brain n mind are just temporary tools only,,subjected to come, touch n go

koonyew

Posted by koonyew > 2014-06-23 20:55 |

CCCL

621 posts

Posted by CCCL > 2014-06-23 21:02 | Report Abuse

10 years ago M'sia only lag behind S'pore. Going to lag behind T'land, Indo, Viet, Cambodia....:(:( :(

cariyoyo

126 posts

Posted by cariyoyo > 2014-06-23 21:26 | Report Abuse

Let us put things in the right perspective. The main factor of the Malaysian brain drain as identified by World Bank is attributed to the less attractive salary and benefits offered in the country. This difference is especially noticeable in the high skill technology sector. For example, the starting salary for a fresh graduate with a bachelor degree is US$50,000 or RM150,000 per annum. In Malaysia, the starting salary is a meager RM30,000 or less per annum. The starting salary for many other sectors in Malaysia nowhere near as attractive as Singapore, Australia, New Zealand, Taiwan or even Thailand. This is further dampened by luxury taxes in Malaysia. For example, a new Toyota Altis costs as much as RM130,000 when the same model can be driven off the showroom at AUD35,000. In this case, we must demonstrate dollar to dollar comparison. The brain drain is also attributed to the lack of career prospects and unavailability of opportunities in specific fields. Majority of Malaysia economy is based on production, manufacturing and agricultural with very little in the field of research and development. This has largely contributed to semi to unskilled labor market pool. The influx of immigrants from Indonesia, Bangladesh, Nepal, Myanmar and most recently, Afghanistan to be fruit pickers, security guards, swimming pool life guards and factory operators had placed Malaysia further down on the middle income status. Inability to introduce much required steps to push the economy upwards due to political obligations had prevented Malaysia to catch up with countries like Taiwan, South Korea, Singapore, Thailand and Hong Kong. It was as recently as 1988, when Malaysia was just a little behind of achieving the title of four little dragons. Today, all these countries are oceans apart in terms of their respective economies vis-a-vis Malaysia.

A sensitive yet substantial causes to the Malaysia brain drain is social inequality. Affirmative programmes that lasted 45 years and still on-going had resulted outflow of brains and financially benefitted many neighbouring countries like Australia and Singapore.

The education system in Malaysia are inconsistent and changes every now and then which is extremely detrimental to social building. I noticed that Mukah put up a strong point on the assimilations failure due to incooperative of vernacular schools with the national type schools system. It is indeed true that English standard both written and spoken had gone down considerable notches below compared to 1950s, 1960s, 1970s. However, the main contribution to brain drain in Malaysia is money.

Sadly, our Ringgit has not been able to move up as fast as Singapore. Until this is corrected, Singapore will benefit from Malaysia brain drain.

alphajack

3,685 posts

Posted by alphajack > 2014-06-23 21:27 | Report Abuse

Mr.Koon I totally agree with your statement. Discriminatory policies like the ones upheld here would only lead to the downfall of this nation which is already happening. Sadly, there will not be any Civil Rights Movement here and all we can do is to move on and bring our riches away from this godforsaken nation.

Posted by koonsyioksendiri > 2014-06-23 21:33 |

Posted by koonsyioksendiri > 2014-06-23 21:44 | Report Abuse

Mahathir fault for kowtow to chineses until economy suffer. Now PM Najib no more give ass to chineses. Economy now rate among the best the in the world.

KUALA LUMPUR: Malaysia’s economy is doing quite well as the current debt service ratio continues to be moderate and sustainable at 10.7% and it is also heading into a safe zone, Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Idris Jala said.

He was responding to William Pesek’s June 5 article entitled “Is Malaysia Asia’s Weakest Link” in Bloomberg View, an editorial division of Bloomberg, in which the columnist wondered whether the economy will crumble after Oxford Economics ranked Malaysia as the riskiest country in Asia in a survey.

“Over the last four years, with our public debt as a percentage of the GDP maintained below the legislated debt ceiling of 55% and having met with fiscal deficit reduction targets, in 2013, Malaysia took its first step into the Safe Zone,” he said.

The minister pointed out that the Boston Consulting Group has developed a matrix to determine a fiscal “Safe Zone” for countries, with one axis featuring public debt as a percentage of gross domestic product (GDP) and another featuring fiscal surplus or deficit as a percentage of GDP.

