By developing your discipline and courage, you can refuse to let other people’s mood swings govern your financial destiny. In the end, how your investments behave is much less important than how you behave.
People who invest make money for themselves; people who speculate make money for their brokers. And that, in turn, is why Wall Street perennially downplays the durable virtues of investing and hypes the gaudy appeal of speculation.
We urge the beginner in security buying not to waste his efforts and his money in trying to beat the market. Let him study security values and initially test out his judgment on price versus value with the smallest possible sums.
The speculator’s primary interest lies in anticipating and profiting from market fluctuations. The investor’s primary interest lies in acquiring and holding suitable securities at suitable prices.
Buying Overvalue stock like Nestle, Dlady and Petdag are dumb speculation loh.....!!
Posted by 3iii > Sep 13, 2019 8:23 AM | Report Abuse
People who invest make money for themselves; people who speculate make money for their brokers. And that, in turn, is why Wall Street perennially downplays the durable virtues of investing and hypes the gaudy appeal of speculation.
CORRECTTLOH...BELOW IS WHAT RAIDER IS DOING FOR MARGIN OF SAFETY MAH..!! A GOOD EXAMPLE OF MARGIN OF SAFETY STOCK IS INSAS MAH...!! We urge the beginner in security buying not to waste his efforts and his money in trying to beat the market. Let him study security values and initially test out his judgment on price versus value with the smallest possible sums.
Mr. Market does not always price stocks the way an appraiser or a private buyer would value a business. Instead, when stocks are going up, he happily pays more than their objective value; and, when they are going down, he is desperate to dump them for less than their true worth.
(A good example: the despatch boy's buy and sell in Hengyuan.)
The best way to measure your investing success is not by whether you’re beating the market but by whether you’ve put in place a financial plan and a behavioral discipline that are likely to get you where you want to go.
stockraider only sohai will pay for stock like nestle PE 50x loh...!!
Posted by 3iii > Sep 13, 2019 8:30 AM | Report Abuse
Mr. Market does not always price stocks the way an appraiser or a private buyer would value a business. Instead, when stocks are going up, he happily pays more than their objective value; and, when they are going down, he is desperate to dump them for less than their true worth.
(A good example: the despatch boy's buy and sell in Hengyuan.) 13/09/2019 8:56 AM
Posted by stockraider > Sep 13, 2019 10:25 AM | Report Abuse
In this case Mr Market price wrongly Nestle, Dlady and Petdag, but yesterday woke up abit loh...!!
All the top 3 losers yesterday belong to sohai 3iii loh...!!
1. Dlady 2. Petdag 3. Nestle
All these are overvalue stocks mah....!!
Posted by 3iii > Sep 13, 2019 8:30 AM | Report Abuse
>>>>
The truth is raider has been so wrong on Nestle, DLady and Petdag the last decade.
raider is just dishonest.
We shall not discuss this further.
I am putting these 3 companies on hold forever for the next 20 years. Will monitor the fundamentals of their businesses though.
Hahahaha, Stockraider was right when hengyuan was reporting increasing profit. But now I suspect the China controlling shareholder is manipulating the book (buying of crude oil) and CAPEX cost. CFO just resign.
I reflected on this and realise there were very few occasions when I "panicked" in my investing. In fact, almost never panic. Very good reason. If the stocks are falling, I love them and buy more.
However, I enjoyed analysing the Mr. Market's manic-depressive activities in various stocks.
Hahahaha 3iii, I at least planted my feet on the ground and admit I do not know much about investing, prepare to learn and attend AGM to find out what I do not know for my-self straight from the horse’s mouth.
But for you 3iii, you seem to be aloft and out of touch with the ground in your ivory tower (My Golden Rule of Investing) keep preaching your Warren Buffet’s holding quality companies shares for long term play no matter whether it is now fully or over value.
Please tell me is Warren Buffett right in buying what he understands Heinz (bread and butter business) rather than something he do not know/refuse to learn: business dealing with internet of things/IR4.
Dear 3iii, My Golden Rule of Investing: “Companies that grow revenues and earnings will see share prices grow over time.”
May I ask, in order for company shares to deserve a PE of more than 50X what should be the yearly growth rate of revenues and earnings?
