OPPSTAR BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): OPPSTAR (0275)

+0.02 (1.38%)

1.45 - 1.56

Financial

Show?
Last 10 FY Result
AQR T4Q 31/03/23 31/03/22 CAGR
Revenue 59,825 59,352 57,904 50,561 14.52%
PBT 23,552 24,414 26,425 23,120 14.29%
Tax -4,938 -4,981 -6,151 -6,513 -5.55%
NP 18,613 19,433 20,274 16,607 22.08%
-
NP to SH 18,645 19,484 20,354 16,629 22.40%
-
Tax Rate 20.97% 20.40% 23.28% 28.17% -
Total Cost 41,212 39,919 37,630 33,954 10.82%
-
Net Worth 146,326 146,326 100,565 2,580 3797.86%
Dividend
Div - 7,012 - - -
Div Payout % - 35.99% - - -
Equity
Net Worth 146,326 146,326 100,565 2,580 3797.86%
NOSH 636,200 636,200 636,200 129,006 393.15%
Ratio Analysis
NP Margin 31.11% 32.74% 35.01% 32.85% -
ROE 12.74% 13.32% 20.24% 644.50% -
Per Share
RPS 9.40 9.33 12.09 39.19 -69.15%
EPS 2.93 3.06 4.25 12.89 -67.02%
DPS 0.00 1.10 0.00 0.00 -
NAPS 0.23 0.23 0.21 0.02 949.99%
Adjusted Per Share Value based on latest NOSH - 636,200
RPS 9.35 9.28 9.05 7.90 14.55%
EPS 2.91 3.04 3.18 2.60 22.30%
DPS 0.00 1.10 0.00 0.00 -
NAPS 0.2287 0.2287 0.1572 0.004 3830.00%
Price Multiplier on Financial Quarter End Date
Date 29/12/23 29/12/23 31/03/23 - -
Price 1.31 1.31 2.13 0.00 -
P/RPS 13.93 14.04 17.62 0.00 -
P/EPS 44.70 42.77 50.11 0.00 -
EY 2.24 2.34 2.00 0.00 -
DY 0.00 0.84 0.00 0.00 -
P/NAPS 5.70 5.70 10.14 0.00 -
Price Multiplier on Announcement Date
Date 26/02/24 26/02/24 29/05/23 - -
Price 1.25 1.25 2.00 0.00 -
P/RPS 13.29 13.40 16.54 0.00 -
P/EPS 42.65 40.82 47.06 0.00 -
EY 2.34 2.45 2.13 0.00 -
DY 0.00 0.88 0.00 0.00 -
P/NAPS 5.43 5.43 9.52 0.00 -

PBT = Profit before Tax, NP = Net Profit, NP to SH = Net Profit Attributable to Shareholder, Div = Dividend, NP Margin = Net Profit Margin, ROE = Return on Equity, NOSH = Number of Shares, RPS = Revenue per Share, EPS = Earning Per Share, DPS = Dividend Per Share, NAPS = Net Asset Per Share, EOQ = End of Quarter, ANN = Announcement, P/RPS = Price/Revenue per Share, P/EPS = Price/Earning per Share, P/NAPS = Price/Net Asset per Share, EY = Earning Yield, DY = Dividend Yield.

NOSH is estimated based on the NP to SH and EPS. Div is an estimated figure based on the DPS and NOSH. Net Worth is an estimated figure based on the NAPS and NOSH.

Div Payout %, NP Margin, ROE, DY, QoQ & YoY figures in Percentage; RPS, EPS & DPS's figures in Cent; and NAPS's figures in Dollar.

All figures in '000 unless specified.

1 person likes this. Showing 50 of 921 comments

goldmanbull

Agjl, let them take small profit. We take big profit later.

goldmanbull

Now tech sentiment is neutral. When our Bursa tech rally, the same tide will lift all boats. Then, we enjoy more lobsters later haha

goldmanbull

Pang72, you are absolutely right! HODL

Agjl

Goldmanbull…there is nothing wrong with those who take profits. Especially when they bought 1 day ago and its free money without have to pay for it. Plus tmrw its holiday so its obvious the price will be softhen towards… whatever the future we cant predict can we can take calculated risks and use our wisdom to sort of make decision whether to hold longer or dispose with small profits. Hope everyone is happy today! And wish those not selling today will be happier day after. Cheers!!

goldmanbull

Fairpoint Agjl. Happy holidays!