The safe zone is achieved if as a percentage of GDP, public debt is below 75% and deficit is at 4% or below, with the danger zone characterised by public debt equalling or exceeding the GDP and deficit of 8% and above.

Many other countries have much higher debt profiles as a percentage of GDP such as Singapore (115.1%), Japan (195.8%), the UK (102.6%) and the United States (93.8%), Idris said, pointing out that what is more important is whether countries are able to service their loans.

Idris said Malaysia was well on track to meet the 3.5% target this year after surpassing the 4% target to achieve a 3.9% deficit in 2013.

“In the last four years we have systematically reduced our deficit – in 2010 by 5.6%, followed by 4.8% in 2001 and 4.5% in 2012,” he said.

Malaysia’s fiscal deficit was at 6.6% in 2009 and Prime Minister Najib Tun Razak is determined for the country to be budget neutral by 2020.

Idris said the government would broaden its tax base and diversify revenue streams by announcing the planned implementation of the Goods and Services Tax (GST) at 6% from April 2015.

“Just imagine the positive impact the GST will have on the fiscal position eventually, when we increase the rates to the international benchmark.

“Moving on, at RM40 billion a year, Malaysia’s subsidy bill is simply untenable,” Idris said.

The government has rationalised subsidies on fuel and sugar as well as put in place the reforms necessary for a targeted subsidy system to benefit the deserving via social safety nets, he added.

“More must be done certainly. We are not shying away from the difficult policy decisions, we are pushing ahead full steam.

“We have also gradually reduced dependence on oil and gas revenue from 35.8% in 2011 to 33.7% in 2012. In 2013, we expect a further reduction to 30.6%,” he said.

Idris said approved pipeline investment had been increasing year-on-year since 2010, surpassing the government’s annual investment target of RM148 billion under the 10th Malaysia Plan.

In 2011, approved investment stood at RM154.6 billion; in 2012, RM167.8 billion; and in 2013, RM216.5 billion.

He said offshore borrowing stands at RM324 billion making up 32.9% of GDP with only 46.7% of external debt stock in Malaysia coming from offshore borrowings.

“Of this amount, almost all were borrowed by profit-driven and revenue maximising institutions including private sector and public enterprises and only 5% is attributed to the Federal Government,” he said.

On the Federal Government’s borrowings, Idris said the external debt is at RM158.4 billion of which only RM16.8 billion are in foreign currencies.

“This simply means that we are less susceptible to fluctuations in the global economy,” he said.

Meanwhile, Malaysia has climbed steadily from 23rd in 2010 and 18th in 2012 to 6th in 2014, and has been in the top 10 in the world for the last two years under the World Bank’s Doing Business survey.

The country climbed three notches from last year to capture 12th spot in the recent IMD World Competitiveness Yearbook 2014, and placed 15th compared with 25th in 2013 under AT Kearney’s FDI Confidence Index 2014.

“So, if we are being told that our economy is in trouble, the writer and Oxford Economics should, at the very least, present a more factually compelling story,” Idris said

Posted by optimusx8888 > 2014-06-23 21:49 | Report Abuse

Duitbesar, lu manyak senang ka

CCCL

621 posts

Posted by CCCL > 2014-06-23 21:58 | Report Abuse

Angan-angan Mat Jenin mentality.

Posted by optimusx8888 > 2014-06-23 22:01 | Report Abuse

Otb u keep flagging me no need to do your 12 hour a day mkt research meh? Or subscribers all cabut liao so no need?

marc11

16 posts

Posted by marc11 > 2014-06-23 22:28 | Report Abuse

Please take note that the brain drain does not only include the Non malays but malay as well. For those Blue blood that are so much into Malay supremacy, the elites are only creating agendas and propagandas that would result to filled up their pockets. 'You' have a choice in 'your' vote to create a better good in Malaysia and your priviledge status remained.

'You' can see that infra asset being privatise to the elites and cronies. 'you' can name it highways, train, Rice, Car, Airlines ETC. 'You' can see most of the assets are necessities in Malaysia. The Price can only increase but profiting only few priviledge people. Rakyay malaysia will lose people will suffer.

