8,633 posts

Posted by Halite > 2018-06-12 22:53 | Report Abuse

Do not wrestle with the pig,
Both of you will get dirty
But the pig enjoys it.

Posted by Flintstones > 2018-06-12 22:56 | Report Abuse

Okok xuewen. Just f***ing with you. Guy wanna have fun. I mean no harm. Cheers!

Halite

8,633 posts

Posted by Halite > 2018-06-12 22:59 | Report Abuse

If you know very well that you head can not break the wall, do not do it.

Flintstone,

I know i can talk rubbish better than you but I don't enjoy talking rubbish with you

You know you can't hurt me with all your rubbish, yet you keep talking rubbish

Do you not feel very foolish doing so?

Halite

8,633 posts

Posted by Halite > 2018-06-12 23:01 | Report Abuse

Why use all the vulgar words

How you children feel if they read it

Halite

8,633 posts

Posted by Halite > 2018-06-12 23:03 | Report Abuse

You must set a good example for your children

Your children do not hope to see their father scolding vulgar words

257 posts

Posted by 624298991 > 2018-06-12 23:15 | Report Abuse

great write up... hold is a must ...

4,699 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2018-06-12 23:18 | Report Abuse

Dear Icon8888,
I have questions?
Are INSAS and TA asset paly or earning play?
INSAS earn growing profit from Inari and TA from hotel operation.
Can a share be both asset and earning play?

mike90

203 posts

Posted by mike90 > 2018-06-12 23:35 | Report Abuse

(Icon) Muda Holdings - My 2018 Sailang Stock

https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/icon8888/154696.jsp

Still applicable?

hstha

3,324 posts

Posted by hstha > 2018-06-13 01:00 | Report Abuse

Don't follow anyone in the forum blindly.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-06-13 01:05 | Report Abuse

there is no morality in stock market.......

stock market not a church and not a law court.

the bad government of Najib created the conditions for a good run of the stockmarket 2008 to 2018.....

2008 to 2018.....stock market supported by fake money, fake news, expansionary GDP growth based on unrecorded borrowings, irresponsible government.

2018 forwards its going to be responsible government, contraction in government expenditures,

expansion phase turns to contraction phase......how are you going to handle it?

Posted by probability > 2018-06-13 01:14 | Report Abuse

sifu qqq3, that means RM will weaken against USD.....

shall we go for export stocks?

Posted by Administrator > 2018-06-13 01:17 | Report Abuse

Good tips Icon8888

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-06-13 01:53 | Report Abuse

the good news is foreigners holding Government bonds is only 14%....That means we can handle it, there will be no crisis, no Greek situation....and depreciation of ringgit is only a 50/50 event.

the bad news is that every thing has changed...even the strategies that applied before has to change....target prices have to reduced, 10% profits target most cases good enough, you don't sell other people will sell, stock selections more narrow, and keep the thinking cap on always.

business sense will keep you in the right stocks.....keep reviewing your portfolio.

just to make 10-15% , you have to be early and keep to the stocks with good business sense.

I do not think high NTA, or low PE stocks is of any use ..............only stocks that can attract people to keep buying is good enough to buy.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-06-13 01:58 | Report Abuse

improved or improving business environment is good business sense........

when Sabah bans exports of logs, who will benefit?

when no GST and no SST for 3 months, this quarter, all the car companies will have record sales.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-06-13 03:02 | Report Abuse

not just cars, all non perishable items (like TVs) will have record sales this quarter.

kyosan

786 posts

Posted by kyosan > 2018-06-13 07:53 | Report Abuse

4. Don't Look Too Far Ahead

it's correct, i called it growth investor. Try to look those development of new factory/production/plant which expected to complete within next 1 year and lesser , many example to prove such as JHM,Comcorp,bslcorp,kgb, few more ..within a year it will double provided that qtr rslt is improving. Another challenge would be to find the best time to sell it back. Greedy another bad chapter to cover.

valuelurker

1,133 posts

Posted by valuelurker > 2018-06-13 10:21 | Report Abuse

If there's anything Ive learned it is that people just want to be spoonfed

Hence why in the end its ultimately better to manage outside money

That said in the near-term probability of upside is tilted towards exporters - gloves, apparel, furniture (maybe) etc

You have a strong US economy and jobs data and looming Fed rate hikes coupled with the recent change in our government (lets give them some time to iron out the kinks and implement their policies...) you would expect MYR to depreciate against the USD

Henly

1,902 posts

Posted by Henly > 2018-06-13 10:54 | Report Abuse

@Icon8888 Thank you for your article

invest in bear and harvest with bull. Choose the counters intelligently and you will be rewarded handsomely.

Currently internet/technology counters gone crazy in Taiwan market. Any one can share what technology counter in Malaysia to be in the watch list? myeg?

