BOUSTEAD PLANTATIONS BHD

KLSE (MYR): BPLANT (5254)

16 people like this.

12,577 comment(s). Last comment by felixstella 2 months ago

Asia88

588 posts

Posted by Asia88 > 2021-11-26 20:36 | Report Abuse

Well noted Dicky. What had you done to escape this crash?

14,740 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2021-11-27 10:14 | Report Abuse

I have cashed out.

loyalok

161 posts

Posted by loyalok > 2021-11-28 08:17 | Report Abuse

malaysia oil palm counter didn't go up according to performance of company ,what is reason behind ?no confidence ?

brianklc

1,624 posts

Posted by brianklc > 2021-11-28 11:03 | Report Abuse

OMICRON

Posted by stockraider > 2021-11-28 12:02 | Report Abuse

do not worry...u r safe with bplant mah!

Johnzhang

3,098 posts

Posted by Johnzhang > 2021-11-28 13:54 | Report Abuse

Looking forward to good buys .

Johnzhang

3,098 posts

Posted by Johnzhang > 2021-11-28 18:14 | Report Abuse

In 27th Nov Starbiz, it highlighted planters making record profit but share price of the big plantations are about 60% below the peak as investors disinterest in them because of ESG , particularly on land usage and deforestation! But the irony is , because of ESG compliance limiting production and supply, CPO scaled record price never seen before and consumers are enduring high food inflation . If the ESG belt is further tightened, CPO price or edible oil price in general will go up further .
So, what’s the so called responsible investors , in particular foreign institutions and our local sovereign funds , hope to contribute to society at large ?

danny123

1,217 posts

Posted by danny123 > 2021-11-28 21:50 | Report Abuse

danny123 Ya lah, keep on asking people to buy and get trap

Got money hold cash better
11/11/2021 2:12 PM

56,242 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2021-11-29 03:13 | Report Abuse

Cash at 1.75% Fd is also an investment

Yield for Fd is 1.75% a year

If divided by 100 over 1.75

The P/E is 57.14

Or it will take 57.14 years to double your money

And inflation will destroy purchasing power

So cash idle in bank is a no no

Bplant gives at least 6% yield per year now and more to come

Posted by stockraider > 2021-11-29 07:25 | Report Abuse

All of us know that plantation share traded at huge discount to its historical PE valuation, despite reporting earth shattering record profit due to very strong record cpo prices, but bcos of ESG concern( that are actually unfounded} the mkt is ignoring palmoil stock loh!

Thus as a savvy investors, we need to be Contraian & rational loh!
If funds ignore palmoil stock, thus we can pick it up as a bargain as its fundamental are good investment mah!

Contraian Investor will enjoy good earnings & strong dividends which is the main basic fundamental of all investment in share mah!

Just think logically lah....u actually invest in stock for income mah....not really invest bcos of ESG lah!

Even if u r the minority who invest base on ESG as a sole criteria, if the investment do not generate good return in the long run, u r still screwed mah!

Palmoil is a food & and industrial product....the most efficient vege oil & fats input in the world mah!

Suppose u do not use palm oil & use soya oil instead as an alternative....u need to plant 8x more land to produce the equivalent palmoil mah!

But then soya oil will have even more ESG concern than palmoil mah!

Just imagine At the end, the world wil be paying more for vege oil & fats at the same time degrade the environment even more loh!

Thus it is only logical that the ESG concern on palmoil stock are unfounded given they are no better alternative for better oil & fats thus palmoil is still the best mah!

Thus rationally if u invest in palmoil stock u are protected the ESG, bcos it is the most efficient, at the same time u earn super decent dividend mah!

Furthermore u r well protected from inflation bcos plantation is a proxy of investing in cheap land...a very scarce resources mah!
in this world loh!

Unless u want to migrate to MARS to find new land loh!

Lu Tau Boh ?

