8 people like this.

113 comment(s). Last comment by 1901 2016-02-21 11:55

3,508 posts

Posted by ks55 > 2016-01-12 00:02 | Report Abuse

If cannot earn a living in Malaysia, why can't you consider other countries?

For you to go for Masters programme in Malaysia, you have to work as MO for at least 4 years to enable you to apply. Pass your Masters then apply to be placed under category as a Specialist. I believe you have very slim chance to be a Consultant. More opportunity to get ST in Australia, or UK, if your degree is recognized there.

Attended any seminar or short courses in UK, and sat for the exam?
Many Malaysia junior doctors never participated in oversea medical seminar on their own expenses, because simply too expensive taking into consideration air fare, food and accommodation, seminar fees, exchange rate and their income.

hyteo1992

134 posts

Posted by hyteo1992 > 2016-01-12 00:19 | Report Abuse

Well, we are comparing doctor and other job options here. So if doctor can get better income in other countries, same goes to accountants, business, scientist, engineer and so on. So dont put other countries in account. Not everyone willing to leave their family, their friends, and everything behind.

3,508 posts

Posted by ks55 > 2016-01-12 00:29 | Report Abuse

MO's pay in Malaysia really peanut, it is worst than a graduate school teacher.

At least graduate teacher after 25 years service, he will be promoted to grade 54 with certainty and fixed time frame: 8 years to grade 44, another 8 years to grade 48, 6 more years to grade 52, and 3 more years to grade 54. If he is a bit better, he will achieve grade 54 in less than 25 years. Other than that, 'elite teachers' are given special consideration such as Pendeta Guru (Special Grade-Jawatan Utama), Guru Wibawa(Grade 54), Guru Kanan (Grade 52 and Grade 48).

Other than critical allowance and little bit of other benefits, it is not worth to work for life in government service for doctors.
Just compare and contrast scheme of service for Doctor and Graduate School teachers below to find out why.

Under Portal Rasmi Jabatan Perkhimatan Awam Bil 36
Penambahbaikan Jadual Gaji Minimum - Maksimum Gred 1 Hingga Gred 54 Di Bawah Sistem Saraan Malaysia
http://www.jpa.gov.my/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=2118:circulars-list-2013&catid=39

http://docs.jpa.gov.my/docs/pp/2013/pp362013.pdf

3,508 posts

Posted by ks55 > 2016-01-12 00:48 | Report Abuse

Unless you want to practice as GP, everyday treating patients with cough, sore throat, or flu. That will be very monotonous and financially not rewarding.

To practice in private Specialist Hospital, you need to be at least a specialist (not even a Consultant yet). Hard to obtain fellowship in Malaysia to qualify as a Consultant, unless you willing to sacrifice some money and time to be oversea.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-12 01:00 | Report Abuse

but still captures the imagination of top students and their parents.

its called misguided.

nokenzo

591 posts

Posted by nokenzo > 2016-01-12 07:23 | Report Abuse

Top students should go for share market to make more money, if like uncle KYY said, life is happier if you have money. Doctors, alamak, those good old days are over. Some GP also go bungkus. After spending 5 to 6 yrs in medical school, 2 yrs as houseman, 4 yrs as MO, and if you are lucky, another 4 yrs as MD, i.e. specialist, and then another few yrs to get experience and make yourself known to the public before you venture into private practice! so, all together, at least 20 years after you passed your SPM, before you begin to earn. Imagine, if you spend 20 years to invest in share market, how much money can you make? Learn fundamental analysis from our revered guru Mr KC Chong, you just have to spend a pittance. In 20 years, you will be multi millionaires!!!!

enning22

2,873 posts

Posted by enning22 > 2016-01-12 08:12 | Report Abuse

may be a minus-millionaires!!!

limchimleong

1,732 posts

Posted by limchimleong > 2016-01-12 09:13 | Report Abuse

I encourage my two children's to learn stocks investment.

skyz

Posted by skyz > 2016-01-12 09:35 | Report Abuse

KYY is arrogant and egoistic in most of this articles, but he has valid points in this write up. I think he is trying to highlight that most parents or even the children itself thinks that glamorous professional like doctor, lawyer and engineer is a ticket to good money. not realizing that there are many other jobs which also pave a good career path. some people out there choose that profession not because out of passion/interest but because it is ASSUMED to pay well. I think KYY is just highlighting some other alternatives, such as accountancy, which also pays just as well.

Posted by Maslancgpa385 > 2016-01-12 09:38 | Report Abuse

great sharing. often we are too look into money but neglecting wealth they we have- happiness and health. No money can buy both.

25,217 posts

Posted by speakup > 2016-01-12 09:45 | Report Abuse

what's wrong with becoming a musician?
what's wrong with becoming an artist?
what's wrong with becoming a lecturer?
what's wrong with becoming a sales man/woman?
what's wrong with becoming an entrepreneur?

must everybody be doctors, engineers, accountant, lawyers????

johnny cash

6,356 posts

Posted by johnny cash > 2016-01-12 10:13 | Report Abuse

the best is being a doctor or lawyer with own office business. manufacture money daily

limchimleong

1,732 posts

Posted by limchimleong > 2016-01-12 10:13 | Report Abuse

I am closing to sixty, time is the most valuable things to me.

