8 people like this.

113 comment(s). Last comment by 1901 2016-02-21 11:55

fayeTan

Posted by fayeTan > 2016-01-11 10:57 | Report Abuse

if everyone becomes accountant, we would not have enough doctors, engineers etc.. the point I am trying to say is... the education system is not designed to teach student how to make money but rather to ensure enough labour supply

soros228

2,034 posts

Posted by soros228 > 2016-01-11 11:09 | Report Abuse

Well written. Salute.

yktay1

464 posts

Posted by yktay1 > 2016-01-11 11:19 | Report Abuse

There is no single profession that can ensure someone will be financially sound or successful. Accountancy is undoubtedly a 'safe' choice in that it puts food on the table but whether it fully utilizes one's potential is a different question altogether.

Judging by the number of accountants graduating each year (the most number of graduates at ANY university with business course), it is clear that not everyone will become a partner or a CEO. The majority will likely end up with senior or upper management roles when they have worked long enough. Of course, no ill intention meant to accountants.

What I'm trying to say is that instead of going down the 'safe route', people should identify what their strengths are and fully exploit it. If you are passionate about what you do, are good at it, have the right attitude and are fully committed, you will succeed and the monetary rewards will be there eventually.

alibabacoming

3,466 posts

Posted by alibabacoming > 2016-01-11 11:23 | Report Abuse

not convince at all. outdated mindset and it's very sad to work for money. Please wake up youngster.

Newbhere

47 posts

Posted by Newbhere > 2016-01-11 11:25 | Report Abuse

Seriously, what's the purpose of this article? Why do you want to discourage the new generation from being who they want to be? If they have the ambition to be a Doctor, Engineer, Lawyer, Pharmacists or whatever occupation it may be, LET THEM DECIDE for themselves! IT IS THEIR FUTURE, NOT YOURS! Don't discourage the new generation to achieve their dreams and to reach out for the stars. Whether they are happy or satisfied in the end, it is for them to decide. Why limit or restrict people to what you think is a respectable and good pay job. Please encourage them to do better and go all out to accomplish their dreams. Spare them the realistic nonsense, it is for them to decide their own fate and destiny. My 2 cents.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-11 11:27 | Report Abuse

this is the season for university entrance and plenty of parents here.....lol.

<Seriously, what's the purpose of this article? >

alibabacoming

3,466 posts

Posted by alibabacoming > 2016-01-11 11:28 | Report Abuse

some people just too stubborn.
Newbhere, i agree with you. This article is terrible seriously.

alibabacoming

3,466 posts

Posted by alibabacoming > 2016-01-11 11:30 | Report Abuse

Too ego just want people to be convinced, joke. You only can consult and advise different path for youngster but definitely not the way as you stated.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-11 11:34 | Report Abuse

Sunway has the ICEAW course.
People may not know.
Please, if you have smart children....make sure they take this course.
They can start after Form 5 even.

And guaranteed job from the Big 4 after 2 years study (2.5 years for Form 5 students) starting pay $3000. The ICEAW course is mostly self study, that is why it is very very cheap.

every University student will fight hard to get a $3,000 job but will mostly fail.

Sunway also has the CFA course, mostly self study, also very very cheap but only for graduates.

Posted by stockraider > 2016-01-11 11:37 | Report Abuse

To be fair Mr Koon, try to convince people to cut down being a doctor dream mah....!!
The cost does not justify the benefits.
Those have aptitude being doctor, can consider biotechnology, pharmacy, agricultural science, veterninary & farming Mah...!!

He mentioned accountant good, bcos it is versatile loh....!!
In fact it cost very little to produce an accountant mah...!!

Raider see most monies making profession is businessman....the best entry point is sales & marketing loh.....!!
Study sales & marketing and start work early....not necessary to spend so much monies to pursue a degree loh....~~

bgoon99

63 posts

Posted by bgoon99 > 2016-01-11 11:47 | Report Abuse

LOL. Thanks KYY for a nice joke!

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-11 11:49 | Report Abuse

education is big deal......not a joke,big goon.

bgoon99

63 posts

Posted by bgoon99 > 2016-01-11 11:52 | Report Abuse

Btw, "Tan Sri Lim Kok Thay holds a Bachelor of Science Degree in Civil Engineering from University of London, United Kingdom. He attended the advanced management programme of Harvard Business School, Harvard University, USA in 1979 (Bloomberg)", not an acountant lah...

3,256 posts

Posted by chinaman > 2016-01-11 11:55 | Report Abuse

if own father's money, no problem can pursue 10 degree courses. Certain people have double degree....