The way the country is going We will not be surprise we will start to export people to work in overseas to work as labor or house maid. Sadly the 'your' So Called Malays supremacy status will only remain in malaysia but 'you' and malaysians will be called Buruh or Pembantu Rumah in overseas.

"You Know who you are"

Posted by optimusx8888 > 2014-06-23 22:38 | Report Abuse

Dont worry, malaysian all well fed n over nutrition n overweight, can export blood. Huge demand in global mkt, can sell kidney also, u dont need 2 kidney ma. No nid export as maid or buruh, u want export they also dont want, so lazy.....my 3 cents.

SANG-JERO

3,980 posts

Posted by SANG-JERO > 2014-06-23 23:04 | Report Abuse

ya lah......Malaysia is a really lousy place to stay......Malaysia is for Tongkat people.......No future lah...everything sucks.....education system....corruption Top to Bottom...etc.....Let's migrate to a better place like China...singapore...Australia...New Zealand.....Tell Your children..Don't ever come back to Malaysia...Stay put at where you are

sunztzhe

2,248 posts

Posted by sunztzhe > 2014-06-23 23:07 | Report Abuse

koonsioksendiri,
Anyone including you can deny and disagree with William Pesek’s June 5 article entitled “Is Malaysia Asia’s Weakest Link”. William Pesek's article is indeed a wake up call to Malaysia and Malaysia better pay heed to William Pesek's message.

It is a fact that Malaysia in 2014 had lagged far behind countries like South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand, Singapore since 1988 . These countries had managed to upscale its economy into research and development which requires human talents whereas Malaysia had not moved beyond production, manufacturing and agriculture. In short, Malaysia had not upscale its economy into research and development since 1988. You as a Malaysian cannot deny this fact.

What are the root causal factors for Malaysia in lagging behind these four countries since 1988? Do you know? If you do not know, do you want to find out and understand the root causal factors?

Please be aware that harboring deeply ingrained prejudices,suspicions and refusing to rise above these to see the bigger picture on the strategic issues that are impacting on Malaysia's current and future economic wellbeing is first and foremost the greatest disservice that one bestows upon oneself. I am sure you will not do so.

I hope that you will rise above your own prejudices to see the critical strategic issues that affects Malaysia progress towards up-scaling its economy towards more research and development bias which will lead to better paying jobs for every Malaysian in future including your children and grandchildren. If these strategic issues are not addressed to with strategic action plans, the lack of strategic actions will eventually impact on the future economic wellbeing of young Malaysians looking for a fresh start to better career prospects including your children and grandchildren.

Do you want this situation to occur in future for your fellow Malaysians, for your children and also for your grandchildren? Don't you want them to have a much better quality of life? What are you going to do about it to ensure that the future generations in Malaysia will have better job prospects and higher paying jobs with better career prospects in knowledge intensive industries?

marc11

16 posts

Posted by marc11 > 2014-06-23 23:24 | Report Abuse

Sang-Jero pleae do not be katak di bawah temperung. Do you know that most your so called tongkat people that have make it, their children already residing in UK and US.

Posted by optimusx8888 > 2014-06-23 23:31 | Report Abuse

Many kataks r brown color? Have u seen white katak or yellow kataks??
sorry my biology failed. Wakaka

Posted by Koon Yew Yin > 2014-06-23 23:54 | Report Abuse

These are the only 3 sentences written by koonsyioksendiri "Mahathir fault for kowtow to chineses until economy suffer. Now PM Najib no more give ass to chineses. Economy now rate among the best the in the world".

The rest of the long commentary is from the statement made by Idris Jala to the press.

Can you tell me which university did koonsyoksendiri attend? Did he pass?

Posted by koonhalfpastsix > 2014-06-24 00:31 |

Posted by optimusx8888 > 2014-06-24 03:20 | Report Abuse

University of katak. Drop out in 1st sem.

