96 comment(s). Last comment by brightsmart 2017-09-03 16:45

swiftwind

56 posts

Posted by swiftwind > 2017-08-11 22:08 | Report Abuse

Thank you for sharing. This is a balanced view. The numbers seem to check out. Perhaps David or Probability may share their views on this.

Posted by eyewitness > 2017-08-11 22:14 | Report Abuse

As you last predicted Mycron's PAT for Q1/3/17 would be RM18.9 mil but actual was RM7.3 mil, why do you think as an outsider, you can calculate Hengyuan's Q2 with such precision?

choop818

689 posts

Posted by choop818 > 2017-08-11 22:16 | Report Abuse

FutureEyes, you from oil refinery industry with a conscience? Whatever, thanks alot.

Jeffbkt

130 posts

Posted by Jeffbkt > 2017-08-11 22:22 | Report Abuse

Not right to consider 100% of inventory are made up of only crude oil. We are not sure the ratio of crude oil and the end product but definitely not 100%.

Posted by shortinvestor77 > 2017-08-11 22:23 | Report Abuse

Wow. Wait and see.

FutureEyes

102 posts

Posted by FutureEyes > 2017-08-11 22:26 | Report Abuse

you have a point, but you can assume a margin value (X) to add to the crude price and fix a ratio (y) between the crude and products, and yet you will derive exactly the same stock loss value above.

This can be mathematically shown, but not presented on the above article in order not to confuse the readers.

Posted by Jeffbkt > Aug 11, 2017 10:22 PM | Report Abuse

Not right to consider 100% of inventory are made up of only crude oil. We are not sure the ratio of crude oil and the end product but definitely not 100%.

Jeffbkt

130 posts

Posted by Jeffbkt > 2017-08-11 22:33 | Report Abuse

End product margin definitely will not follow the decrease rate of crude oil price. Anyway, you can use the previous quarter which has the stock/inventory loss to prove your calculation is correct.

FutureEyes

102 posts

Posted by FutureEyes > 2017-08-11 22:43 | Report Abuse

Fix the barrels of Crude and Product out of the 4700k barrels say 50/50.

using your reference crude oil price and refining margins at the concern starting month end ending month end you can calculate the total value of the inventory (including crude + products) respectively at both periods.

Their difference in value is the stock loss/gain.

It would be exactly the same as above if there is no change in refining margin between the reporting period above and if there is indeed a change say by 1 USD/brl drop in margins from 9USD/brl to 8USD/brl as per article above, you have to reduce the end value of the products fraction accordingly.

This will result with a greater stock loss than calculated above.

Posted by Jeffbkt > Aug 11, 2017 10:33 PM | Report Abuse

End product margin definitely will not follow the decrease rate of crude oil price. Anyway, you can use the previous quarter which has the stock/inventory loss to prove your calculation is correct.

Posted by John Lu > 2017-08-11 22:48 | Report Abuse

LOL...the calculation are out

Alex Foo

12,591 posts

Posted by Alex Foo > 2017-08-11 22:56 | Report Abuse

over long term, you must ask yourself this Q..

will hrc benefit from current refinery margin spike? see

http://www.cmegroup.com/apps/cmegroup/widgets/productLibs/esignal-charts.html?code=D1N&title=AUG_2017_Singapore_Mogas_92_Unleaded_%28Platts%29_Brent_Crack_Spread_&type=p&venue=0&monthYear=Q7&year=2017&exchangeCode=XNYM

short term inventory loss can be offset in next quarter, you agree with alex?

Alex Foo

12,591 posts

Posted by Alex Foo > 2017-08-11 23:05 | Report Abuse

i reread your article. i think you covered that. so inventory loss is a temporary phenomenon to be offset in next quarter. It means Q2 so-so, Q3 huat, right? =)

TrippleZ

1,563 posts

Posted by TrippleZ > 2017-08-11 23:09 | Report Abuse

Temporarily is enough to send the price down to hell.

FutureEyes

102 posts

Posted by FutureEyes > 2017-08-11 23:09 | Report Abuse

yes

Posted by Alex Foo > Aug 11, 2017 11:05 PM | Report Abuse

i reread your article. i think you covered that. so inventory loss is a temporary phenomenon to be offset in next quarter. It means Q2 so-so, Q3 huat, right? =)

Alex Foo

12,591 posts

Posted by Alex Foo > 2017-08-11 23:12 | Report Abuse

so meaning wait Q2 only buy la? ok la, monday i sell~ buy back oct =D

TrippleZ

1,563 posts

Posted by TrippleZ > 2017-08-11 23:15 | Report Abuse

You can't sell now bcos superinvestor will push it to sky high. hihi

Alex Foo

12,591 posts

Posted by Alex Foo > 2017-08-11 23:18 | Report Abuse

can la, i sell now, my lot so cute, ppl wont notice one~ haha

Posted by John Lu > 2017-08-11 23:18 | Report Abuse

I use calculator count...eps is 91c for Q2

Alex Foo

12,591 posts

Posted by Alex Foo > 2017-08-11 23:18 | Report Abuse

wait, you mean Q2 price wont drop? earning 17sen sure drop wor....that time i collect can?

