103 comment(s). Last comment by speakup 2022-09-28 09:28

enigmatic

912 posts

Posted by enigmatic > 2018-11-08 23:43 | Report Abuse

not to be nitpicking, but isn't your trip to Laughlin 18 years ago since it was year 2000?
Anyway, a fine way to illustrate value investing as a process. Looking forward to more of your writing.

hstha

3,324 posts

Posted by hstha > 2018-11-08 23:58 | Report Abuse

Third Quarter Silicon Wafer Shipments Increase, Set New Quarterly Record

---

https://www.design-reuse.com/news/45111/q3-2018-silicon-wafer-shipments.html

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-11-09 01:54 | Report Abuse

kc...and by the way...$ 100k has become $300k....not $200k.....

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-11-09 01:58 | Report Abuse

and no...I am not here to recruit students....but if anyone wants to buy Layhong ( so I can escape )....I don't mind....

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-11-09 02:04 | Report Abuse

on luck...the proper quote is this.....

exceptional success is luck....

moderate success is skill and hardwork....

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-11-09 02:52 | Report Abuse

kc....quote here quote there cannot make u money....this I know as a fact....maybe , u can get tuition fees from students, but that is another matter.......

to make money, to do any thing, you have to pay the price in risk....

5354_

4,748 posts

Posted by 5354_ > 2018-11-09 02:54 | Report Abuse

Tuition fee sure money not from stock market? How many willing to be conned?

Posted by qqq3 > Nov 9, 2018 02:52 AM | Report Abuse
kc....quote here quote there cannot make u money....this I know as a fact....maybe , u can get tuition fees from students, but that is another matter.......
to make money, to do any thing, you have to pay the price in risk....

Posted by kcchongnz > 2018-11-09 08:34 | Report Abuse

Posted by enigmatic > Nov 8, 2018 11:43 PM | Report Abuse
not to be nitpicking, but isn't your trip to Laughlin 18 years ago since it was year 2000?
Anyway, a fine way to illustrate value investing as a process. Looking forward to more of your writing.

Thanks for the comment. I have made correction in the article.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2018-11-09 08:42 | Report Abuse

Posted by qqq3 > Nov 9, 2018 01:54 AM | Report Abuse
kc...and by the way...$ 100k has become $300k....not $200k.....

So tell us in more details how you so clever to turn $100k to $300k in 2(?) years when you keep on shouting "sailang" and "margin" Jaks and Sendai while they were trading at RM1.80+ and RM1.20+, and their share prices retreating relentlessly to 90.5 sen and 69.5 sen respectively now in less than 2 years?

Were you an accomplice in share price manipulation, or what?

5,875 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2018-11-09 09:12 | Report Abuse

Dear KCChong,
What the lady done is pure luck. My brother is a very good blackjack player and every time he is in Casino he only play blackjack because he is well prepared by remembered all the previously cards and calculating in his mind the probability of winning. He also believing in luck thus he only bet big when he is on winning streak and will leave the table when is in losing streak.

Luck is preparation meet opportunity. Do not underestimate qqq3 as pure luck. qqq3 is an unprincipled opportunist/double head snake during Bull time he will PLP super-investor with sailang, margin finance and greatness of future earnings growth knowing very well that the super-investor will push up the stocks further and he profited from it.

During Bear time he will PLP super-trader and value stock telling people how much the Seacera land worth and then he sold the stock for profit trapping those chasing high.

I repeat: By now entire i3 should know that qqq3 is a chicken trader, a two head snake, and PLP king writing his sailing on JAKS and SENDAI with the sole aim of flattering super-investor Mr. Koon and profited from his chicken trading and trapped the newbie. What a disgusting, dishonest but profitable living?

So whenever qqq3 wrote any article to promote a stock you better sell faster than him.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-11-09 09:43 | Report Abuse

kc...there is no manipulation.....but knowing the chongker is surely of great help in trading.....

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-11-09 09:48 | Report Abuse

by 5354_ > Nov 9, 2018 02:54 AM | Report Abuse

Tuition fee sure money not from stock market? How many willing to be conned?
==========

I don't know...anyone did a study how many fee paying students ? my guess is.....a lot.....a very lucrative market at times.....

Posted by kcchongnz > 2018-11-09 09:52 | Report Abuse

Sslee,

Spot on.

Posted by qqq3 > Nov 9, 2018 09:43 AM | Report Abuse
kc...there is no manipulation.....but knowing the chongker is surely of great help in trading.....

So it is quite clear that he made some chicken feed from the "chongker".

But is that so great and boasting around all over?

How to make RM100k into RM200 million as he dreamed at the age of 60+ with chicken feed?

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-11-09 09:56 | Report Abuse

ss

seacera....all alert people have equal opportunity .....and my role in it? well, I did say that Tan guy is a trader when I was holding the share......

