158 comment(s). Last comment by stockraider 2016-03-06 10:36

12,917 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2016-03-02 17:33 |

JN88

11,670 posts

Posted by JN88 > 2016-03-02 17:38 | Report Abuse

Hahahahahaha when I told my friend a good investment need patient.....I give the answer 5 years(fastest) and 10 years(confirmed sure win year)you will see the good return.

No one believe.

Wakakkaaka is a good news for me.

JN88

11,670 posts

Posted by JN88 > 2016-03-02 17:41 | Report Abuse

A very good article.

D7zul

155 posts

Posted by D7zul > 2016-03-02 17:48 | Report Abuse

Imagine if u could compound 2-3% a day & times it with 365 days.. that would be a lot more.. but that's just hypothetically speaking

Probability

14,460 posts

Posted by Probability > 2016-03-02 17:53 | Report Abuse

Luckily KC put the first year return for 'quick' method as 100% compared to the 'steady'....if 1st year kena damage -50% how?
Sadly I have to give myself as an example of victim.

But...no doubt...that quick method is still so seductive..
Guess i need to blame that male testosterone ..causing that insatiable appetite for risk....:(

It would be so nice if we can get to a fundamental explanation on why is it that these gurus method has that level of consistency.

You know....there must be something really fundamental about this consistency. Once we get convinced on that....then it would be easy to adapt this principle.

12,917 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2016-03-02 17:56 | Report Abuse

ASB for our Malay friends. This has given my Malay friends averagely 9% per year over the many years they are invested into this fund. With the returns reinvested, their funds have doubled every 8 years. (16 years, 4x, 24 years 8x, and 32 years 16x).

Posted by soojinhou > 2016-03-02 17:56 | Report Abuse

It's never too early to invest, and never too little capital, because compounding magnifies your return many folds.

12,917 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2016-03-02 17:59 |

Posted by stockraider > 2016-03-02 18:18 | Report Abuse

Raider again says KC this article is contradicting loh....!!
In this case he use the example of 15% pa compounding as way of increasing wealth.

If someone can achieve an average return of 15% pa....for many years...is it not worthwhile for him to borrow, when it cost him only 5% pa based on current low interest environment ??

Actually in a nutshell, people are barking on the wrong thing...it is not margin that causing people to go bankrupt loh....!!
It is the inability to master the viable investment tech, that cause people to destroyed wealth loh....!!

So if u can master your investment tech very well, then u should not miss the opportunity of using margin , when the cost of fundings are far below your average compounded return.
This argument is very valid especially in a very low interest environment loh....!!

If the investor...cannot get average return higher than the 5% pa...then he should be better off not to invest loh...!!

So the argument if u r a margin investor n u cannot got return above 5% per annum...then u better close shop.

For cash investor....if u cannot get return above 6.4% pa....then u better close shop....and leave the monies with the epf loh...!!
Please avoid investing....bcos u are destructing well too...!!

See the both example margin and cash....the investor cannot get return above 5% pa...that's why they run into problem of wealth destruction loh.....!!

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-03-02 18:21 | Report Abuse

It is this article that make many youngster go and borrow money to buy paper asset, if this article didn't existed, there will be less problem to the financial system

Probability

14,460 posts

Posted by Probability > 2016-03-02 18:28 | Report Abuse

3ii..In that case...the best companies are the ones that:

i) has moats and rely on the natural exponential expansion of the market itself - the human population - i.e producing products of basic necessities to humans and yet due to Brand name competitors could not penetrate

ii) and those that somehow manage to increasingly capture more market share - probably a new product introduced to the market...and it became something that new consumers keep getting attracted to it.

still not 100% clear...

Probability

14,460 posts

Posted by Probability > 2016-03-02 18:39 | Report Abuse

Raider..on the margin subject...i think in a nutshell what KC is advocating is for the "majority people' ...he is teaching a principle that is applicable for the 'majority'. Its like telling people what is healthy...example driving below the speed of 110 km/hr to work everyday proven that u are less prone to accidents. So don't drive above 110.

But of course there are minority few...that can drive everyday at 180km/hr to work everyday and yet work till they retire.

So, if you see the statistics...7 out of the 10 drivers who drive 180 can't make it to retirement age unlike the slow drivers who only 4 out of 10 had died due to accidents before age 60.

Hope that gives better clarity.

Probability

14,460 posts

Posted by Probability > 2016-03-02 19:20 | Report Abuse

another example is like smoking...statistics says its unhealthy.
but there are many who lived till 90+ being a chain smoker..laughing their ass off the health freaks who died b4 50!

Probability

14,460 posts

Posted by Probability > 2016-03-02 19:22 | Report Abuse

hmm...obviously its not easy to convince a smoker that its unhealthy though he claims he agree with u in principle...ha hah ha..

12,917 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2016-03-02 20:52 |

Posted by tonytonychopper > 2016-03-02 21:05 | Report Abuse

If if if if if if if if if if if if if if ...

Posted by tonytonychopper > 2016-03-02 21:10 | Report Abuse

Raider's comments tell that many people cannot achieve investment return more that 5% or 6%..yet encourage everyone to use margin.