Posted by stockraider > 2016-01-12 10:25 | Report Abuse

Raider see nothing wrong being what u want and chose the profession that u have passion.

But,If ur ambition, is to be doctor bcos u want to make a lot of monies, then the economics like what KYY says, does not support it mah...!!

But if u want to be very rich....to be an accountant is not right too, u need to be a entrepreneur & businessman loh !!

The accounting training is just the stepping stone loh....!!

Posted by Casey Wong > 2016-01-12 11:20 | Report Abuse

If everyone wants to be an accountant there would be no doctors left to cure your illnesses. Nor there be any engineers to improve your lifestyles. There would also be no teachers left to teach your children to become an accountant. LOL!
Its not just your profession that makes you wealthy. Its your VISION!

fung9815

41 posts

Posted by fung9815 > 2016-01-12 11:29 | Report Abuse

My humble 2 cents

Doctor/engineer CAN easily learn the skills of accountant, but NOT vice versa.

and with due respect, NO, money is not the most important. It is THE THING YOU DO THE BEST AND ENJOY THE MOST that is most important. Wang Leehom and Kobe Bryant didn't study medical/ engineering/ accounting, but yet they still make a lot of money.

funkaki

25 posts

Posted by funkaki > 2016-01-12 11:42 | Report Abuse

lee chong wei make hundred of million , did he study accountant? lol

541 posts

Posted by 914601117 > 2016-01-12 12:01 | Report Abuse

Politicians could be very rewarding if you are Friends of BN. Free from laws and orders if he is with the right party (BN) while the rakyat are born in the wrong land

enning22

2,873 posts

Posted by enning22 > 2016-01-12 12:17 | Report Abuse

things begin to change , it starts from east malaysia, with a cracking sound.....

Posted by Jonathan Keung > 2016-01-12 12:28 | Report Abuse

good education helps us to get better job opportunities but it's not the elixar of everything. I always remember the seminar the renowed speaker ( rich man poor man author ) told the audience.

Grade A student works for Grade C student and Grade B students joins the government. There might be some truth in the statement but nevertheless no matter whether you are Grade A or B or C student. Learn to work hard, be patient and humble. success will come to you

HuatAh88

89 posts

Posted by HuatAh88 > 2016-01-12 13:50 | Report Abuse

Tony Fernandes studied accountancy

3,508 posts

Posted by ks55 > 2016-01-12 14:52 | Report Abuse

Given you the choice to send you child to UK, do you want him to do accounting or medicine?

Be realistic, if sponsored by JPA, he should go for medicine.
If self-funded, he should choose to study accountancy, unless money is sub-sub water for you.

12,846 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2016-01-12 16:56 | Report Abuse

All the top students want to be doctors. There is something incomplete with our career guidance and family upbringing.

12,846 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2016-01-12 16:57 | Report Abuse

With so many medical schools looking for students to fill up their places, lesser "quality" students are now undergoing medical courses.

12,846 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2016-01-12 16:59 | Report Abuse

Courses should be like apprenticeships. You undergo a course to learn the skills to earn a living. Your first guidance to your long term profession or vocation should be passion for the field you have chosen.

12,846 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2016-01-12 17:01 |

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-12 20:19 | Report Abuse

smart of you.

<limchimleong I encourage my two children's to learn stocks investment.>

nokenzo

591 posts

Posted by nokenzo > 2016-01-12 20:34 | Report Abuse

Let your children pursue whatever course available, or they can grab. Get a job, earn and invest the extra money. Learn the fundamental analysis from sifu KCChongnz, you won't regret.His email is ckc13invest@gmail.com, cheap and good.I would advise my children to do so when they graduate.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-12 20:37 | Report Abuse

smart of you too.
but how you know they will follow i3 sifus and not contra?

<Let your children pursue whatever course available, or they can grab. Get a job, earn and invest the extra money. Learn the fundamental analysis from sifu KCChongnz, you won't regret.His email is ckc13invest@gmail.com, cheap and good.I would advise my children to do so when they graduate.>

cola

54 posts

Posted by cola > 2016-01-12 23:05 | Report Abuse

sad to read this from an elderly person like KYY.... Life is more than just $$$

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-12 23:11 | Report Abuse

CHILDREN NEEDS GUIDANCE.
Children think they know, but they really don't.

<sad to read this from an elderly person like KYY.... Life is more than just $$$>

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-12 23:15 | Report Abuse

take pharmacy students eg.

so many private U offering pharmacy courses....so many mothers register their children to study pharmacy just because it is available...and a safe course, a science .

it would be a mistake, just look at the phamacists in government hospital pharmacists.

Posted by lavenderong > 2016-01-13 08:16 | Report Abuse

I had the same oppinion abt accountancy. Money aside, its the most practical courses for almost anybody. You don't have to stay put in an accountancy company. You can choose to work in ALL TYPES of companies; hospital, engineering company, listed and non-listed corporations, oil and gas, and more. And to know accounts means, taking care of your own finances well.