Agjl

Happy holiday to u and your family, Goldmanbull! Cheers!

chon99

If Oppstar ventured in chip making, then it would become a shinning star.

chon99

WOW ! Samsung is one of the top ten Semiconductor companies in the world as at February 15, 2024.
Anyone has the latest updates ?

chon99

What would the future be for Oppstar with the tight up to the giant Samsung ??? Ho ho !!

chon99

Up to you to imagine !!!

TradeHarbor

Chinese market surges = Oppstar surges 🔥🔥

chon99

You would notice from the download above, Intel and Oppstar are in the high value chain

jluck

I'm still collecting and suddenly it shoot up aiyoh !!!.

jluck

Luckily my first batch I bought it in low price. Probably I have to everage up for my second batch.

Goldberg

Oppstar is the only listed chip design company in Bursa.

Oppstar is the only chip design company listed on the Kuala Lumpur stock exchange is also a sign of how far the country -- once known as the 'Silicon Valley of the East' -- still has to go if it is to return to its former tech glory.

"We would need more Malaysian front-end companies to excel and have an increased significant presence on the international stage in order to lift the country's profile within the front-end markets," said Steven Chan, senior equity analyst at Malaysia's Affin Hwang Investment Bank.

The state of Penang has been known for decades as a cluster for back-end chipmaking processes, including packaging, assembly and testing, which are less advanced than wafer fabrication and other so-called front-end processes.

Startups like Oppstar are looking to change that by breaking out of the back-end and into areas like chip design.

Malaysian Trade Minister Zafrul Aziz says the government seeks to foster such activities. "Nurturing a vibrant startup culture is crucial," he told Nikkei Asia.

Meanwhile, Oppstar Bhd is collaborating with South Korea’s tech giant Samsung Electronics Co Ltd for the production of industrial ICs manufactured using Samsung’s 14 nanometre (nm) FinFET technology foundry process.

Both parties are also desirous to explore cooperation on any other future projects that may arise, which align with their mutual business interests and capabilities. This encompasses exploring new opportunities and leveraging each other’s strengths to enhance their business partnership

https://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2024/04/29/oppstar-partners-with-samsung-electronics-for-industrial-integrated-circuit-production

PETALING JAYA: Oppstar Bhd, via wholly-owned subsidiary Oppstar Technology Sdn Bhd and Samsung Electronics Co Ltd, have proposed to cooperate and collaborate for the production of industrial integrated circuits (IC) manufactured using Samsung 14 nanometre FinFET technology foundry proces

READ MANY TIME THE NEWS...
PARTICULAR IMPRESS WITH THE POSSIBILITIES OF CHIP MANUFACTURING INSTEAD OF R&D ONLY

This collaboration will enable Oppstar to assist its customers to bring to market, specialised chips that are in significant demand. We will be able to better support our customers by providing chip manufacturing services in addition to IC design and post-silicon validation services, for the chips to be fabricated by Samsung.”

(PROVIDENT CHIP MANUFACTURING INSTEAD OF DESIGN!!)

https://www.scmp.com/tech/tech-war/article/3250601/why-samsung-tsmc-are-keeping-cutting-edge-chip-production-home-despite-overseas-incentives

Samsung, one of the largest chip makers in the world, planned to invest a total of 500 trillion won (US$371 billion) by 2047 in a “mega-cluster” semiconductor project south of Seoul, the South Korean government said in mid-January. The facility is expected to focus on advanced products including chips made using the 2-nanometre process.

How big is Samsung? Usd371Billions... equal to how many oppstar?
I guess Samsung is focusing in 2nm chip but subcontract out 0.00001 sale to oppstar for 14nm industry chip to them is still need to serve the market but is not important.

However, 0.0001 % sale to Oppstar is huge business....

Hopefully, oppstar can roll out this project to ride on world No. 2 chip giant in the world

Short and long term is up because of Samsung chip production..
This shld be big project because mention HUGE demand industries chip..

So, huge demand...

chon99

Previously Oppstar engaged mostly in chip design but with the collaboration with Samsung , Oppstar will be involved in chip "manufacturing" , a quantum leap forward towards the advanced technology.
However, at present both Oppstar and Samsung are "desirous" of the collaboration. How soon would the definitive agreement be signed and how long would the manufacturing begin? We are still waiting for the answer . I think the market is eagerly waiting too !!!

