work out on the profit effect on the disposal of treasury shares, it is very interesting. Thank you very much!

The disposal was done in April & May, it should be reflected in June QR.

SALAM

1,025 posts

Posted by SALAM > 2017-05-08 10:46 | Report Abuse

With tat, how much yr TP now assuming Op. revenue remain unchanged.

5,852 posts

Posted by moneySIFU > 2017-05-08 10:56 | Report Abuse

I will still only consider core profit & won't change my TP. But it is very positive to the cash flow of the company since the disposal of treasury shares generated fresh cash of 31mil.

May be we can expect something good from the extra cash generated, say special dividend or higher interim dividend? We will know in the coming QR announcement later before end of May :)

Patrick13

1,971 posts

Posted by Patrick13 > 2017-05-08 11:03 | Report Abuse

I would rather looking it for share split or bonus share, it definitely will boost the price furher up :)

SALAM

1,025 posts

Posted by SALAM > 2017-05-08 11:06 | Report Abuse

Proceed from disposal would be handy for Co to support its market price to instil market confidence..Good for longer term strategy

Star8888

353 posts

Posted by Star8888 > 2017-05-08 11:09 | Report Abuse

Profit from disposal of treasury shares, share split and bonus share, all consider good news to OldTown. Hold for long term.

Posted by 张天师买股票 > 2017-05-08 13:19 | Report Abuse

升升升!钱师父厉害!

funsapple

20 posts

Posted by funsapple > 2017-05-08 13:55 | Report Abuse

Heard Oldtown insider TP 4.50..

Posted by carmenloo38 > 2017-05-08 14:07 | Report Abuse

It will be pushed to TP 4.20 soon..

luilai

38 posts

Posted by luilai > 2017-05-08 14:18 | Report Abuse

After China, the next one will be India market. All my India customer if visited Malaysia and tried Oldtown, will fall in love. 1 person will buy at least 5 packets to bring home..

i7trader

174 posts

Posted by i7trader > 2017-05-08 14:33 | Report Abuse

Let's we hold and see the quarter result. I guess everyone will be happy for the result.

5,852 posts

Posted by moneySIFU > 2017-05-08 15:23 | Report Abuse

Tmall.com (Chinese: 天猫; pinyin: Tiānmāo), formerly Taobao Mall, is a Chinese-language website for business-to-consumer (B2C) online retail, spun off from Taobao, operated in China by Alibaba Group. It is a platform for local Chinese and international businesses to sell brand name goods to consumers in mainland China, Hong Kong, Macau and Taiwan.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tmall

jenngu

95 posts

Posted by jenngu > 2017-05-08 18:16 | Report Abuse

Can some1, please explain, why when sell treasury share, price up?

fish88

58 posts

Posted by fish88 > 2017-05-08 21:17 | Report Abuse

Thought the company disposable share is cancelled? Correct me if I am wrong

5,852 posts

Posted by moneySIFU > 2017-05-09 08:23 | Report Abuse

Company sold its treasury shares via open market

Felicity

98 posts

Posted by Felicity > 2017-05-09 09:11 | Report Abuse

The transaction is weird, MoneySiFU noticed it.

Star8888

353 posts

Posted by Star8888 > 2017-05-09 09:35 | Report Abuse

@jenngu, treasury share start sell since few weeks ago until finish sold all on 5 May 17. After sold all, then price will up lah.

http://www.bursamalaysia.com/market/listed-companies/company-announcements/5420197

Posted by Ng006127 > 2017-05-09 10:10 | Report Abuse

Y company want to sold it?

Felicity

98 posts

Posted by Felicity > 2017-05-09 10:37 | Report Abuse

primary reason, Oldtown actually makes money from the transaction - smart move. But there are more than that.

5,852 posts

Posted by moneySIFU > 2017-05-09 11:04 | Report Abuse

Good observation, Felicity :)

888next

34 posts

Posted by 888next > 2017-05-09 15:32 | Report Abuse

The buyers of the treasury shares are likely Funds and reason for the share price to be higher is tge demand exceeded the 11m treasury. Co is sound with rm200m cash in kitty. Also institutionalising the shareholding will stabilise its share. Good all round

888next

34 posts

Posted by 888next > 2017-05-09 15:35 | Report Abuse

With the Singapore Super Group delisted the choices of coffee player is only Oldtown and Pwroot.

jenngu

95 posts

Posted by jenngu > 2017-05-09 22:03 | Report Abuse

Thanks All for the info. Happy Trading.

Posted by cruger12345 > 2017-05-09 22:40 | Report Abuse

Selling treasury share in paving the way for bonus issue and share split

Posted by trylearn123 > 2017-05-10 10:34 | Report Abuse

no consider someone's conspiracy, make your own decision.on the business ,i believe it ,company do the good job for the brand,let people know it ,i believe it will be next coca-cola.i got this share position,so i dont care if it drop much.i still can hold it.ibelive it can fly.

newbb

90 posts

Posted by newbb > 2017-05-10 10:39 | Report Abuse

exactly what people said when cscstel sold its treasury share at high price. end up no bonus issue but big negative surprise on its querterly report. don't simply speculate here.

Posted by cruger12345 > May 9, 2017 10:40 PM | Report Abuse

Selling treasury share in paving the way for bonus issue and share split

Posted by Gabriel Khoo > 2017-05-10 13:54 | Report Abuse

I think we shouldnt compared oldtown with csc

5,852 posts

Posted by moneySIFU > 2017-05-10 18:54 | Report Abuse

I expected not so good result on CSC Steel due to the increase in HRC price prior to the release of its quarterly results, it proved I was right.

