138 comment(s). Last comment by Fam Jenny 2016-02-10 09:12

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-02-02 20:26 | Report Abuse

Yes I agree kyy this time

DreamPorn

15 posts

Posted by DreamPorn > 2016-02-02 20:30 | Report Abuse

I live to maximize pleasure. you have to learn how to acquire happiness which should be your ultimate aim in life

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-02 20:34 | Report Abuse

It's Bertrand Russell......
You got any thing against Bertrand Russell , Icon?

I think he is an intellectual giant.

But actually an intellectual giant of the early 20 th century do not have the final say on happiness and psychology.

A lot of the latest research on happiness and psychology came out only in the last 20 years.

DreamPorn

15 posts

Posted by DreamPorn > 2016-02-02 20:36 | Report Abuse

Who cares Bertrand Russell. Be Alvin Tan.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-02 20:37 | Report Abuse

Even my daughter who studied A level psychology may know of latest research on happiness and psychology that the great Bertrand Russell May not be aware.....just not part of scientific literature during his time.

DreamPorn

15 posts

Posted by DreamPorn > 2016-02-02 20:38 | Report Abuse

Give me your daughter's tinder. I teach her happiness, long long time.

Posted by Desa20201956 > Feb 2, 2016 08:37 PM | Report Abuse

Even my daughter who studied A level psychology may know of latest research on happiness and psychology that the great Bertrand Russell May not be aware.....just not part of scientific literature during his time.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-02 20:41 | Report Abuse

Greatest teacher of happiness and positive psychology in modern times.

Harvard Professor, Tal Ben-Shahar

lecture series.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K8qpn6kNfPc&list=PLlz6RtmhmFDDYvExbaH0UuDGtb1fS5yHR

DreamPorn

15 posts

Posted by DreamPorn > 2016-02-02 20:45 | Report Abuse

Taken from my book - Alvin Tan
Human beings are sheep who yearn to feel more self-assured and socially-accepted by following mainstream school of thought.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-02 20:46 | Report Abuse

I encourage all A level students to take the subject , Psychology in Methodist College, KL...great teacher they have. Prepares students for life.

Studying psychology at that young age and doing it properly as a scientific subject makes a lot of difference to the young lives.

DreamPorn

15 posts

Posted by DreamPorn > 2016-02-02 20:46 | Report Abuse

I don't understand some people who have such a strong need to be needed. Why would my self-sufficiency heighten their insecurity?

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-02 20:57 | Report Abuse

that is because you do not know the real direction of modern psychology....It is no longer about Freud and his damned dreams.

Icon8888 > Feb 2, 2016 08:49 PM | Report Abuse

I make it a point to stay away from psychology when I was in college

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-02-02 21:02 | Report Abuse

If dunno psychology work how to greng she? Fear n greed. No wonder icon is so damn bad in investing -12%

DreamPorn

15 posts

Posted by DreamPorn > 2016-02-02 21:03 | Report Abuse

What to be happy? Tinder - Taken from book by Alvin Tan

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-02 21:43 | Report Abuse

nowadays they even have a degree called behavioral finance.

paperplane2016 > Feb 2, 2016 09:02 PM | Report Abuse

If dunno psychology work how to greng she? Fear n greed. No wonder icon is so damn bad in investing -12%

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-02-02 21:45 | Report Abuse

Yes, there is indeed a module in my uni time for this subject. It is combination of both psycho plus economic studies.

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-02-02 21:46 | Report Abuse

Every greatmhedge fund mgr ask ppl study psychology and also farm biz?

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-02 21:53 | Report Abuse

of course being logical is better than not logical but....there is a natural limit how much intellectuals and logics alone can contribute to societal and individual happiness.

there is also the question of individual differences, cultural differences, processes, hormones, lymphatic systems, biology, chemistry, life experiences, learned differences,

modern science is tackling the question on all fronts. ...but two words gains significance recently...it is meditation and gratitude, .

and how habits determine every thing.

tkp2

3,027 posts

Posted by tkp2 > 2016-02-02 21:53 | Report Abuse

paperplane study whatever subject also useless, you know why?

because everything is on paper only, he don't know how to apply in real life, wakakakaka

tkp2

3,027 posts

Posted by tkp2 > 2016-02-02 21:58 | Report Abuse

this paperbrain wasted so much time on paper, go around and comment other ppl stock pick result, but you never see him pick any good stock and make money in real life (got lah, make RM700 on Asdion warrant last year)

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-02-02 22:02 | Report Abuse

Making rm700 better than losing -12% now I guess? No? I still got a bit logic thinking although not smart as you tkp2

tkp2

3,027 posts

Posted by tkp2 > 2016-02-02 22:03 | Report Abuse

lol, now he admitted he only make RM700, wakakaka

Posted by paperplane2016 > Feb 2, 2016 10:02 PM | Report Abuse

Making rm700 better than losing -12% now I guess? No? I still got a bit logic thinking although not smart as you tkp2

