UMW HOLDINGS BHD

KLSE (MYR): UMW (4588)

Additional Listing

Ann. Date Date Type Units Price View
4 people like this. Showing 50 of 2,269 comments

ChloeTai

@syndicates, No, only estimate.

2023-10-31 14:12

ChloeTai

https://www.malaysiastock.biz/Company-Announcement.aspx?id=1518251
OK. All clear. EGM on 16 November 2023 immediately after AGM:

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN THAT an Extraordinary General Meeting (“EGM”) of Sime
Darby Berhad (“Company”) will be conducted virtually through live streaming from the broadcast venue at Function Room, Ground Floor, Menara Sime Darby, Oasis Corporate Park, Jalan PJU 1A/2, Ara Damansara, 47301 Petaling Jaya, Selangor Darul Ehsan, Malaysia on Thursday, 16 November 2023 at 12.30 p.m., or after the conclusion of the Seventeenth Annual General Meeting of the Company or at any adjournment thereof, whichever is later, for the purpose of considering and if thought fit, passing with or without any modification the following resolution:-
ORDINARY RESOLUTION PROPOSED ACQUISITION BY SIME DARBY ENTERPRISE SDN BHD (“SDESB”), AN INDIRECT WHOLLY-OWNED SUBSIDIARY OF SIME DARBY BERHAD (“SIME DARBY” OR “COMPANY”), OF 714,813,100 ORDINARY SHARES IN UMW HOLDINGS BERHAD (“UMW”) (“UMW SHARES”), REPRESENTING APPROXIMATELY 61.18% EQUITY INTEREST IN UMW FROM PERMODALAN NASIONAL BERHAD (“PNB”) AND AMANAHRAYA TRUSTEES BERHAD (“ART”) AS TRUSTEE FOR ITS UNIT TRUST FUNDS WHICH OWN UMW SHARES (COLLECTIVELY, THE “SELLERS”) FOR A TOTAL CASH CONSIDERATION OF RM3,574,065,500 (“PROPOSED ACQUISITION”) AND PROPOSED MANDATORY TAKE-OVER OFFER TO ACQUIRE ALL THE REMAINING UMW SHARES NOT ALREADY OWNED BY SDESB AND SIME DARBY SUBSEQUENT TO THE PROPOSED ACQUISITION (“PROPOSED MGO”) (THE PROPOSED ACQUISITION AND PROPOSED MGO ARE COLLECTIVELY REFERRED TO AS THE “PROPOSALS”).

2023-11-01 10:47

ChloeTai

@syndicates, Confirmed EGM on 16 November 2023, immediately after AGM over.

2023-11-01 11:32

ChloeTai

16.11.2023 - AGM/EGM (Next 21 days)
7.12.2023 - Notice of MGO (Mandatory General Offer)
28.12.2023 - Letter of MGO sent to UMW shareholders
21.1.2024 or 28.1.2024 onwards (maximum 8 weeks) Sime Darby gets at least 90% acceptance.

Money of selling the UMW shares to Sime Darby credited into shareholders' account. (After 10 days of acceptance).

2023-11-01 11:50

ChloeTai

Many would like to do it a save and simple way. Just sell at RM4.85 and say bye bye to UMW. Last time Oldtown White Coffee offered RM1.18 but the highest it could go was RM1.08. Many said bye bye to Oldtown at that price. Waiting for MGO offer letter and cash into our bank accounts are worrying matters.

2023-11-01 20:03

hw0706

If no mgo than share price down...

2023-11-02 05:10

All the best to those still invested in UMW...unfortunately not me! However, I managed to SELL my Teraoka in Japan after 2 limit ups, at ¥3,000 OVER & above the takeover level of ¥564, the BIGGEST payday in 2023(& the biggest since Nov 18, '21 when another of my Japan picks, Sekonic, was taken over)! There's always a possibility they will increase the price on a takeover attempt, as happened for my Mintye(2019), OldTown(2018), Selangor Ppties(2017) & M'sia Packaging(2016)! 🤗

2023-11-02 09:23

ChloeTai

Dear dompeilee, payment will be made after 10 days of acceptance. May I know is it 10 ordinary days or 10 market days?