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-06-13 11:02 | Report Abuse

export companies faced with a lot of uncertainties. It is not going to be easy choosing the right one.

2,946 posts

Posted by gohkimhock > 2018-06-13 11:03 | Report Abuse

Don't follow blindly. Do your own homework. Read ColdEye's books if you know Chinese. You really gain a lot of knowledge.

Posted by Pakcik Saham > 2018-06-13 11:06 | Report Abuse

Thks for sharing and good point "Malaysia is different from the US and other developed countries" The strategies buy on hold can used for some growth stock like Dialog, QL, AJI & pMETAL. 90% Others stock most like prescription only

Henly

1,902 posts

Posted by Henly > 2018-06-13 11:32 | Report Abuse

I guess Tun M will not let RM=4 /USD, I predict it will strengthen to 3.8. Steel counters will do very well with this as they import 90% of the raw mat

j450n

445 posts

Posted by j450n > 2018-06-13 11:47 | Report Abuse

icon thank you for your insight on your trading method.

Ricky Yeo

Posted by Ricky Yeo > 2018-06-13 12:15 | Report Abuse

Just a few opinions:

1. I agree that one should be realistic with their return instead of taking on excessive risk. But even at 15-20% CAGR can be a risky proposition for most investors.

2. How well Calvin Tan is doing with his investment aside, it has nothing to do with how well asset play is in Bursa. Imagine saying "The 100 years old uncle next door has been smoking his entire life, therefore, smoking is harmless." Calvin Tan's portfolio is nothing but one sample size. The law of small number. Using this inductive reasoning to imply whether an investment strategy i.e asset play is effective is misleading. In addition, if Walter Schloss is still alive and investing today, chances are you are going to see lots of losses in his portfolio 90% of the time. As the name imply, asset play is a game of magnitude. Frequency, you are going to see losses most of the time, but the point of asset play or cigar butt if you want to call it that name is gains from a few stocks in the portfolio should more than enough to make up the losses of the majority. And if a majority people in i3 believe in Icon and start avoiding asset play from today, won't that make asset play more attractive with higher expected value?

3. While I agree there isn't many moat in M'sia compare to US, which is common sense, that is far from saying cyclical play is an 'easy' game for most investors. How many dip their toes in O&G play right before GE13 and get killed when the bust comes? How many people ride the boom on export/furniture stocks died in 2016? And to be frank, export stocks ain't 'cyclical', that's nonsense euphoria build on currency stupidity. Things always look obvious at hindsight. To add further point, most investors are trend followers rather than contrarian, what happens when a trend followers hit on cyclical stocks? That's the quickest way to die.

Posted by probability > 2018-06-13 12:41 | Report Abuse

Icon described the nature of Bursa's rough sea behaviour...its up to the readers if they can quickly learn to surf here.

Posted by probability > 2018-06-13 13:04 | Report Abuse

i guess only on the above statement..me no sifu

Posted by Icon8888 > 2018-06-13 13:34 | Report Abuse

Ricky Yeo likes to nag nag nag, just like my grandma

Posted by probability > 2018-06-13 13:36 | Report Abuse

ha ha...but i really appreciate Ricky's presence in i3....

we need some catalyst in i3 to stimulate thoughts

dull comments make my brain lose creativity!

titus

4,158 posts

Posted by titus > 2018-06-13 13:37 | Report Abuse

Henly......RM4=1USD a'dy.....

Ricky Yeo

Posted by Ricky Yeo > 2018-06-13 13:47 | Report Abuse

Just saying. I do agree with you on other points so I don't bring them up. Only raise those that is worth mentioning.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-06-13 14:09 | Report Abuse

Great lessons from Mahathir

Mahathir is not smarter than you and me
but Mahathir has great sense of timing and politics in his blood.

Wrote the Malay Dilemma at the right time
Left UMNO three times and each time with great timing that enhances his reputation when he returns

Keeps his ears to the ground and understands the big trends,

Loyalty to Perjuangan , not loyalty to any particular Party.

Lives long enough to come out a winner.....

Stock market the same
Don't need to be the smartest kid on the block
But you need to have a great sense of timing...and stockmarket in your blood

You have to have your own book that you can call your own, yet willing and able to review to improve your opinions, you have to keep your ears to the ground and understand the big trends.

Your Loyalty is to the Struggle, not to any external party or group,

and you do need a bit of luck to live long enough to see you triumph,
to correct your mistakes, to reinvent yourself, to try again.....

Willing to take risks , even great risks that others will avoid...taking risks is part of your Struggle. You know that failure is not the end, failure is another step to success.

Henly

1,902 posts

Posted by Henly > 2018-06-13 15:35 | Report Abuse

Tun M will not let usd=4, with the cheap money from Japan, Ringgit will strengthen to 3.8 or lower. HSR and MRT3 will be re-tender again for Japan like project in Indonesia.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-06-13 21:42 | Report Abuse

many roads lead to Rome.

statistically, it could be difficult to separate luck from skills......but who cares? As long as catches the mouse.

