Next QR | Est. Ann. Date: 30-Jun-2024  |  29-Aug-2024
T4Q P/E | EY: 12.29  |  8.14%
T4Q DY | Payout %: 4.56%  |  55.98%
T4Q NAPS | P/NAPS: 2.8122  |  1.48
T4Q NP Margin | ROE: 25.26%  |  12.07%

Headlines

Date Subject
24-May-2024 Mplus Market Pulse - 24 May 2024
24-May-2024 Public Bank Loses Case Against House Buyer on Failure to Prove Falsification of Supporting Documents
24-May-2024 PBBANK - I added at 4.18
23-May-2024 MQ Market Updates - 23 May2024
22-May-2024 Public Bank on Course to Hit FY2024 Earnings Target on Better Outlook, Say Analysts
21-May-2024 Public Bank Berhad - 1QFY24 Results Within Expectations
21-May-2024 Daily Market Commentary - 21 May 2024
21-May-2024 Public Bank - Deposit Repricing Filtering Through to NIM; Still BUY
21-May-2024 Daily Market Report - 21 May 2024
21-May-2024 Mplus Market Pulse - 21 May 2024
21-May-2024 Public Bank - Prospects Undeterred
21-May-2024 Public Bank's 1Q Net Profit Slips 3.5% on Higher Costs, Provisions
21-May-2024 PUBLIC BANK - Deposit Market Remains Competitive; Mild Pressure on Asset Yield Ahead
20-May-2024 MQ Market Updates - 20 May2024
20-May-2024 大众银行应提供ESG绩效列表/前线把关
16-May-2024 Mah Sing and OSK Holdings In, Astro, Magnum and TSH Out of MSCI Malaysia Small Cap Index
15-May-2024 Banks - 1Q24 Results Preview – Loans, Non-II to Shine
09-May-2024 Market Cap of Top 100 Bursa Companies Up RM175b Year to Date, More Upside Expected
08-May-2024 MQ Market Updates - 08 May2024
02-May-2024 Banks - 1Q24 Banking System Highlights

Business Background

Public Bank Bhd is a Malaysian banking group that provides a range of financial products and services, including personal banking, commercial banking, Islamic banking, investment banking, share broking, trustee services, nominee services, sale and management of unit trust funds, bancassurance, and general insurance products. In additional to its mostly Malaysian operational presence, the bank is exposed to other Southeast Asian nations through some of its branches. Its strategy emphasizes organic growth in the retail banking business, particularly retail consumers and small and medium-size enterprises. The vast majority of its earning assets are in loans, advances, and financing.
Trade this stock and win a FREE I3investor T-shirt after 5 trades. Find out more.

19 people like this.

Hachi Hachi EPF in n out all the way. Her move . That's what
I observe all the while. my2ct.
07/05/2024 9:37 AM
thye82 Cimb soon will overtake this rubbish bank....the most poor performance bank on earth...
07/05/2024 2:08 PM
Hachi Hachi announcement result date 25th May.
07/05/2024 3:18 PM
stkoay It's good to practice like CIMB to have pre close analyst briefying....

https://theedgemalaysia.com/node/710583

07/05/2024 4:01 PM
stkoay I think most banks 1Q report should be quite good...
07/05/2024 4:02 PM
Steven Chan #hachi hachi EPF pump n dump is a menace. Have to report to SC
08/05/2024 7:23 AM
M55555 today PBB ok la. Steady compare to others bank..
08/05/2024 4:36 PM
metaverse 《云顶集团》和《大众银行》,作为我国两大私人企业龙头老大,其股价走势一直被视为是马来西亚经济的晴雨表...

https://klse.i3investor.com/web/blog/detail/mindfullness/2024-05-08-story-h-181869833
08/05/2024 5:48 PM
EDwarrior Buying
09/05/2024 10:05 AM
EDwarrior Management team still strong. Keep buying pbb. Next year share price RM 5plus
09/05/2024 10:17 AM
stkoay yes, please buy to support, now 4.16, buy, buy, buy....
09/05/2024 12:12 PM
EDwarrior Buying
09/05/2024 7:00 PM
KylieTan Great, EPF has been collecting continuously 🔥🔥
10/05/2024 3:04 PM
EDwarrior Buying
10/05/2024 8:03 PM
EDwarrior I am with pbb. Hopefully, can contribute a bit
11/05/2024 8:36 PM
drkervokian PBBank used to be strong. But their gradual cost cut and siloed culture with old ppl managing the company means they can't compete in attracting new customers.