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-02-02 22:05 | Report Abuse

Logic right? Even 700 better than -12%?? Unless u tak ada logical thinking tkp2???

tkp2

3,027 posts

Posted by tkp2 > 2016-02-02 22:07 | Report Abuse

RM700 is real trading by paperplane, -12% is just play play competition, and now not even end of the year yet, don't think you get it of the rules of the competition, i think your IQ only 40

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-02-02 22:13 | Report Abuse

Icon, I am boss. What u expect? VP is top level no?

tkp2

3,027 posts

Posted by tkp2 > 2016-02-02 22:14 | Report Abuse

not only childishly, but girly too

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-02-02 22:15 | Report Abuse

Aiyotkp2 , why answering my stupid comments? U really believe them? I really doubt your thinking now.
Come, hit me with some super duper vulgar language leh. You are only best at those, like fxxxx, dxu niaxxx shexxxg etc. Come on

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-02-02 22:16 | Report Abuse

Ppl call me boss. So I assume my level is boss no? Logic right

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-02-02 22:17 | Report Abuse

Tkp2, come. Vulgar languages pls!!! Your best part. U never know shares. U onley know vulgar language. I know u

tkp2

3,027 posts

Posted by tkp2 > 2016-02-02 22:17 | Report Abuse

now that i know how you look like, i got no mood to dui you, your face make me want to vomit

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-02-02 22:18 | Report Abuse

Go vomit. Pls help yourself. After that come back with your top vulgar languages. Come on, fight like a man, not a eunich

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-02-02 22:19 | Report Abuse

No racist commenta pls! I know u very good at it icon8888

somchik

1,220 posts

Posted by somchik > 2016-02-02 22:20 | Report Abuse

Sarcastic remarks give feeling of happiness to grumpy old skunk especially if able to deliver with a plethora of venomous
statements.

tkp2

3,027 posts

Posted by tkp2 > 2016-02-02 22:20 | Report Abuse

Icon, now that you mentioned, i think so too, fat pxg

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-02-02 22:22 | Report Abuse

Racist here. Ban tkp2 forever pls!

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-02 22:28 | Report Abuse

Icon and his gang got no respect for such a good thread....such a good topic.

Icon and gang are just value destruction.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-02 22:32 | Report Abuse

Homework for you.....read the article and watch the video.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-02-02 23:21 | Report Abuse

oh dear, I haven't read Uncle Koon article

let me spend few minutes to go through it...

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-02-02 23:34 | Report Abuse

very deep, quite difficult to understand, except for this juicy part :

"When I was a young boy I was giving private tuition to a very pretty fair Eurasian girl. We often went to cinemas and in the darkness ......."

apini

1,440 posts

Posted by apini > 2016-02-03 01:18 | Report Abuse

I do not know much about human psychology. My teacher had taught me , to be happy we must learn to forgive and forget. Forgive yourself and forgive others. Forget all the good and the bad, and believe you are what you have chosen to be. So choose to be happy , choose to live better today than yesterday

Posted by Lawrence1120 > 2016-02-03 01:40 | Report Abuse

Good article, thank you for the summary.:)

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-03 08:49 | Report Abuse

Old man says happiness is the ultimate aim of life

But when grandson and grand daughter says the same and choose a hippy life, an irresponsible life, an easy life, refuse to sacrifice, grand father will not be happy.

haikeyila

1,063 posts

Posted by haikeyila > 2016-02-03 08:49 | Report Abuse

thank you, captain obvious! now where is the stock call? lol

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-03 08:59 | Report Abuse

The subject, the topic is far from obvious.
Great minds have struggled with this issue since time began.

Posted by Red_Hong_Bao > 2016-02-03 09:04 | Report Abuse

I support you KYY.

Posted by Jonathan Keung > 2016-02-03 09:10 | Report Abuse

happiness ? depends what stage (of life ) you are in . NOnetheless, Mr Khoon just cary on what's best you are keen to do. afterall life is like a dream. some good ,some not so good. Cheers for coming Lunar NewYear

338 posts

Posted by 778899 > 2016-02-03 09:18 | Report Abuse

very deep

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-02-03 09:30 | Report Abuse

a guy strikes a lottery, gets the girl he wants, the university of his choice, his dream job......how long before he gets back to his normal state of happiness/ unhappiness?

won't be very long. The take home message?

i4investor

2,797 posts

Posted by i4investor > 2016-02-03 09:32 | Report Abuse

ya...Mr Koon Stock God, yes, this is I wish you to write something inspired peoples, not go "hamtan" people...thanks

Kevin Wong

416 posts

Posted by Kevin Wong > 2016-02-03 10:42 | Report Abuse

happy & harmless

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-02-03 11:21 | Report Abuse

I call him choy san if he give me angpow RM1mil. how