I like your strategy.

21,542 posts

Posted by paperplane > 2019-01-02 08:01 | Report Abuse

Mostly tech focus.

4,281 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2019-01-02 09:24 | Report Abuse

Yistock is almost fully embraced with technology theme. He focuses in researching technology counters. He knows well the mega trend for future. I got much to learn from him. Not easy to understand the future deployment of technology as comparing with the conventional business model.

Posted by CharlesT > 2019-01-02 09:25 | Report Abuse

Yistock is pro in Tech

godhand

1,885 posts

Posted by godhand > 2019-01-02 10:50 | Report Abuse

dont touch anything u dont understand la

YiStock

1,984 posts

Posted by YiStock > 2019-01-02 13:21 | Report Abuse

duit-gor, you are still the faithful one on your pick. Trying to max your profit as usual. A good speculator like me.

YiStock

1,984 posts

Posted by YiStock > 2019-01-02 13:21 | Report Abuse

up_down, your 2019 pick very well strategized. Good pick!

YiStock

1,984 posts

Posted by YiStock > 2019-01-02 13:22 | Report Abuse

paperplane, you seem very conservative this round..much conservative..my 2 cents

YiStock

1,984 posts

Posted by YiStock > 2019-01-02 13:23 | Report Abuse

charles, icon8888 just nominated you, but your argument always make sense to certain extend. Like!!!

Posted by CharlesT > 2019-01-02 13:25 | Report Abuse

A certain extend only ah? I thought most of them....

Sad...

YiStock

1,984 posts

Posted by YiStock > 2019-01-02 13:25 | Report Abuse

All in all, i think nothing has changed my strategy and investement direction yet. Tech stocks are embedded in our daily life. The longer i play, the longer i understand the sector. 2019 will be a good year. cheers!

Posted by probability > 2019-01-02 13:28 | Report Abuse

yistock, comparing gtronic with Inari...which one you are more confident? More researched?

YiStock

1,984 posts

Posted by YiStock > 2019-01-02 13:45 | Report Abuse

probability, i am biased more towards gtronic. 1) more content per device on top of higher volume. 2) increase capacity of gesture sensor which could add another rm 25 mil to the quarter revenue. 3) potential to be top 3 laser headlight manufacturer. 4) potential shifting of order from china to malaysia for the timing and quartz device. 5) android based 2d face recognition (T-o-F). 4&5 pending confirmation.

YiStock

1,984 posts

Posted by YiStock > 2019-01-02 13:46 | Report Abuse

charlesT gor, you are old bird..you got strong heart..ha ha..

Outliar

302 posts

Posted by Outliar > 2019-01-02 13:48 | Report Abuse

pE 16, can it grow at 16% per annum for 10 years?

YiStock

1,984 posts

Posted by YiStock > 2019-01-02 13:49 | Report Abuse

PEG no longer my parameter.

Posted by probability > 2019-01-02 13:51 | Report Abuse

thank you so much yistock

Outliar

302 posts

Posted by Outliar > 2019-01-02 14:08 | Report Abuse

So what’s your parameter? What’s your estimation of growth per annum for the next few years?

YiStock

1,984 posts

Posted by YiStock > 2019-01-02 14:09 | Report Abuse

probability-gor, you have good stock pick all the while, can share yours? thank u

Posted by CharlesT > 2019-01-02 14:11 | Report Abuse

Ya woh Probability has yet to submit his stock list...

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-01-02 14:12 | Report Abuse

probability is a very intellectual person

His wit, wisdom and comments always make me laugh

YiStock

1,984 posts

Posted by YiStock > 2019-01-02 14:13 | Report Abuse

Outliar, my parameter is growth. I'm a retired businessman. I not able to tell the %. Nobody can tell either. With iphone stagnant sales, i'm looking at more content per device

YiStock

1,984 posts

Posted by YiStock > 2019-01-02 14:14 | Report Abuse

he always humble

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-01-02 14:15 | Report Abuse

sifu CharlesT is expert in Behavioural finance (Malaysia version)

That is why he can see a lot of things I cannot see

I am too driven by facts and numbers

Posted by Invest_Sensibly > 2019-01-02 14:15 | Report Abuse

good luck yi-gor

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-01-02 14:17 | Report Abuse

Invest sensibly is the most insensible investor

Buy shares lost money keep harass me

As though I am responsible for his finances

Posted by CharlesT > 2019-01-02 14:20 | Report Abuse

Posted by Icon8888 > Jan 2, 2019 02:15 PM | Report Abuse

sifu CharlesT is expert in Behavioural finance (Malaysia version)

That is why he can see a lot of things I cannot see

I am too driven by facts and numbers

I think the main problem of u is u tend to fell in love with stock n yr facts n numbers

Posted by probability > 2019-01-02 14:21 | Report Abuse

yistock, at the moment i want to stick to the business that i know..

and those i know are not doing well

i do really think your picks will do well, apple bought back their own share in billions before losing billions recently due to the market pessimism..and trade war

so, i am not investing much until i get good clarity on stock i want to invest...and due to office workload and turmoils unable to focus and research well on stocks

i am relying on all you sifus...thanks

Posted by YiStock > Jan 2, 2019 02:09 PM | Report Abuse

probability-gor, you have good stock pick all the while, can share yours? thank u

YiStock

1,984 posts

Posted by YiStock > 2019-01-02 14:21 | Report Abuse

ha ha..