5,852 posts

Posted by moneySIFU > 2017-05-10 18:55 | Report Abuse

I knew the disposal of its treasury shares & choose to add more & hold, we'll see how it turns out later, make your decision wisely & cautiously.

5,852 posts

Posted by moneySIFU > 2017-05-11 10:43 | Report Abuse

Current packing is 40g per bag, if oldtown can roll out 20g pack& sell around RMB35+, i think they can sapu the white coffee market in China further

Posted by VenFx > 2017-05-11 10:57 | Report Abuse

Old Town
should come out with 猫山王 白咖啡 :)
As a 送礼嘉品, since musangking durian gain its popularity. ..
Products uniquely is a way to differentiate tool from others competitors.

5,852 posts

Posted by moneySIFU > 2017-05-11 12:56 | Report Abuse

Hehe, good suggestion, VenFx bro

jenngu

95 posts

Posted by jenngu > 2017-05-12 06:07 | Report Abuse

haha, suggest during AGM lah....

kee262

27 posts

Posted by kee262 > 2017-05-12 09:27 | Report Abuse

Moneysifu, is it ok if i buy now at 3.09 (oldtown)

skyz

Posted by skyz > 2017-05-12 12:03 |

Posted by trylearn123 > 2017-05-12 14:03 | Report Abuse

第二国际贸易及工业部长拿督斯里黄家泉指出,今年首3个月,我国出口至中国的白咖啡已超越去年2亿5300万令吉的总出口额,並有望在今年创下10亿令吉出口额的目標。
http://www.orientaldaily.com.my/s/190515#

moneysifu-是说去年12个月总出口才2亿5300万,而现在三个月就已经超越去年一整年吗?还是报道有误?

5,852 posts

Posted by moneySIFU > 2017-05-12 16:13 | Report Abuse

我认为黄家泉不大对,去年应该不止2亿5300万,因为只是旧街场的出口都差不多有1.7亿。蔡智勇的说法应该比较准确,去年应该是12亿。
https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/moneymoney/120789.jsp

My Observation:
Chua Tee Yong said export of white coffee in 2016 was RM1.2bil.
Ong Ka Chuan said export of white coffee in first 3 months of 2017 was RM500mil.

i7trader

174 posts

Posted by i7trader > 2017-05-12 16:25 | Report Abuse

Great! Thanks for the observation. :)

i7trader

174 posts

Posted by i7trader > 2017-05-12 16:32 | Report Abuse

moneySIFU, even if Oldtown maintain EPS 5.4 for coming quarters, the reasonable price for Oldtown should be around 4.2 (0.21*20(PER) = 4.2) Since previously you also mentioned f&b trade under PER x20 is reasonable. Hopefully coming quarter result is given better grade for this gem!

Posted by trylearn123 > 2017-05-12 16:50 | Report Abuse

thanks. moneysifu.

AKUMAUKAYA

198 posts

Posted by AKUMAUKAYA > 2017-05-12 17:45 | Report Abuse

黄家泉只会背书。。。。

limhh

47 posts

Posted by limhh > 2017-05-14 16:53 | Report Abuse

This author spot something not mentioned before.
http://hongwei85.blogspot.my/2017/05/what-makes-you-think-you-know-better.html

Posted by Gabriel Khoo > 2017-05-14 23:16 | Report Abuse

I would thank if price drop bcos of this. Then i can buy more.

5,852 posts

Posted by moneySIFU > 2017-05-14 23:18 | Report Abuse

Working on something to respond to the article

5,852 posts

Posted by moneySIFU > 2017-05-15 00:17 | Report Abuse

In respond to the article: http://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/kianweiaritcles/122747.jsp

On point No.1, It is not wrong to make any assumption when company is buying or selling its treasury shares, but buying or selling treasury shares does not mean the company is good or bad.

Author thinks it's time to sell when company has sold its treasury shares, my question is: what about if the company is buying its own shares? Time to follow & buy?

Nope, no one will buy just because the company is doing so. There are more important factors investors will consider before making decision:

The prospect, price & value of the company/business

5,852 posts

Posted by moneySIFU > 2017-05-15 00:18 | Report Abuse

Point 2, it is totally misleading to state PE ratio of 30, the historical PE ratio exclude forex gain should be 22.6 times

http://klse.i3investor.com/files/my/blog/img/bl2510_profit_to_shareholder_ex_forex.jpg

It may be worth to take a look at the following if you think the PE is too high:
http://klse.i3investor.com/files/my/blog/img/bl2510_old_town_vs_others.jpg

Please take note that some companies in the above are also enjoying forex gains

5,852 posts

Posted by moneySIFU > 2017-05-15 00:18 | Report Abuse

On point 3, I am not sure why the company reduced its spending on "Purchase of trading merchandise, food, beverages and consumables".

May be the Company changed its strategy not to spend so much on the free goodies but spend somewhere else OR the company gets cheaper supplies of these items, so spend less?

But author never gave his assumption but assume this was something not supposed to happen & it will back to where it was.

So make your judgement.

Again, it may be worth to take a look on the following:
http://klse.i3investor.com/files/my/blog/img/bl2510_profit_margin_on_oldtown.jpg