With new Chinese gen Z and milleneals they are also a lot less Chinese brand conscious. So the company will slowly lose market share.

They need to diversify income stream and partner. On top of that spend more on marketing dollars to win in the highly saturated market.

Not to mention digibanks throwing money to acquire customers
14/05/2024 5:36 PM
KylieTan Public bank will go up higher when Q1 result is out 😊
16/05/2024 9:50 PM
Suriyan Any idea when Q1 results out?
17/05/2024 2:51 PM
serbatipu Coming qr expect no divid
18/05/2024 7:49 AM
skc761103 Highlights of Results for the First Quarter 2024
 Pre-tax profit and net profit at RM2.13 billion and RM1.65 billion respectively
 Total loans and deposits recorded annualised growth rates of 6.3% and 7.1%
respectively
 Net return on equity at 12.3%
 Cost-to-income ratio at 35.4%
 Gross impaired loans ratio at 0.62%
 Liquidity coverage ratio of 136.5%
 Common Equity Tier 1 Capital Ratio of 14.5% and total capital ratio of 17.4%
20/05/2024 2:07 PM
Papayashot wonder why impairment so high this quarter.
20/05/2024 3:14 PM
stkoay https://theedgemalaysia.com/node/712246

KUALA LUMPUR (May 20): Public Bank Bhd (KL:PBBANK), Malaysia’s third-largest banking group by assets, said on Monday its net profit slipped 3.5% for the first quarter ended March 31, 2024 (1QFY2024) from a year earlier, mainly due to higher personnel costs and higher provisions.

Net profit stood at RM1.65 billion, or 8.52 sen per share, compared with RM1.71 billion, or 8.83 sen per share, a year ago, Public Bank said. Net interest income rose 2.8% year-on-year (y-o-y) to RM2.73 billion, while non-interest income edged up 0.5% to RM649.64 million.
20/05/2024 3:56 PM
thye82 Rubbish bank produce rubbish performance result...
20/05/2024 5:15 PM
David Coperfield Does anyone know about PbBank TELE-GRAM GROUP?
20/05/2024 10:09 PM
troy88 Stagnant performance. PBB best days behind them..
21/05/2024 8:59 AM
KylieTan Any moment for PBB to pass through RM4.20 🙂
21/05/2024 10:25 AM
EngineeringProfit Yea, I'm back today
21/05/2024 10:32 AM
Jason9999 Still PBB is a bank of good potential.
21/05/2024 10:48 AM
M55555 PBB has rooted well. No easy to be shaken
21/05/2024 11:33 AM
skc761103 if investors aim for dividend + growth in share price for banking sector. RHB & MAYBANK are far better than public bank at this moment. Public bank yearly dividend cant even cover current margin interest compare to MAYBANK & RHB
21/05/2024 2:29 PM
skc761103 if investors aim for dividend + growth in share price for banking sector. RHB & MAYBANK are far better than public bank at this moment. Public bank yearly dividend cant even cover current margin interest compare to MAYBANK & RHB
21/05/2024 2:29 PM
Thirai Thiraviam > if investors aim for dividend + growth in share price for banking sector. RHB & MAYBANK are far better than public bank at this moment. Public bank yearly dividend cant even cover current margin interest compare to MAYBANK & RHB

Consider this: The PER, Dividend Yield, and Payout Ratio for the three banks in question are as follows:

1) Maybank: 12.87, 6.01% and 0.76
2) RHB: 8.43, 7.23%, 0.61
3) Public: 12.25, 4.53%, 0.41

Of these three, RHB is the most attractive. Public comes second. Maybank appears to be the most richly priced at present. While Maybank pays a decent dividend, its payout ratio is very high, almost twice that of Public Bank. (Note: I have positions in all three.)
21/05/2024 10:19 PM
DividendGuy67 To me, PBBANK is a Warren Buffett stock, where our favorite holding period should be "forever". This is because of the bank's long term historical track record of growing its EPS and DPS and as a result its NAPS. Due to its reliable dividend growth, after several years of holding, the Dividend Yield on Cost will have grown significantly, and the best part is it keeps growing thereafter. If you have a choice between putting an FD with Public Bank, or buy its stock, no question, the latter will cause you to be very happy in 10, 20 years time. In the short term, many stocks look attractive compared to PBBANK, but after 10 years, you will be happier that you have bought PBBANBK instead of others.