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-11-09 09:58 | Report Abuse

kc...re Jaks and Sendai if you had sailang and margin every time I say so...you also can make a lot of money....provided you know when to sell.........

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-11-09 10:01 | Report Abuse

on luck...the proper quote is this.....

exceptional success is luck....

moderate success is skill and hardwork....

must believe....otherwise, how to improve?

Posted by kcchongnz > 2018-11-09 10:08 | Report Abuse

Posted by qqq3 > Nov 9, 2018 09:58 AM | Report Abuse
kc...re Jaks and Sendai if you had sailang and margin every time I say so...you also can make a lot of money....provided you know when to sell.........

Please write a book on "How I make some chicken feed from a super investor by trading Jaks and Sendai".

It is clear that your chicken feed must have come from the hands of the super investor you PLP as his loss is the heaviest so far in Jaks and probably in Sendai too.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-11-09 10:15 | Report Abuse

kc....book I not writing....but a lot of blogs here in i3.....when I am 84 and worth $ 300 million, I (or someone else) might compile it into a book......

and the book/ the blogs got way more than Jaks and Sendai......

13,017 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-11-09 10:37 | Report Abuse

How to make your first $100 million?

Start with $1 million.

Grow this in 10 years to $10 millions.

Then, grow this $10 millions to $100 millions in the subsequent 10 years.

You will need to be able to compound at 26% annually to achieve this.

How to make your first $1 billion?

To achieve your $1 billion, you will need to have another 10 years to grow this $100 millions @ 26% annually.

Are you already on your path to great wealth? Do you have a great process, as KC mentioned to achieve this objective?

13,017 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-11-09 10:41 |

26,507 posts

Posted by speakup > 2018-11-09 10:43 | Report Abuse

But PH say 75% ppl in malaysia dont even have RM1k emergency money wor.
https://www.themalaysianinsight.com/s/1557
So how?

Posted by 3iii > Nov 9, 2018 10:41 AM | Report Abuse

For those without the initial $1 million to start with, do not despair.

Work backward.

To achieve your first $1 million:

Go back 10 years, you just need to start with $100,000.

Go back another 10 years, you just need to start with $10,000.

Do you have $10,000 to invest today? Probably yes.

Of course, you must have the TIME and the ability to compound at 26% per year consistently and averagely for a long period.

But what if you have the long time horizon but can only achieve 10% to 15% compounding averagely yearly? Be happy, you will also be very rich indeed.

13,017 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-11-09 10:45 | Report Abuse

>>>
Posted by speakup > Nov 9, 2018 10:43 AM | Report Abuse

But PH say 75% ppl in malaysia dont even have RM1k emergency money wor.
https://www.themalaysianinsight.com/s/1557
So how?
<<<<

This world is full of opportunities.

Everyone can become rich if they possess the right knowledge and they are willing to work hard.

26,507 posts

Posted by speakup > 2018-11-09 10:45 | Report Abuse

after buying their Toyota/Honda/Nissan & Iphone X, most Malaysians dont even have rm1k left for emergencies

13,017 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-11-09 10:50 | Report Abuse

>>>Posted by speakup > Nov 9, 2018 10:45 AM | Report Abuse

after buying their Toyota/Honda/Nissan & Iphone X, most Malaysians dont even have rm1k left for emergencies<<<

I have met a smart professional with high income who was not so rich at the end of his working life due to poor money management due to luxury living and I have met a not so smart hawker who after a lifetime of hard work and frugal savings and investments who was quite well off in his retirement.

Be smart with your money early.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-11-09 10:51 | Report Abuse

forum value investors very naughty......

full of quote here quote there....but no good results to show for it....

me? I very transparent one.....I let u know every thing I do....

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-11-09 12:03 | Report Abuse

the role of luck in investing.....

value investor lost money.....its unlucky......but u never hear value investors sifus telling his students its luck when they make money......

13,017 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-11-09 12:50 |

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-11-09 15:19 | Report Abuse

took out my calculator.....50% return p.a., after 20 years.....$ 300,000 becomes $ 1 billion.......

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-11-09 15:26 | Report Abuse

anectodal evidence ( of others ) is tricky, very tricky.....

I prefer learning from my own records......

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-11-09 15:35 | Report Abuse

luck and value investors....

Seacera 85% discount to book NTA
Naim 90% discount to book NTA.....

pity the value investors....how to be value investor?
someone asked what I think is fair value for these shares?

me? what I think? I think traders and minorities got no fair values.....only if u want to take over the company u have fair value. .....or if u are a loser thinking of value investor only then got fair value.

13,017 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-11-09 15:48 | Report Abuse

It is always preferable to invest in compounders and growth companies than just any bargains or cheap non-quality stocks.

https://myinvestingnotes.blogspot.com/2018/11/it-is-always-preferable-to-invest-in.html

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-11-09 18:17 | Report Abuse

growth investing....that makes sense to me....