What the skills factor can do is to design the portfolio to be high beta or low beta portfolio.

Considering there are so many idiots playing the game.....surely it is believable that the game can be beat.....that a smart one can consistently come out ahead...........

tecpower

3,536 posts

Posted by tecpower > 2018-06-13 22:08 | Report Abuse

Rubber glove counters rise on weakening ringgit | http://www.klsescreener.com/v2/news/view/392123

hstha

3,324 posts

Posted by hstha > 2018-06-13 23:34 | Report Abuse

Semiconductor Stocks Can Still Be Massively Profitable, Despite What Wall Street Says. https://moneymorning.com/2018/06/12/semiconductor-stocks-can-still-be-massively-profitable-despite-what-wall-street-says/

hstha

3,324 posts

Posted by hstha > 2018-06-14 09:06 | Report Abuse

Microsoft Corporation and Cloud Kings Become Chip Giants

Dana Blankenhorn
InvestorPlaceJune 13, 2018
Microsoft Corporation (NASDAQ:MSFT) is getting into semiconductor design.
https://finance.yahoo.com/news/microsoft-corporation-cloud-kings-become-143408610.html

Blue Laser

205 posts

Posted by Blue Laser > 2018-06-14 10:41 | Report Abuse

Get rich investing in Bursa Malaysia? Only very few made it and even fewer kept it. You need bull market conditions to make it big taking huge bets and then have the discipline to pull up stakes when well ahead. Those I know who got real rich started a business, grew it through decades, listed it and then can play the game more on their own terms.

JuniorR

101 posts

Posted by JuniorR > 2018-06-14 10:53 | Report Abuse

Good take on Malaysian market and investors/traders. Hopefully our market develops further with more participants and with greater price discovery. Bloomberg Malaysia will be positive for Bursa.

enid888

581 posts

Posted by enid888 > 2018-06-14 13:37 | Report Abuse

Most of the investors are making losses since 2015. They may have selected one or two counters that make a lot of money, but their portfolio as a whole are making losses.

anticonman

533 posts

Posted by anticonman > 2018-06-14 13:43 | Report Abuse

Orion, Netx, KimLun-W, Ambank, Orna, Muda,etc down how to be rich? Want to con us is it?

ilovehits

3,955 posts

Posted by ilovehits > 2018-06-14 14:27 | Report Abuse

Up high high then ask you to buy.

ilovehits

3,955 posts

Posted by ilovehits > 2018-06-14 14:27 | Report Abuse

No free lunch here. Huh huh...

tah16600

2,646 posts

Posted by tah16600 > 2018-06-14 16:56 | Report Abuse

The only PLC stills got 700m cash in B.S yet selling at extremely cheap after giving away special dividend is Dutaland . I think this ctr fit short term but long term holding. Other penny ctrs like ASb,ASIAPAC,FPGroup ,Handal ,Heava, INSAS,TA worth consider.

Posted by Jon Choivo > 2018-06-15 04:59 | Report Abuse

Icon8888, my only question is, what is your cutloss and how you decixe as a trader.

Are you still holding muda? Did you top up? Whats your thought process then and what is it now?

Im currently in kl, do look for me on facebook if youre around and want to meet up for a coffee.

Lyo82

396 posts

Posted by Lyo82 > 2018-06-15 10:48 | Report Abuse

Thanks Icon. Good one to share. But again to all new investors, DO NOT digest blindly. Also learn more from other experts and finally form your own methodology. Only you yourself know what you need and want.

Posted by Jon Choivo > 2018-07-01 03:40 | Report Abuse

“For most of [the professional investors and speculators] are, in fact, largely concerned, not with making superior long-term forecasts of the probable yield of an investment over its whole life, but with foreseeing changes in the conventional basis of valuation a short time ahead of the general public. They are concerned, not with what an investment is really worth to a man who buys it ‘for keeps,’ but
with what the market will value it at, under the influence of mass psychology, three months or a year hence.”

- John Maynard Keynes (1935)

The malaysian markets are not that different from american ones, or other mature markets.

Humans are the same everywhere, throughout history.

If most people are spending their time predicting quarters, maybe the real edge comes from doing something else other than predicting quarters.

Ron90

3,762 posts

Posted by Ron90 > 2018-07-01 04:38 |

winnerz

133 posts

Posted by winnerz > 2018-07-07 14:45 | Report Abuse

Thank you, Icon8888. I love you!

lching

1,402 posts

Posted by lching > 2021-02-26 12:37 | Report Abuse

where are you now Icon8888. miss you...............

Posted by CharlesT > 2021-02-26 12:39 | Report Abuse

One year annivesary after sifu icon8888 missing fm I3??