What if dow drop 300 points tonight!

jcck79

89 posts

Posted by jcck79 > 2013-10-23 21:01 | Report Abuse

I think dow is dropping alittle tonight

11,180 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2013-10-23 21:04 | Report Abuse

Dow will affect KLSE only temporary. In medium to long term, I do not think so.
It is always very hard to get Inverted Head And Shoulder chart pattern. Once we see it, please make full use of it.

jcck79

89 posts

Posted by jcck79 > 2013-10-23 21:08 | Report Abuse

Mr.Ooi thanks for your knowledge .... i've plan to go for long =P

Qiii

166 posts

Posted by Qiii > 2013-10-23 21:19 | Report Abuse

@Mr. Ooi: Thanks Mr. Ooi. I agree with you. It is not easy for counters / index to form this pattern. IMHO, whether it is a successful breakout or not now lies squarely in the market interpretation of the Budget.

@Fortunebull: It should be a normal trading day in the states tonight. Earnings, profit taking & maybe more dumping by SAC?

Posted by theassiduoustrader > 2013-10-23 21:49 | Report Abuse

After breaking neckline resistance, the projected advance is found by measuring the distance from the neckline to the bottom of the head. This distance is then added to the neckline to reach a price target. Any price target should serve as a rough guide, and other factors should be considered, as well. These factors might include previous resistance levels, Fibonacci retracements or long-term moving averages.

iafx

4,632 posts

Posted by iafx > 2013-10-23 21:53 | Report Abuse

while it looks good, remind that klci is made of 30 ctrs only, majority controlled glc. today height mainly contributed by petronas, skpetro. if it is all about sentiment then sustainability is a question, which by next week v will c if a correction kicks in. all the best!

11,180 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2013-10-23 21:58 | Report Abuse

FBMEMAS is also displayed an Inverted Head And Shoulder chart pattern. Hence it is confirmed overall market trend.

Jeff Lim

409 posts

Posted by Jeff Lim > 2013-10-23 22:12 | Report Abuse

Be careful, tomorrow the bull party might game over.....

Fortunebull

2,599 posts

Posted by Fortunebull > 2013-10-23 22:14 | Report Abuse

Hope you guys right! Honestly only holding few counters waiting right time to sell! I bought end of August and sold most most and bought few switching profit counters! Looking at daily volume not convincing enough! Very thin compare to bull run in may to august! Please discuss more! Willing to listen to many chartist out there!

iafx

4,632 posts

Posted by iafx > 2013-10-23 22:20 | Report Abuse

look it by sector:

CONSTRUCTN 287.940 +0.290
CONSUMER 583.150 -1.350
IND-PROD 140.520 +1.280
TRAD/SERV 233.990 +1.440
TECHNOLOGY 14.590 +0.020
FINANCE 16,853.189 +18.080
PROPERTIES 1,361.750 +8.980
PLANTATION 8,468.610 +39.600
MINING 506.610 +4.050
INDUSTRIAL 3,115.300 +14.940

iafx

4,632 posts

Posted by iafx > 2013-10-23 22:24 | Report Abuse

as u can see above, index picked by cap but does not completely reflect the big picture. sincerely hope otb is right... will c soon.

11,180 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2013-10-23 22:29 | Report Abuse

All indices in KLSE are bullish except Mining.
I just check my charts. I do my homework before I comment in this forum.

Zenwan

189 posts

Posted by Zenwan > 2013-10-23 22:31 | Report Abuse

Wow.....OTB, which of your counter prediction u think will shoot far? LBS, Puncak....???

Qiii

166 posts

Posted by Qiii > 2013-10-23 22:43 | Report Abuse

@theassiduoustrader: Thanks for adding this. You do realize what TP it will be if I indicate that in the article right? Who knows, maybe next year we have a shot at 1950.

11,180 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2013-10-23 22:43 |

Zenwan

189 posts

Posted by Zenwan > 2013-10-23 22:44 | Report Abuse

Don't worry this is personal to me only....caveat here****

Zenwan

189 posts

Posted by Zenwan > 2013-10-23 22:46 | Report Abuse

If u can't, at least share the bullish sector...

Qiii

166 posts

Posted by Qiii > 2013-10-23 22:47 | Report Abuse

@iafx: Great point. A lot of readers may not be aware that the index represents 30 counters only. Well I supposed that if we know the sentiment is going to be positive, there are a lot of things that we can do. For e.g. long the index futures, select a couple of KLCI counters to buy. I am definitely not buying the entire market. The 2nd and 3rd liner stocks will follow suit in time.

Zenwan

189 posts

Posted by Zenwan > 2013-10-23 22:47 | Report Abuse

Btw you don't do it for them right?....you say because u believe....that is enough caveat ....

11,180 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2013-10-23 22:47 |

Zenwan

189 posts

Posted by Zenwan > 2013-10-23 22:48 | Report Abuse

How do you charge?

Qiii

166 posts

Posted by Qiii > 2013-10-23 22:49 | Report Abuse

@Zenwan: I understand that the question is for OTB but just being a busy body, I'd go O&G.

11,180 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2013-10-23 22:50 | Report Abuse

Please call me 03-21482111 to discuss.

Zenwan

189 posts

Posted by Zenwan > 2013-10-23 22:51 | Report Abuse

Qiii, that's the sector everyone is talking about...too predictable for me....but thanks

Qiii

166 posts

Posted by Qiii > 2013-10-23 22:52 | Report Abuse

No prob.

anbz

5,163 posts

Posted by anbz > 2013-10-23 22:53 | Report Abuse

market turun naik..OTB jugak yang untung..haha ada side income tu
---
OTB u kan dah kaya..tak payahlah charge...just give us some free info..haha

Zenwan

189 posts

Posted by Zenwan > 2013-10-23 22:56 | Report Abuse

Nice try anbz.....what say u OTB....if anyone blame you,...Anbz & I will bite their head off....