Do QL deserved PE of more than 50X with it past, current and projected growth rate? and with CAPEX more that the net profit? Long term borrowings (LT Debts/Total Equity): 30%
How many stocks have been promoted by calvin this year 2019 to date? 36 stocks in 2019 (excluding Carimin which was promoted in 26.1.2018)
Here is a summary of the results of his stock selections? 10 gainers 2 no change 25 losers
How good is his stock selections? 27% are gainers against 67% are losers. For every 3 stocks chosen by calvin, 1 is a winner and 2 are losers.
For calvin who has a portfolio of all or many these stocks, what do you think is his overall return of his portfolio? Do you think his portfolio value can grow at 100% a year(?), 50% a year(?), 10% a year(?), 0% a year(?) or even negative?
It is often interesting to analyse things with some objectivity, however little evidence maybe available.
How impressive is calvintan's stock selections?
Thanks to Philip for collating calvintan's stock selection which can be reviewed here: https://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/pfs/123029.jsp Philip's Watchlist: Calvin Tan followed portfolio per his recommendations 2019
Sorted out by Reference Date from Earliest to Most Recent
Wonderful to know raider, the despatch boy, can feel shame. This is good news, a massive improvement from some of obscenities he posted in the past. For this you will need to go back to his old posts in Hengyuan.
despatch boy no need buy share my despatch boy charges RM15.00 to RM18.00 per transaction to govt depts. got more than 100 transactions a day. Despatch boy makes more than RM1,500.00 per day one month he makes around RM40,000.00 goes around sending letters to govt departments wearing genuine rolex. tells other people his rolex is fake, just in case robbed.
Mind telling me what is the revenue and NP growth rate? Compare to Market price growth rate? Any reason why only recent years the share price increased to PE of 50+? Any to do with human behavior of Kiasu?
Blog Headlines (by Date) Blog Index 5 Mistakes that Most New Investors Make in Stock Investing - Ian Tai Author: Tan KW | Publish date: Sat, 14 Sep 2019, 1:42 PM
So, you want to make money from investing in the stock market?
That is awesome. Personally, I believe the stock market offers a safe channel for us to invest in shares of great businesses to build sustainable long-term wealth
But, with that being said, there are many pitfalls which might ensnare investors and thus, hindering them from building real wealth from the stock market. This often occur to new investors who have no idea about what stocks are, what the stock market is, and how money could be made safely from savvy investing.
In this article, I’ll reveal and discuss briefly what the pitfalls are so that you may avoid them. More importantly, through this write-up, you’ll learn more about a value investor in terms of his thinking and how he invests in the stock market.
Pitfall #1: Having No System Many people want to make money from the stock market. The quicker, the better. They have dreams and fantasies of how they would buy a certain stock at $1.00 and would sell them at $1.50, $2.00, … etc in a short period of time. Some even dream about owning multi-baggers.
But, don’t get me wrong. I am for dreams and visions. Nothing happens if none of us dream. So, please dare to dream big.
With that being said, many people want to make money. But, many ignored the importance of having a system to make money sustainably in the stock market. They do not have a system in place to sift out good stocks from bad ones which caused many to experience inconsistent investment results. How can one attain consistent results when he has both good and bad stocks?
People who like this
You should check in on some of those fields below.
Title
Category
Comment
Confirmation
Click Confirm to delete this Forum Thread and all the associated comments.
Report Abuse
Please Sign In to report this post as abuse.
Featured Posts
MQ Trader
Introducing MY's First IPO Fund for Sophisticated Investors!
MQ Chat
New Update. Discover investment communities that resonate with your ideas
MQ Trader
M & A Value Partners IPO Equity Fund has been launched - Targeted 13% Return p.a
Latest Videos
0:17
New IPO: Swift Energy Technology Berhad, an industrial automation and power systems provider, aims to list on the ACE Market!
MQ Trader 5456 views | 4 d ago
0:17
New IPO: Carlo Rino Group Berhad, a leading fashion retailer of women’s handbags, footwear, and accessories, aims to list on the ACE Market!
This book is the result of the author's many years of experience and observation throughout his 26 years in the stockbroking industry. It was written for general public to learn to invest based on facts and not on fantasies or hearsay....
Posted by 3iii > 2018-08-12 08:05 | Report Abuse
My Golden Rule of Investing: Companies that grow revenues and earnings will see share prices grow over time.