Posted by Thomas Chan Yeu Wai > 2016-01-13 09:05 | Report Abuse

Mr. Koon, nice article. However, we still need more doctors to fill up public hospitals or private practice (to increase competition among themselves to reduce their stagerring profesional medical fees). Also, we still need blue collar workers, how often do you see a Malaysian manning blue collar jobs that we tend to shun? Point is, if everyone gets to earn RM1 million a year and be happy, who is going to do the less glamarous work? Capitalism has a way of balancing this issue. However, i salute your philanthropy, giving a chance to the less fortunate.

Posted by giftformother > 2016-01-13 10:31 | Report Abuse

Thumbs up for Mr. Limchimleong for encouraging your children to learn stocks investment.I attended courses in FA and TA and now a subscriber of OTB for the sake of my children.The exposure to stock investment ,I hope will help them become financially independent as they grow older.I should be retiring cos touching age 70.Congrats to Dr.hyteo1992,keep it up.

Posted by Wakong141242 > 2016-01-13 17:27 | Report Abuse

No matter how much money one have or how high is one status , tan sri , datuk , CEO, Executive Director , President , ect... when one really fall sick who do they see? A D0CTOR! Why then prejudice against giving scholarship to future doctors?

AnkKmpg

30 posts

Posted by AnkKmpg > 2016-01-14 07:30 | Report Abuse

Whatever vocation that we are in or planning to be in, one thing is clear... The need to know how to invest, invest wisely and treat your investment strategy as part of your work. That's the kind of "taking up 2 jobs" that we need.

TIPIPI

154 posts

Posted by TIPIPI > 2016-01-14 22:28 | Report Abuse

This is exactly why our society will never have Steve Jobs, Mark Zuckerberg or Bill Gates. The older generation always think that they are the supreme leader, they know everything and they eat salt more than you eat rice...

Just gave a few examples of people who studied accounting and eventually become CEO, and assumed that everyone should go study accounting instead of doctor or engineer?

I've also given the examples of people who dropped out of college. Does it mean that all the young people should stop studying.

In fact, the younger generation in our society are lack of creativity, poor communication and public speaking skills, and lack of confidence. As an old uncle, I would rather suggest them to broaden their horizon and seek for their true passion about something they want to pursue in their life.

Simply giving advice based on your outdated experience could spoil a person's life.

Posted by cutemother > 2016-01-15 00:56 | Report Abuse

Mr. Kyy, perhaps u never read this before, go, and read what is Job's last word http://www.conspiracyclub.co/2015/11/12/apple-boss-steve-jobs-last-words/

lyo82

396 posts

Posted by lyo82 > 2016-01-16 23:09 | Report Abuse

Nonsense.

lyo82

396 posts

Posted by lyo82 > 2016-01-16 23:15 | Report Abuse

Thanks cutemother, a big thumb up to you.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-16 23:19 | Report Abuse

to all critics of KYY.

KYY eat salt more than you eat rice already.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-01-16 23:27 | Report Abuse

Desa suck eggs more than you all eat rice...

21,546 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-01-17 01:01 | Report Abuse

Icon fxxx more ah gua than you said vulgar language

chrisyap

615 posts

Posted by chrisyap > 2016-01-26 00:26 | Report Abuse

i3 need to offer scholarship for peacemaker profession. hehe

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-26 00:34 | Report Abuse

How to choose a scholarship
1. JPA
2. Mara
3. Koon scholarship
4. Donation

Posted by nabilalmubarak > 2016-02-03 00:27 | Report Abuse

With Gain Credit Personal Loans, you can get instant loan/money for a wide range of your personal needs like renovation of your home, marriage in the family, a family holiday, your child's education, buying a house, medical expenses or any other emergencies. With minimum documentation, you can now avail a personal loan at attractive 3% interest rates. This is trust and honest loans which you will not regret, Contact us via Email: gaincreditloan01@gmail.com

Your Full Details:
Full Name. . .. . .. . .. . .. . .
Loan Amount Needed. . ...
Loan Duration. . .. . .. . .. . .
Phone Number. . .. . .. . ..
Applied before. . .. . .. . ..
Country. . .. . .
Email Us: gaincreditloan01@gmail.com

Posted by justinmce > 2016-02-21 11:20 | Report Abuse

Well said Mr Koon, I had been in banking call centre industry for quite some time. Choosing and learning more about accounting and finance are one of the biggest opportunity in career wise. Eventhough I had no chance in getting your scholarship, I still manage to get education and experieces through HSBC outsource training. I also have a side biz, biz are tough when we are bad in numbers. Learning to read number and financial statement are valuable skill that serve for life.

ganasai

1,671 posts

Posted by ganasai > 2016-02-21 11:37 | Report Abuse

uncle only support accountant. in uncle eye, only got money. So we no need to have doctor, no need engineers. in this world only accountant. Ok?

532 posts

Posted by 1901 > 2016-02-21 11:55 | Report Abuse

business owner is naturally above accountant.
henry ford once said, you can have it in any colour as long it is black.