Alex Foo

12,591 posts

Posted by Alex Foo > 2017-08-11 23:19 | Report Abuse

ah john, wait u publish article leh....must give 'balanced' view to i3 community right? =)

Posted by John Lu > 2017-08-11 23:20 | Report Abuse

I lazy write article la...but my prediction is 91c mah

Alex Foo

12,591 posts

Posted by Alex Foo > 2017-08-11 23:22 | Report Abuse

actually i aim 171 sen only....i only ask for PE 5....but Q3 memang sedap la....

TrippleZ

1,563 posts

Posted by TrippleZ > 2017-08-11 23:22 | Report Abuse

See Jaks, reported lost last time also shoot up sky high. Thanks to superinvestor. Hihi

21,550 posts

Posted by paperplane > 2017-08-11 23:32 | Report Abuse

Hmmmmm,then how to explain Q1Eps?

Posted by VenFx > 2017-08-11 23:43 | Report Abuse

This is fair and balance job.
Thx FutureEyes ....

Maybe should someone put through a simulations by different price range in qtr time frame.... who has the closest spot he win ...hehe

Posted by VenFx > 2017-08-11 23:44 | Report Abuse

Would be good if an get my A.i. calculator for the Xmast present from Santa.

21,550 posts

Posted by paperplane > 2017-08-11 23:52 | Report Abuse

But most report I read suggest very minimal impact from stock inventory loss! Even petron Corp report speedo confirm that. I guess, similar to hengyuan as well. Simply calculate and jump into conclusion it will be big loss is not responsible

Stock Kingdom

1,005 posts

Posted by Stock Kingdom > 2017-08-12 00:31 | Report Abuse

Good works! the results, basis & calculations are there. Any one challenge the basis using another basis? Look forward to read more debates or calculations.

Don't come out & just say my friend lah, my grandfather lah or even my calculator. These are jokes, not basis.

LA777

3,383 posts

Posted by LA777 > 2017-08-12 06:54 | Report Abuse

This is misleading calculation, especially for the value stock inventory, the price you put in is just estimation, if this is the case, better put the same price, say USD53/barrel, the stock inventory no impact at all!

LA777

3,383 posts

Posted by LA777 > 2017-08-12 07:00 | Report Abuse

If based on my calculation, it should be around 89 sen.

LA777

3,383 posts

Posted by LA777 > 2017-08-12 07:13 | Report Abuse

Number of days is 91 not 90.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2017-08-12 07:24 | Report Abuse

Interesting information. Let's just wait for result to see whether the author is correct or wrong. I am open minded

: )

12,847 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2017-08-12 08:25 |

r°Moi

5,802 posts

Posted by r°Moi > 2017-08-12 09:18 | Report Abuse

90 DAYS.. IS JUST TOO PERFECT LOH... NO DOWNTIME CANNOT BE LOH??

FACTOR IN 3 TO 5 DAYS AND SEE... OLD PLANT AND MACHINERY LOH

r°Moi

5,802 posts

Posted by r°Moi > 2017-08-12 09:22 | Report Abuse

IF STOCKHOLDINGS IS JUST 40 DAYS... AND IF ON FIFO.... THE VALUE OF INVENTORY... FOR CALCULATING STOCK LOSS... SHOULD BE ROLLED BACK TO JUST 22 MAY 17 LOH... NOT 1 MAR 17 MAH

r°Moi

5,802 posts

Posted by r°Moi > 2017-08-12 09:24 | Report Abuse

YES.. THE DIFFERENCE MAY HIT THE PRODUCTION COST.... POINT IS... CANNOT TAKE THE CRACK SPREAD.. JUST OFF THE SHELF... AND USE MAH.

VERY MISLEADING LOH

r°Moi

5,802 posts

Posted by r°Moi > 2017-08-12 09:26 | Report Abuse

IF PRICE REMAIN CONSTANT AT 53.... HOW TO GET STOCK GAIN IN NEXT Q... DO NOT UNDERSTAND LOH...