YiStock

1,984 posts

Posted by YiStock > 2019-01-02 14:24 | Report Abuse

apple will have their die hard fans. And with recent major trade in promo, i hope they will be doing well on new devices. The refurbished market grow at 14% p.a. vs 3% for new devices, apple is damn smart to have this trade in promo. Buy back all model at same price, but sell back at different price tier. Margin damn good.

YiStock

1,984 posts

Posted by YiStock > 2019-01-02 14:25 | Report Abuse

Apple is very good buy. 2 trillion market cap no problem in 2 more years. I stick to its supply chain.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-01-02 14:31 | Report Abuse

To understand Malaysia technology stocks, you need to look outside of Malaysia. Because technology supply chain is global in nature

Past few weeks I spent time studying US tech stocks. When I look back at Malaysia tech stocks, I found I have better feel

Posted by Up_down > Jan 2, 2019 09:24 AM | Report Abuse

Yistock is almost fully embraced with technology theme. He focuses in researching technology counters. He knows well the mega trend for future. I got much to learn from him. Not easy to understand the future deployment of technology as comparing with the conventional business model.

Posted by Invest_Sensibly > 2019-01-02 14:32 | Report Abuse

Icon8888 gor. Apology for the past. It's time to forgive and forget and look forward.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-01-02 14:33 | Report Abuse

After all those studies, I finally understand Malaysia tech stocks positioning , their prospects and their limitations

Outliar

302 posts

Posted by Outliar > 2019-01-02 14:36 | Report Abuse

@yistock

Intersting. If you do not use PE as a parameter, why are you ascribing a PE of 25-30 in one of your blogs for TP of Gtronic? Do you not think that is too high a figure?

YiStock

1,984 posts

Posted by YiStock > 2019-01-02 14:41 | Report Abuse

icon-gor, pls share your study. thank you.

YiStock

1,984 posts

Posted by YiStock > 2019-01-02 14:42 | Report Abuse

Outliar, you need to know what determine PE 1st. And if you notice i will mention historical PE range.

YiStock

1,984 posts

Posted by YiStock > 2019-01-02 14:43 | Report Abuse

You don't shy away a stock because of high PE

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-01-02 14:45 | Report Abuse

My pleasure Yi gor. I will post the links shortly

YiStock icon-gor, pls share your study. thank you.
02/01/2019 14:41

YiStock

1,984 posts

Posted by YiStock > 2019-01-02 14:45 | Report Abuse

you try to mark a target price with PE. Buying a stock and setting a target price are completely 2 different stuff

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-01-02 14:49 | Report Abuse

https://fas.org/sgp/crs/misc/R44544.pdf

This one very interesting. Check out the map at page 7

South east Asia is the global hub for OSAT. Now I know why we have MPI, Unisem, Inari, etc

OSAT is a niche of Malaysia

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-01-02 14:52 | Report Abuse

And you need to study US tech stocks . Then you know how established and deep is their expertise

After you know about them, you will realise that companies like Salutica has very slim chance of success

Whatever Salutica can do, those tech big boys can do it 1 billion times better

YiStock

1,984 posts

Posted by YiStock > 2019-01-02 14:52 | Report Abuse

Those involve in design and develop will most likely survive and prosper.

YiStock

1,984 posts

Posted by YiStock > 2019-01-02 15:13 | Report Abuse

Outliar, 1 more important consideration is whether you are willing to pay a price for future growth. More like a forward PE, they call it.

5,743 posts

Posted by yfchong > 2019-01-02 15:32 | Report Abuse

Mr YiStock... This year t guan will go with a big bang I mean good net profit... Tx

Outliar

302 posts

Posted by Outliar > 2019-01-02 15:40 | Report Abuse

@yistock

If you are ascribing a forward PE, then you must be looking at its current PE as a starting point. Otherwise why look at the forward PE? Also, how are you ascribing a forward PE of 25-30? Where are you getting 25-30 from? Is it because of its historical PE range? What if it was expensive to begin with?

4,281 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2019-01-02 15:57 | Report Abuse

Thanks Icon. I do tracking big players financial performance in this sector. They have been performing extremely well. Valuation in PER dropped to low level due to trade war. I have to spend more time to accumulate business knowledge and understand more the supply chains linked to Malaysia listed entity.