Johnzhang

3,098 posts

Posted by Johnzhang > 2021-11-29 09:54 | Report Abuse

@Stockraider, Wa Sudah Tau and therefore adding more on Friday and this morning. .
I can’t agree more.
My reason for buying plantation stock is deem buying the landed assets at a small fraction of the intrinsic value ( yet land prices appreciate over time) , at the same time enjoying 20% earnings on investment for 2021 ( based on share price I paid).

Johnzhang

3,098 posts

Posted by Johnzhang > 2021-11-29 12:24 | Report Abuse

https://newswav.com/A2111_rAM3cV?s=A_0FdZi22
Bill gates is betting big on farmland .

Posted by stockraider > 2021-11-29 13:21 | Report Abuse

Bill Gates is betting big on US farmland – should you? - MoneyWise
theedgemarkets.com
/
theedgemarkets.com

November 29, 2021 11:01 am +08
Bill Gates
Bill Gates

-A+A
(Nov 27): Bill Gates is best known for revolutionizing personal computing, but lately he’s gotten back to the land, MoneyWise reported.

The Microsoft co-founder and his former wife, Melinda, are the top farmland owners in the country, having acquired more than 269,000 acres over the past decade.

Gates made a splash in 2017 when he bought $520 million worth of U.S. farmland from the Canada Pension Plan Investment Board, and he’s continued to invest since.

Farmland returned an average of 11.0% per year between 1992 and 2020, according to research from FarmTogether, an investment platform that allows qualified investors to purchase stakes in U.S. farmland without buying a whole farm. In comparison, the S&P 500 returned only 8.0%.

When considered on a risk-adjusted basis, farmland outperforms the stock market by a wide margin.

It's even better than traditional real estate, better than bonds and gold, MoneyWise reported.

brandon99

151 posts

Posted by brandon99 > 2021-11-29 13:24 | Report Abuse

Bill Gates always makes the wrong prediction. Check out his prediction about the technology back in 1990s. Almost 100% mistake.

brandon99

151 posts

Posted by brandon99 > 2021-11-29 13:25 | Report Abuse

Bill Gates can shake hand with Robert Kiyosaki when it comes to prediction.

Posted by stockraider > 2021-11-29 13:31 | Report Abuse

If bill gates is a lousy predictor....do u think Microsoft can become one of the most valuable company in the world ah ?

Do u think bill gates can become the richest man in the world meh ??

Pakai otak! Think Lah!

Posted by brandon99 > Nov 29, 2021 1:24 PM | Report Abuse

Bill Gates always makes the wrong prediction. Check out his prediction about the technology back in 1990s. Almost 100% mistake.

Johnzhang

3,098 posts

Posted by Johnzhang > 2021-11-29 13:37 | Report Abuse

Agriculture is the future especially with ESG grievances and climate change issues. Farmland is going to be a lot more expensive and agriculture produce price will go higher .

Posted by stockraider > 2021-11-29 13:51 | Report Abuse

Basic Economics 101...less supply with minor increase in demand due to higher world population every year....food price will increase every year mah!

That means profit will increase for plantation mah!

Posted by Johnzhang > Nov 29, 2021 1:35 PM | Report Abuse

Agriculture is the future especially with ESG grievances and climate change issues. Farmland is going to be a lot more expensive and agriculture produce price will go higher .

CCWONG

290 posts

Posted by CCWONG > 2021-11-29 14:54 | Report Abuse

Not coming out, but going in again.

PlantBull

113 posts

Posted by PlantBull > 2021-11-29 14:56 | Report Abuse

If Bill Gates was a bad predictor, then you must have better prediction than him right? I mean his almost 100% mistake in 1990s prediction only made him 137b usd today.

Posted by brandon99 > Nov 29, 2021 1:24 PM | Report Abuse

Posted by NoBrainerLor > 2021-11-29 15:25 | Report Abuse

I totally agreed Bill Gates don't use his brain to invest. This is why he has USD137B today. I wonder why need to use brain when can have USD137B. Conclusion, Just invest in no brainer stock like Bplant lor

Posted by Highlanderz > 2021-11-29 15:44 | Report Abuse

Bill invested and still investing in mrna technology and new EV battery technology and that is just a few of them.

