kamsia icon sifu, much to learn from you

rchi

20,920 posts

Posted by rchi > 2018-09-02 21:51 | Report Abuse

I tot u just said goodbye to i3.

Posted by Alex™ > 2018-09-02 21:53 | Report Abuse

no choice….still love u ppl… but won't trade bursa often for a season...

rchi

20,920 posts

Posted by rchi > 2018-09-02 21:55 | Report Abuse

Got time go listen to "the gambler" by kenny rogers n relate it to trading.Good luck.

Posted by Alex™ > 2018-09-02 22:02 | Report Abuse

thx rchi sifu...u the best

Posted by probability > 2018-09-02 22:03 | Report Abuse

https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=275&v=9t2lg4QfxZY

walao..Alex have nice presentation skills. Nice voice also...

Posted by Jon Choivo > 2018-09-02 22:05 | Report Abuse

I'm not sure what to take away from this to be honest.

Interesting read though.

Posted by Alex™ > 2018-09-02 22:06 | Report Abuse

apu……. like that u also can dig out

Posted by probability > 2018-09-02 22:07 | Report Abuse

of course Jon cant take away anything...

before Jon take, Alex already take...put back and tack back everything ma...

Posted by Alex™ > 2018-09-02 22:08 | Report Abuse

ah jon, itu gambler video gooding, u go youtube it

Posted by Alex™ > 2018-09-02 22:11 | Report Abuse

that 2017 video, lucky I din hold CH until lupus...haha

Posted by Alex™ > 2018-09-02 22:14 | Report Abuse

Kenny Roger - The Gambler - gotta meditate more on this
Every hand (or situation in life) has the potential to be a winner and the potential to be a loser, it's what you do with that hand that decides the outcome.

Posted by probability > 2018-09-02 22:14 | Report Abuse

yup...i was trying to figure out when was that...

i made almost the same in CH as much as on Mother

Posted by Alex™ > Sep 2, 2018 10:11 PM | Report Abuse

that 2017 video, lucky I din hold CH until lupus...haha

FamousAmos

304 posts

Posted by FamousAmos > 2018-09-02 22:16 | Report Abuse

Young man, I been there before. From the article I can tell FKLI is a very suitable instrument for u. Try to look into it and now we have this FM70 futures - liquidity is not that deep but it’s a good place for beginner to start. Good luck

Posted by Alex™ > 2018-09-02 22:19 | Report Abuse

probability, hope I have many more opportunity to huat with u hehe

amos~ nice, I go look for it. Execute thru which broker/platform better?

FamousAmos

304 posts

Posted by FamousAmos > 2018-09-02 22:28 | Report Abuse

Am using okachi

Posted by Alex™ > 2018-09-02 22:32 | Report Abuse

thanks amos! got referral bonus? if yes, I use ur name

Posted by Alex™ > 2018-09-02 22:41 | Report Abuse

haha, icon sifu, so paise leh….

sometimes writing need to see target respondent also... I more like pasar language here...semua salah dragon

Posted by Alex™ > 2018-09-02 22:41 | Report Abuse

*target audience

Posted by probability > 2018-09-02 22:43 | Report Abuse

you should have posted them here in i3.....

can u imagine even cipek Teh articles at times hit top articles spot in i3

Posted by Alex™ > 2018-09-02 22:44 | Report Abuse

haha.... well... as they said, young ones better diam and learn. Probability can write also

Posted by cheoky > 2018-09-02 22:57 | Report Abuse

Malaysia Jesse Livermore ? Young n dangerous

lizi

1,968 posts

Posted by lizi > 2018-09-02 22:59 | Report Abuse

wow, alex, i too have kind of similar excel to keep track of my portfolio...i like to keep track my position sizes including cash all the time...this come in handy when there is a need to rebalance my portfolio depending on market/macro economic changes.

Posted by Alex™ > 2018-09-02 23:06 | Report Abuse

@cheoky
Livermore ending kesian… but he made a mark in the trading world. Sailang and bankrupt, and Sailang , and bankrupt, and Sailang ...and last round he didn't survive =(

@lizi @icon
hehe, glad to find some excel kaki here

Posted by Alex™ > 2018-09-02 23:08 | Report Abuse

@icon
seriously? especially a client with margin, that kind of mistake will compound the fear factor...

