MYNEWS HOLDINGS BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): MYNEWS (5275)

+0.005 (0.96%)

0.51 - 0.525

1,859 comment(s). Last comment by goldmanbull 2 days ago

Posted by gearupguy889 > 2021-04-16 05:58 | Report Abuse

market are very optimistic about CU potential!

Analyser

62 posts

Posted by Analyser > 2021-04-16 11:29 | Report Abuse

sigh, adding more CU stores now will just increase expenses because it takes years to breakeven. plus right now, 4th covid wave is coming, we may need to brace for another bad quarter, or even worse because of additional set up costs of CU...

unless u are a super duper long-term investor for like 3 years

Posted by millionology > 2021-04-18 22:56 | Report Abuse

the covid will not have serious impact on CU because government promise will not impose strict MCO. So, people in town will still be able to visit CU. the only impacted industry is airline....

Catlim69

1,284 posts

Posted by Catlim69 > 2021-04-18 09:33 | Report Abuse

millionology, sorry, the price already factor in the CU, price no more cheap. now people just profit taking

Analyser

62 posts

Posted by Analyser > 2021-04-19 09:38 | Report Abuse

Mynews is considered a risky investment at this stage. Better to wait out and assess for the impact of 4th wave Covid in the next 2 quarters, at least.

jibbie

762 posts

Posted by jibbie > 2021-04-19 09:45 | Report Abuse

Buy low

AngryBird

170 posts

Posted by AngryBird > 2021-04-19 10:42 | Report Abuse

CU no ppl, not hot as Family mart

Valgrovest

1,237 posts

Posted by Valgrovest > 2021-04-19 10:55 | Report Abuse

The price seems to over corrected. Is it good level to go in or it can gostan some more. I guess ppl are rather worried about the rising covid cases which may dampen retail business. I saw Parskson also gostan a lot.

Posted by Johnny12 > 2021-04-19 11:11 | Report Abuse

Heard mynews is in trouble with government for opening CU without a licence.

Posted by Johnny12 > 2021-04-19 11:12 | Report Abuse

Cowboy company

Posted by millionology > 2021-04-19 14:07 | Report Abuse

Heard i3 website is in trouble with MCMC for spreading fake news without a supporting proof

Posted by Rubberman1688 > 2021-04-19 19:44 | Report Abuse

Went CU which is nearby my working area.. the crowd is fantastic even after 3 weeks of opening..

Posted by Rubberman1688 > 2021-04-19 19:44 | Report Abuse

Please open more outlet

Posted by value investor > 2021-04-19 20:00 | Report Abuse

millionology good! hahahahahahahha

Posted by i3lurker > 2021-04-20 11:49 | Report Abuse

12 more QR of losses

once Rights Issue comes out, must pump in more money and earnings goes down
some people only invest in companies giving money ie dividends NOT always asking for more money.

Valgrovest

1,237 posts

Posted by Valgrovest > 2021-04-20 17:14 | Report Abuse

Seems like price stablised already. No more downtrending. Dont listen to those negative/damaging comments. Time to top up???

wwkeong

9 posts

Posted by wwkeong > 2021-04-20 17:28 | Report Abuse

I go to Cu mart.. the Q was huge.. the food was good, especially the RTE food. The concept is mix of convenience store + bubble tea café.. more trendy to youngster.. It will makes money.. very soon. For Mynews sure it will Learn from Cu .. Mynews market is more to Foreigner .. as we go to other country we always go to their local minimart for Local Snacks..
Cu at 1.50

Nepo

3,300 posts

Posted by Nepo > 2021-04-20 20:33 | Report Abuse

Thanks @wwkeong for sharing the latest biz operation of CU. Good to see Q is huge hopefully can maintain the crowd..

Posted by booyuhshuen > 2021-04-21 19:37 | Report Abuse

Today afternoon still have to queue to get in, Bulan Ramadan day still long queues.

MoneyShow3

538 posts

Posted by MoneyShow3 > 2021-04-21 22:03 | Report Abuse

Time to get the show one the road...CU at Rm1.50...;)

Wait for the good news coming out on the second outlet..