21 hours ago

hw0706

Oppstar require a lot of money for expansion and .....

16 hours ago

They don't need to build a foundry plant but piggy back to big name Samsung to place order for the designed chips then sell back to Samsung for some agreed profits.

13 hours ago

chon99

Wah ! The market is so excited even before the definitive agreement signed !!!

13 hours ago

chon99

If you click open the above download, you would be surprised to find that only" five companies' are at the high end value chain. It so happens that Oppstar is one of them !!!

12 hours ago

troy88

This one has good potential..

10 hours ago

KPH5328

any idea contribution from their own IC produced by Samsung? The news is about engaging Samsung to produce their own chips but market reaction as if they design chips for Samsung, bravo Bursa!

10 hours ago

Goldberg

Oppstars collaboration with Samsung Electronics the world's 2nd largest semicon company is a sign of more good deals to come. Just piggy back on Samsung is a massive boost for the young Star.However this collaboration will incur some "gestation " time. Hence patience and holding power is required. Profits won't roll in overnight so to speak.

10 hours ago

sammyramon

WAWWWWW Yezzzzaaaaaaaaaaaa!!!!...........🚀🚀🚀🚀🚀.....
Hopefully will rocketed and LU 🚀🚀🚀🚀🚀

10 hours ago

Goldberg

Kenanga Inv. Bhd's remarks on the collaboration with Samsung.

The access to wafer foundries transforms IC design houses like OPPSTAR into enablers (i.e. converting concepts into tangible products) for fabless tech players such as Nvidia, Qualcomm, Broadcom, AMD, and MediaTek.

The demand for customised IC design is strong on the back of the proliferation of IoT devices, autonomous vehicles, and artificial intelligence (AI) applications. Meanwhile, statistics from Market.us reveal that the 14nm node (part of the "14nm/16nm" family) holds the largest share of global process nodes at c.28%. This dominance stems from the well-established nature of the 14nm process node, boasting high yield rates at a comparatively affordable price compared to leading-edge nodes. Moreover, the 14nm node remains highly capable for modern-day applications, as evidenced by products such as the Exynos 8 Octa, Nvidia GTX1080, and Tesla UBQ01B0 full self-driving processor, offering an ideal balance between performance and affordability.

https://klse1.i3investor.com/servlets/ptres/71224.jsp

10 hours ago

EZMONEY13

2.2 B

10 hours ago

.... Yes, correct...
Samsung is the name after nvidia

10 hours ago

We are highly positive on OPPSTAR’s latest development. While the earnings impact may not be immediate, we notice that investors globally are willing to pay an average CY24F PER of c.54x for IC designers with collaboration with semiconductor foundries (see Page 2), vs. OPPSTAR’s FY25F (Mar) PER of only 25x.

10 hours ago

Highly positive on oppstar...
Good mah

10 hours ago

Agjl

More AI chips needed

8 hours ago

OPPSTAR - IC Design Collaboration With Samsung
Source : KENANGA, Price Call : BUY, Price Target : 1.72
Last Price : 1.52, Upside/Downside : +0.20(13.16%)

8 hours ago

Agjl

Pang72….UOB price target is RM2.10 i think

7 hours ago

Agjl

Today contra players due. Please sell all take the profit so the price can move on

7 hours ago

chon99

For me I opt for the "star" that is Oppstar. I will keep it for mid to long term. Once the chip manufacturing in operations and profits to pour in, I can't imagine what the price would be especially Oppstar is the only company has the capacity to manufacture advanced chip with the Collaboration of Samsung.
I normally don't talk about other shares of different counters. But allow to quote an example. Just look at YTL Power's tied up Nvidia . Notice how YTL Power performs ?

5 hours ago

chon99

Sorry, I am talking about Oppstar's capacity and capability in the Malaysia context.

5 hours ago

AnthonyAng666

The next star is in the making 😀

5 hours ago

Agjl

Chon99... u r absolutely abt holding a star.... some opt for small contra gain some opt for a bigger slice. Just ask yourself what are you?
I can be testament to what u said abt ytlp as i m still holding both ytl and ytlp til now. Like what pang72 said" KNN , everyday got good news and everytime ytl also benefits. And it is in a booster sector" ,unquote