20 people like this.

699 comment(s). Last comment by 爱丽丝 梦幻世界 2016-01-08 23:15

Posted by graysonchin > 2015-12-16 15:52 | Report Abuse

count me in. when is the closing date for stock selection 2016?

Posted by murali > 2015-12-16 16:48 | Report Abuse

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > Dec 16, 2015 02:23 PM | Report Abuse

Dear Mr Tan KW,

I suggest the following terms and conditions if you agree :-

Each participant must buy at least 5 stocks - to reduce risk.
Each participant cannot invest > 30% of capital on any single stock - to reduce risk.

I think it will make this competition interesting and every one can learn in this competition.

I seconded this. Or else some gamblers may just hentam 100% on a certain WA and they may appear to be Stock God of 2016!!!!! NO standard at all...merely on luck

CFTrader

812 posts

Posted by CFTrader > 2015-12-16 16:58 | Report Abuse

murali, how about each participant must pick at least 5 stocks ?
After all the investment amount should be adjusted by the participant as well. IMHO, capital allotment is one of the most important knowledge in investing criteria.

Posted by murali > 2015-12-16 17:04 | Report Abuse

I just dont want to see some jokers hentam 90-100% on a Warrant or a certain Ace Board penny stock to try their luck and end up to be the champion for 2016.

Maybe can set a limit such as not exceeding 30-50% on one single stock....Just my personal opinion.

alphajack

3,685 posts

Posted by alphajack > 2015-12-16 17:08 | Report Abuse

^2014 I hantam a single stock and made a fortune. this year diversify didn't make as much, Murali sometimes making a fortune from a single stock is more admirable than diworsifying

Posted by murali > 2015-12-16 17:11 | Report Abuse

Or else I may be tempted to hentam 100% of my money on one single Wa or Penny stock to try my luck...Koon Koon's money is yum yum..

Posted by 爱丽丝 梦幻世界 > 2015-12-16 17:26 | Report Abuse

Murali, i no scare single participant hentam 100% in one Warrant... but one person with multiple name/acc hentam difference Wa 100%. Loss just ignore then winner claim 10k... wakaka

Eelyn Soon

514 posts

Posted by Eelyn Soon > 2015-12-16 17:27 | Report Abuse

im gonna participate! pls let me know when the registration is open..

Posted by murali > 2015-12-16 17:41 | Report Abuse

Posted by 爱丽丝 梦幻世界 > Dec 16, 2015 05:26 PM | Report Abuse

Murali, i no scare single participant hentam 100% in one Warrant... but one person with multiple name/acc hentam difference Wa 100%. Loss just ignore then winner claim 10k... wakaka

U see the beauty of it oredi leh....Few stocks that can be used for this 100% sailang purpose one are Hubline, (which is currently at RM0.01), Amedia-WA (RM0.005),DGB-WA (RM0.015),KG-Group-WA (RM0.015) etc etc..

I will create many IDs and bet 100% on anyone of it....Who knows I could sapu all the three champion, First Runner Up n Second Runner Up...TQ for Koon Koon's $$$$$$$$$$$$$

Nothing to lose and everything to gain!!!!!!!!!!

Posted by murali > 2015-12-16 17:43 | Report Abuse

Posted by CFTrader > Dec 16, 2015 04:58 PM | Report Abuse

murali, how about each participant must pick at least 5 stocks ?
After all the investment amount should be adjusted by the participant as well. IMHO, capital allotment is one of the most important knowledge in investing criteria.

Those jokers still can break it....98% on one cheap Wa/ penny stock and 0.5% for their other 4 stocks...still, Luck factor comes first

Posted by murali > 2015-12-16 17:44 | Report Abuse

Bear in mind this round got $$$$$ factor, will attract much more players/gamblers.....

CFTrader

812 posts

Posted by CFTrader > 2015-12-16 17:47 | Report Abuse

murali , oh okay .. hahahahaha. I forget about that thing.

CFTrader

812 posts

Posted by CFTrader > 2015-12-16 17:48 | Report Abuse

also, if can, ban call/put warrant as most of their lifespan can't make it thru the deadline ..

Probability

Posted by Probability > 2015-12-16 18:42 | Report Abuse

I concur on Skyland's no (4) - Those duplicate fake ID with less than 50 comments are not allow to participate.

Prefer if its more than 100 comments Skyland..

necro

4,726 posts

Posted by necro > 2015-12-16 19:18 | Report Abuse

Bolehh kah wa masuk 2016 punya competition?..

Tkoklin

162 posts

Posted by Tkoklin > 2015-12-16 20:21 | Report Abuse

I am thinking what stocks to buy for my plural fund

Tkoklin

162 posts

Posted by Tkoklin > 2015-12-16 20:23 | Report Abuse

OTB, how much is koon sponsoring? Rm1mil? Why not? If a fm can get return ore than 50% and come out no.1 you might be getting one of the best fm.

