189 comment(s). Last comment by Coldrisks 2015-05-25 16:52

26,126 posts

Posted by speakup > 2014-06-23 17:21 | Report Abuse

malaysia : Brain drain, Muscle gain

anwarib

15 posts

Posted by anwarib > 2014-06-23 17:24 | Report Abuse

sop, why waste you daughter talent studying in local public university given the fact she already has admission on best university. As parent, you should be looking for scholarship for her. And why did she apply for HKUST U (Asia QS ranking no.1. world young U QS ranking no.1. world U QS ranking no.34) but reject it? She has already waste another student chance for administration due to her selfish act. What guarantee that once she admitted to local public university, she will not abandon mid term to pursue overseas offers? Many Chinese undergraduate had done such selfish act and they should be blame for stopping another Chinese who are genuine to finish their studies locally.

26,126 posts

Posted by speakup > 2014-06-23 17:24 | Report Abuse

the average IQ of malaysians has dropped tremendously since the 1970s, as those with high IQ leave malaysia to be replaced by those with low IQ.

anwarib

15 posts

Posted by anwarib > 2014-06-23 17:25 | Report Abuse

speakup, guess you are among those with low IQ then

26,126 posts

Posted by speakup > 2014-06-23 17:26 | Report Abuse

as a result, crime has increased due to higher brawn (more muscle, less brain)

26,126 posts

Posted by speakup > 2014-06-23 17:26 | Report Abuse

i'm working in singapore. where are you?

andychucky28

1,600 posts

Posted by andychucky28 > 2014-06-23 17:30 | Report Abuse

anwarib, the crony who afraid to show his identity and let his lesser uneducated malays rot.

andychucky28

1,600 posts

Posted by andychucky28 > 2014-06-23 17:32 | Report Abuse

studying in sekolah kebangsaan = uneducated because most teachers cannot speak english. Thats why our bank call centres when to Philippines and Indonesia.

Posted by Koon Yew Yin > 2014-06-23 17:35 | Report Abuse

This article must be affecting so many readers and I read all the comments with great interest. One quick and effective way to produce smarter people to manage the country is to reform all the public universities.

Currently all the professors and heads of faculties are Malays and almost all the students are Malays. What product do expect if the factory with 'not so good machineries' and the raw materials are 2nd class? The product will be 3rd class.

What do you expect if these 3rd class graduates manage the country? The country will be 4th class.

My heart aches when I have to write this.

anwarib

15 posts

Posted by anwarib > 2014-06-23 17:36 |

andychucky28

1,600 posts

Posted by andychucky28 > 2014-06-23 17:37 | Report Abuse

Yes Mr Koon, the 4th class know how to say Listen, Listen, Listen.. still remember?

andychucky28

1,600 posts

Posted by andychucky28 > 2014-06-23 17:39 | Report Abuse

I have many malay friends but they are not crony like you anwarib. You are not fit to use the name of anwar.

26,126 posts

Posted by speakup > 2014-06-23 17:43 | Report Abuse

Mr Koon is not anti-malay. He is anti-BN.

andychucky28

1,600 posts

Posted by andychucky28 > 2014-06-23 17:49 | Report Abuse

How much money you eaten so far anwarib?

Kukuman

2,118 posts

Posted by Kukuman > 2014-06-23 17:50 | Report Abuse

Mr koon, you have gone overboard !

anwarib

15 posts

Posted by anwarib > 2014-06-23 17:55 |

optimus8

405 posts

Posted by optimus8 > 2014-06-23 17:56 | Report Abuse

Posted by sop > Jun 23, 2014 05:15 PM | Report Abuse

dear anwarib,
my daughter had been given an admission offer to HKUST U (Asia QS ranking no.1. world young U QS ranking no.1. world U QS ranking no.34) by her STPM result and activities. she prefer to study in own country. but she was not call for interview by UM (faculty actuarial science and financial mathematics). there is a chance left to UKM (faculty actuarial science the result of intake is in July.)
I am worry she may fail to get it.
Can you please tell me how to get into local government U.

omg, HKUST? and ur daughter turn it down??? its like the Asia M.I.T for the starting pay that it command.

my advise is force your daughter to go there and beg and cry and do whatever to go study there.
the HKUST MBA is almost on par with Harvard and Wharton as it is highly sought after by angmoh MNC to work in greater china.

optimus8

405 posts

Posted by optimus8 > 2014-06-23 17:57 | Report Abuse

opps. i didnt said it. but i always agreed with it.