Mitras

130 posts

Posted by Mitras > 2014-06-24 08:03 | Report Abuse

hahahaha huhuhuhu
dari universiti tongkat besar dgn ijazah kelas pertama
hahahaha huhuhuhu

SANG-JERO

3,980 posts

Posted by SANG-JERO > 2014-06-24 08:17 | Report Abuse

Ya lah....Malaysia is only good for Katak & Brown Tongkat people.....Lousy education system....corrupted from top to bottom.....Lousy security......lousy in everything....anytime race riot can explode......let's go back to China..Taiwan...Hongkong where there is NO CORRUPTION....High class education system...World class mentaility....Or we can migrate to Australia....US...UK...or any where lah....

Must tell our children...Don't come back....Give up malaysian citizen.....Get married to other people in foreign country.......let's pack our bag and leave this stupid country run by Brown Tongkat Katak people....We will suffer more if we stay in Malaysia..........We will be staying under the bridge along Sungai klang or low cost flat......We mainly the Chinese can't afford to stay in Multi Miilion Condo and high end property in Mont Kiara or Penang.......

Mitras

130 posts

Posted by Mitras > 2014-06-24 08:24 | Report Abuse

hahahaha huhuhuhu
tak mahu tongkat besar ke?
mahu pun tak boleh dapat lah
hanya tunggu jemputan eksklusif ja
u mahu, dia tak beri
bagaimana nak dapat?
cuma dari university tongkat besar
dgn kelulusan ijazah kelas pertama
yg di sanjung tinggi oleh pemberi
hahahaha huhuhuhu

bracoli

2,579 posts

Posted by bracoli > 2014-06-24 08:30 | Report Abuse

mr koon i salute you in your indormitable spirit of fighting for a better malaysian. However sometimes we just have to accept the fact that malaysian is unchangeable as long the cronies are there. I am in the midst applying PR to a better country, which could give better future for my kids. what to do loh... gst is coming which gives more ka cing $$$$$ to the......

Mitras

130 posts

Posted by Mitras > 2014-06-24 08:34 | Report Abuse

hahahaha huhuhuhu
sang jero cirit birik lisan ke?
tenang lah sikit
hahahaha huhuhuhu

SANG-JERO

3,980 posts

Posted by SANG-JERO > 2014-06-24 08:36 | Report Abuse

Bracoli..I am following your foot step.....migrate.....Malaysia is a lousy country....Highly corrupted top to bottom.....Malaysia is NOT a good country for us Malaysian especially the Chinese......We will end up staying under the bridge along Sungai klang or Low cost Bandaraya flat......or anywhere there is river.....

bracoli

2,579 posts

Posted by bracoli > 2014-06-24 08:38 | Report Abuse

sang jero today got any counters can contra? kikiki

SANG-JERO

3,980 posts

Posted by SANG-JERO > 2014-06-24 08:45 | Report Abuse

Bracoli.....No contra lah...But look at Sumatec....Pantech.....Dbhd...must hold to make money....Cannot make money...we migrate.....ha...ha...ha...

Mitras

130 posts

Posted by Mitras > 2014-06-24 08:50 | Report Abuse

hahahaha huhuhuhu
amboi, sang jero memang cirit birit lisan
duduk kat sungai tak bagus ke?
sungai ada ayer, ada ikan
boleh mencuci, boleh berenang
tak perlu bayar
nak berhijrah ke luar negeri ke?
betul tak? fikir lebih mendalam lah sang jero
hahahaha huhuhuhu

SANG-JERO

3,980 posts

Posted by SANG-JERO > 2014-06-24 08:56 | Report Abuse

Mitras...Ya lor...Malaysia very corrupted country meh.....Run by Brown Katak Tongkat people....Later I cannot afford to stay in High End condo or high end property meh.......Takut leh...Later I stay under the bridge along Sungai Klang or 2 room Flat ...with many many Brown Katak people....Sungai Klang also very dirty...Aiyoooo...Sungai also corupted leh...how to stay in Malaysia...I want to follow Bracoli lah...Migrate...

