Posted by canu63 > 2012-12-07 11:16 | Report Abuse

when there is a down turn who gets the hammer....the sifus Chong, Cp teh, Ooi and the Q will build up. which might include Kc loh and others. but when the market is bull OMG new advisors grow. my hats out to KC loh he is still runing strong. you have my vote. just observing.

91 comment(s). Last comment by alexisvics 2012-12-09 21:21

Posted by kcchongnz > 2012-12-07 16:29 | Report Abuse

Yeah, I love call warrants, big risk big return. But one really must understand it, and not just simply tembak, then one may have a slightly higher probability of winning. Things like premium, leverage, implied volatility, liquidity etc are important. Because it is a leverage instrument, one can either use it for punting, or even as an investment risk management. Risk management in the sense that if you are not greedy, your outlay is small, but can get the same amount of return as the underlying share, if the underlying share price moves in your favour. If the underlying share price moves against you, the maximum you lose is your small outlay.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2012-12-07 16:33 | Report Abuse

But I still think Ooi gives the best observations so far regarding dabbling in the share market. I stress again everybody should once a while be reminded about his observations.

Posted by KC Loh > 2012-12-07 16:33 | Report Abuse

world and olympic records are meant to be broken like Sergei has been able to task! Glad to have kcchongnz blaze this way for us in call warrants! brave men will get great returns. No wonder my bro MC has turned to the dark side of the Force!

me? i am still chicken! capital preservation is my utmost priority! easier said than done! :(

Posted by tonylim > 2012-12-07 16:38 | Report Abuse

kcchong, yes, the 11 categories is very refreshing for old hecks like me

Posted by kcchongnz > 2012-12-07 16:39 | Report Abuse

Without punting call warrant, share market is boring. However, 90% of my capital is in Ooi's category of small FA stocks for long term investment. Hope what Ooi said about this type of stocks is correct. But seriously thinking about it, I think what Ooi said about this return from small FA stocks is true, in my experience.

11,053 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2012-12-07 16:40 | Report Abuse

Dear Kcchongnz,

I still like to hear your comment on L&G Bhd from FA point of view.

Appreciate your feedback.

Thank you,

Posted by tonylim > 2012-12-07 16:41 | Report Abuse

kcchong, care to share the small caps in your sheep pen?

Posted by kcchongnz > 2012-12-07 16:44 | Report Abuse

Ooi, sorry, I have never looked at L&G before. And you know what, I am just a small time retail investor. I have little information like what those analysts have. But since you asked about it, there must be something in this stocks. I will look at it one day. My hobby is try to search for value stock anyway. But again what i can get is just public informtion only. I doubt it will be much help to you.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2012-12-07 16:49 | Report Abuse

tonylim, I ask you to give me your email address before but you didn't give a damn at all. How to share with you? Very long writeup one.

Posted by tonylim > 2012-12-07 16:50 | Report Abuse

ooops sorry sir, junjun40@gmail.com

passerby

2,877 posts

Posted by passerby > 2012-12-07 16:52 | Report Abuse

you must let fatcattimbuddy do that favor for you :)

Posted by KC Loh > 2012-12-07 16:52 | Report Abuse

LOL.....

Posted by tonylim > 2012-12-07 16:52 | Report Abuse

somebody forgot to by kfima today

11,053 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2012-12-07 16:53 | Report Abuse

Dear Kcchongnz,

Ok, please look at it when you are free.

Thank you for your help.

Best regards

Posted by tonylim > 2012-12-07 16:54 | Report Abuse

Ooi, whats the theme for monday?
Finance?

Posted by tonylim > 2012-12-07 16:57 | Report Abuse

I wont hold you responsible

11,053 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2012-12-07 16:59 | Report Abuse

Dear Tony,

I will reply you on Sunday. I am rushing to catch a flight to Penang now.

Posted by tonylim > 2012-12-07 17:17 | Report Abuse

Ooi, Have a good session.

Ram Cheong

450 posts

Posted by Ram Cheong > 2012-12-07 17:49 | Report Abuse

don hold any reponsibilty , next week theme o&g and rubber glove play lol

Posted by tonylim > 2012-12-07 17:50 | Report Abuse

r glove.. give me 3 counters, ram baaaaaaaaa

Posted by tonylim > 2012-12-07 17:51 | Report Abuse

ram means anak kambing right

Ram Cheong

450 posts

Posted by Ram Cheong > 2012-12-07 17:54 | Report Abuse

bapa kambing

Posted by tonylim > 2012-12-07 17:59 | Report Abuse

LOL

Ram Cheong

450 posts

Posted by Ram Cheong > 2012-12-07 18:01 | Report Abuse

r glove , kossan and supermax . ........... as i said don hold any responsibility

Posted by tonylim > 2012-12-07 18:04 | Report Abuse

aiya, dont worry la, baaaa
what is r glove? rubberex?

Posted by tonylim > 2012-12-07 18:04 | Report Abuse

I only got harta

pathew

2,028 posts

Posted by pathew > 2012-12-07 18:17 | Report Abuse

wah now got sifu corner ah... can i curi dengar from all the sifu here too?

Mr Ooi, love your summary of big winners and losers. Will keep in mind too :)

Kcchongz, got lubang on CW can share share abit ah?