VERY MISLEADING LOH

3,126 posts

Posted by supersaiyan3 > 2017-08-12 09:27 | Report Abuse

Thanks for the hardwork.

r°Moi

5,802 posts

Posted by r°Moi > 2017-08-12 09:28 | Report Abuse

WHEN SUPER INVESTOR SEE PROFIT DROP.... HE WILL SELL LOH... NOT FOLLOW HIS GOLDEN RULE MAH....

SOMEMORE... MARGIN ACCOUNT A BIT STRECTED MAH...

AND SELL THIS ONE NO NEED TO REPORT MAH... BELOW 5% MAH

r°Moi

5,802 posts

Posted by r°Moi > 2017-08-12 09:29 | Report Abuse

CAREFUL LOH.... WHEN SUPER INVESTOR SELL... THE PRICE WILL DROP A LOT MAH.

r°Moi

5,802 posts

Posted by r°Moi > 2017-08-12 09:35 | Report Abuse

BETTER RUN FIRST LOH... DO NOT WAIT TILL SUPER INVESTOR SELL LOH

Posted by John Lu > 2017-08-12 09:37 | Report Abuse

Investment is an art...its much depend on how you look at the business, estimation of the profit etc. Anything could happen pre-Q2 announcement.

2 groups of people here. One group i.e OTB, KYY, paper, Icon8888, Venfx, David, LA777, myself etc confident with HYC because of crack spread all time high & another group of people estimate below average result for Q2.

Just cross the fingure and wait for the announcement day. Cheers!!

vinc3362

238 posts

Posted by vinc3362 > 2017-08-12 11:05 | Report Abuse

Above article datas are biased.....................

HRC main product is gasoline, why use jet fuel kerosene futures to substantiate your figures..............

Why use 26th June Brent crude prices when 30th June is the month end and is on Friday, a trading day. The pricing differential is already nearly USD 3 per barrel for that few days of trading.

Got to go back to work, will work out the details later.....but for sincere investors, please double check the data and don't follow blindly.

ktsk88

5,284 posts

Posted by ktsk88 > 2017-08-12 11:26 | Report Abuse

Whatever it is, the inventory as at reporting quarter will depend on oil pricing and the inventory valuation gain/loss will definitely affected the bottom line and also the stock price too.

Thanks for highlighting the issue.........consider a fair view minus the calculations.

fattmoney

62 posts

Posted by fattmoney > 2017-08-12 11:28 | Report Abuse

Just to add to vinc3362 comments on usage of Brent price on 26 June, if you really want to use 26 June, then it should be compared to 27 March price (26 March is a weekend) to be consistent, which is about USD51. Hence, the difference would still be smaller by USD2 (stock losses would be less).

ckcc

15 posts

Posted by ckcc > 2017-08-12 11:29 | Report Abuse

FutureEyes you not from Affin IB? Why you cover same stock like OTB?

Posted by BornToSpeculate > 2017-08-12 11:30 | Report Abuse

Inventory loss is common and should be the same for all oil refining operations. The question we should be asking the past 2 quarters how much was the 'extra-ordinary gain on inventory'.

Obviously we cant just take crack spread and use this as the only input for profitability.

Super investor if you ask me, would have bought in cheap when HengYuan first reporting their Q4 turnaround profit of 200m+. Knowingly that there are not much shares in circulation, this is the best down to pare down some holdings when there is volume.

InsiderR

70 posts

Posted by InsiderR > 2017-08-12 11:42 | Report Abuse

Q2 inventory loss can be recovered in q3? Nobody can guarantee. How well the crude oil will perform in Aug & Sept still unknown. And nobody knows which day exactly HRC place order for crude. Buy high sell low is very likely, everythg depends on how good are HRC crude experts. Also, pls take note HRC has no hedging as of today. For inventory loss, u may go through Shell previous reports, it is possible inventory loss can wipe out all your margin when crude up/down tremendously. It is not as simple as just minus crude price at end of the mth/qtr with early of the mth/qtr. Anyway, counting down remaining +/-10 trading days for Q2. Good lucks!

ckcc

15 posts

Posted by ckcc > 2017-08-12 11:45 | Report Abuse

If HRC crude is expert why last year Hengyuan can drop below RM 2? There are also some loss qtrs.

RedGreen

48 posts

Posted by RedGreen > 2017-08-12 12:02 | Report Abuse

Why hold 40 day stock ? Are they preparing for refinery maintenance or inspection ? Petron corp philipines shutdown 45 days for the maintenance ?
Just suggesting.