bracoli

2,579 posts

Posted by bracoli > 2014-06-24 09:00 | Report Abuse

aiyo sekalang malay manyak sudah kaya kaya mah... kita cina sudah miskin tambah miskin loh.... kena migrate cuci pinggan mangkuk liao loh...
sang jero contra make fast money to buy air ticket mah

cariyoyo

126 posts

Posted by cariyoyo > 2014-06-24 09:01 | Report Abuse

Please reconcile with the fact that Malaysia went through 22 years under the regime of Dr. Mahathir. Many children who were born in 1981 grew up living, knowing and reading Dr. Mahathir in their daily lives. Many officers in the Malaysian government went through Biro Tata Negara (BTN) which espoused racial supremacy among others. Former Deputy Prime Minister, Anwar Ibrahim felt that BTN isn't the way forward anymore and demanded an overhaul should Pakatan becomes the new ruling government. However, this is not to be. Malaysia will continue with the old system (old wine in new bottle) as too many factions in the ruling government particularly in UMNO are resistance to changes. The One Malaysia concept is now degraded to mere slogan and rhetoric as majority of UMNO firebrand managed to get smaller groups like Perkasa, ISMA and others to pressurized the current Prime Minister to give in to their demands. The recent GE13 which demonstrated huge migration of Chinese voters to the side of Pakatan didn't help either as these UMNO firebrand continued to say that Chinese are ungrateful. Refer to the headline of Utusan Malaysia just a day after the result of GE13 was announced i.e. "Apa Lagi Cina Mau".

The affirmative programme of 45 years must be discarded gradually in order for the Bumiputera and others to slowly compete in an open society. I am not against the affirmative programme which was introduced in 1970 but after 45 years and we are still defending it would very well mean that our society were used by certain groups to continue to be in power. Imagine your kid refused to go to school after 45 years of pampering. Do you think he will ever wake up and go to school on his own???

Mitras

130 posts

Posted by Mitras > 2014-06-24 09:02 | Report Abuse

hahahaha huhuhuhu
apa nak takut kalau ada tongkat
ada tongkat ada harapan besar
ada kehidupan selesa
kenapa sang jero nak berhijrah keluar negeri?
hahahaha huhuhuhu

mukah

50 posts

Posted by mukah > 2014-06-24 09:09 | Report Abuse

Was going through the various comments. I believe that our life is politics. Everything that we discuss will lead to political policies. Are there any hope for Malaysians?

SANG-JERO

3,980 posts

Posted by SANG-JERO > 2014-06-24 09:12 | Report Abuse

aiyo bracoli...see...I told you Sumatec......Buy..buy...Faster...I want to make money leh...Can migrate mah....I don't want to stay under the brige tepi sungai with Brown Katak Tongkat people....Sungai in Malaysia also dirty meh...Corrupted lor......

Mitras

130 posts

Posted by Mitras > 2014-06-24 09:16 | Report Abuse

hahahaha huhuhuhu
ada tongkat ada kehidupan selesa
takda tongkat takda kehidupan
jadi hamba, kerja keras
itu ja
hahahaha huhuhuhu

benson911

639 posts

Posted by benson911 > 2014-06-24 10:25 | Report Abuse

This article is good to show that young generation is getting smarter.

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/rencana/article/surat-terbuka-kepada-datin-seri-rosmah-mansor-fahmi-zainol

dyks1

51 posts

Posted by dyks1 > 2014-06-24 10:47 | Report Abuse

There nothing wrong we lost all talents to Singapore because it's fair competition and Singapore got what they did to grab these talents. Those who left for Singapore will not only going for one of the best universities in Asia but they have chance to improve their life and contribute to society. These talents not wanted in Malaysia afterall, so what's wrong if they leave for better place and continue to open more opportunity to non-Malay in Malaysia to go there.

dyks1

51 posts

Posted by dyks1 > 2014-06-24 10:51 | Report Abuse

Instead of providing scholarship for them to study in local higher institution, it's better you guide them so they can enter one of the best universities in world and Asia in Singapore instead of wasting time study in low class universities in Malaysia. Singapore universities graduates are much sought after by big MNC in China and US than Malaysian universities.

Posted by stockraider > 2014-06-24 11:05 | Report Abuse

RAIDER IS SURPRISE...SO MUCH EMPHASIS....OF EXAM GRADES AND TYPE OF UNIVERSITY.
THE BEST SURVIVAL....IS TO TRAIN....THOSE PEOPLE TO HAVE BEST POSITIVE ATTITUDE N CONFIDENCE TO DO THING..IN ORDER TO PROGRESS.

THIS HOW GREAT ENTREPRENEUR IS DEVELOP MAH.....!!