Valgrovest

1,237 posts

Posted by Valgrovest > 2021-04-22 10:07 | Report Abuse

2nd wave of uptrend started after having consolidated for a week

MoneyShow3

538 posts

Posted by MoneyShow3 > 2021-04-23 02:02 | Report Abuse

Will break 1.20 with the second and third outlet highlights..even the Mynews bakery products are improving... Kitkat croissant and new products...

CU at 1.50

Posted by i3lurker > 2021-04-23 09:26 | Report Abuse

bubble tea companies always pay people to queue at their shops

bubble tea companies know that fake customers will draw in suckers.
so queues inside new shops actually mean nothing

sharks also use same tactic, sharks buy and create volume then dump sell...

Posted by i3lurker > 2021-04-23 09:40 | Report Abuse

The Ultimate con happens when you combine and it becomes a 2 factor authentication

bubble tea companies always pay people to queue at their shops

bubble tea companies know that fake customers will draw in suckers.
so queues inside new shops actually mean nothing

sharks also use same tactic, sharks buy and create volume then dump sell...

MoneyShow3

538 posts

Posted by MoneyShow3 > 2021-04-24 22:14 | Report Abuse

After they open all the CU stores, Mynews shld condsider Amazon Go... Or maybe Amazon buys Mynews if they have enough stores open by then....

https://www.geekwire.com/2020/amazon-goes-bigger-first-amazon-go-grocery-new-seattle-store-using-cashierless-technology/amp/

CU at 1.50...with amazon Go... Rm5..

MiaoMiao7

449 posts

Posted by MiaoMiao7 > 2021-04-25 17:10 | Report Abuse

Amazon buy myNews? So desperate to push the price up? I heard Apple plans to buy TopGlove.

Posted by i3lurker > 2021-04-25 17:14 | Report Abuse

I heard also both Microsoft and Alphabet (Google) going to invest USD20 billion each in MyNews

fachoi

130 posts

Posted by fachoi > 2021-04-25 19:04 | Report Abuse

one CU profit= 10 mynews profit, wait 50 CU open in this year only, haha

MiaoMiao7

449 posts

Posted by MiaoMiao7 > 2021-04-26 15:54 | Report Abuse

@fachoi

Yeah, problem is they plan to open more about 70 myNEWS stores and 30 CU stores for 2021. 1 is not making money, another 1 can make money and is very popular. Why waste money on opening 70 myNews store when it can be 100 new CU stores instead of 30?

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/mynews-targets-open-100-stores-year-sets-aside-rm50m-capex

Nobody in this forum will say this 70-30 is a good move. and Everybody will say they should focus on CU only.

This goes to show Management is bad. Unless a very good reason is given, I dont know why they continue to open myNEWs when demand is not there, the millions are better spend opening up more CU stores. Can someone explain this to me? Maybe I am not smart. I really want to have a different opinion on this 70-30 strategy.

I am willing to bet the next few quarters they will report losses or very little profit.

MoneyShow3

538 posts

Posted by MoneyShow3 > 2021-04-26 22:09 | Report Abuse

Advert for second CU store is out today at their Facebook page...

Posted by moneytree88 > 2021-04-26 22:16 | Report Abuse

Yes. Saw it too

Scylla

676 posts

Posted by Scylla > 2021-04-28 00:54 | Report Abuse

7eleven still win this.

Analyser

62 posts

Posted by Analyser > 2021-05-03 13:59 | Report Abuse

anyone still holding this?

profitgrow

773 posts

Posted by profitgrow > 2021-05-03 16:00 | Report Abuse

Me holding for my dear life. Target price RM1.30

MoneyShow3

538 posts

Posted by MoneyShow3 > 2021-05-03 21:40 | Report Abuse

Still holding, buying and confident of the prospects. CU at 1.50....2nd store and more opening soon. Ready the story of how the speed mart 99 boss went from 2 stores to 1500 speed mart 99 stores with turnover exceeding 1bil...