2023-11-02 16:18

Dehcomic01

Prices may be going up. But although it has a good auto segment, its Group ROE has been struggling to be above 10% for many years. From an auto perspective, there are better Bursa auto companies to look at when considering the ROE. https://focusmalaysia.my/are-there-investment-opportunities-in-the-bursa-auto-sector/

2023-11-06 07:47

Dehcomic01

But look at its discrepancy between its ROE and share price. Would you consider that this is a catalyst for re-rating? https://i.postimg.cc/63XZ4JNK/UMW.png

2023-11-06 07:55

kokchengkai

not much story here ,RM5 is the maximum but mayb still have one more time dividen declare coming soon.anothe story going to begin in SIME ,sell healthcare asset lower down debts,AUTO sector bluechip to replace UMW in making bla bla bla

2023-11-07 13:30

Syndicates

https://theedgemalaysia.com/node/689179

Is this news too bad? Why become the most read article? And head title of Morning brief?

2023-11-08 06:51

ChloeTai

Sime Darby Acquisition of UMW is Inevitable

The merger of Sime Darby (SIME) and UMW (UMW) is a rare group marriage. Both are companies owned by Permodalan Nasional Bhd (PNB).

Among them, National Investment Corporation directly and indirectly holds 61.18% of UMW, which is the share Sime Darby wants to acquire; and this government-linked institution also directly and indirectly holds 42.84% of Sime Darby's shares.

Sime Darby proposed a cash acquisition of RM5 per share, which would cost approximately RM3.574 billion. It looks like money is transferred from the left pocket to the right pocket. There is no difference.

If this merger and acquisition is regarded as a large cash-out for PNB, once approved, PNB actually sold off the equity of a company and received a cash income of RM3.574 billion. At this time of economic instability, it will undoubtedly provide itself with a large amount of ammunition, which can serve as important equipment for offense and defense.

Not only that, UMW turned around and fell into the arms of Sime Darby. However, Sime Darby was controlled by National Investment Corporation, and the cash was withdrawn. The company's equity was still firmly controlled by itself (another subsidiary). This is killing-two-birds-with-one-stone plan is indeed a great one!

At the same time, Sime Darby can further propose a compulsory acquisition of UMW to increase its control. Whether the purchase price of RM5 from other retailers is fair or not is a matter of opinion. However, most retailers are reluctant to give up UMW. Because UMW's performance has been stable for a long time; and because its major shareholder, National Investment Corporation, is willing to receive dividends from UMW, UMW is generous in distributing dividends and its returns are higher than the average level. It is a high-quality stock that is loved by shareholders. share.
At this Thursday's (16th November 2023) EGM, shareholders will decide whether the acquisition will go ahead. National Investment Corporation and related persons will not be allowed to participate in the voting as they are related parties. In addition, the Provident Fund Board, as the major shareholder of the two companies (holding 14.77% of Sime Darby and 10.05% of UMW respectively), was also prohibited from voting, which became an episode in the merger. Therefore, retailers will play a key role in this merger and acquisition.

I still remember that 6 years ago (2017) Sime Darby proposed to split the company from one time-honored brand to three, holding plantation, property and other businesses respectively. This company with "other businesses" is still used today as "Sime Darby", which is also the protagonist of the merger and acquisition of UMW.

UMW owns the Toyota brand distribution rights and also holds a 38% stake in Perodua. After acquiring UMW, it is a full of fantasy whether Sime Darby will want to further get involved in Perodua.