Asia88

588 posts

Posted by Asia88 > 2021-11-29 16:56 | Report Abuse

today everyone goreng glove again. others red.

Ayambrand

135 posts

Posted by Ayambrand > 2021-11-30 04:32 | Report Abuse

Hammer candle closing

Posted by Kon Lim Chai > 2021-11-30 07:22 | Report Abuse

Price should improve today in line with US mkt

Posted by Kon Lim Chai > 2021-11-30 07:23 | Report Abuse

Heavy selling not expected in view of pending dividend

Ayambrand

135 posts

Posted by Ayambrand > 2021-11-30 10:40 | Report Abuse

hammer candle sure fly

Posted by stockraider > 2021-11-30 11:24 | Report Abuse

Just jump in lah!

Ayambrand

135 posts

Posted by Ayambrand > 2021-11-30 17:34 | Report Abuse

aiyo, flight cancel

56,242 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2021-12-01 07:56 |

Posted by Intrinsic99 > 2021-12-01 15:31 |

Posted by MuttsInvestor > 2021-12-01 15:31 | Report Abuse

What happened ? Foreign selling ???

Posted by stockraider > 2021-12-01 15:46 | Report Abuse

Listen just accumulate mah!

Johnzhang

3,098 posts

Posted by Johnzhang > 2021-12-01 19:01 | Report Abuse

@muttsinvestor, there is no foreign shareholders in Bplant. Even local government institutions like EPF , KWAP and PNB are not listed in the top 30. As Bursa is in coma (infected by Covid) price drifting lower is inevitable.

brianklc

1,624 posts

Posted by brianklc > 2021-12-02 13:55 | Report Abuse

Intrinsic99, actually what makes u much better since u r doing the same, spamming too, just that instead of promoting, you are demoting... a lot of investor are not as naïve as you think... they will do their research... Eg. Recently calvin was using singapore land value to value bplant land, and it got quite some response disagreeing...

Johnzhang

3,098 posts

Posted by Johnzhang > 2021-12-02 18:34 | Report Abuse

JAKARTA (Dec 2): The global supply of palm oil will see only "minimal growth" in the 2019-2022 period, due to production issues caused by unfavourable weather and labour disruption in Malaysia, leading analyst James Fry said on Thursday.

"It will take another 12 months before Southeast Asian palm oil output is running ahead of its level at the end of 2019," Fry said, despite improved output expected out of Indonesia in the second half of next year.

"In other words, I anticipate three full years with no growth," he told a virtual conference.

Johnzhang

3,098 posts

Posted by Johnzhang > 2021-12-02 18:55 | Report Abuse

JAKARTA: Malaysia’s palm oil production is only expected to recover after the Muslim fasting month of Ramadan, or by May next year, leading analyst Dorab Mistry told a virtual conference on Thursday.

This is because it will take some time for the impact of relaxed rules allowing new workers in Malaysian plantations to be felt.

Mistry said that Malaysia’s palm production this year will likely stand at 18 million tonnes “at best”, and rise to 19 million tonnes next year.

Posted by MuttsInvestor > 2021-12-02 23:14 | Report Abuse

As Expected , reduced CPO output from Indo and Mal due to many factors. Looking forward to 2022, fertilizers prices has increased ...... Expect less to be used. Thus less .... CPO per acre. The other is Pesticides ( Also Increased in price ). The only other wild card is the " Consumption of CPO " . Will existing and NEW variant Covid viruses cause further Restriction / Lock down / Travel / Manufacturing . etc .........???

Asia88

588 posts

Posted by Asia88 > 2021-12-03 17:27 | Report Abuse

where is tyranny? can't make comment?