Speed in quickly opening more CU stores is vital, they keep advertising to hire more ppl, so believe more stores opening.... Keep collecting.. CU at 1.50

Posted by notailcatt0 > 2021-05-04 09:35 | Report Abuse

I would say this is a long run not few months or years. CU is a bonus use leg to think u also know this will make money.
I like the transformation on mynews, if u ever shopping at their new store supervalue or maru concept b4, at least i see their effort on changes and doing something to compete with others instead of the forever same 7E

Analyser

62 posts

Posted by Analyser > 2021-05-04 12:34 | Report Abuse

problem is mynews is just like 7eleven. no excitement, in fact i think 7eleven has better reputation.

CU only 2 stores plus in the middle of severe pandemic with next wave coming. i don't see how it will be profitable in 2 years time at least. 99speedmart also take so many years to be successful, CU is going to need more time plus it's at a disadvantage bcz in the middle of pandemic right now, it may take longer

Posted by Sioksiok19 > 2021-05-04 16:24 | Report Abuse

All retail businesses affected by rising covid cases and extended MCO. Too bad.

Analyser

62 posts

Posted by Analyser > 2021-05-04 16:36 | Report Abuse

maybe a good company. maybe good prospects. but would rather wait things out a bit more first to see how severe is the next Covid wave. no rush at this moment as i do not foresee exceptionally good results in the next few quarters with only 1 -2 CU stores open at the moment.

Posted by vincent cym > 2021-05-04 18:59 | Report Abuse

second CU @ bandar puteri puchong replacing mynews

Analyser

62 posts

Posted by Analyser > 2021-05-04 19:15 | Report Abuse

MCO to be implemented in Selangor where all the current CU stores operate. Invest with caution.

https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2021/05/04/covid-19-mco-in-six-districts-in-selangor-from-may-6-17

MoneyShow3

538 posts

Posted by MoneyShow3 > 2021-05-04 22:58 | Report Abuse

2nd outlet coming... Power up.. MCO still allows work and for everyone to go out and buy food... Think abt this... Restaurants cannot have dine in only tapau... So if given a choice, puchong folks might flock to CU at Bandar Puteri... Puchong and subang famous for queuing during the bubble tea craze...

268k Oxford astrazeneca vaccine doses taken up by KL and Selangor folks.. Matter of 2 mths to revert to new norms and within 6 months pretty much heading for recovery
... Keep opening CU outlets and best of all replacing non performing Mynews ones... Subang and KL next...

Posted by abang_misai > 2021-05-05 06:35 | Report Abuse

This is a superb move by management. They are now aware that some their Mynews outlets are “dead” and shall be closed for good. Replace with CU is very smart and this is what investors want to see.

Keep opening CU outlets and best of all replacing non performing Mynews ones... Subang and KL next...

Posted by Intrinsic99 > 2021-05-05 07:47 | Report Abuse

Slow process to revamp

Expected another 4 quarters unable to turn profitable

Expected cash call via private placement or right issue

Sell call by target price RM 0.50

MoneyShow3

538 posts

Posted by MoneyShow3 > 2021-05-05 16:09 | Report Abuse

Open an additional store share move 3sen....open 50 CU stores.... CU at rm1.50..

More to come and they will learn, after the first few, it'll become easier to add on more.

Analyser

62 posts

Posted by Analyser > 2021-05-06 18:11 | Report Abuse

ur calculation is wrong. every store CU opens, it will incur losses due to capex required. it will breakeven after a few years per store.

meaning, every store CU open, the higher the losses it will have to incur in the coming quarters.

amateurJR

2,366 posts

Posted by amateurJR > 2021-05-06 18:12 | Report Abuse

Aiya this counter i run too fast d. Cant believe it up till so high.

MoneyShow3

538 posts

Posted by MoneyShow3 > 2021-05-06 21:02 | Report Abuse

Capex is a balance sheet item and depreciated over min 3 to 5 yrs.. Every new store would contribute to revenue and profits. The right locations help liquidate inventory..

For CU stores they shld keep pushing and opening quicker... Its a brand that sells

CU at 1.50

profitgrow

773 posts

Posted by profitgrow > 2021-05-10 08:51 | Report Abuse

run for your life... cut loss if can...