Zenwan

189 posts

Posted by Zenwan > 2013-10-23 22:59 | Report Abuse

I hope anbz got teeth like vampire.....he seems to suck hard..hehehe....I like this brother.....

Zenwan

189 posts

Posted by Zenwan > 2013-10-23 23:01 | Report Abuse

Sorry it's meant to read, suck hard for information....

htyeap125

135 posts

Posted by htyeap125 > 2013-10-24 08:10 | Report Abuse

hi twobits, may I know where did u get the info pertaining to the fund movement? Can u share the link? Thanx

Qiii

166 posts

Posted by Qiii > 2013-10-24 08:44 | Report Abuse

@twobits: Thanks for sharing. Volume is actually higher than the average day and within the upper range of daily historical volume so far. We will see if this breakout is real on Friday / Monday.

hamPAS

97 posts

Posted by hamPAS > 2013-10-24 08:58 | Report Abuse

my portfolio is now almost 70% in stocks, hope that there will be super bull run in 2014 as predicted

s466466

1,171 posts

Posted by s466466 > 2013-10-24 08:59 | Report Abuse

hopefully bull wont become bear.........then a lot ppl die

Qiii

166 posts

Posted by Qiii > 2013-10-24 09:10 | Report Abuse

That's true. I think profit taking is expected. Question is whether quality support can sustain the bull. Maybe this is a special note to contra players to be extra cautious.

iafx

4,632 posts

Posted by iafx > 2013-10-24 09:29 | Report Abuse

it's common to have "window dressing" b4 budget, ride on this and get all u can. "quality support", v will c next week.

btw, next month more qtr reports will release. by now, took nearly all profits off the table already ;)

Qiii

166 posts

Posted by Qiii > 2013-10-24 09:42 | Report Abuse

@iafx: Any insights on the earnings reports for any stellar companies?

iafx

4,632 posts

Posted by iafx > 2013-10-24 09:48 | Report Abuse

angin tiup first to come tenaga, experience bird like u knows the Cx game, right? :D :D

Qiii

166 posts

Posted by Qiii > 2013-10-24 10:01 | Report Abuse

Well Tenaga started yesterday with punters looking at possible tariff hike but I am more interested for any hidden gems in earnings reports for e.g. 100% increase in profit y-o-y etc. Satu kali, finance minister kata tak perlu tariff hike untuk kepentingan rakyat, jatuh menjunam.

iafx

4,632 posts

Posted by iafx > 2013-10-24 10:18 | Report Abuse

trend started since 23/8 to be precise. tak perlu tariff hike means tenaga is doing well, u believe tu "kepentingan rakyat"?

Qiii

166 posts

Posted by Qiii > 2013-10-24 10:22 | Report Abuse

Not sure really. Just getting your views. Tenaga's RSI is already at 9x.

Qiii

166 posts

Posted by Qiii > 2013-10-24 11:24 | Report Abuse

@twobits: Actually the sentiments in the US and as confirmed by some recent indications (between the lines) by some Fed state governors is that it is unlikely that they will taper this year. This is of course due to the fiscal issues the US government is facing, impact of gov shutdown on economy and unemployment in Oct. It looks likely that they will only rethink this after the US government has some concrete agreement in Jan 2013. We will see.

Regarding the chart pattern, it is just a pattern. As long as index stays above 1809, we are talking business. Today looks promising. I can't comment on foreign funds. MYR is strengthening, US equity market outperforms emerging markets and maybe they are just waiting on the sidelines for some clear signals on the Budget.

iafx

4,632 posts

Posted by iafx > 2013-10-24 11:24 | Report Abuse

in week of oct'18, there's outflow of USD94m.

note U.S budget/debt issues r not over but postpone to next year Jan-Feb. in that sense, probability of tapering will be low. in view of midterm election, no one wants to be blamed for screwing up economy stability. overall U.S economy shows slow and steady recovery, so is EU.

Qiii

166 posts

Posted by Qiii > 2013-10-24 11:26 | Report Abuse

Agree with iafx.

iafx

4,632 posts

Posted by iafx > 2013-10-24 11:30 | Report Abuse

agreed with u they r probably juz like us, cash out waiting at the sideline for clear signal on the budget; which said by wahid to address fitch rating.

iafx

4,632 posts

Posted by iafx > 2013-10-24 11:47 | Report Abuse

qiii is slightly on bull, iafx & 2bits r slightly on bear (correction actually, NOT crash or anything like that) at this point of time.

noise is good, if no noise market cannot move, everyone calculated with same formula gets the same value; looking at each other doing nothing? :D :D :D

Qiii

166 posts

Posted by Qiii > 2013-10-24 11:50 | Report Abuse

All & all, it is a healthy discussion. Good to be cautious although I am leaning on the index touching higher before correction kicks in and resume upward trend towards year end.

Qiii

166 posts

Posted by Qiii > 2013-10-24 11:52 | Report Abuse

Wow 100+ futures contracts just wiped out (bought) at 1822.

JTFX

1,582 posts

Posted by JTFX > 2013-10-24 11:56 | Report Abuse

it needs to clear n close abv the recent 1826 hi for momentum n vol to return..otherwise..will remain tentative n sidelined..as dow/s&p r trdg at the highs..