PERAK TRANSIT BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): PTRANS (0186)

+0.005 (0.70%)

0.705 - 0.715

7 people like this.

11,508 comment(s). Last comment by Peace99 5 days ago

anthonytkh

1,802 posts

Posted by anthonytkh > 2022-12-08 16:55 | Report Abuse

Obviously we would like to see the agreement but, well, there you go…

I’m super curious why the company chose this diversification path instead of expanding on their core business…. perhaps they know they’re very unlikely to penetrate other states when it comes to bus terminals with retail recurring income. Why not look further into what they’re really doing (real estate with recurring rental income by acquiring yield accretive industrial assets)? Just thinking….

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-12-08 17:21 | Report Abuse

Hi Tony, I spent a bit of time this morning delving into what possibilities the recent announcement can perhaps offer.
Without knowing what's in the Agreement we can only speculate, however a few things caught my attention.

From the announcement......"On Site Services is desirous of procuring a standardised design and common pricing for the supply, construction and commissioning for build-to-suit sites, colocation upgrades, managed service sites and other related work for its operations in Malaysia (“Project”)."

Also......"to provide the scope of works as specified in the Responsibility Matrix, Scope of Work & Technical Specifications, Design Optimisation as stipulated in the Agreement in respect of each order made or commissioned by On Site Services (via a Purchase Order issued by On Site Services) together with all accompanying warranty, maintenance, support and services based on the terms and conditions of the Agreement."

So can we assume from those two extracts from the announcement that edotco no longer want to build the towers and that the work goes to another company (PTrans) to build and maintain the sites, although the towers would still be owned by edotco. If that is the case, then it opens up an opportunity for a fairly substantial business moving forward.

When you look at the current number of towers/sites they own and the amount they want to establish over the upcoming years it is very substantial indeed.

I'd suggest reading their Malaysian website to see the significance of the numbers they are looking at installing.
https://edotcogroup.com/malaysia

"With a portfolio of over 19,000 towers and managed sites, we have developed our built-to-suit and co-location offerings to enable telecommunications providers to efficiently meet their growing infrastructure requirements."

Of course, the devil is in the detail, so hopefully the company will give out more information as this is being established.

anthonytkh

1,802 posts

Posted by anthonytkh > 2022-12-08 17:28 | Report Abuse

Tree, edotco/Axiata has about 50% of the telecom towers. Wait lemme go thru my browsing history for that Yahoo article…

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-12-08 17:41 | Report Abuse

Tony, you asked........"I’m super curious why the company chose this diversification path instead of expanding on their core business".

The company states at the end of yesterday's announcement......."The entry into the Agreement by PTRANS Resources allows PTRANS to provide construction and engineering services to On Site Services for the construction of telecommunication towers. This is in line with PTRANS’ strategy to pursue new business opportunities to increase the Group’s revenue stream and enhance the Group’s profitability. The Agreement also allows the Group to diversify its earning base and reduce dependency on existing businesses".

Also, it was mentioned in a Q&A earlier this year by PTrans that once Bidor is completed, the final Terminal Project will be started at Tronoh. They stated that they would be concentrating more on upgrading and managing existing bus terminals that are owned by local authorities as part of their longer term business plans.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-12-08 17:46 | Report Abuse

Thanks for that, Tony.

anthonytkh

1,802 posts

Posted by anthonytkh > 2022-12-08 18:15 | Report Abuse

We’ll see what new ideas Eddie implanted into Cheong (and vice versa, obviously) and the discussions between the two. Both are Perak fellas. It’s very obvious to me that this started quite awhile back, way back before the PP; they’d been talking and we can ignore the Edge article that Cheong basically said he knows Eddie but divulge nothing else. Clear sign to me both have had coffee way more than once

Someone here posted about the possible connection between Opcom/Eddie and PTrans based on earlier announcement… low profile stock thread here without the usual nonsensical ones with huge volumes with no reason… it should be just one page back I think

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-12-08 18:32 | Report Abuse

Yeah, it could be an interesting time for PTrans over the mid to longer term.

Keep doing what they are doing and making good profit with other possibilities along the way.
I suspect it wont be dull and boring :)

anthonytkh

1,802 posts

Posted by anthonytkh > 2022-12-08 18:43 | Report Abuse

What we want is a company with growth potential in terms of profits without negatively affecting fundamentals

If you look at Texchem, you’ll see they achieved the same thing as Ptrans : record breaking profits

But Texchem share price plunged after their last quarterly. I know why. I explained it in a Telegram groupchat

I don’t want the same thing happening to Ptrans

But the bosses ain’t no short term. Bosses are rich and patient. Retailers like us ain’t both

Jerung

278 posts

Posted by Jerung > 2022-12-09 09:29 | Report Abuse

Yeah breach rm1.3 this week hope can maintain :)

Hwai Hooi

2,249 posts

Posted by Hwai Hooi > 2022-12-09 09:43 | Report Abuse

yes as u wish broken 1.3

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-12-09 09:53 | Report Abuse

Good morning, Jerung.