Argues for the sake of arguing +1

12,917 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2016-03-02 21:27 | Report Abuse

LTCM case is a good lesson for all. While the fund was doing well, they enjoyed the highs 99% of the time the fund existed. However, the 1% when the unfavourable events appear against them, they were wiped out. It is for this reason, Warren Buffett guided, "It is when the tide flows out, you see those who are swimming naked." For raider, perhaps, I should reiterate that Buffett was referring to those who used margins.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2016-03-02 23:51 | Report Abuse

Posted by stockraider > Mar 2, 2016 06:18 PM | Report Abuse
Raider again says KC this article is contradicting loh....!!
In this case he use the example of 15% pa compounding as way of increasing wealth.

ME: CONTRADICTING? 15% COMPOUNDING, WHERE DID I USE IT?

If someone can achieve an average return of 15% pa....for many years...is it not worthwhile for him to borrow, when it cost him only 5% pa based on current low interest environment ??

ME: LOOK AT TABLE 1, QUICK WITH AN AVERAGE RETURN OF 15% A YEAR FOR TEN YEARS. HE MADE 100% FOR THE FIRST YEAR. BUT THE COMPULSIVE MARGIN PLAYER USING MARGIN TO THE LIMITS WOULD HAVE LOST BACK EVERYTHING HE MADE FOR THE FIRST YEAR IN THE SECOND YEAR WHEN HE LOST 50%, INCLUDING A BIG PORTION OF HIS OWN CAPITAL. SAME THING HAPPEN TO FOURTH YEAR AND NINETH YEAR WHICH WOULD MAKE HIM LOSE EVERYTHING. HOW MANY INVESTORS CAN SUSTAIN LOSING ALL HIS MONEY IN 1, 2 AND 3 TIMES?

Actually in a nutshell, people are barking on the wrong thing...it is not margin that causing people to go bankrupt loh....!!
It is the inability to master the viable investment tech, that cause people to destroyed wealth loh....!!

ME:MARGIN AMPLIFIES LOSSES, AND AFTER HARD FALL ONCE, TWICE, IT IS DIFFICULT OR EVEN IMPOSSIBLE TO STAND UP AGAIN.
AND IT IS NOT HOW GOOD AN INVESTOR HE IS. THE STOCK MARKET IS HIGHLY UNKNOWABLE, UNPREDICTABLE, AND UNCONTROLLABLE.
IT IS ALSO NOT ABOUT HOW LOW THE INTEREST RATE IS.

So if u can master your investment tech very well, then u should not miss the opportunity of using margin , when the cost of fundings are far below your average compounded return.
This argument is very valid especially in a very low interest environment loh....!!

If the investor...cannot get average return higher than the 5% pa...then he should be better off not to invest loh...!!

So the argument if u r a margin investor n u cannot got return above 5% per annum...then u better close shop.

For cash investor....if u cannot get return above 6.4% pa....then u better close shop....and leave the monies with the epf loh...!!
Please avoid investing....bcos u are destructing well too...!!

See the both example margin and cash....the investor cannot get return above 5% pa...that's why they run into problem of wealth destruction loh.....!!

ME: HOW MUCH RETURN YOU CAN GET IN THE SHORT TERM IS NOT ABOUT HOW SMART YOU ARE IN INVESTING. YOU MAY GET 30% RETURN, OR -40% RETURN, EVEN WITHIN A COUPLE OF MONTHS. IT IS IN THE FUTURE, AND THE FUTURE CANNOT BE PREDICTED.

CAN’T YOU SEE THAT????

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-03-03 01:05 | Report Abuse

I will buy a portfolio of opposites. A completely diversified portfolio for compounding interest. Margin also can. Margin better . Can buy more as your equity increases.

Bornoil, AAX, Tguan, VS, KESM, RHB, Scientex

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-03-03 01:20 | Report Abuse

Eight wonder of the world..............

Bornoil, AAX, Tguan, VS, KESM, RHB, Scientex

they work as a team.

21,625 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-03-03 07:18 | Report Abuse

Now kcchongnz also wanna write like icon8888, fancy titles.....

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-03-03 07:56 | Report Abuse

its marketing la.
everybody do marketing.
===========
paperplane2016 > Mar 3, 2016 07:18 AM | Report Abuse

Now kcchongnz also wanna write like icon8888, fancy titles.....

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-03-03 08:08 | Report Abuse

Desa why changed your name to powerup and stockmanmy ? Only little man hide behind different identities ? Have u ever seen KC and I did that ?

powerup

117 posts

Posted by powerup > 2016-03-03 08:10 | Report Abuse

what about 9 wonders of the world?

Icon8888 > Mar 3, 2016 08:08 AM | Report Abuse

Desa why changed your name to powerup and stockmanmy ? Only little man hide behind different identities ? Have u ever seen KC and I did that ?

11,200 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2016-03-03 08:48 |

Posted by murali > 2016-03-03 08:53 | Report Abuse

If you are not good in share investment, never ... I repeat ... never use margin financing.

