ASTRO MALAYSIA HOLDINGS BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): ASTRO (6399)

0.265 - 0.275

20 people like this.

8,237 comment(s). Last comment by chamlo 2 weeks ago

Posted by AIwaysWin > 2015-07-20 21:45 | Report Abuse

buy now .

A1waysWin

32 posts

Posted by A1waysWin > 2015-07-21 01:08 | Report Abuse

Astro is in a sunset industries, sell now or you will regret

umno

39 posts

Posted by umno > 2015-09-19 06:30 | Report Abuse

When they keep increase subscription rate, we have a choice to cancel subscription. Better watch NTV7, TV3, etc for free.

Dan Lee

4 posts

Posted by Dan Lee > 2015-09-19 20:26 | Report Abuse

So many cheap satellite dish haha

expensive

69 posts

Posted by expensive > 2015-09-21 20:38 | Report Abuse

Why IB like to recommend expensive stock like Astro? Buying expensive stock hurt my pocket not the analysts pocket. I still prefer cheaper Media Prima and MediaC as all are media stocks.

expensive

69 posts

Posted by expensive > 2015-09-21 20:50 | Report Abuse

Why IB prefer expensive over cheap stocks?
1) They earn more commission from expensive over cheap stocks.

apanama

3,796 posts

Posted by apanama > 2015-10-06 11:04 | Report Abuse

Astro Average is RM 3.12..at RM 2.90..it has 0.22 sen to go..therefore BUY..

apanama

3,796 posts

Posted by apanama > 2015-10-07 12:06 | Report Abuse

The only business that monopoly in Malaysia other than Tenaga..is ASTRO....:)..at less than RM 3.00 with market is already crossing the 1660 channel and to embrace to 1700 level..its illogical ASTRO at RM 2.87-2.90...:)

apanama

3,796 posts

Posted by apanama > 2015-10-22 13:52 | Report Abuse

Perhaps next Resistance Level will be within a band of RM 2.95-2.98..wallahuallam...

number12

281 posts

Posted by number12 > 2015-10-22 13:52 | Report Abuse

drop to 2.80...

apanama

3,796 posts

Posted by apanama > 2015-10-24 03:00 | Report Abuse

with S&P already convincingly break 2040 and DJIA is above 17500, you number12 ..must be miss a boat..:)

number12

281 posts

Posted by number12 > 2015-10-25 15:03 | Report Abuse

nevermind, miss a boat rather than stuck in...

apanama

3,796 posts

Posted by apanama > 2015-10-26 03:12 | Report Abuse

nevermind or TAKPA..that's common Malaysian especially Malay set of mind...that's why this boleh land cannot achieve n be real developed country..all TAKPA..hehehe...those days only Malay has this kind of thinking ..nowadays all races too..like Tun used said to me..hehehehehe...All now TAKPA...at last semua celapa...yg tinggai Buah kelapa..hehehe

number12

281 posts

Posted by number12 > 2015-10-27 08:36 | Report Abuse

astro drop to 2.85, go go go...

number12

281 posts

Posted by number12 > 2015-10-28 18:04 | Report Abuse

apanama, you win, astro rebound...

apanama

3,796 posts

Posted by apanama > 2015-10-28 18:09 | Report Abuse

No worries number 12..I'm here not to compete to win or loss..I just give my level best analysis on some counter..

number12

281 posts

Posted by number12 > 2015-10-28 18:14 | Report Abuse

ok, astro please break 3.0...

apanama

3,796 posts

Posted by apanama > 2015-10-28 23:02 | Report Abuse

The only monopoly business in Malaysia..dont worry lah number12..if u enter at 2.90 or your average 2.88..u will strike that RM 3.00..

number12

281 posts

Posted by number12 > 2015-10-29 01:50 | Report Abuse

apanama, you are astro expert...

number12

281 posts

Posted by number12 > 2015-11-02 12:57 | Report Abuse

apanama, astro cheap sale, buy buy buy...

number12

281 posts

Posted by number12 > 2015-11-03 22:13 | Report Abuse

break 2.90 again, astro go go go...

number12

281 posts

Posted by number12 > 2015-11-24 17:35 | Report Abuse

apanama, astro no wait you, break 2.90 resistant, heading to 3.0

kinfatt999

2,913 posts

Posted by kinfatt999 > 2015-11-29 22:56 | Report Abuse

astro will drop, because astro monthly price every year also up up up, movie also old and repeat-repeat-repeat

number12

281 posts

Posted by number12 > 2015-12-06 00:03 | Report Abuse

astro fee 6 episode star war with mandarin...thank you...

Posted by ForexTrader > 2015-12-09 11:48 | Report Abuse

what happen today so much Selling

Posted by ForexTrader > 2015-12-09 12:21 | Report Abuse

number12 u know wat happen? today y so much selling

3EMWE

105 posts

Posted by 3EMWE > 2015-12-09 16:18 | Report Abuse

will invest only if ch734 add new shows instead of repeats for the past couple of years otherwise just stay on sidelines

number12

281 posts

Posted by number12 > 2015-12-09 16:19 | Report Abuse

astro quarter report out, profit drop around 6%...