The technicals are still intact. If you recall, I did a technical analysis 4 weeks ago and it appears to be playing out. Here's an extract from that post.........

"Scenario 1: TP1 1.22, followed by TP2 1.34.
Scenario 2: TP1 1.23 followed by TP 1.30.
Scenario 3: TP1 1.24, followed by TP 1.32.

Summarised at TP1 between 1.22 and 1.24.
TP2 between 1.30 and 1.34.

For any of this to happen, we'd need to see a break of 1.13 and 1.16.......with support holding at 1.05."

So, the 1.05 support held, although very briefly touched 1.03 intraday on the same day. No big deal there are most stocks overshoot the runway when going up or down. I backed my 1.05 call and topped up with some at 1.05, although it did drop to 1.03 that day.

On the upside, the 1.22 to 1.24 area was hit, then eventually broke to the upside.

Now we are currently in TP2 area, 1.30 to 1.34. So obviously it needs to break 1.34 to move upwards.

If it does that, then the next price point would be around 1.38-1.39.

Cheers.

Jerung

278 posts

Posted by Jerung > 2022-12-09 09:55 | Report Abuse

Thanks @Tree for Ur deep research and all contributions in this gp, Blessed Weekend

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-12-09 09:57 | Report Abuse

Thanks, Jerung........same to you.

Hwai Hooi

2,249 posts

Posted by Hwai Hooi > 2022-12-09 10:52 | Report Abuse

1.34 touch

Hwai Hooi

2,249 posts

Posted by Hwai Hooi > 2022-12-09 11:42 | Report Abuse

lost control

bowls

131 posts

Posted by bowls > 2022-12-09 14:12 | Report Abuse

@TreeTopView, appreciate your insights!

anthonytkh

1,802 posts

Posted by anthonytkh > 2022-12-09 17:08 | Report Abuse

Boss busy taking care of family. Good day for a Friday

jinvest13

216 posts

Posted by jinvest13 > 2022-12-09 17:43 | Report Abuse

Ya, Thanks to Anthonytkh and Tree top view too. Contributed lots of valuable information and keep it up. Great job.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-12-09 18:31 | Report Abuse

Eddie the Eagle flies in again.

DATO' ONG CHOO MENG (a substantial shareholder) acquired 775,000 shares on 08-Dec-2022.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-12-09 18:40 | Report Abuse

A nice day today, although someone was a bit too enthusiastic in the morning session.

I missed most of the afternoon session due to "Pants off, Friday". No, it's not what you are thinking, it's more to do with friends, food and drinkies for a long lunch after a hard week's work :)

I might post more tomorrow on my thoughts about today......just a bit too weary right now............yes, the effects of a "Pants off, Friday".

I highly recommend it :)

anthonytkh

1,802 posts

Posted by anthonytkh > 2022-12-09 19:54 | Report Abuse

Don’t post more tmrw, Tree ;)

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-12-10 08:09 | Report Abuse

ok

Jerung

278 posts

Posted by Jerung > 2022-12-12 09:22 | Report Abuse

Good Morning PT comrades hope can break 1.4 this week

Jerung

278 posts

Posted by Jerung > 2022-12-12 09:39 | Report Abuse

@Tree @Anthony can shed some light why shoot up so high suddenly on Friday n stable at 1.35 , noobs here :)

anthonytkh

1,802 posts

Posted by anthonytkh > 2022-12-14 16:41 | Report Abuse

Jerung, regarding your question about last Friday’s price action : Well, the market was good that day. And boss Cheong 100% took paper profit by transferring his placement shares from one account to two others. And, of course, folks noticed Eddie bought a bit more the day before (the 8th)

Jerung

278 posts

Posted by Jerung > 2022-12-14 17:15 | Report Abuse

Thanks @Anthony , today deep, hope tomorrow better

anthonytkh

1,802 posts

Posted by anthonytkh > 2022-12-14 17:49 | Report Abuse

Oops, I meant from two accounts to one. My bad. Not really important for us but for Cheong

There will be profit taking. It’s actually not too bad today

Just a note also that I never “hope”. I invest and I trade my investment. This is on a regular basis on several counters. I follow the funds (which don’t seem to be in PTrans).

