BOUSTEAD PLANTATIONS BHD

KLSE (MYR): BPLANT (5254)

16 people like this.

12,577 comment(s). Last comment by felixstella 2 months ago

6,222 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2021-12-10 14:44 | Report Abuse

From Q3 end 30/09/21 financial report:
15. Performance Review
2021 Q3
CPO Price: RM 4,331
Revenue: RM 293,773,000
Profit from operations: RM 133,092,000
Profit before taxation: RM 124,265,000
Profit for the period: RM 95,870,000

kimsui7364

101 posts

Posted by kimsui7364 > 2021-12-10 16:29 | Report Abuse

I think palm oil CPO price will still remain on 4.9K to 5K until year of 2022.

kimsui7364

101 posts

Posted by kimsui7364 > 2021-12-10 16:39 | Report Abuse

Recently I just sold my palm oil fruit with price of RM1120 to RM1180 per ton. So I personal thinks is still very good prices.

14,883 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2021-12-10 16:41 | Report Abuse

Laughing all the way to the banks lah

14,883 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2021-12-10 16:42 | Report Abuse

cash biz somemore profit margin is higher than 100%...mana mau cari

brianklc

1,624 posts

Posted by brianklc > 2021-12-10 16:50 | Report Abuse

Johnzhang, CPO takes up 18% of the total production, the balance 80% comes from FFB. Hence cost of production of FFB is key.

tollebunsmith

4,277 posts

Posted by tollebunsmith > 2021-12-10 16:50 | Report Abuse

calvintaneng is another snake... I will sell all at the lowest price and i will show it on the board IF this snake can show me he has made a few millions form Bursa ( under his own name).. else listen calvintaneng .. * i just bought MBB 1000k shares just now.. and i will top up another 1000k at closing* wink wink* ( i am lying just like snake calvintaneng

Johnzhang

3,098 posts

Posted by Johnzhang > 2021-12-10 17:22 | Report Abuse

There are all sort of Cost of Production (COP) figures quoted in the media and has caused confusion to investors.
According to what I know, the standard version of COP consistently adopt by all oil palm plantations here and Indonesia are ALL OPERATIONS COST, OVERHEAD, DEPRECIATION AND OTHER RELATED CHARGES . THEY INCLUDE FIELD UPKEEP, FERTILIZER, HARVESTING, TRASPORTATION, LABOUR, DEPRECIATION, MILLING, CESS AND SALES TAX. (Sales tax only applicable to east Malaysia).

Financing (which is capital cost ), Income tax and Windfall tax (which are tax on profit, not on production activities) do not form part of COP.

COP for plantation in East Malaysia is generally higher due to sales tax imposed by state government. COP for plantation in Indonesia is higher by anywhere between RM200 -300 compared to plantation in Malaysia due to overall higher input cost, logistic cost and "the hidden costs". Unit labour cost in Indonesia may be low but productivity is also much lower thus nullifying the advantage.

Just for sharing

Johnzhang

3,098 posts

Posted by Johnzhang > 2021-12-10 17:37 | Report Abuse

@brianklc, Cost of production for CPO = Cost of production for FFB + Milling charges. That's quite straightforward. The plantation companies only use CPO as the basis for FINANCIAL DISCUSSION as all plantations own mills to process their FFB, though not 100%. Commodity Trading price is for CPO, not FFB.

Smallholders usually talk in term of FFB as they only sell FFB.

Asia88

588 posts

Posted by Asia88 > 2021-12-10 20:26 | Report Abuse

brianklc : how do you define that 80% from FFB ya? You count the cost of workers, seed, seedling, land, fertilisers, r&d, lawn movers, depreciation cost inside is it?

brianklc

1,624 posts

Posted by brianklc > 2021-12-11 00:10 | Report Abuse

Just read the Q3 announcement. Of all it’s cumulative production of 865kMT, 160kMT is CPO, 675kMT FFB and PK 30kMT. Hence CPO is 18% of the whole production population. Unless FFB margin is made known, else u can’t use the margin of CPO which is 18% of total to estimate it’s performance.

brianklc

1,624 posts

Posted by brianklc > 2021-12-11 00:17 | Report Abuse

By disregarding PK, u can literally know calculate how much is their realised FFB sales price and production cost per MT. And that will be bplant main top line driver!

Posted by MuttsInvestor > 2021-12-11 10:47 | Report Abuse

Monsoon time and Wintering season for Palm Oil ............SO ........... CHILL OUT time !!!! .................. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MVtEGcskdJA .... Wish I was on the Beach at Sunset with a can of COLD beer !!!! LoL ......

qinvestor

38 posts

Posted by qinvestor > 2021-12-13 11:08 | Report Abuse

After being stripped from the FFB, the palm fruit is processed into two main products: Crude Palm Oil (CPO), which is extracted from the mesocarp or flesh of the fruit, and Palm Kernel Oil (PKO), which comes from the hard seed in the centre. The first step is to press the fruit, which squeezes CPO from its mesocarp.