Posted by ForexTrader > 2015-12-09 16:36 | Report Abuse

wait die

Posted by newbiehk2014 > 2015-12-09 17:22 | Report Abuse

still got dividen mah

Mat Cendana

2,336 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2015-12-09 17:44 | Report Abuse

Dividend 2.5 sen, come down 6 sen.
Have to check its support line. See whether it has been breached. If it's not, then can speculate on a possible 20-sen capital gain when it returns to its 'normal' level of 3.00 or so. This is one of the counters which fund managers would buy.

But the bigger concern is Astro's lack of growth potential. In fact, more subscribers are cancelling due to internet-based content being cheaper and more convenient. I'm one of those who have cancelled. This is the trend in other countries too, brought about by access to fast-enough and fixed-cost broadband. When Unifi and other fibre optic expand to other areas, you'll see many Astro subscribers terminating too. How to replace them? And how to deal with the increasing cost of buying content from overseas?

number12

281 posts

Posted by number12 > 2015-12-10 09:26 | Report Abuse

astro not looking good...

Posted by charliecharlie > 2015-12-10 09:41 | Report Abuse

time to pick up some for safekeeping..

Posted by newbiehk2014 > 2015-12-10 10:36 | Report Abuse

time for bargain hunting

Posted by newbiehk2014 > 2015-12-10 10:39 | Report Abuse

2.73 is near lowest point of past 3 years

number12

281 posts

Posted by number12 > 2015-12-10 10:53 | Report Abuse

if got extra cash and not urgent, can buy...

Mat Cendana

2,336 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2015-12-10 11:10 | Report Abuse

Yes, 2.73 looks to be a critical support line. Might be considered as a calculated move if one buys at this price. However, if it slips below that, will have to decide fast - cut loss immediately OR to hang on (and thereby having the capital `sangkut')

Posted by ForexTrader > 2015-12-10 11:16 | Report Abuse

Sell all

Posted by charliecharlie > 2015-12-10 11:30 | Report Abuse

manage to get some at 2.72...looks like it breached the 2.71..dunno how deep is the well now. but nonetheless, i still believe there's hope for a pick up..next year got Rio Olympic and also Euro 2016...

number12

281 posts

Posted by number12 > 2015-12-10 12:32 | Report Abuse

2.70 hope can support it, if not then need to wait longer...

astalavista

2,278 posts

Posted by astalavista > 2015-12-10 13:46 | Report Abuse

Dividen 2.75

Mat Cendana

2,336 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2015-12-10 15:44 | Report Abuse

For a genuine investor who can hold (as compared to "trader" and "semi-investor" whose horizon is less than one year), Astro isn't a bad buy at this price. Don't know how the share price will perform in the coming days, but one thing is for sure - the new buyer is getting it cheaper than those who had bought at the IPO.

Its regular dividends are an attraction, especially to fund managers. When they come in again - especially the foreign funds, this will be one of the counters they tend to buy.

The issue: Who is doing the selling over the week, and are they done yet? If not, we should hold on for a bit longer...if you can.

astalavista

2,278 posts

Posted by astalavista > 2015-12-10 20:24 | Report Abuse

Olympic 2016 mari...astro mesti nak punya

number12

281 posts

Posted by number12 > 2015-12-11 06:18 | Report Abuse

2.70 must hold if not then 2.60 coming...

Posted by newbiehk2014 > 2015-12-11 09:28 | Report Abuse

2.7 level broken

Posted by newbiehk2014 > 2015-12-11 09:29 | Report Abuse

someone is creating cheapsale

Posted by charliecharlie > 2015-12-11 10:36 | Report Abuse

hmmm...now i wonder shud i queue for 2.64 since its trending down...

Mat Cendana

2,336 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2015-12-11 12:13 | Report Abuse

After slipping under the 2.73 support, 2.67 is barely holding. The volume isn't heavy at all. But some entity looks to be doing controlled selling. Giving away at Buyer's prices, although not hurriedly. Astro is now at a rather attractive price. Very tempting. But must be reasonably sure the seller has gone away first. Or for indication there is solid support at this level. "Wait and see" looks prudent.

Mat Cendana

2,336 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2015-12-11 12:22 | Report Abuse

It's now not too far from the lowest point since the re-listing at the end of 2012. What was it - 2.5-something was the lowest point. Remember the sentiment at that time? Investors were so disappointed, including Astro's staff who had taken loans to buy at 3.00. The CEO, Rohana had added to her holdings at 2.70 or so...a few million units. Bold of her in showing confidence. And it worked well for her when Astro went back to 3.00 and then above that.

Now, Dec. 2015 we are facing a rather similar situation. Is this an opportunity or a trap? We will have to make the decision.

Posted by charliecharlie > 2015-12-11 12:25 | Report Abuse

thanks Mat Cendana sifu for the advice. i'll adopt a wait and see outlook..looking to hold this counter for at least 1 year..at least until next year..hope to hear positive news soon