In any case, once shareholders approve the resolution of the EGM, it is expected that the Provident Fund Board (14.77%) and the Pension Board 83.8% (7.84%) will also accept subscriptions, and Sime Darby’s shareholding will increase to 83.8%, leaving the delisted 90%. It is only a few cents away. If retailers want to refuse to accept the acquisition, they are afraid that they are not capable enough to do so.

2023-11-14 14:51

ChloeTai

I think the highest price it can go is 4.95/4.96.

2023-11-14 20:19

ultranippon18

Can ask if sime buy rm5 from pnb per share, why we individual share holders getting less ?

2023-11-15 19:25

kokchengkai

Ultranippon18 why u said u wil getting less than 5.00

2023-11-16 18:33

kokchengkai

KUALA LUMPUR (Nov 16): Sime Darby Bhd has obtained shareholders’ approval to buy a 61.18% stake in UMW Holdings Bhd for RM3.57 billion cash from Permodalan Nasional Bhd (PNB), and make a mandatory general offer (MGO) to acquire the remaining 38.82% stake for RM2.27 billion or RM5 per share.

At Thursday's extraordinary general meeting, 1,159 shareholders with 1.78 billion shares voted in favour of the deal, while 100 shareholders with 5.56 million shares voted against, according to Sime Darby’s disclosure to Bursa Malaysia.

This means shareholders who participated in the voting represented 26% of Sime Darby’s total share capital of 6.82 billion shares.

2023-11-17 01:25

soon9913

it is a confirmed deal whether you like it or not

2023-11-17 10:29

soon9913

hopefully they propose interim dividend before the privatisation!

2023-11-17 10:30

ChloeTai

On what conditions that it turns unconditional? Bplant turns unconditional by just LTAT sent a letter to Bplant. I thought after the approval of Sime Darby investors, it will turn unconditional straight away. There is no announcement made by Sime Darby that the acquisition of UMW turns unconditional.

2023-11-17 19:58

soon9913

target completion before CNY...

2023-11-21 16:00

soon9913

superb result ...! but privatised soon by Sime

2023-11-28 12:18

kokchengkai

soon9913 if u still like UMW ,can shift to SIME .
100% UMW profit wil go to SIME akaun later.

2023-11-28 13:04

Syndicates

something is fishy

2023-12-01 22:21

TanSriDato

not prawn?

2023-12-01 23:08

Rhenly

UMW Holdings Bhd achieved a notable 71.9% increase in net profit, reaching RM173.1 million, in Q3 2023. http://surl.li/nrnhx

2023-12-05 11:02

csan

Syndicates, yes. as they keep extending and extending the deadline, there must be some obstacle. on sime's side, all done. on umw's side, there's some problem we don't know.

2023-12-05 19:09

Syndicates

extending one week by one week instead of a longer period, it's like when your boss is asking for your work and you keep telling him almost finish, almost finish

2023-12-05 21:02

Syndicates

maybe one small ikan bilis supplier acting like kingmaker now. taking advantage to bargain

2023-12-05 21:05

hhhiii123

Rm5 receive, no more special dividend...

2023-12-12 15:25

goldenhope

How to accept the offer ?

2023-12-14 14:42

csan

bye bye sime darby. got conned by umw haha

2023-12-20 23:17

Syndicates

haha. sime can claim warranty or not?

2023-12-21 11:48

soon9913

wait lo should be getting cash in Q1 2024 ady. cash out now need pay commission ,.

2023-12-22 17:08

taitaumau

MGO 5.00/share credited to my e-dividend a/c to-day

2024-01-11 09:17

Dear all at UMW Forum

We bought UMW in year 2004 at Rm4.80 after visiting TOYOTA MOTOR CORP HQ in Japan

At that early year we already sat on the 1st Hands Free Toyota Car in the World for Rm3.00 short joyride

Now Tesla has invested Hands Free Car

After we bought UMW at Rm4.80 it gave a One for One Free Bonus

So our cost has been reduced to Rm2.40

At Rm5.00 takeover price is it still up 100% plus we received dividends for many years

Now finally UMW is another Trophy Buy

Our other Trophy Buy Calls

Why forgot our trophy calls last 10 years?