BPLANT has mills so they don't need to sell FFB, just sell the PKO and CPO

Johnzhang

3,098 posts

Posted by Johnzhang > 2021-12-13 16:51 | Report Abuse

https://newswav.com/A2112_EJ5xMv?s=A_H4qzJzq
This is good news for longer term

brianklc

1,624 posts

Posted by brianklc > 2021-12-14 01:00 | Report Abuse

Q, if bplant’s mill have the capacity to process all FFB into CPO, they have already done it, not just 18% of total. Perhaps u buy more bplant shares, so significant that u can make urself to sit in its board and make ur voice heard…

qinvestor

38 posts

Posted by qinvestor > 2021-12-14 10:15 | Report Abuse

But based on Oil extraction rate = CPO (160k MT) / FFB (675k MT) = 23.7% OER, which is higher than industry norm of 21%, seems like they processed almost all FFB into CPO.

qinvestor

38 posts

Posted by qinvestor > 2021-12-14 10:16 | Report Abuse

Dear John/SLee or anyone else from the industry, just want to understand it correctly, if I am wrong, please correct me, thanks

brianklc

1,624 posts

Posted by brianklc > 2021-12-14 10:43 | Report Abuse

Hahaha…. R u saying FFB is the by product of CPO? FFB is virgin fruit, u squeeze the oil out of FFB to get CPO, PK is the by product… u brighten my day

brianklc

1,624 posts

Posted by stockraider > 2021-12-14 10:48 | Report Abuse

If your plantation has your own mill, u can start processing 3rd party FFB for additional profit loh!

Palmoil mills is an additional profitable profit segment, if u can process much more 3rd party FFB mah!

brianklc

1,624 posts

Posted by brianklc > 2021-12-14 10:56 | Report Abuse

Stockraider, this I agree, bplant can send their FFB to be processed by 3rd party mill to get CPO n PK, at the correct price to boost income… provided 3rd party mill have spare capacity

Posted by stockraider > 2021-12-14 11:04 | Report Abuse

No what i mean is Bplant to make use of its own palmoil mills...to source more FFB volume from 3rd parties ( like small plantation holders} beside its own plantation volume of FFB production to process it to CPO, this will boost its mills income further mah!

Of course if Bplant cpo mills are too far away from its own plantation making not economical to transfer to own mills for processing...then making use of 3rd party cpo mills could be a good option loh!

Posted by brianklc > Dec 14, 2021 10:56 AM | Report Abuse

Stockraider, this I agree, bplant can send their FFB to be processed by 3rd party mill to get CPO n PK, at the correct price to boost income… provided 3rd party mill have spare capacity

Posted by risktoreward > 2021-12-14 11:06 | Report Abuse

For small plantation holders for sure they are already doing that, all are sending to their nearest mills for sale already because what else make sense

brianklc

1,624 posts

Posted by brianklc > 2021-12-14 11:33 | Report Abuse

Stockraider, 18% CPO production ratio to total means it’s mill is at full capacity, else u will see way lower FFB production (or negligible FFB production) n higher CPO+PK production

brianklc

1,624 posts

Posted by brianklc > 2021-12-14 11:39 | Report Abuse

FFB can’t simpan for long, if can’t turn it to CPO on time, best to sell it as virgin fruit asap

Posted by stockraider > 2021-12-14 11:43 | Report Abuse

18% means not efficent mah!

It is not full capacity lah!

The normal ratio is 21% to 26% mah!

Posted by brianklc > Dec 14, 2021 11:33 AM | Report Abuse

Stockraider, 18% CPO production ratio to total means it’s mill is at full capacity, else u will see way lower FFB production (or negligible FFB production) n higher CPO+PK production

brianklc

1,624 posts

Posted by brianklc > 2021-12-14 12:03 | Report Abuse

It could only means bplant mills does not have the capacity to process the FFB. Mills are not cheap, it involved large CAPEX it’s only commercially viable if CPO price are good, else it’s fixed cost will eat up the earnings… my 2 cents

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2021-12-14 14:08 | Report Abuse

Yeah nope

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2021-12-14 14:08 | Report Abuse

Dump it

Asia88

588 posts

Posted by Asia88 > 2021-12-14 15:38 | Report Abuse

Guys, i rmb got one shareholder ask BOD during last AGM. Bplant do take FFB from 3rd party.
However, there is two drawback which is how to determine the 3rd party is MPOB certified and Bplant mill is far.

brianklc

1,624 posts

Posted by brianklc > 2021-12-14 15:59 | Report Abuse

If a MPOB takes from Non MPOB, it will be MPOB? Like sub prime, Goldman takes over those BBB and repackage it’s as AAA under Goldman?

Posted by talhahsuhaimi > 2021-12-15 12:39 | Report Abuse

This stock is going down?

