MYNEWS HOLDINGS BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): MYNEWS (5275)

-0.005 (0.95%)

0.51 - 0.52

1,857 comment(s). Last comment by Gabriel Khoo 3 days ago

Valgrovest

1,237 posts

Posted by Valgrovest > 2021-06-30 16:17 | Report Abuse

Seems challenging for this co...am staying sideline for the time being. Come back later when I see rainbow.

DannyArcher

1,258 posts

Posted by DannyArcher > 2021-06-30 18:03 | Report Abuse

Maybank Research predicts Phase 2 will be around mid July.
https://ibb.co/qNMN3D5

Which I agrees.
How long more can business sustain without opening.
Soon you'll see people riot liao.
Whatever it is, the gov will gradually open up because they have no choice.

Life will go on.
By September, you'll again see many people que outside CU Stores again.
That is my take.

Good luck.

MoneyShow3

538 posts

Posted by MoneyShow3 > 2021-07-01 01:19 | Report Abuse

Take que from the steel counters... Most lost money during the MCO but you see strong recovery... Same here. Mynews cut down unprofitable stores and the best indicator is when things are slow and stores which drag the group down, close it shut as what they did. No better data. Stores which are profitable during the Pandemic will be even better after.... Convert to CU for super performance.... Only measure now is speed... Speed in execution, making tough decisions... This counter can spike up 12 to 17sen per day and I have seen it a few times dy..... Buyers buy and keep.... Keep the speculative play out and deliver.... CU at 1.50

Analyser

62 posts

Posted by Analyser > 2021-07-01 09:46 | Report Abuse

anyone has any idea if CU stores still have queue now?

Posted by InsiderShark > 2021-07-01 12:31 | Report Abuse

Of course no que lah. If you see got que and only decided to buy, that time already fly liao. either you take some risk or none.

Analyser

62 posts

Posted by Analyser > 2021-07-01 15:31 | Report Abuse

No queue, then there you go, there is your answer. It's a hype.

Also please compare the number of Insta followers CU vs FamilyMart. You will be surprised.

MiaoMiao7

449 posts

Posted by MiaoMiao7 > 2021-07-01 17:21 | Report Abuse

Then you have to compare the number of outlets. 300 vs 1, the other 4 opened days before the lockdown.

Everything is a hype, people buy based on future potential, not what is hot now.

MoneyShow3

538 posts

Posted by MoneyShow3 > 2021-07-01 17:51 | Report Abuse

Yes and the problem is that if everyone suddenly buys the price spikes very fast. CU opening more stores and hopefully by Aug they have 10 stores running. Actually their mynews Supervalue stores also doing well...

CU at 1.50, collecting mode..

Posted by InsiderShark > 2021-07-02 01:42 | Report Abuse

Download the report from Bursa Market Place. TP is not always accurate, invest with your own judgment. If you're investing for the future in 5 years time, then this might be a good bet, not a sure bet but good bet we all can understand.

Maybank TP RM0.94 | June 28, 2021
Kenanga TP RM0.95 | June 28, 2021
RHB TP RM1.20 | June 28, 2021
CIMB TP RM0.91 | June 29, 2021
AMBank TP RM1.18 | June 29, 2021

Posted by OldWiseMan100 > 2021-07-02 10:43 | Report Abuse

market is forward looking, everyone is numb with this lockdown thing. nobody cares anymore, just buy if you think you will see super long que once things goes back to semi-normal or normal.

Posted by OldWiseMan100 > 2021-07-02 20:14 | Report Abuse

General Public has 5.3% only.
The rest are own by big institution or insider.

https://ibb.co/5GSz4kd

Posted by OldWiseMan100 > 2021-07-03 14:58 | Report Abuse

Sure, they are losing money now. Sure, MCO will greatly effect their business. They dont have huge debt, and in an interview with an IB, they've already said a few bankers are ready to loan them money. Their debt is moderate to low, thus unlikely to PP. Their receivable is not even high.

The right question is, do you see super long q next year this time when the pandemic is under control? WHO projected we will have 80% of Malaysian vaccinated by the end of this year.

Bgt 9963

7,445 posts

Posted by Bgt 9963 > 2021-07-05 07:39 |

31,553 posts

Posted by stockraider > 2021-07-05 08:05 | Report Abuse

Lousy lah...say my news...but want to buy star paper from them....cannot get...bcos they never carry loh...!!