Never buy shares too....better placed yr money in FD

11,200 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2016-03-03 08:54 |

Posted by murali > 2016-03-03 09:00 | Report Abuse

I believe many of us here are using Margin Account for years and we went thru 1998/ 2008 and we are still around...

But of course I certainly see there is something wrong when Super Investor came out to promote and encourage newbies (or old birds) to use margin account to buy the historical high price stocks from him...

But if u still get trap and burnt then u should assume most of the blame....If u dont die in stock market / margin account u will also die in some other scams...

Posted by murali > 2016-03-03 09:01 | Report Abuse

Go back to Mars....stock market is too dangerous for u....

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-03-03 09:01 | Report Abuse

If there was no youngster go borrow money and support the market, it will be illiquidized, that is why financier will make plenty of empty promise to lure them into borrowing OPM to buy paper asset, there is more extremely and overly used methods to promote OPM, and it never failed to lure them in. One of them is compouding power, write a table and showed them how it work like a hierarchy and they will get into this trap.

Posted by murali > 2016-03-03 09:04 | Report Abuse

U blamed the youngster to borrow the money and support the market? U must be kidding my friend....one old bird's margin facility amount can be as much as 100 or 1000 young men...

Posted by murali > 2016-03-03 09:06 | Report Abuse

For example Koon Koon may have RM100-RM200 hundred millions margin facility....Koon Koon is only one of the big sharks in Bursa....

Posted by murali > 2016-03-03 09:09 | Report Abuse

But when Koon Koon come out to show off his margin results and high price stocks his intention is 99% not noble....

He made me to think of those MLM jokers who showed off their big cars during the sharings....

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-03-03 09:18 | Report Abuse

There is more creative methods used
ATM machine: this sound extreme because the youngster become ATM to the financial system and not the opposite

Posted by murali > 2016-03-03 09:19 | Report Abuse

Many people got killed in car accidents..I believe the number could be much much much much higher than those who jumped from high buildings or beaten by Along till death after they got burnt in stock market or margin ac....So do u want to ban the cars???

Before u started yr venture in stock market, make sure u learn FA first...go buy Cold Eye's books or sign up for KC's online FA courses (thought I admit I dont really understand his contents...)

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-03-03 09:21 | Report Abuse

The highest earning group will still be the youngster, without contribution from them, the financial market basically is too boring to trade, old generation either individually extremely wealthy or some broke but their group of earning is still far lesser than youngster counterpart

Posted by murali > 2016-03-03 09:23 | Report Abuse

Dont waste money or time on CPTeh's so called TA trainings..it's totally rubbish....there are also many rubbish software selling at thousands in the markets too...Please learn up FA first and then use TA to assist yr buy/ sell decisions...

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-03-03 09:25 | Report Abuse

Talk about MLM
Did you see many old guy join the events
Why everytime I seem there is more and more youngster are lured into it?
Basically they are money milking group

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-03-03 09:28 | Report Abuse

Although I dun understand the talk in the MLM but they still promote it like a boss with their table of earning possibility

Posted by murali > 2016-03-03 09:34 | Report Abuse

TQ OTB for your sharings on Margin. I learnt something.

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-03-03 09:35 | Report Abuse

Before investing
Learn to save 100k first
Then learn recession

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-03-03 09:36 | Report Abuse

Learn about how those financier face reading also important as it reflect their intention to lure you into the market

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-03-03 09:37 | Report Abuse

Also learn about 1998 and 2008 is a great starting for youngster

Posted by murali > 2016-03-03 09:40 | Report Abuse

KC seems to be very negative on Margin, I hope that's nothing personal with his feelings towards Koon Koon...though i always hentam Koon Koon here but i have nothing personal with him....

Posted by murali > 2016-03-03 09:41 | Report Abuse

To me Margin is just a tool..if u not ready to use it then dont use it..

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-03-03 09:42 | Report Abuse

Any promoting on the financial market is either scams, because the money didn't pop out of air, paper asset is cheap and shouldn't be worth any money by 1998 or 2008

Posted by NewbieNew > 2016-03-03 09:43 | Report Abuse

ya 15% vs 5% thats why I am here

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-03-03 09:44 | Report Abuse

Contradicting, if you don't promote it no one will interest in the financial system.
And it is promoting based on human greed

Posted by kcchongnz > 2016-03-03 09:55 | Report Abuse

Posted by murali > Mar 3, 2016 09:40 AM | Report Abuse
KC seems to be very negative on Margin, I hope that's nothing personal with his feelings towards Koon Koon...though i always hentam Koon Koon here but i have nothing personal with him....

Let us forget about the promotion part of it. How many of you donate money to charities? So do not forget about the good deeds done.

But teaching the general public to “make money by using margin finance too the limits”? It is hilarious, unbecoming of someone who is well respected, someone the public wish to remunerate, and tend to follow his “advice”.

Why am I vocal about it? I will be doing a disservice to the young readers and newbies, and the public in general, for not writing strongly against it, just like the good thing you are doing,

Posted by murali > Mar 3, 2016 08:53 AM | Report Abuse
If you are not good in share investment, never ... I repeat ... never use margin financing.
Never buy shares too....better placed yr money in FD

except that I never engage in personal attack, even though I was personally attacked.