Tkoklin

162 posts

Posted by Tkoklin > 2015-12-16 20:32 | Report Abuse

Ok, 10k...I will try create 100 different IDs to ensure at least one portfolio get to no.3

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2015-12-16 21:25 | Report Abuse

My stock pick for 2016 and some teaser
1. Plastics related counter
2. Tin related counter
3. Aluminum related counter
4. Glove related counter
5. Tech related counter
6. Recycle related counter
See me later if I found them

Tkoklin

162 posts

Posted by Tkoklin > 2015-12-16 21:29 | Report Abuse

ITu, talk like no talk

jester

852 posts

Posted by jester > 2015-12-17 08:35 | Report Abuse

Hurm.. people are so serious in the upcoming 2016 pick. We do not have this in 2014 & 2015. In fact, 2014 there are just 15 people participating. haha

But I'm a bit worried now that there are money on the line now. We all must not forget that the initial intention of the Stock Pick Challenge is to gain knowledge and have meaningful interaction with each other. Well the prize money is good for those who are really competitive about it I guess.

Good luck everyone.

jester

852 posts

Posted by jester > 2015-12-17 08:49 | Report Abuse

And can I also point out that with the amount of participants that we foresee to participate this time, would it be too overwhelming to Mr Tan KW? We appreciate a lot of his contribution but we also need to think about his side of the table.

Mr Tan KW, what are your thoughts about this?

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2015-12-17 09:39 | Report Abuse

I will stick with ringgit weakness and low oil prices for exports but laggards.........
meaning timber, plywood, electronic assembly, plastic, export manufacturing.

any suggestions.?

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2015-12-17 09:42 | Report Abuse

completely agree with OTB.

this is a portfolio and should contain risk by diversification....I say , at least 5 stocks and no derivatives.

Posted by Bing Feng Tan > 2015-12-17 09:48 | Report Abuse

i suggest that, since money involved in the game, to prevent people from making more IDs, someone should verify each and every account they participate in the competition.

jester

852 posts

Posted by jester > 2015-12-17 09:54 | Report Abuse

I agree. But again that would be too much work for one person. Am I wrong?

Posted by 爱丽丝 梦幻世界 > 2015-12-17 09:58 | Report Abuse

Ya BFT, someone must verify participants IDs. My suggestion, competitors must pay some register fee, let say RM20 to management/organisor. From the fee payment we can reduce fake id . Then we can pay some salary to Mr Tan KW also. Balance of the money we can set consolations for 4th to 10th winner. More good right?

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2015-12-17 10:04 | Report Abuse

this is a portfolio and should contain risk by diversification....I say , at least 5 stocks and no derivatives.

in other words, no stock should be more than 20% of portfolio.

Probability

Posted by Probability > 2015-12-17 10:07 | Report Abuse

爱丽丝 梦幻世界 excellent idea. Even RM 10 fee will do wonders in weeding out the unwanted and keep the cream of the creams. This will also be easier to claim the reward later to their account accordingly.

Tan KW

1,408 posts

Posted by Tan KW > 2015-12-17 10:30 | Report Abuse

Thanks OTB and KYY

But, i worry there will be a lot of issues and fake id if cash prize awarded. I believe whoever able to make a very good return in stock market wouldn't bother the prize?

I would like to suggest KYY to donate the cash prize with the winner name or [i3investor "Stock Pick Year 2016"] to a charity society that appointed by the winner?

Let me know if it is agreeable?

Tan KW

1,408 posts

Posted by Tan KW > 2015-12-17 10:33 | Report Abuse

Hi All,

yes.. it will be a lot of works.. and i worry i not able to carry it out by mysellf... but i don't intend to charge a RM10 or RM20...

I need some help to compile the monthly result... Can someone lend me a hand?

inwest88, will you in?

Tan KW

1,408 posts

Posted by Tan KW > 2015-12-17 10:34 | Report Abuse

@OTB, can you help to confirm if KYY would like to join the pick...

There is a lot of request send to my mailbox to request KYY to join...

Dear All, I don't have KYY's contact, please invite him on his blog if you need him to join..... or, let's wait the reply from OTB

Posted by queenland > 2015-12-17 10:38 | Report Abuse

For OTB and KCChong, they are not oblige to compete as they have done so in the past with proven result. I agree with admin that KYY need to participate so that he can prove all his critics that he is want he claim to be. KYY cannot simply claim he is super investor yet ignore the voices of majority requesting him to actually show what he claim to be.

Tan KW

1,408 posts

Posted by Tan KW > 2015-12-17 10:38 | Report Abuse

Please don't submit your pick now... this post is not for year 2016 contest

I will create a new post to collect pick once the rule finalized...

