Hi icon sifu. How are you performing so far? I did not follow your stock calls but most of them seems to be not performing well. What went wrong? And how should readers trade in this case? Tq for explanation in advance.
Thank you Icon8888 for a very interesting and informative article. Many of us I think have been doing this without being able to describe & put it into perspective as u have written & explained it so well in words. Unconsciously I have being doing this but not realizing the 3 different actors(Angler, Drift Wood and Surf rider). My 3 stocks die die hold since 2012 ......Aeon Credit, Panamy and Nestle. Sold off some like Petronas Gas, Axitia & Digi. Thanks for the article
read my article carefully lah, it already answers all your questions
Flintstones Hi icon sifu. How are you performing so far? I did not follow your stock calls but most of them seems to be not performing well. What went wrong? And how should readers trade in this case? Tq for explanation in advance. 31/08/2017 13:29
Beware of right issues for wce around the corner. Last Monday Agm confirmed that there will be doing right issues @RM0.80. Black swan takes place for drift woods
Thank you Icon for exploring the investment philosophy and strategy of successful portfolio management for the benefits of this forum. As successful strategy is not static, it has to evolve with time, as pointed out by Probab. It is dynamic. Looking for short term fortune or quick bucks in the stock market is always risky and unsustainable,as pointed out many a time by many sifus (90% ends in utter failure, 10% only managed to scraped through). No way we could turn the market into a casino (put one, take two or put one give two) Syabas, Icon, you opened the mindset of many newbies or even oldies. Happy Merdeka !!
7. The best investors in the world make on average between 10 and 15%. We already know because of the above that you are probably not going to be among the best. So, if you pick some stocks and passively hold them maybe you’ll earn half that: 7%. Are you happy with that? Then fine. But given the volatility in the market I don’t think thats a good enough return for most people. Look,some people are good. And some people should invest. But most shouldn’t. 8. The other people who make money only hold for 1/trillionth of a second. Some trading firms set up their operations right next to the buildings with the computers that process all the trades on the exchanges. They then pay for high speed cables to go right into these exchanges so their trades get their before yours. These guys make a lot of money in the markets by getting in the middle of every bid-ask faster than anyone else can. Its a race to the bottom but billions are made. So we see now the way to huge wealth is to either trade in millionths of a second or to hold huge blocks of your net worth in one stock for years. This is not a good strategy for 99.9% of people. 9, Well, what about daytrading? A lot of people claim to do that successfully. They are lying. Please see my article “8 Reasons Not to Daytrade”. I got a lot of criticism after that. People wanted to show me their tax returns to show me how good they daytraded. Get lost, punks. Some people make millions playing the violin also. Doesn’t mean the other six billion people on the planet should perform in Carnegie Hall. In any case, we’re talking about investing in stocks. Not scalping like a little kid with eight terminals in front of him. And guess what, even the best daytraders in the world with twenty year track records go broke sometimes.
New generation investment is very different since after the introduction of Internet and online trading They are investing in better and better computer hardware so they can make the best deal faster than anyone else Investing is only getting faster and faster :)
This book is the result of the author's many years of experience and observation throughout his 26 years in the stockbroking industry. It was written for general public to learn to invest based on facts and not on fantasies or hearsay....
Zai Zai
584 posts
Posted by Zai Zai > 2017-08-31 13:24 | Report Abuse
Surf Rider is trend follower.
ed seykota is the master of this kind of skill