Posted by crocodile1980 > 2016-01-11 11:56 | Report Abuse

What an arrogant person. I fully respect the good heart of helping poor but it shouldn't be the tool to fulfill your pride and express your core value. You can reject the 15k for those as it is I insignificant to help but you shouldn't try to convince people not to take certain job/path with your own calculation.

bgoon99

63 posts

Posted by bgoon99 > 2016-01-11 11:56 | Report Abuse

"Most of the senior partners of the larger accountancy firms earn more than one million Ringgit a year."... most of the partners in large law firms, large engineering firms, large tech companies, large architecture firms, medical specialists, investment bankers all earn more than 1 million ringgit a year...hehe

jack2

1,359 posts

Posted by jack2 > 2016-01-11 11:57 | Report Abuse

couple of months ago, met a front counter young guy at car service station who has a junior pilot license but cant find opening in any local airline companies

timetokoon

305 posts

Posted by timetokoon > 2016-01-11 11:57 | Report Abuse

Ah Koon nephew accountant for Xinquan. Ah Koon believe accountant. So far Ah Koon loss 22.52% in Xinquan. http://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/pfs/53120.jsp

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-11 11:59 | Report Abuse

why not? what, by the way , does a 17 years old Malaysian kid know? They are not Americans, you know?

<you shouldn't try to convince people not to take certain job/path with your own calculation.>

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-11 12:02 | Report Abuse

no one who studies ICEAW course in Sunway ever have to worry about no job...recession also got job

<couple of months ago, met a front counter young guy at car service station who has a junior pilot license but cant find opening in any local airline companies>

Newbhere

47 posts

Posted by Newbhere > 2016-01-11 12:33 | Report Abuse

Desa20201956, do you have ICAEW or CFA qualifacations? You do know that everyone is born different and unique in their own way. And not everyone is suitable to take up those courses u keep on advocating. Why do you assume a 17 year old Malaysian kid doesn't know which course they want to take? U will be surprised a lot of them are way more matured that what you think.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-11 12:42 | Report Abuse

I agree with KYY......Malaysian kids at 17 not matured one.

They say they know what they want but they really don't.

Posted by Tom > 2016-01-11 12:43 | Report Abuse

HOW TO CHOOSE A PROFESSION? be a full time speculator :)

DreamPorn

15 posts

Posted by DreamPorn > 2016-01-11 12:43 | Report Abuse

I know what profession makes a lot of money.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-11 12:44 | Report Abuse

I have two kids of university age....one just graduated, one in first year uni.....I know....and they tell me stuffs about their friends .

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-11 12:45 | Report Abuse

Dreanporn....we are not talking about the oldest profession.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-11 12:49 | Report Abuse

Some are naturally more business than others....fresh out of college can become self employed and make$10,000.
Still....they don't think their degree is wasted.

Posted by Humpreyliew > 2016-01-11 12:56 | Report Abuse

Degree give you false feeling of entitlement. Just because you are graduate you must get job that is high pay. That's why you see many unemployed graduates. Even now got many unemployed engineer and pilot graduates.

einvest88

416 posts

Posted by einvest88 > 2016-01-11 13:46 | Report Abuse

http://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/koonyewyinblog/....."".If a subject called ‘How to make money?’ is taught in school, I believe almost all the students would like to study this subject and finally choose the profession of making money""......I like this sentence very much....formula of making real money would not be taught in school or U...Otherwise many dinosaur teachers will be jobless....It will not have chc giving to govt to brain wash

einvest88

416 posts

Posted by einvest88 > 2016-01-11 13:50 | Report Abuse

In short, oni if u know the money game then u can make a lot of money...so profession in investment is making more money than accountant if they master the formula of investing like Mr Koon

26,442 posts

Posted by speakup > 2016-01-11 13:51 | Report Abuse

Halo Uncle Koon, not everybody choose a profession based on money alone lar. Some people choose based on their interest/hobby.

26,442 posts

Posted by speakup > 2016-01-11 13:53 | Report Abuse

My childhood friend in advertising is doing extrememly well. Ever since he was little he had a passion for the arts. And today he has even won the prestigeous Kancil Awards.

sarahdeaton

1,609 posts

Posted by sarahdeaton > 2016-01-11 14:37 | Report Abuse

i want to be a con-woman. zou lou qian hole gor zou wong die.

sengkee

2,060 posts

Posted by sengkee > 2016-01-11 16:34 | Report Abuse

Agree with Mr Koon. Even both Sec General of 2 main opp parties are qualified accountants. Look at the way they handled financial issues...

sengkee

2,060 posts

Posted by sengkee > 2016-01-11 16:37 | Report Abuse

Even the recently stepped down PAC Chairman is also a qualified accountant.

Posted by SteveblowJob > 2016-01-11 17:11 | Report Abuse

Not every accountants make millions per year, and not every doctor/engineer/dan lain-lain don't have millions income. Mr. Koon is very kind enough to help poor students. Even though this article is promoting accountancy, but he still subsidy whoever wanna study doctors/legal/engineering. Let the youngster decide themselves, no regret.

sarahdeaton

1,609 posts

Posted by sarahdeaton > 2016-01-11 17:15 | Report Abuse

can study how to be con-woman?