If we start too early, some peoples might said there is some advantages for the early participant....

Or, some one might claim the other clone his pick....

I try to minimize this

It is a long weekend after 31-Dec, let's use that weekend to submit pick.. but not here....

thank you.

Probability

Posted by Probability > 2015-12-17 10:40 | Report Abuse

Ezra: To me this competition is not purely educational (you cant learn on investment by stock picks of others, but u can learn who are the reliable investors to give value to their opinions later). We are here only to make money. That's all.

Tan KW...everyone will have different ideas and you cant satisfy all of them. At the end, please decide based on your own wise judgement and comforts to have a reasonable number of quality participants.
Mean time just openly view people suggestion and opinions..Thanks

Tkoklin

162 posts

Posted by Tkoklin > 2015-12-17 10:42 | Report Abuse

what problem to do stock pick now? You will based on closing price 31Dec as the beginning also.....logic tak?

jester

852 posts

Posted by jester > 2015-12-17 10:46 | Report Abuse

Great work Tan KW. I really appreciate to your effort in making i3 a better place.

Yes I also think that you would have problems to manage on your own. And I'm sorry due to the nature of my full-time job, I could not volunteer to help you. So nice of you not wanting to have some payment towards your effort. Kudos on that.

I 100% agree with your suggestion to donate the cash prize with the winner name or [i3investor "Stock Pick Year 2016"] to a charity society that appointed by the winner? But some people may not like it :(

Still, you did well in managing 56 portfolios (56 man!) in 2015. I think any numbers more that 50+- will be too much effort on your side. Great work Tan KW.

Posted by Ezra_Investor > 2015-12-17 10:50 | Report Abuse

@Probability - Let's just say everyone have their own view. You have yours, but others have theirs, so pure educational or not, it's up to the person I guess. There's no point arguing.
Sometimes it's best to agree to disagree, hence I've removed my comments from earlier.
Cheers and good luck in the stock pick challenge.

matrix6050

1,265 posts

Posted by matrix6050 > 2015-12-17 10:51 | Report Abuse

Thanks for your effort Tan KW

Tan KW

1,408 posts

Posted by Tan KW > 2015-12-17 10:52 | Report Abuse

@jester - inwest88 did help me in this round...

without him, we won't able to have a monthly result....

Tan KW

1,408 posts

Posted by Tan KW > 2015-12-17 10:53 | Report Abuse

@Tkoklin, you can pick... but submit it on year 2016 post...

i want to prevent any issues.... thanks!

Tan KW

1,408 posts

Posted by Tan KW > 2015-12-17 10:54 | Report Abuse

you will know what's the issue if you did follow on 2015 pick and I try my best to prevent it again....

11,080 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2015-12-17 10:54 | Report Abuse

Dear Mr Tan KW,

I do not know there are so much problem. I am so sorry.
If there is the case, please ignore Mr Koon's price money and my sponsorship.

Make it a fair competition without any price money and reward. I will get back to Mr Koon.

I will not compete in this competition.

I will check with Mr Koon whether he is interested to compete in this competition.
I will advise later.

phchin

130 posts

Posted by phchin > 2015-12-17 10:55 | Report Abuse

Thanks Tan KW for your initiative.

Posted by Intelligent Investor > 2015-12-17 11:00 | Report Abuse

Thanks Tan KW!

I am looking forward to participate the 2016 pick.

I support your suggestion to donate the cash prize with the winner name or [i3investor "Stock Pick Year 2016"] to a charity society that appointed by the winner.

Mr. Ooi, why not pass this message to Mr. Koon and see if he would like to accept Mr. Tan's suggestion?

Tkoklin

162 posts

Posted by Tkoklin > 2015-12-17 11:01 | Report Abuse

what is your stock pick Mr.OTB

Tkoklin

162 posts

Posted by Tkoklin > 2015-12-17 11:01 | Report Abuse

no lah, how about change price into coupon. like book coupon, aeon vouchers etc.

Posted by Intelligent Investor > 2015-12-17 11:02 | Report Abuse

Mr. Ooi and Mr. Chong, I am looking forward for your participation on year 2016.

I think it is not compete but a chance for us to learn and share our idea.

Tan KW

1,408 posts

Posted by Tan KW > 2015-12-17 11:05 | Report Abuse

@OTB, why not join? ignore the noise and let's make this yearly event a good chance to share our stock pick....

Tan KW

1,408 posts

Posted by Tan KW > 2015-12-17 11:08 | Report Abuse

@II, at 1st this was started by kc & otb... as a platform to share the investment idea... and it grow and become a contest....

but, i won't take it as a real competition.. but a chance to learn.... i loses in most of the competition, but i am making real money from the wisdom which i collect from the contest...

so, OTB let's ignore the noise and focus on the sharing.... i hope i can count you in