Those who owned PBBANK 10 years ago will know what I mean.
22/05/2024 5:17 PM
DividendGuy67 It's true that the Management and the Board is older and it's easy to criticize old, but if you compare against the alternative where the choice is a young and brash management and board, for one of the leading banks, you want the experience to navigate through the financial volatile world. Banking is not about sexy and short-termism. It's about experience and being there for the long haul, "forever" so to speak. Of course, there should be a clear pipeline of younger successors coming up, but IMHO, they should not be too young and should have a balance erring on over 50s for the necessary experience.
22/05/2024 5:21 PM
DividendGuy67 Digibanks provide better short term returns to customers, no question, as there's lots of nice promotions right now. But the million dollar question is - do they have the track record to survive through the crisis, the recessions, the market crashes? Will they be there for the long haul? Only time will tell. Short term, they win market share but long term? With PBBANK, if your goal is to own this stock "forever", then, your eyes is on the next 10, 20 years, not current.
22/05/2024 5:25 PM
DividendGuy67 Don't get too hooked up that 1Q24 earnings are lower than 1Q23 earnings. If you're in for the long term and studied carefully its historical quarterly earnings over the past 10 years, it's not a permanent drop. When prices are temporarily depressed, it's usually a good opportunity to own one of the leading banks in the country and in a sector that is profitable and resilient over the long term. PBBANK will be clearly more profitable than today in 10, 20 years time.
22/05/2024 5:28 PM
DividendGuy67 New investors into PBBANK will always find PBBANK less attractive than MAYBANK. That's probably true after 3-7 years of holding. However, by the 8-10th year of holding, they will be glad they bought PBBANK and not MAYBANK, due to the dividend and earnings growth effect. If you want to own this for life (e.g. for upcoming retirees wanting to have a growing annuity / dividend payment for life), this is one of the proven stocks.
22/05/2024 5:32 PM
DividendGuy67 Personally, my only whinge is old management and Board and lack of transparency on pipeline succession. Tan Sri Dato' Tay Ah Lek contributions to PBBANK success is unparalleled, but markets are wary of MD and CEO who is 82 years old. He can be a senior mentor, but if there is a CEO who is 20-25 years young (still late 50s, early 60s) that he can trust, I believe the market will re-rate this stock. However, if you 're in this stock for the long haul, re-rating is not necessary but a bonus. It is okay because with each passing annual and quarterly reports, you will see growing EPS, DPS and NAPS and the stock price grows with it.
22/05/2024 5:37 PM
DividendGuy67 Notwitstanding age, PBBANK management quality is top class, I would rate clearly higher than management quality in other banks, so, it's not a complaint. However, it would clearly be market leader if there is clear pipeline succession and do what Warren Buffett do which is to name 2 potential successor amongst its current management team where the whole world knows. If PBBANK can do this, the stock will re-rate upwards. However, this is rare in Malaysia, so, don't hold your breath for this to happen. Just saying.
22/05/2024 5:42 PM
EngineeringProfit I'm back...after selling at rm24 years ago
22/05/2024 5:42 PM
DividendGuy67 If Warren Buffett management team rates an A, then, I would rate PBBANK management B/B+ and MAYBANK management C+ from a personal perception point of view. A C is good enough for me to invest. Some of these ratings unfortunately cannot be delinked from other factors, so, it's not necessarily a comment about individuals per se, but the broader picture, in so far as their ability to maximize earnings and dividends to shareholders over the long term i.e. over my lifetime. Others with a different time-frame and different priorities will have different ratings.
22/05/2024 5:46 PM
DividendGuy67 @Engineer ... I don't know what to say ... all I can say is don't imagine "what if I have held and not sell the past 24 years" ... look forward. 😁
22/05/2024 5:49 PM
DividendGuy67 And the thing with Buy and Hold stock like PBBANK, we don't think about selling. All we think about is how high will next year's dividend grows. It's really about buying a growing annuity income that pays dividends for a lifetime. Nobody thinks about selling pensions / annuities that they own. Same with PBBANK - it's about collecting the growing dividends until we die, and then, pass it on to our next of kin. So, the only question is about entry price, but even then, don't get hooked up to it.