25,155 posts

Posted by speakup > 2014-06-24 11:12 | Report Abuse

Even bola-sepak, we used to be best in Asia in the 1970s, look where are we now?

25,155 posts

Posted by speakup > 2014-06-24 11:14 | Report Abuse

in the 1970s, Melayu (Mokthar Dahari), Cina (Soh Chin Aun), India (Santokh Singh) all united for the glory of Malaysia.
Now pecah belah, how to go World Cup?

SANG-JERO

3,980 posts

Posted by SANG-JERO > 2014-06-24 11:17 | Report Abuse

Ya lor....Go oversea University to study mah.....Malaysia university really lousy....Only Brown Katak tongkat people...No class.....We must encourage our children to study oversea....China...US...Uk anywhere lah....Don't stay in Malaysia....Full of Brown Katak tongkat people....Stay in Malaysia camnot become Big towkay like Quek leng chan, YTL, Robert kuok., Ananda, etc.....Later we join Brown Katak Tongkat and people stay under bridge along Klang river and low cost flat mah......Aiyooo.....Malaysia very corrupted lah....Top to bottom...some more not safe.....many illigal immigrant....Minister talk only don't work one meh.....PM also not brave one....Migrate lah....

worst still...now got suicide bomber...Aiyooo...migrate lah....

Posted by stockraider > 2014-06-24 11:19 | Report Abuse

U WILL NOTICE THAT THE NON MALAYS WILL EXCEL....IN GAMES THAT DO NOT SUBJECT SELECTION LOH....!!

LIKE...BADMINTON, SQUASH, SWIMMING, SNOOKERS, TABLE TENNIS, GOLF ETC....!!

WHEREAS...GAME WHICH R SUBJECTED....TO SUBJECTIVE SELECTION LIKE FOOTBALL, HOCKEY...THERE ARE ALL DOMINATED BY THE MALAYS ?

THIS BCOS....EVEN IN SPORTS....THE NON MALAY....SEE THEY ARE DISCRIMINATION TOO LOH.....!!

kslim

4 posts

Posted by kslim > 2014-06-24 11:19 |

Posted by CebaiLang888 > 2014-06-24 11:24 |

Posted by stockraider > 2014-06-24 11:26 | Report Abuse

MALAYS HAVE GREAT SINGERS....BUT THAT IS SLOWLY ERODING TOO...!!

cckkpr

219 posts

Posted by cckkpr > 2014-06-24 11:27 | Report Abuse

I want to share my perspective on the education prospects in bolehland.During the 60s and the early 70s, there were only a few universities and being a Chinese, if we do not make it to the public universities, we will have no choice but to go to KTAR or some other colleges.The Chinese have been fighting for the establishment of the so called Merdeka University so that more Chinese can get tertiary education but to no effect. Fast tracked to the current scenario. Nowadays, we have so many private universities and we are spoilt with choice in choosing which one we want to go by going to the various forums and seeking comments/advice from fellow students or ex students. I honestly say that there are many opportunities in the private sector to choose what one wanted to study.
Yeah, many would say the fees are of course much more expensive that public universities.For those of us from the Merdeka Univesity era, didnt what we wanted for was additonal places to pursue our tertiary education.
If we still aske for places based on merit in public universities, where would most of the Malays be placed. Yes, there are discrimination but why cant we look at the bigger picture. More than 95% of the students in private universities are non-Malays and if we asked for merit placements in public universities, where are we going to place the bulk of the Malay students.
Please be reminded that we have got the PTPTN to provide us with loans for our education purposes. I would like to know how many countries in the world provide such facilities for students to finance their education?

I am no friend of the BN and just hate the gomen for a lot of the distorted policies and corruption which this country can get rid off for a better future.

25,155 posts

Posted by speakup > 2014-06-24 11:30 | Report Abuse

We need to unite as ONE nation, ONE people. We may be different race, different religion, BUT IF we start looking at each other by our NATIONALITY instead our our race and our religion, WE HAVE A CHANCE TO BE THE BEST!

25,155 posts

Posted by speakup > 2014-06-24 11:31 | Report Abuse

Deep down this is the message of Mr Koon.

Posted by CebaiLang888 > 2014-06-24 11:31 |