Johnzhang

3,098 posts

Posted by Johnzhang > 2021-12-20 18:06 | Report Abuse

KUALA LUMPUR, Dec 20 -- The production of crude palm oil is expected to return in earnest next year in both Malaysia and Indonesia, OCBC Treasury Research said.

With the Malaysian Palm Oil Board’s (MPOB) palm stocks returning above two million tonnes in the third quarter of 2022, it means prices are expected to remain supported through the first half of 2022, it said in its Commodity Outlook 2022.

“In addition, our expectations of higher soybean prices mean the palm complex is also expected to be lifted higher,” the research house said.

OCBC has forecast palm oil to be RM4,750 next year.

Johnzhang

3,098 posts

Posted by Johnzhang > 2021-12-20 18:07 | Report Abuse

OCBC is most bullish on CPO next year .

Johnzhang

3,098 posts

Posted by Johnzhang > 2021-12-22 21:04 | Report Abuse

Soybean, corn and canola are surging again . So is palm oil ?

Asia88

588 posts

Posted by Asia88 > 2021-12-24 17:53 | Report Abuse

this stock forum so quiet. many ppl on leave ?

Lucifer999

599 posts

Posted by Lucifer999 > 2021-12-24 17:55 | Report Abuse

plantation memang slow slow diam diam lah nothing much to talk about

Johnzhang

3,098 posts

Posted by Johnzhang > 2021-12-25 12:05 | Report Abuse

On 8th Oct 21, I have forecasted BPlant FY21 EPS of 9.6 sen.

With relatively strong production and CPO price for Q4, my revised EPS is 11.70 sen. Based on yesterday’s closing share price of 64sen, the PE is 64/11.7 = 5.47x .
Based on Dividend payout of 60% , total dividend shall be 60%x 11.7 = 7 sen. Thus, DY shall be 7/64 = 11%

Asia88

588 posts

Posted by Asia88 > 2021-12-27 11:25 | Report Abuse

Tyranny
Tyranny
Due to repeated abuse posts, this account has been suspended from posting to the i3investor portal until 16/01/2022. Please refer to the Terms and Conditions of Use and Community Standards of this portal.

Johnzhang

3,098 posts

Posted by Johnzhang > 2021-12-31 05:56 | Report Abuse

the Bursa Plantation Index is down 10% year-to-date while the CPO price rose 36%.. This could also mean there is huge room for plantation share price to improve when the present extremely poor market sentiment improve .

Posted by stockraider > 2022-01-02 08:36 | Report Abuse

Correctloh....big undervaluation & big potential capital appreciation if invest in plantation mah!

Posted by Johnzhang > Dec 31, 2021 5:56 AM | Report Abuse

the Bursa Plantation Index is down 10% year-to-date while the CPO price rose 36%.. This could also mean there is huge room for plantation share price to improve when the present extremely poor market sentiment improve .

RJ87

5,133 posts

Posted by RJ87 > 2022-01-03 16:41 | Report Abuse

tmr push past 70sen

Ayambrand

135 posts

Posted by Ayambrand > 2022-01-03 18:09 | Report Abuse

felai

Posted by MuttsInvestor > 2022-01-03 18:16 | Report Abuse

Yawn ..... What Happened ??

Johnzhang

3,098 posts

Posted by Johnzhang > 2022-01-04 16:02 | Report Abuse

KUALA LUMPUR (Jan 4): There could be a big shift from growth to value stock investing across ASEAN markets which include Malaysia in the second half of 2022 "if the world goes back to normalcy" as the global economy recovers from the impact of Covid-19 pandemic-driven movement restrictions, according to Maybank Kim Eng head of regional equity research Anand Pathmakanthan.

"If there's a switch back to value, [Malaysia's FBM] KLCI should do pretty well as they have all the stable and cyclical stocks with decent [dividend] yields," Anand said on Tuesday (Jan 4, 2022) at a market outlook webinar organised by Maybank Investment Bank Bhd.

In equities investment terminology, growth investing is a strategy in which investors buy shares of companies which are expected to achieve higher growth versus the broader market.

Meanwhile, value investing involves buying equities which are transacted at a discount to their intrinsic worth.

Johnzhang

3,098 posts

Posted by Johnzhang > 2022-01-04 16:02 | Report Abuse

Bplant fit the bills.

Posted by MuttsInvestor > 2022-01-04 17:18 | Report Abuse

https://www.marketscreener.com/news/latest/Soy-rallies-on-South-American-weather-concerns--37453729/ Looks like HOT weather in S.America. Soy is going up ? Thus CPO ?

Johnzhang

3,098 posts

Posted by Johnzhang > 2022-01-04 17:25 | Report Abuse

CPO Jan closed above $5,300!
Likely another bumper year for plantations.

Johnzhang

3,098 posts

Posted by Johnzhang > 2022-01-04 21:23 | Report Abuse

Climate change and extreme weather is going to limit agriculture production globally. Edible oil crop prices will stay elevated for years and benefit oil palm plantations. Will investors continue to ignore high earnings and high DY sector ?