Goh Kim Hock

2,948 posts

Posted by Goh Kim Hock > 2018-09-03 06:18 | Report Abuse

good to see a lot of young people into stock investment. Hopefully you guys can go the right path. Invest, don't speculate. You will have bright future if you can do it the right way. 投資正道.

12,832 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-09-03 07:06 |

12,832 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-09-03 07:15 | Report Abuse

1, Product and services
2. Sales of the company
3. Owners and Management are good and have high sense of stewardship

Podcast by Alex
https://ia800805.us.archive.org/22/items/F002HowDoIPickStockPartII/F002%20How%20do%20I%20pick%20stock%20%28Part%20II%29.mp3

12,832 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-09-03 07:19 | Report Abuse

After reading Benjamin Graham's Intelligent Investor .. he chooses trading for his path in investing.

Yet, ironically, at the age of 88, Warren Buffett who was also influenced by Benjamin Graham in his interview recently said: "I am buying stock and I am not buying because I think the stock is going up next year. I am buying because I think the stock will be worth a bit more money 10 or 20 years from now."
https://myinvestingnotes.blogspot.com/2018/08/warren-buffett-says-im-buying-stocks.html

The greatest asset a young person has is the LONG TIME for investing AND to compound their networth.

12,832 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-09-03 07:20 | Report Abuse

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WlC40B9qZ20
A one-minute video by Charlie Munger

12,832 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-09-03 07:23 | Report Abuse

Investment Policies (Based on Benjamin Graham)
Summary of Investment Policies

A. INVESTMENT FOR FIXED INCOME:
US Savings Bonds (FDs or Amanah Sahams for Malaysians)

B. INVESTMENT FOR INCOME, MODERATE LONG-TERM APPRECIATION AND PROTECTION AGAINST INFLATION:
(1) INVESTMENT FUNDS bought at reasonable price.
(2) Diversified list of primary common stocks (BLUE CHIPS) bought at reasonable price.

C. INVESTMENT CHIEFLY FOR PROFIT: 4 approaches are open to both the small and the large investors:
(1) Representative common stocks bought when the MARKET level is clearly LOW.
(2) GROWTH STOCKS, when these can be obtained at reasonable prices in relation to actual accomplishment – GROWTH INVESTING.
(3) Purchase of securities selling well BELOW INTRINSIC VALUE – VALUE INVESTING.
(4) Purchase of WELL-SECURED PRIVILEGED SENIOR ISSUES (bonds and preferred shares).
(5) SPECIAL SITUATIONS: Mergers, arbitrages, cash pay-outs.

D. SPECULATION:
(1) Buying stock in new or virtually new ventures (IPOs) .
(2) TRADING in the market.
(3) Purchase of "GROWTH STOCKS" at GENEROUS PRICES.

12,832 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-09-03 07:26 | Report Abuse

Love the videos and podcasts by Alex. He writes well and his videos and podcasts are the start of something greater. Develop your skills and products. You maybe able to monetize these in the future.

Ricky Yeo

Posted by Ricky Yeo > 2018-09-03 07:47 | Report Abuse

Kinda confusing that you want to be a trader and at the same time searching for enduring companies.

Posted by Alex™ > 2018-09-03 07:52 | Report Abuse

Hehe... I3 panlai korek also.... Ok... I must be humble to learn... My dad told me to always speak lesser and listen more

Posted by Alex™ > 2018-09-03 07:54 | Report Abuse

Thk u koon bee... Hope my pant is still intact by the end of 2020? Haha

Posted by Koon Bee > 2018-09-03 07:54 | Report Abuse

Alex...sincere and simple article. Most important easy to understand. Thumb up.

You have a good career to support family + surplus to save from salary and invest it.

Slowly building up your investment port like a snow ball, who cares from stock, commodity, UT, etc...as long as can make money with less risk which give you a better return VS benchmark, u will see it grow like a snow ball. Keep it up

Posted by Alex™ > 2018-09-03 07:59 | Report Abuse

Hehe ricky bro.. I think u r right... Sooner or later I will need to prioritize to master one of them. For now, it's trading.

Patron

1,163 posts

Posted by Patron > 2018-09-03 10:06 | Report Abuse

Alex, i dont need referral fees / subscription fees like seafoods here. If you have any doubts in trading as ur career - yes i started as a warrants market maker with CIMB bank about 15 years ago - now i have been trading my own accounts ( my own funds + some funds from very closed friends ) as a Local Participant. yes there are very little successful traders outthere. been in this industry for very long and i only meet < 5 of them. keep it up.

start early, bet small , cut loss , let profit run - you should be doing ok in the long run.