Posted by star1943 > 2016-01-11 17:28 | Report Abuse

Dear Mr Koon Yew Yin,

It is very kind of you to give away scholarship to students. One of the richest investors like George Soros is also doing the same thing like you. He personally gives away 1 billion USD to establish a university in a country, i.e. Hungary, where he migrated from. I was informed that the university administration is requested by him to sustain its cost of operation base on that amount of money alone. Every year, the university is not only managed to cover its cost of operation, but it also managed to give scholarship based on applicant's background, and motivation. In addition to this, the degree is recognized in US. I think it is model which you might want to consider. The university name is Central European University (http://www.ceu.edu/administration/board-of-trustees).

Another reason I am telling you this is because you have the financial power and will to realize some thing as big as this in your lifetime.

Regards,
Reader

Posted by stockraider > 2016-01-11 17:34 | Report Abuse

Raider say....the goal of working for other people & earn a fixed salaries is not the goal for people who want to get rich loh...!!

U need to do a rewarding business & write your own pay check....is how most people get very rich mah.....!!

Earning a salary is just a stepping stone loh....when u gather experience mah.....!!

It a way....if u do not have a degree it is not the end of the world.
Learn up business & be an entrepreneur, one day u r successful, u can even employ graduates to help u to manage the business.

WINMO

66 posts

Posted by WINMO > 2016-01-11 18:45 | Report Abuse

If student not sure what to study , Accountancy is one of the best option. Consider ACCA fkexible and highly recognized although is tough.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-11 18:49 | Report Abuse

no need ACCA one...just a degree in accountancy is good enough.
same same actually.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-11 18:50 | Report Abuse

its the working experience that counts.
not whether ACCA or degree.

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-11 18:51 | Report Abuse

Student need to master their English
It is the most basic of all requirement
When you cannot speak properly how are you gonna excel in your class
I would personally request all choose to be English teacher because it is severely lacking behind

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-11 18:56 | Report Abuse

you very correct.
smart parents prepare their kids for English
even more important is from poor families.

my son got job offers from left , right , center and he is not first class student but good in English.

saschl

310 posts

Posted by saschl > 2016-01-11 19:05 |

3,854 posts

Posted by ks55 > 2016-01-11 19:10 | Report Abuse

Accounting and finance, Accounting and economics, Accounting and law, Accounting and business admin, all these combination will bring you far up in corporate ladder.

Very versatile combination.
Can go for IB, commercial banks, business consulting, company accountant, company legal officer, company secretary, corporate finance, auditor, CPA, CFP, and if you choose to do MBA or CFA, you will be exempted from certain papers. With these qualification, plus personality and good set of net-working, sky is your limit.

Ayoyo

379 posts

Posted by Ayoyo > 2016-01-11 19:14 | Report Abuse

Mr koon, no disrespect but it's a very myopic view to favor one field of study over others, and purely on the basis of remuneration. In fact, on the same basis, corporate finance will even make one much more money than accounting per se.

I'm a parent of a 6 year old kid and I intend to send him to an international school next year because the local education system is a gone case.

However, I've made it clear to his mom that academic excellence is the least of my priority. I want to guide him towards the virtues of language proficiency, effective communications, critical thinking abilities and creativity - life skills that will take him far in life, regardless of whatever profession he chooses.

Thus, don't force our expectations on our children. Let them find their interests and hone that passion because when one has passion , they will pursue the right solutions.

As the Chinese say, every profession has a scholar

3,854 posts

Posted by ks55 > 2016-01-11 19:15 | Report Abuse

Top student with proper guidance normally won't go for engineering or medical courses now. And they can go really far.

Just check with your friends, how many still prefer their children to be engineer and doctor?

liewth

Posted by liewth > 2016-01-11 21:13 | Report Abuse

A piece of advice from an accounting grad here.
Strongly recommended for accounting grad to take up ICAEW, ACCA, CPA, etc. Nowadays without a professional qualification, you can't go far with merely a degree. 20 years down the road you will be one of the uncle/aunty in the office as a senior account exec.

JLJM

Posted by JLJM > 2016-01-11 21:18 | Report Abuse

I might be able to understand where is Mr.KYY coming from. His opinion regarding the parents/students'mindset is especially true to those from more remote areas/blue-collar working class family.

I remember that when I was still in secondary school, my friends and I always have the mindset that science stream is far superior than art stream. Everyone wants to be either doctor or engineer, so do the parents.

Due to lack of awareness/exposure/influence from the people around, those students from more humble background may not aspire to venture into business world or climb the corporate ladder. Little did I know that fresh grad in bulge bracket IB/ management consulting can earn up to five figure monthly salary first year out of school which is double or triple the household income of the family I grew up from. I would say business/accountancy is much easier to study compared to medicine/chemical engineering however business graduates may end up earning even more provided you choose the right career path. And yes school name does matter, you can be an investment banker at Goldman Sachs if you studied anthropology at Ivy League/Oxbridge.

However, due to the influx of graduates every year, a degree alone is no longer enough to secure you financial stability. Only the better graduates can go far in their chosen career paths while some are better off selling nasi lemak at roadside and making big bucks.

In the end, it is a personal choice. If you do what you love, you'll never work a day in your life. Just my 2 cents. Thanks