That means lousy loh....pls do not call themselves mynews malu mah!

They only sell tit bits snack loh!

MoneyShow3

538 posts

Posted by MoneyShow3 > 2021-07-06 00:49 | Report Abuse

Vaccination rate going strong... Germany is open again and u see ppl starting to spend. Msia in 2 mths will be stronger and by then hopefully more CU outlets. Never knw when this counter will spring back to 1.20....cu at 1.50

Posted by tongtamarat > 2021-07-06 00:52 | Report Abuse

our vaccine supply still uncertain....

Posted by tongtamarat > 2021-07-06 00:53 | Report Abuse

KUALA LUMPUR (June 25): MyNews Holdings Bhd's net loss widened further to RM10.32 million in the second quarter ended April 30, 2021 (2QFY21) — the largest quarterly loss since it was listed in 2016, compared with RM8.94 million in the preceding quarter.

Quarterly revenue, however, increased 5.37% to RM103.94 million against RM98.65 million in 1QFY21.

On a yearly basis, the convenience store chain operator’s net loss was substantially wider against net loss of RM2.33 million a year ago.

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/mynews-posts-biggest-quarterly-loss-2qfy21-amid-lockdown

Posted by Lstoretech6 > 2021-07-06 00:54 | Report Abuse

how about DIY? and KK maybe?

Posted by OldWiseMan100 > 2021-07-06 19:38 | Report Abuse

@tongtamarat

Nice try, you want the price to go down so that you can buy. Not smart. If your 1 comment can move the price, then this stock is not worth the value it is. dont waste your time, market too big for you to move.

Posted by OldWiseMan100 > 2021-07-07 00:26 | Report Abuse

Now on average 300K get vaccinated per day, 200K first dose. If 200K x 30 days, this means 6 million people will get vaccinated with their first dose. As for now, 20% already on their first dose, this means by end of the month, 12 million people would have gotten their first dose, which is good enough, that is about 40% of the population.

I am predicting by end of August we will have more than 50% vaccinated with 1st dose, and if we do win the Olympic gold medal for badminton with the promising new rising star, our country will go into positive mood.

Dollar cost averaging is still the best strategy, do it gradually. leave 20% cash. The future is bright.

DannyArcher

1,258 posts

Posted by DannyArcher > 2021-07-08 20:12 | Report Abuse

@newbie8080

Same goes with UK and Israel with their western vaccine. The goal is not to stop the virus, it is already too late, the pandemic will become endemic, this means we have to live with it. Soon, the goal is not how many are infected, the goal is to reduce death, which can be seen with the huge drop in death in UK and Isreal.

- Vaccine will not get rid of the virus, it will become a seasonal flu
- We will have to live with the virus, that is a fact.
- Goal is to reduce death and not overloading the health care system.

DannyArcher

1,258 posts

Posted by DannyArcher > 2021-07-09 10:09 | Report Abuse

Slow and steady win the race. Malaysia’s daily Covid-19 vaccination rate climbs to fresh high of 376,909 doses on July 8.

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/node/575791?

At this rate, we'll reach 50% first dose before September.

Posted by InsiderShark > 2021-07-10 09:58 | Report Abuse

https://www.malaymail.com/news/malaysia/2021/07/09/khairy-10pc-of-malaysias-population-fully-vaccinated-against-covid-19/1988655

- He said by the end of August, Malaysia will achieve 30 to 40 per cent of the population fully vaccinated to observe a decline in the death rates based on the world data.

- We're entering Phase 2 on July 15th.

Posted by InsiderShark > 2021-07-10 22:01 | Report Abuse

We can't be in lockdown forever
we will beat covid eventually.
revenge spending and sudden huge demand will bounce back very quickly

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KAU3oV6Zhys

MoneyShow3

538 posts

Posted by MoneyShow3 > 2021-07-12 00:18 | Report Abuse

Govt is serious abt a full opening of the economy by August. I believe they can... Am already scheduled for the second dose nx week and I got this msg...

RM0 Lebih 14 juta vaksin akan tiba pada Julai dan jutaan janji temu sedang diberikan untuk bulan ini. Giliran anda bakal tiba. Lindung Diri, Lindung Semua

Mynews keep pushing more CU stores... Get to 20 by Sept... CU at 1.50.