Posted by Alex™ > 2018-09-03 12:40 | Report Abuse

Thank you Patron... Appreciate your advice.... I'll be watchful in being exercising disciplined consistency on doing what you said.

Posted by probability > 2018-09-03 13:27 | Report Abuse

Alex...are you still pursuing your PhD?

may i know on what field is that...

using AI for high speed trading would be interesting

Posted by probability > 2018-09-03 13:33 | Report Abuse

everything is about edge (competitive edge)...whether its value investing, cigarette butt investing, trading...or speculative trading..

there is no reason to tell one is better or more ethical than the other..

so, if Alex is going to have an edge in high speed trading due to the extensive amount of research he is doing...

he may actually have the potential to be a multi-billionaire like Warren Buffet

key thing is about finding a strategy (your edge)

Posted by Jon Choivo > 2018-09-03 13:33 | Report Abuse

Yeah, that was the main thing that felt weird for me.

====
Posted by Ricky Yeo > Sep 3, 2018 07:47 AM | Report Abuse

Kinda confusing that you want to be a trader and at the same time searching for enduring companies.

12,832 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-09-03 13:33 |

Ayoyo

379 posts

Posted by Ayoyo > 2018-09-03 13:54 | Report Abuse

Alex, kudos to you for having the testicular fortitude to venture beyond your comfort zone.. I read of many well meant advice and words of encouragement from the old birds... And I assure your that it's achievable but it's definitely NOT from buying off someone else's systems...

Grope around, make mistakes, and most importantly learn because the reason why we fall down is just so that we could get back up...

don't track your wins or trades too often and get blindsided by focusing on the trees for the forest.. The key to staying in this business is to ultimately win in the long run and not to be right all the time..

Just when I thought I lost some money this month, I actually made a neat 5 figure sum instead when I reconcile my statements (I only track my summary trades once a month for tax record purposes)... But I'm probably in deficit when I consider that I splurged on a 9k lazboy recliner from Harvey Norman and spent on tickets for my next Scandinavian trip (to avoid Sst) - not bragging but to show you the freedom one could never get from other forms of entrepreneurship or employment..

My one advice probably applies to anyone in general... Education can be acquired thru school (and books or teachers), knowledge can be acquired thru hard work but wisdom can only be acquired thru experience... And it is this wisdom that will propel you to a higher level in all aspects of life

Good luck to you and I sincerely wish you the best

Posted by Alex™ > 2018-09-03 14:02 | Report Abuse

Terima kasih ayoyo. I can feel the sincerity of your advice. You're one trader whom Patron pointed out earlier, one of the very few consistently profitable traders.

Kamsia, Alex better work hard, talk less, and listen more, and get more experience in the market.

Appreciate all comments, that means you care to at least drop by and give words of encouragement, correction.

Posted by Alex™ > 2018-09-03 14:07 | Report Abuse

@probability

Im registering for PhD study soon. Concerning your query, we normally call that high frequency trading, more like scalping method.

The AI at this stage is manifested in the form of preset TA criteria, and it can execute different strategies as defined by the discretionary trader.

We also call it Quant. As the name also suggests, it relies heavily on past quantitative data to test a certain TA model on its probability of success (hence edge). The assumption is the past patterns are likely to be reproduced in future, until proven otherwise.

So some quant makes money. If not, they go back to drawing board.

What field: I think it deserves its own category. Automated trading. Hehe

Posted by Alex™ > 2018-09-03 14:09 | Report Abuse

@jon

Ya, gonna to focus on either one. A trader trades on counters and his holding period is very short. I think a sifu said to me before, master FA first, then TA.

I will come back to investment once I have a rather sizeable capital. N

Posted by Alex™ > 2018-09-03 14:14 | Report Abuse

@i3

Hmm... If I were to approach the topic in the form of academic research, I will get few TA edges and let them do back testing to see if it is working. If yes (e.g., probability of success is 55%), then we can put it in real time (using fictitious money first).

If it is promising, then we can put it in real action.

Research report can be generated by analysing the trading outcome of each transaction. Aggregate them and run a statistical test to see if it can be empirically proven that certain edges do work.

Posted by Alex™ > 2018-09-03 14:16 | Report Abuse

@i3

Digital marketing... Hmm... This is enabled by fast speed Internet which results in globalisation. Might be an interesting path to pursue. I see if I have marketing academics who are doing this area.