Posted by speakup > Jun 23, 2014 05:24 PM | Report Abuse

the average IQ of malaysians has dropped tremendously since the 1970s, as those with high IQ leave malaysia to be replaced by those with low IQ.

optimus8

405 posts

Posted by optimus8 > 2014-06-23 17:58 | Report Abuse

UNCLE KOON.
i dont agreed with 4th class.

i think NO class.

optimus8

405 posts

Posted by optimus8 > 2014-06-23 18:02 | Report Abuse

Posted by anwarib > Jun 23, 2014 05:55 PM |

Post removed. Why?

now chinese school kids in school are being told by racist teacher to go back tong shan. balik cina etc.

hallo, they were all borned here and donno what is tong shan. and having a citizenship as malaysian. how can ppls still so abusive???

andychucky28

1,600 posts

Posted by andychucky28 > 2014-06-23 18:05 |

hsbm

42 posts

Posted by hsbm > 2014-06-23 18:06 | Report Abuse

Mr Koon merely stated the facts. This is been reflected in the rankings of our universities, and the standard of maths and science of our secondary school student.

optimus8

405 posts

Posted by optimus8 > 2014-06-23 18:07 | Report Abuse

tell me why Malay when sick admit to hospital insist of getting chinese doctor or indian doctor?

many doctors told me so, why why why?

optimus8

405 posts

Posted by optimus8 > 2014-06-23 18:09 | Report Abuse

speakup, from what i know, many not high IQ also left already. leaving .... those are ???

li dat? fa tard?

andychucky28

1,600 posts

Posted by andychucky28 > 2014-06-23 18:11 | Report Abuse

optimus8, .. leaving those whom are less fortunate.

SANG-JERO

3,980 posts

Posted by SANG-JERO > 2014-06-23 18:12 | Report Abuse

there is a very limited space for peace in Malaysia......A matter of time before it explode.......

optimus8

405 posts

Posted by optimus8 > 2014-06-23 18:14 | Report Abuse

the DNA evolution from not so good IQ father mix with lagi not so so good mother would give birth to very not so good gene in new chinese generation. bcos more stupid and stupid. hate me, but thats the fact.

andychucky28

1,600 posts

Posted by andychucky28 > 2014-06-23 18:16 | Report Abuse

optimus8, i partially agree because it also depends on their upbringing, education levels, and people they mix with.

invest118

45 posts

Posted by invest118 > 2014-06-23 18:20 | Report Abuse

>> Hi sop, if your child is not selected for local university of your choice of study, you can consider to enrol for a local private university using PTPTN loan. If a PTPTN student is able to graduate with Honors degree, the loan will be converted to scholarship. Maybe you can consider this as a last resort. Further details can be obtained from the govt website.

optimus8

405 posts

Posted by optimus8 > 2014-06-23 18:20 | Report Abuse

andy. spend some time study abt DNA and u know how big portion of the potential is already pre-determined. u either have the talent, or not. a musician parent can easily give birth to musical genius company to bricklayer parent. its all in the gene.

bad gene no matter how hard working, or how mixing with genius wont change the fact that the gene is bad.

gene gene gene.....98% determined your character, talents (if any), health, look, brain.

Posted by koonyewyin101 > 2014-06-23 18:22 |

sunztzhe

2,248 posts

Posted by sunztzhe > 2014-06-23 18:24 | Report Abuse

Hi i3 forumers,
Please try to bring emotions under control as otherwise it spoils the mood of this discussion and understandably so emotions may get the better of some forumers.

Yes it is true that the education standards in government controlled tertiary institutions had dropped significantly. Just ask how many research papers have these government university academicians won internationally? Just look at the facts and determine objectively on what are the root causal factors for the deplorable decline in teaching and academic standards.

One good example. The University Malaya Medical school used to be the premier medical university in whole of Malaysia about 20 odd years ago. It is no longer the case now. The top medical university in Malaysia is now International Medical University.

The way forward for a NEW COMPETITIVE MALAYSIA is to implement meritocracy cum affirmative action policies to encourage the best and brightest in Malaysia to come forward to shoulder responsibilities, take charge to move the country forward.

optimus8

405 posts

Posted by optimus8 > 2014-06-23 18:27 |

susuan

214 posts

Posted by susuan > 2014-06-23 18:28 | Report Abuse

Mr Koon does not have deep hatred for the Malays, he is a rich senior citizen, a philanthropist, who cares for our country, and feels for the talented poor, who cant afford to further their studies, and gives them scholarships to further their studies, when the government rejects them.. Mr Koon is just telling the truth, but it hurts!

andychucky28

1,600 posts

Posted by andychucky28 > 2014-06-23 18:29 |

optimus8

405 posts

Posted by optimus8 > 2014-06-23 18:31 | Report Abuse

the founder of kuala lumpur....Yap Ah loy. will not rest in peace...

sunztzhe

2,248 posts

Posted by sunztzhe > 2014-06-23 18:42 | Report Abuse

Mr Koon,
As you are the author of this blog, do you want to summarize and bring this discussion to a close or you rather leave it open?