As usual, diversify, don't own more than 5%-10% of your portfolio max if you like to see your portfolio continue to make new all time highs regularly.
22/05/2024 5:55 PM
MG9231 Ideal banks should take care on risk factors and quality of loan rather than high dividend payout. PBB pays more or less 50% is ideal. Reserve 50% for expansion and unseen event or circumstance happens. I checked the pattern of how 3 local Singapore Banks are running, more or less the same!
22/05/2024 6:02 PM
calvintaneng PUBLIC RESEARCH TELLS YOU TO SELL TSH BUT PUBLIC MUTUAL FUNDS BUYING TSH RESOURCES SHARES LIKE NO TOMORROW!, Calvin Tan

https://klse.i3investor.com/web/blog/detail/www.eaglevisioninvest.com/2024-05-22-story-h-161464080-PUBLIC_RESEARCH_TELLS_YOU_TO_SELL_TSH_BUT_PUBLIC_MUTUAL_FUNDS_BUYING_TS
22/05/2024 9:19 PM
calvintaneng MG SIFU

BETTER FOLLOW PUBLIC MUTUAL FUNDS BUY TSH RESOURCES!

JUST WALLOP

BETTER THAN OUR 2013 YEAR PM CORP BULL RUN!
22/05/2024 9:20 PM
Thirai Thiraviam > To me, PBBANK is a Warren Buffett stock, where our favorite holding period should be "forever". This is because of the bank's long term historical track record of growing its EPS and DPS and as a result its NAPS.

While Public Bank is probably the best run bank in Malaysia (based on its Net Margin that is above 50 %, NIM of 2.86, ROE of > 12.5 %, and cash to debt ratio of 1.55), it has been recording a single digit growth of less than 5% for over 10 years now.

As to the dividend yield, it appears high now only because of the slump in its share price over the last two years. Until recently, it was the banking stock with the highest PE. (Historical median PE: 14.8.) No longer. I sold out in mid-2022. Now, I find Public attractive again -- compared to its alternatives.
23/05/2024 10:22 AM
hopetobecorrect How often pbb pay dividend in a year?
23/05/2024 10:26 PM
DividendGuy67 I added at 4.18 today.

https://klse.i3investor.com/web/blog/detail/DividendGuy67/2024-05-24-story-h-160805766-PBBANK_I_added_at_4_18
24/05/2024 3:18 AM
KylieTan @hopetobecorrect. Typically PBB pays dividends twice a year
24/05/2024 3:53 PM

TOP ARTICLES

1. CMSB AGM KEYNOTE PART 2 - 1 Billion Coming diary
2. Detractors chide Tun M for belittling Madani gov’t who’s re-building Malaysia from “the messes” he left behind save malaysia!
3. Timeline of Malaysia's recent cardiothoracic surgeons issue save malaysia!
4. Scaling up Malaysia Airports to new heights; strengthening connectivity for long-term sustainable growth save malaysia!
5. DATA CENTER IN FULL SWING : CATALYST FOR HDD DRIVE BULL RUN. SEE TOP 30 HOLDERS OF NOTION, JCY & DUFU, Calvin Tan THE INVESTMENT APPROACH OF CALVIN TAN
6. Twelve injured as Qatar Airways’ Dublin flight hits turbulence, airport says Good Articles to Share
7. Thousands flee as Philippine storm hits main island Good Articles to Share
8. Aircraft hit by severe turbulence returns to Singapore Good Articles to Share
APPS
I3 Messenger
Individual or Group chat with anyone on I3investor
MQ Trader
Earn MQ Points while trading with MQ Traders Group
MQ Affiliate
Earn side income from MQ Affiliate Program

238  213  556  1398 

ActiveGainersLosers
Top 10 Active Counters
 NameLastChange 
 HSI-CV7 0.21-0.02