Posted by kcchongnz > 2012-12-07 18:47 | Report Abuse

pathew, call warrants or company warrants are all leveraged derivatives and both offers good punts, although the expiry of the later is longer. You got your WCT Wb right? It still puzzles me why should there still a big discount of 6.4% for Wb at today's closing price of WCT and Wb at 2.34 and 34 sen respectively, even though Wb has gone up by 13.3% today. Some more the effective leverage is high at 6.5 times. You can read my comments on both the WCT and WCT Wb threads yesterday and today. Call warrants wise those in my radar are ijm cm, sime cr, Armada ck, Tenaga cw, Dialog cl. They are just trading at 1 or 2 sen, not overly high in premium, huge leverage, reasonable liquidity and best of all low implied volatility, and hence excellent for punting. The problem is the market now may not be conducive for this instrument because of the jittery of the impending general election. If you were to trade, don't be greedy and buy too much so that if you lose, you just lose the most a thousand or two for each counter. But the upside reward could be great, especially when there is a spike of volatility.

Posted by tonylim > 2012-12-07 22:31 | Report Abuse

Ooi the below is valuable.
Thanks so much

1.Buy good FA stocks and keep for at least 1 year - Winner
2.Buy small cap good FA stocks and walk away - Big Winner
3.Buy speculative stocks on Contra - Big loser until bankrupt
4.Buy stocks in margin account, never cut loss - Big loser
5.Buy stocks in margin account, take profit fast, cut loss slow - loser
6.Buy stocks strictly on TA - Small winner
7.Buy stocks base on FA, use TA to enter and exit - Big winner
8.Buy stocks and keep for a long period - Winner
9.Buy Blue chips and keep for a long period - Big Winner
10.Buy stocks fast, cut loss slow - Big loser
11.Buy FA or blue chips during bear market only - Big winner

Please check what type of investor you are.

Posted by tonylim > 2012-12-07 22:32 | Report Abuse

Aunloke
besides no. 8 are u also no. 6

pathew

2,028 posts

Posted by pathew > 2012-12-07 22:40 | Report Abuse

thank bro kcchongz!
will check it out on monday :)

richrich8

248 posts

Posted by richrich8 > 2012-12-07 22:46 | Report Abuse

thanks Ooi for sharing. I will print it big big and stick next to my work desk to remind not to make stupid mistake and loss money..

1.Buy good FA stocks and keep for at least 1 year - Winner
2.Buy small cap good FA stocks and walk away - Big Winner
3.Buy speculative stocks on Contra - Big loser until bankrupt
4.Buy stocks in margin account, never cut loss - Big loser
5.Buy stocks in margin account, take profit fast, cut loss slow - loser
6.Buy stocks strictly on TA - Small winner
7.Buy stocks base on FA, use TA to enter and exit - Big winner
8.Buy stocks and keep for a long period - Winner
9.Buy Blue chips and keep for a long period - Big Winner
10.Buy stocks fast, cut loss slow - Big loser
11.Buy FA or blue chips during bear market only - Big winner

Please check what type of investor you are.

Frank Soweto

Posted by Frank Soweto > 2012-12-08 02:38 | Report Abuse

I'm # Unlucky 13. Buy mixture of good mid/small cap fundamental stocks and some trouble ones that showing signs of turnaround.No contras,No margins,NO TA & No flavors of the day 4 me - Still Loser :(
oh sifus sifus where r u please help this useless long lost
forgotten student of yours so he wun continue to 'lat fu'
as everyone can see his 'si fatt' already! 'tink tink' 'wink wink' :)
oh on a more serious notes thanks for all the who take their time sharing valuable advice here for all. Cheers :)

Posted by Fat Cat Tim Buddy > 2012-12-08 03:03 | Report Abuse

7.Buy stocks base on FA, use TA to enter and exit - ORACLE of padini
( you know who i mean! :P )

Frank Soweto

Posted by Frank Soweto > 2012-12-08 03:12 | Report Abuse

haha Fatcat yaya Mr Padini H**i hehe :)

Posted by Raj Kumar Maharajah > 2012-12-08 14:04 | Report Abuse

can someone tell me whats FA, TA, small cap and contra ? Sorry still learning. Just joined yesterday

King Kong73

2,043 posts

Posted by King Kong73 > 2012-12-08 14:38 | Report Abuse

do yourself a favour raj..buy a book on stock market..there is plenty out there for beginners ..very useful..also subscribe to shareinvestment magazine..lots of useful data..there is no sifu here...just simple folks enjoying making money

11,053 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2012-12-08 20:00 |

Posted by tonylim > 2012-12-08 21:08 | Report Abuse

Thanks Ooi

canu63

123 posts

Posted by canu63 > 2012-12-09 13:10 | Report Abuse

many a time with my little experiance in trading I NOTICED that for those who have invested in a speculitive( I call it so cos we do not know the trend) stock like WCT or L&G and got stuck with it(going south),can't sell, the normal moto of these pecticular person or persons would/will make a lot of hoo haa with in public so that others would follow suite in buying it.making a mockery on the BAAaa syndrome.
tk

alexisvics

944 posts

Posted by alexisvics > 2012-12-09 21:21 | Report Abuse

To KC Loh:question"why you dont buy scomimr alexsvics? if you care to share"
Well, there is no reason.Just don like it. But if u hav any good advice
for this counter, I may consider to collect some. TQVM.