6,090 posts

Posted by Michael Kwok > 2022-12-14 18:04 | Report Abuse

There months late 2021 to early year 2022 i talk bout ptrans 50-60 cents range.wah now double.

6,090 posts

Posted by Michael Kwok > 2022-12-14 18:07 | Report Abuse

Price rm 1.29.sell on strength.
Tp 90 cents range.
If market very bad 70 cents range.
14/12/22 6.07pm.

Peace99

2,237 posts

Posted by Peace99 > 2022-12-19 07:36 | Report Abuse

Have been sleeping well with my investment in Ptrans. But now wondering how it will acquire ability to build electric towers?

jluck

36 posts

Posted by jluck > 2022-12-19 11:13 | Report Abuse

Peace, I think should be telecommunications not electric.

Jerung

278 posts

Posted by Jerung > 2022-12-19 12:42 | Report Abuse

momentum going up come again

Peace99

2,237 posts

Posted by Peace99 > 2022-12-19 13:07 | Report Abuse

@jluck, Oops, my mistake, thank you! Hope some one can tell how Ptrans plans to acquire the ability to build those towers

Peace99

2,237 posts

Posted by Peace99 > 2022-12-19 13:08 | Report Abuse

Once I know more, may want to buy more!

jluck

36 posts

Posted by jluck > 2022-12-20 19:08 | Report Abuse

Peace, you may refer to Anthony and Tree comments regarding the topic.

Jerung

278 posts

Posted by Jerung > 2022-12-22 08:09 | Report Abuse

Wow Opcom purchase TJE will it help PTrans for the network towers

Peace99

2,237 posts

Posted by Peace99 > 2022-12-22 08:57 | Report Abuse

Jerung, i think the purchase of TJE by Opcom whose 2nd largest share holder is Eddie Ong answers my worry.... Thanks!

jluck, indeed i also find Anthony and Tree comments very helpful...thank you all!
I will continue my investment into Ptrans, topping up more when possible!!

Peace99

2,237 posts

Posted by Peace99 > 2022-12-22 09:16 | Report Abuse

Perhaps Ptrans will engage TJE to build the communication towers, eg small ones at bus stops through out Perak and beyond!

Peace99

2,237 posts

Posted by Peace99 > 2022-12-22 15:12 | Report Abuse

Correction: i said above Eddie Ong is 2nd largest, sorry, should be largest i think!

Peace99

2,237 posts

Posted by Peace99 > 2022-12-22 15:15 | Report Abuse

https://www.nperf.com/en/map/5g
Not familiar with the 5g coverage, I check the above website. It shows Perak is currently not well covered...meaning so much room for growth! Any comment?

anthonytkh

1,802 posts

Posted by anthonytkh > 2022-12-22 18:13 | Report Abuse

I want to post something but then Tree hasn’t been posting maybe coz I asked him not to and so I will not post anything :D

Peace99

2,237 posts

Posted by Peace99 > 2022-12-22 19:58 | Report Abuse

I hope you and Tree will further share your views.... people might be concerned as Ptrans is taking on a new challenge

jiajin98

15 posts

Posted by jiajin98 > 2022-12-23 08:56 | Report Abuse

Aiya that time sold too early...

anthonytkh

1,802 posts

Posted by anthonytkh > 2022-12-23 17:47 | Report Abuse

Peace, it’s not really a “new challenge”

It’s what both parties call a “Master Framework Agreement”. Nothing really concrete at this stage as far as I know. I had posted before I would’ve like to read the agreement but Ptrans knew there was no need nor requirement to reveal the agreement. Meh. The crafting of the announcement is quite clever but two things stood out for me in the announcement (which I’ll keep to myself)

Like I have said, I’m not too enthusiastic about this new venture. I’d also posted my curiosity regarding it, why Ptrans possibly see limitations with regards to expanding on their core biz as well as “I dunno wtf Cheong and Eddie have in mind” (way way paraphrased for the last bit haha)

Peace99

2,237 posts

Posted by Peace99 > 2023-01-04 10:14 | Report Abuse

Tony, am now ok with Ptrans's entry into comm tower business cos installation not so complicated it seems. Need many towers cos 5G is short-range. see https://www.lifewire.com/5g-cell-towers-4584192

Peace99

2,237 posts

Posted by Peace99 > 2023-01-04 10:17 | Report Abuse

5 G box can be on bus stops. See www.acma.gov.au/eme-5g-and-you

Peace99

2,237 posts

Posted by Peace99 > 2023-01-04 10:18 | Report Abuse

We are seeing ppl are starting to convert warrant to mother and this may explain the southward movements....But will be northward once the tower business kick in? In any case, am keeping my trust in the company since 2020!
Wishing us a prosperous 2023!!