Johnzhang

3,098 posts

Posted by Johnzhang > 2021-12-04 17:45 | Report Abuse

That means there is good earnings visibility for oil palm plantation companies in 2022 and possibly 2023.

Posted by stockraider > 2021-12-05 11:19 | Report Abuse

THE DANGER FAKE SENSE OF CONFIDENT THIS PHILIP HAS PROJECTED!

Alot of People would have remember Raider had a bet with Philip on QL Rm 6.70 v Insas Rm 0.67 for 2 years loh!
FYI raider had beaten Philip on this for consecutive year 1 & year 2 plus overall win loh!

The main reason why Raider decide to bet is due to arrogrance of Philip belittling Insas & Sifu Sslee which is a very sound margin of safety investment pick loh!

True to raider analysis Insas turn out a better investment than QL loh!
Yes QL is a good company but this Philip has no sense of value by over paying for this stock mah!. Remember W.Buffet says never over pay on your investment bcos it will drag down your return mah!
The valuation metrics of QL do not support QL share price when he bet with Raider loh!

Coming back to Innoprise, Philip recent pick...u will have notice that sifu calvin also promoted this stock loh! As usual General Raider agreed with most of sifu calvin palmoil stock selection as sound especially TAANN and BPlant but Innoprise is one of the few stock in which Raider has big reservation despite giving good decent dividend yield of 7% to 8% pa far exceed most plantation loh!

Why leh ?
1. Innoprise is a concession or Business Reits with very short term expiry coming in about 8 years term....meaning in 8 years time Sabah foundation can just take back their land by not renewing the concession loh!
2. There is a dispute between Sabah foundation and Innoprise on the quantum of the lease rental for the land that innoprise suppose to pay loh! This the sabah govt said Innoprise under paid them for many years loh! If Innoprise will to make good of this payment for many years, the company will not report such a good result anymore loh!
3. Given such a major dispute with the sabah govt the risk of non renewal of the concession is extremely high loh! Even renewed there will be big back payment & much higher future lease Rental needed that will affect its attractiveness of this stock.
4. Most Plantation own their lands with only a few exception like FGV and Innoprise operate on a concession basis loh! Under this model this company does not really benefit from appreciation of land prices which is a natural hedge against inflation mah!

Coming back another Philip high risk pick is yinson! This is touted by Philip as one of the best investment....u will need to becareful on Yinson loh!
1. Yinson has very high borrowings mah!
2. The FPSO has very long gestation period loh!
3. Oil & Gas have negative ESG and the trend are to shunned this type of business in the long run loh! What happen oil & gas collapse, yinson customer can usually just walk away leaving the company to carry the bags loh! This has happened b4 in the case of Armada loh!

I believe Yinson risk is like Serba loh....just be very careful when u look at Yinson...as based on past records Philip analysis had missed many critical area & his analysis are superficial with flaws as in the case of serba & scib. Philip is actually a high risk taker mah!

It is best u go for TAANN if u want to invest base on dividend yield as this stock can give 6%pa to 7%pa but if u want capital gain on land appreciation Bpland is the pick as it has big track of potential commercial & residential land at the cost of plantation mah. Its dividend yield also quite decent at 4% pa to 5% pa loh!
The above stocks is also calvin sifu pick loh!

Johnzhang

3,098 posts

Posted by Johnzhang > 2021-12-05 14:22 | Report Abuse

https://www.cityam.com/covid-death-rate-not-rising-swap-travel-restrictions-and-mass-hysteria-for-cautious-optimism-as-omicron-mutation-is-super-mild-variant-who-and-coronavirus-experts-say/

That’s very good news. I think Global Consumption for oils and fats will rebound strongly and the anticipated slow pace of production growth will not be able to keep up to strong demand recovery. CPO price is expected to stay strong for 2022 .

Johnzhang

3,098 posts

Posted by Johnzhang > 2021-12-05 19:48 | Report Abuse

Most plantation companies listed in Bursa are seriously undervalued by their mark-to-market asset values, earning prospect and dividend yields.