A lot of PE funds now buying into retail chain but they are looking for a wider number of outlets...

Posted by LongTermInvestor8 > 2021-07-12 01:27 | Report Abuse

This is not a buy or sell call. There is a squeeze going on, and from a technical point of view, it hits the support line on friday and will gradually go up this week.

https://ibb.co/tmSb1MY

Posted by LongTermInvestor8 > 2021-07-12 10:50 | Report Abuse

Malaysia's health chief says daily Covid-19 cases will drop in coming weeks

https://www.straitstimes.com/asia/se-asia/malaysias-health-chief-says-daily-covid-19-cases-will-drop-in-coming-weeks

MiaoMiao7

449 posts

Posted by MiaoMiao7 > 2021-07-12 21:00 | Report Abuse

No Private placement, no rights issue. Their debt level is moderate. Gradual opening up in mid or end of July.

Low cash balance not a big deal. With pre-existing debt facilities yet to be drawn down from, as well as numerous debt offers from banks, the group believes that it will not run into significant issues with its current cash holdings.

Source: AmInvest Research - 29 Jun 2021

MoneyShow3

538 posts

Posted by MoneyShow3 > 2021-07-13 01:24 | Report Abuse

Js keep the expansion strategy strong... CU will bounce back stronger...

Bgt 9963

7,445 posts

Posted by Bgt 9963 > 2021-07-13 08:47 |

profitgrow

773 posts

Posted by profitgrow > 2021-07-14 10:54 | Report Abuse

CU at RM2

MoneyShow3

538 posts

Posted by MoneyShow3 > 2021-07-20 03:23 | Report Abuse

CU at rm2, more stores pls. Sept boost time, October herd Immunity...only a matter of weeks to pickup cheap

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2021-07-21 16:03 | Report Abuse

The important part is how much real estate they own instead of cash flow. Even if they do not make money during these hard times, how much return will they get on RE?

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2021-07-21 20:34 | Report Abuse

Neutral on MyNews. Price target: RM0.9 Good company nonetheless. Decent investment opportunities but not a turnaround company for sure

MoneyShow3

538 posts

Posted by MoneyShow3 > 2021-07-30 00:49 | Report Abuse

Breakout soon, would start the recovery play in Aug... CU at Rm1. 50

bose00

1,034 posts

Posted by bose00 > 2021-08-01 13:35 | Report Abuse

Matter of time.. vaccination picking up ..

MoneyShow3

538 posts

Posted by MoneyShow3 > 2021-08-04 00:41 | Report Abuse

Malaysia has the highest daily vaccination rate I. APAC.. Hope mynews can speed up opening more CU stores quicker. At least 20 cu stores by year end.

profitgrow

773 posts

Posted by profitgrow > 2021-08-04 11:46 | Report Abuse

Construction / renovation is not in MITI list....

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2021-08-11 06:07 | Report Abuse

Better recovery trade than Genting/Airline

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2021-08-11 06:09 | Report Abuse

Hopefully CU brand would help MyNews's in-house food production centre and return to the black in the next earnings. Will soon restore investor confidence once we see better earnings. -1.2 EPS estimates

Bgt 9963

7,445 posts

Posted by Bgt 9963 > 2021-08-11 08:41 |

MoneyShow3

538 posts

Posted by MoneyShow3 > 2021-08-12 00:20 | Report Abuse

Shld announce more CU stores opening...

Bgt 9963

7,445 posts

Posted by Bgt 9963 > 2021-08-12 07:56 |

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2021-08-12 14:31 | Report Abuse

No, they don't need to open CU stores. Just prepare for transition into economic reopening.

MoneyShow3

538 posts

Posted by MoneyShow3 > 2021-08-18 02:13 | Report Abuse

Malaysia
There have been approximately*
28,661,587vaccine doses
administered for COVID-19 in Malaysia, currently at rate of about 5.32/second or 459,798 each day. That is about 88.6 doses per hundred people (~32.37 million). At this rate, Malaysia could have 70% of people vaccinated (2 doses) in 36 days (or by Sep 22, 2021).

Bgt 9963

7,445 posts

Posted by Bgt 9963 > 2021-08-18 08:52 |