Super Enterprize 🏆
TheStore 🏆
Daiman 🏆
Mmc corp 🏆
Weida 🏆
Kulim 🏆
Ijmplant 🏆
Tmakmur 🏆
Karambunai 🏆
Kwantas 🏆
Bplant 🏆

https://www.bursamalaysia.com/market_information/announcements/company_announcement/announcement_details?ann_id=3419342

Bye Bye UMW

It has been a very nice 20 years since 2004 till 2024

UMW is Calvin's longest holding stock for 20 years (2 decades)

Hip hip hooray!

Bought UMW in year 2004 and before year 2010 already sold enough to take back original capital

Then been receiving Free Dividends for Life

27-Feb-2023 17-Apr-2023 DIVIDEND Final Dividend RM 0.1120
29-Nov-2022 12-Dec-2022 DIVIDEND Interim Dividend RM 0.0300
25-Feb-2022 12-Apr-2022 DIVIDEND Final Dividend RM 0.0580
25-Feb-2021 15-Apr-2021 DIVIDEND Final Dividend RM 0.0400
27-Feb-2020 13-Mar-2020 DIVIDEND Final Dividend RM 0.0200
28-Nov-2019 12-Dec-2019 DIVIDEND Special Dividend RM 0.04
15-Apr-2019 26-Apr-2019 DIVIDEND Final Dividend RM 0.025
22-May-2018 04-Jun-2018 DIVIDEND Interim Dividend RM 0.05
19-Jun-2017 03-Jul-2017 OTHERS Others 1.0312 : 1
25-Feb-2016 10-Mar-2016 DIVIDEND Second interim dividend RM 0.1000
07-Sep-2015 23-Sep-2015 DIVIDEND Interim Dividend RM 0.1000
24-Mar-2015 09-Apr-2015 DIVIDEND Interim Dividend RM 0.16
17-Dec-2014 05-Jan-2015 DIVIDEND Second interim dividend RM 0.15
04-Sep-2014 23-Sep-2014 DIVIDEND Interim Dividend RM 0.1
25-Mar-2014 11-Apr-2014 DIVIDEND Interim Dividend RM 0.09
12-Dec-2013 03-Jan-2014 DIVIDEND Special Dividend RM 0.1
12-Dec-2013 03-Jan-2014 DIVIDEND Second interim dividend RM 0.15
17-Sep-2013 27-Sep-2013 OTHERS Others 0 : 0
04-Sep-2013 24-Sep-2013 DIVIDEND Interim Dividend RM 0.1
27-Jun-2013 23-Jul-2013 DIVIDEND Final Dividend RM 0.25
10-Jan-2013 16-Jan-2013 DIVIDEND Second interim dividend RM 0.15
16-Aug-2012 18-Sep-2012 DIVIDEND Interim Dividend RM 0.1
21-Jun-2012 20-Jul-2012 DIVIDEND Final Dividend RM 0.075
23-Dec-2011 11-Jan-2012 DIVIDEND Interim Dividend RM 0.135
19-Aug-2011 15-Sep-2011 DIVIDEND Interim Dividend RM 0.1

THIS SHOWS INVESTING IN VALUE SHARE IS THE CORRECT WAY TO GO!

Many happy returns!!

NOW Calvin is 95% in Oil Palm Shares

Umw 🏆

bigBOSSguy

if no more UMW stocks due to privatization, what happen to those stocks still remaining in UMW and not sold. Will you lose all that? what happen to those who didnt read news and UMW privatized and lost all their money in those umw stocks?

Since they got Compulsory takeover by law all remaining UMW shares will be automatically acquired and Your Bank Account credited with Cash payment

End of a 2 decade Investment in UMW

Another chun chun Trophy buy 🏆

Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥

>>>

Bye Bye UMW

Hip hip hooray!