Posted by Koon Yew Yin > 2014-06-23 19:08 | Report Abuse

sunztzhe, I think all these comments and arguments are good so that all the people can understand the real problem our beloved country is facing. Everybody can express his opinion as long as it is not abusive.

Up till now, I am sorry to say that people like anwarib mistakenly thinks that I hate the Malays. That is not true. I wrote this article because I love my country and I hope the Bumiputeras can see the real problem so that we can achieve vision 2020.

I am in the process of writing another piece under the title "Why Malaysia is lagging behind our neighbours"

cytew

1,599 posts

Posted by cytew > 2014-06-23 19:21 | Report Abuse

During my school times in 1970s,i went for tuition class was because my studies were weak, nowadays, my children go for tuition class is because the government school teachers are weak, and my youngest girl goes to Kuen Cheng Chinese independent school, no tuition class is required because school teachers are good.

sunztzhe

2,248 posts

Posted by sunztzhe > 2014-06-23 19:36 | Report Abuse

Mr Koon, This forum is an excellent avenue for different views to be expressed, discussed and debated and hopefully everyone develops a better understanding of each others views. The path to self improvement is to look at factual info and ask

" What are the objective facts, Why are these so, What are the root causal factors, What are the action plans to be implemented to improve for one self and for the country?"

Based on the discussion here, I noticed there are deep ingrained prejudices amongst the forumers which will take some time to be smoothed out. I hope everyone will come to this forum with an open inquisitive mind, to learn,to express their views, to debate in a cool even tempered manner and express ones thoughts in a logical basis and hopefully every forumers here will rise above their deeply ingrained prejudices, suspicions, preconceived ideas to gain insight and knowledge on the broader strategic issues affecting the long term competitiveness of Malaysia which some forumers may not be fully aware of.

Nevertheless I would like to say "Thank You for spending the time to pen down your thoughts and ideas and I look forward to your next article"

I also hope that certain forumers here will open up their minds further to see the bigger picture that your articles has the sole intention of bringing forth key strategic issues that have negative impacts on the competitiveness and long term future of Malaysia.

optimus8

405 posts

Posted by optimus8 > 2014-06-23 19:41 | Report Abuse

to debate in a cool even tempered manner and express ones thoughts in a logical basis and hopefully every forumers here will rise above their deeply ingrained prejudices, suspicions, preconceived ideas to gain insight and knowledge on the broader strategic issues affecting the long term competitiveness of Malaysia which some forumers may not be fully aware of.

bla bla bla..

when a non chinese attack a chinese, even chinese would come out and ask the chinese to cool down, to give way, to think about the bigger picture etc etc.

so the chinese is shutting down another chinese voice while the other races are attacking full force and nonstop.

to me, this is called timid.

when ppls ask you to go back china. go back tong san. even to your kids in school, u still think it is possible to debate in a cool even tempered manner?

what issue affecting lonterm competitiveness of malaysia? got meh? got anything competitive???

sunztzhe

2,248 posts

Posted by sunztzhe > 2014-06-23 20:06 | Report Abuse

Optimus8,
I hope that god will give you:
The even temper to take things as they come along
the sense of humour which can always find some cause to smile
the gratitude which can always find something for which to be thankful
the cheerfulness which not all earth's shadows and disappointment can extinguish

I also hope you will find some wisdom in the following:

"The general, unable to control his irritation, will launch his men to the assault like swarming ants with the result that one-third of his men are slain, while the town still remains untaken."

Please try your utmost to control your emotions and temper. It is far more effective to use your brain to do the work rather than let your emotions do the work for you.

koon101

5 posts

Posted by koon101 > 2014-06-23 20:07 |

koon101

5 posts

Posted by koon101 > 2014-06-23 20:09 |

Posted by optimusx8888 > 2014-06-23 20:10 | Report Abuse

Suntze. U r a man of wisdom, I salute u. Optimus is robot, built to fight n protect. Cannot understand human logic.

sunztzhe

2,248 posts

Posted by sunztzhe > 2014-06-23 20:12 | Report Abuse

Optimusx888, Thank you for your understanding.

koon101

5 posts

Posted by koon101 > 2014-06-23 20:15 |

koon101

5 posts

Posted by koon101 > 2014-06-23 20:17 |

koon101

5 posts

Posted by koon101 > 2014-06-23 20:19 |

susuan

214 posts

Posted by susuan > 2014-06-23 20:21 | Report Abuse

Mr Koon,I have the greatest respect for you, and I love to read your articles!! Looking forward to reading your next article, "Why Malaysia is lagging behind our neighbours"