Believe..VT Plan is to list caring to fund caring stores expansion...this will enable SEM to get a higher price from interested parties 4 caring...this is d only explanation i can think of on why SEM do sbb @2.3-2.4
price is supported only by stock buy back...but buy back percentage near threshold of 10%...looking at how when SEM unsupported by SBB, straight away crash...once 10%limit reached and no more SBB possible, then i dun tink anyone besides VT can sustain price..
I think the aggressive SBB serves a few purposes, no.1 is obviously to push up the share price of SEM so that VT & Co can take some profit, no.2 is for a potential share dividend distribution of 5% to 9% then it can buy back shares again, no.3 is to show that its Caring subsi is potentially worth a lot and its convenient store business can cover any loss of earnings after selling Caring, No.4 is to lift the market cap of SEM to a higher level so that it could raise more funds if necessary by pricing any right issue or private placement higher
SOLD the remnant lots of my original purchase of SEM @ $1.384 in Dec '16...for $2.36
6 hours ago Was watching the early behaviour & noticed some selling aggressively down to 2.23...Q-ed to sell behind 36,700 shrs already parked to sell @ 2.36 & had low expectations of it getting done yet there were buy ups that easily consumed all sellers there within minutes.
if u invest by listening to that pang72 joker, then u deserved to lose ur money.. SEM dun just SBB until so high to suffer huge loss la...sure got reasons only the announcement is misleading coz they shud at least acknowledge discussion to see caring...in msia, u know la, slap in the wrist only for VT well, im back in at 1.85
“Both negotiations are at an advanced stage,” a source tells The Edge. The source adds that Carlyle Group, which has US$376 billion in assets under management, made a RM1.3 billion offer to buy the retail pharmacy chain but that 7-Eleven is seeking between RM1.5 billion and RM1.8 billion.
Election near. Some "sos tomato" paid media for fake story like selling Caring to Carlyle Group for berbillion-billion LMAO. In the coupled with sbb push up in a week and dump in a day. Profits taken for election funds, greedy retailers footing the bill.
Many old birds know already this cunning old fox n never touch his stocks foever , only greedy newbie who loves fast money dare to touch n end up cut vege by fox axe !
bro, dun need to trash VT like this la...BFOOD had an amazing run and lotsa ppl earn lotsa money from VT. and u know pharmacy biz is resilient one, see a few more days lo. today is just SBB likely off and u know retailers are weak at holding, dun play with leverage or will get burn..
Hard to believe SEM is doing share buy back at price 2.380
Immediate Announcement on Shares Buy Back Company Name 7-ELEVEN MALAYSIA HOLDINGS BERHAD Stock Name SEM Date Announced 01 Nov 2022 Category Immediate Announcement on Shares Buy Back Reference Number SB1-01112022-00009 Date of buy back 01 Nov 2022 Description of shares purchased Ordinary Shares Currency Malaysian Ringgit (MYR) Total number of shares purchased (units) 1,550,000 Minimum price paid for each share purchased ($$) 2.340 Maximum price paid for each share purchased ($$) 2.380
The candlestick chart looks like Sumatec's the day it began to crash & I warned my fren who got the 'tip' in Aug 2014 when I saw the long bearish engulfing candlestick....Sumatec's price is now...oh yea, already suspended.
anyway, I did not buy SEM bcoz of pang72 comments, I bought way before at average cost of 1.56. I bought SEM due to its attractive valuation then. Its convenient store business kicked in substantially higher profits in past 2 quarters after achieving economy of scale and higher margin from its successful launch of 7-Cafe.
Of course, the driver of this counter was definitely the news of it disposing Caring at a good price. But as I said, even though SEM does not manage to get the valuation of RM1.5-1.8 billion that it wants for Caring, it is not in a hurry to sell it.
Retail pharmacy chain is a resilient business with still growth potential, Caring has some 210 outlets, compared to over 500 for Guardian. And it is just about to get into East Malaysia by looking at JOM Pharmacy chain with 15 outlets in Sarawak. SEM could grow Caring into a bigger chain organically or by M&A, I will not be surprise if Caring becomes a chain with 400 outlets in 5 years.
VT counters are exciting because he is a master in corporate deals. I remember BJFood was also on a rapid uptrend from 2.00 level to above 4.00, spurred by a couple of good quarterly results and company share buyback. Though VT was selling BJFood shares in open market, but BJFood share price kept going up due to SBB and more retail investors participating on valuation ground. BJFood did suffer a big share price correction along the way but quickly rebounded, now to all time high again close to 1.00 (or RM5.00 before bonus) today
But I do reckon that SEM share price correction today was just too drastic, many got caught as company share buyback did not push it up at last minute, as the company had collected 1.8m shares during the day trying to defend the selling but failed miserably
The statement from SEM about Unaware of Reason for Share Price Rise was a little confusing. SEM been doing share buy back almost everyday since start of Oct, and yet they claimed that they are not aware of anything...
if you check out the daily volume and the share buy back qty for the past 30days, let me know which day SEM was not one of the biggest buyer of the day?
Maybe VT plan is to trigger takeover code & privatize SEM...so that they can list Caring separately under healthcare sector...this could be another option to explain non stop sbb
This book is the result of the author's many years of experience and observation throughout his 26 years in the stockbroking industry. It was written for general public to learn to invest based on facts and not on fantasies or hearsay....
Amazonboy
796 posts
Posted by Amazonboy > 2022-11-02 13:33 | Report Abuse
Believe..VT Plan is to list caring to fund caring stores expansion...this will enable SEM to get a higher price from interested parties 4 caring...this is d only explanation i can think of on why SEM do sbb @2.3-2.4