>>>

His longest held stock UMW is 20 years and he is so happy. Looks like his first 20 years was just trading in stocks.

Imagine if he had bought Nestle and DLady and held for 30 years +.

>>>

Bye Bye UMW

Hip hip hooray!

>>>

His longest held stock UMW is 20 years and he is so happy. Looks like his first 20 years was just trading in stocks.

3iii really dumbo 3iii

Told people to buy Dlady at Rm76.00

Then Dlady turned into holland grandma at Rm23.00

A crash of Rm53.00 and bankrupted even the whole forum called www.investlah.com

>>>>
Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 3 days ago | Report Abuse

>>>

Bye Bye UMW

Hip hip hooray!

>>>

>>>>

Stock 2004 2024
UMW 2.50 5.00 (taken private)
DLady 4.80 23.00
Nestle 23.00 120.00
Petdag 3.50 22.00

Just pointing to calvintaneng the difference between truth and lies. Good morning.

It is truly remarkable, the power of compounding and the ability to identify these companies with earnings power over the long term.

Do you know that DLady was priced RM 1.60 per share, Nestle RM 6 to RM 8 per share and Petdag RM 2.00 per share in the 1990s?

The prices of these stocks have dropped from their highest and DLady has dropped a lot. There are various reasons for these. How you exploit these opportunities depend on how you approach your investing. Regards.

Taking 3iii info on Dlady......it was trading at around Rm 65 per share about 7 yrs ago loh!
At the time 3iii was big singing n praising Dlady at such a high price which is overvalue loh!
Just look at the matrix of dlady at that time loh!
NTA around Rm 6.00
PE above 60%
Div yield around 1.5%

How can u support such an overvalue share, if u r a genuine investors leh ?
The main issue lies with 3iii is dishonesty pushing a highly overvalue bluechip dlady to the naive i3 investors loh!

Thats why people like Raider, Leno & calvin tan came out strongly to refute 3iii for his dishonesty which was proven correct if u look at Dlady price now around Rm 23.00 loh!

U see when Dlady was above Rm 65.00, 3iii singing loud praises of Dlady but when the price collapse to Rm 23.00 this 3iii is very silence like a dumbell loh!

Rightfully u should promote the stocks when its price is low....just like what Raider did when Insas was Rm 0.67 (even b4 preference share & warrant scheme}, General Raider was promoting heavily insas until to the extend Philip was so annoyed and come out to bet with Raider on his QL Rm 6.70 v Insas Rm 0.67 loh!

To cut the story short, the end result raider won the bet loh!
But General Raider as a ....gentleman did not want Philip to pay up for the bah kut teh & the purpose message cost as Philip had promise bcos Raider knows, that he already score the point no point making philip embrass loh!

The morale of the story here is that u.....do not ever promote "An overvalue stock like the case of dlady mah" bcos this will cause losses to naive investors loh!

U only promote deep undervalue stock with very big margin of safety, bcos this will help investors to make alot of money safely like the case of raider promote insas mah!

This is what we call genuine fundamental investment loh!

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2 hours ago | Report Abuse

Stock 2004 2024
UMW 2.50 5.00 (taken private)
DLady 4.80 23.00
Nestle 23.00 120.00
Petdag 3.50 22.00

Just pointing to calvintaneng the difference between truth and lies. Good morning.

It is truly remarkable, the power of compounding and the ability to identify these companies with earnings power over the long term.

Do you know that DLady was priced RM 1.60 per share, Nestle RM 6 to RM 8 per share and Petdag RM 2.00 per share in the 1990s?

The prices of these stocks have dropped from their highest and DLady has dropped a lot. There are various reasons for these. How you exploit these opportunities depend on how you approach your investing. Regards.

azfar8

When will we get the money from this MGO? I may overlook the date, can anyone share the date?