Without real understanding of the supply/demand dynamics for the oil and fats market, many critics argued that current palm oil price (RM5,000+) is unsustainable. The same critics voiced same argument when CPO price was at RM3,000+ more than a year ago . So what is new?

Down to earth investors shall expect CPO price uncertainty in the next 1-2 years which largely hinge on demand growth vs supply growth. Nobody can possibly pinpoint the numbers into the future, just like how miserably wrong the critics/analysts were in the past one year.

Why should critics be alarmingly negative EVEN IF CPO price correct down to $4,000 (ie 20+ % from today's level}? I am not concern at all. The average realized CPO price for Q1 to Q3 2021 for Bplant was $4,072, THplant $3,478, SOP $4,263, MHC $4,167, Cepat $4,149. At these avg realized prices, these companies already making record earnings.

I am bullish that average CPO price for 2022 will stay above $4,000/-

On supply side :
(1) There will be minimum production growth from Malaysia and Indonesia in 2022 due to continuing labor constraint (Malaysia), lower fertilizer application in 2018/19 when CPO price was low, lower fertilizer application in 2020/21 due to supply/application constraint caused by lockdowns and acute labour shortage, poor upkeep of fields, minimum new planting and replanting in past 3-4 years etc.

(2). Relentless attack from NGOs, ESG pressure, 3 years new planting moratorium (Sept 2018 to sept 2021) in Indonesia, zero expansion in Malaysia since 2017 , delayed replanting activities etc, not to mention climate havoc, are going to seriously limit production growth for the next few years.

On the demand side,
(1). Strong demand recovery expected in 2022 due to minimum lockdowns, low inventory level in importing countries, demand for biofuels (especially Indonesia B30 mandate) , increasing usage of oleochemicals etc.

(2). Global palm oil consumption growth from 2011 to 2020 is averaging 5% annually. I think consumption growth rate shall resume from 2022 onwards with covid's impact subsiding

Where are we going to get 5% production growth (ie 3.7 to 4.0 mil MT of increase per year ) to match the demand growth in the next few years? Will there be significantly higher production of other edible oils (soya, reepseed, sunflower, canola etc) to replace palm oil ?

It's a million dollar question. I think there is reason why CPO price shot up significantly above the previous high.

Just sharing my thought.

Asia88

588 posts

Posted by Asia88 > 2021-12-06 17:18 | Report Abuse

Tyranny
Tyranny
Due to repeated abuse posts, this account has been suspended from posting to the i3investor portal until 22/12/2021. Please refer to the Terms and Conditions of Use and Community Standards of this portal.

56,242 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2021-12-07 00:06 |

Johnzhang

3,098 posts

Posted by Johnzhang > 2021-12-07 07:02 | Report Abuse

YTD return (i.e. from 4/1/21 to 6/12/21 period) solely based on capital gain (Dividend paid during the period is not considered in the calculation)

KLCI index - 8.83%
CPO + 37.3%

The mid/small cap plantations :
1. Innoplant + 13.79%
2. MHC + 12.82%
3. Taann + 12.16%
4. Bplant + 7.94%
5. SWKpltn + 7.62%
6. THplant + 5.26%
7. HSpltn + 4.97%
8. KMLoong - 4.43%
9. Cepat - 5.80%
10 TSH -6.96%
11 SOP - 12.50%
12 Jtiasa - 33.52%
13 TDM - 34.72%

The big Cap plantations :
1. UP. - 4.14%
2 KLK - 14.91%
3. IOI - 17.61%
4. Simepltn - 24.45%
5. GENP - 31.33%

I leave it to individual to digest and interpret the above numbers.
07/12/2021 7:01 AM

56,242 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2021-12-07 12:02 |

Posted by stockraider > 2021-12-07 12:06 | Report Abuse

Bplant not only benefit boom time cpo prices, i will benefit from prime cheap plantation land available in good development township mah!