13,017 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-11-09 19:22 |

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-11-09 19:29 | Report Abuse

i think I have to invent a new category... I shall call it growth trading......

13,017 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-11-09 19:32 |

13,017 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-11-09 19:40 | Report Abuse

Achieving 100% increase in portfolio value over 5 years

My Investing Objective

My objective in investing is to double my portfolio value every 5 years. Essentially, this means a 100% return on my investment every 5 years. What does this mean in practice?

https://myinvestingnotes.blogspot.com/2017/04/achieving-100-increase-in-portfolio.html

Posted by kcchongnz > 2018-11-09 23:40 | Report Abuse

Posted by qqq3 > Nov 9, 2018 10:51 AM | Report Abuse
me? I very transparent one.....I let u know every thing I do....

I have appended the share price movement of Jaks and Sendai in my article. You shouted sailang and margin for Jaks and Sendai from RM1.50 and RM1.20 respectively.

Refer to the charts, and tell us how you decided to buy them, at what price, and how you make decision to sell them, that you tripled your return of RM100000 the last couple of years.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-11-09 23:50 | Report Abuse

kc...so many up and down....every up and down, some body make money, somebody lose money.....with hind sight much easier, but some times, with some good sense, also can be easy when close to chongker......

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-11-10 00:12 | Report Abuse

kc....I think value investors read too many wall street books....In America, got corporate raiders....u buy a company 90% discounts and wait for corporate raiders to make GO......

but this is Malaysia....corporate raiders very rare....so, cannot pakai......

hstha

3,324 posts

Posted by hstha > 2018-11-10 01:45 | Report Abuse

From next Monday automotive semiconductor stocks are likely to perform better than stocks of semiconductor for smart phones due to a decreasing demand for smart phones.

Analysts are now very bullish about automotive semiconductor stocks. Read the below.
------
The company will continue to benefit from its exposure in the automotive segment which offers bright prospects, backed by rising global light vehicle sales and growth in semiconductor content in automobiles. Furthermore, MPI’s strong net cash position opens up opportunities for the group to acquire new technologies, particularly in the automotive space.
https://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/ptres/47789.jsp

1Q19 CNP is within our expectation but beat consensus’. No changes made to our earnings estimates. A better prospect is imminent backed by cleaner portfolio alongside better earnings quality from Automotive-centric business. MPI offers the best value proposition amongst all, in our view, following its unjustifiably cheap valuation, all against its improving earnings profile which warrants a 2-year CNP of 8%. Upgrade to OP with an unchanged TP of RM12.20.
https://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/ptres/47780.jsp

Meanwhile, higher contribution of sensors-related packaging business from the Automotive side will lend strength to prospects. All in, this should help the group to weather through the industry slowdown. Meanwhile, 2H19 should see meaningful contribution from its new high-margins products, i.e. MEMS, Copper clips and Flipchips (for application in Automotive sensors and Industrial segments), which should drive management’s previous assumption of 5% growth in USD terms. We made no changes to our 6% USD sales growth in FY19 for now.
https://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/ptres/47780.jsp

5,875 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2018-11-10 08:53 | Report Abuse

Can someone enlighten me what is chongker?

hstha

3,324 posts

Posted by hstha > 2018-11-10 09:47 | Report Abuse

USDMYR will be going up.

US crude oil posts longest losing streak in over 34 years, falling for 10th day.

Good for export-oriented stocks

hstha

3,324 posts

Posted by hstha > 2018-11-10 12:12 | Report Abuse

That's a red flag. Even the best traders in the world incurred some losses for some tradings.
Trading is not science. It is a game to raise your winning percentage with your educated guess.
You cannot predict 100% correct. A winning percentage of 90% is extremely good.

>dompeilee I'm 'jobless' because I dedicate all my time to studying the market & profiting from it....but unlike most of you who are employed(& hate your job I might add!) I LOVE studying business cycles, supply & demand & how greed & fear helps me make money from those who are slaves to their emotions.

The payoff? 449 trading sessions without a single loss since Jan 10th 2017! =)
https://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/cube/post/dompeilee.jsp

hstha

3,324 posts

Posted by hstha > 2018-11-10 12:15 | Report Abuse

Red flag! Beaware!

https://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/cube/post/dompeilee.jsp

hstha

3,324 posts

Posted by hstha > 2018-11-10 12:19 | Report Abuse

Just read news about some criminals. They first impressed their victims with a very good story, which was not real. Then, they deceived them and stole their money

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2018-11-10 16:30 | Report Abuse

I'm just stating a fact...you can't stand me just because I made money from KESM lately & you're stuck loads of $ at above $15 while cajoling everyone to buy for a target of $22? HAH!

(I can provide proof of every one of my 449 profitable sessions to anyone interested except that it's very cumbersome to copy my records,paste,repeat etc so I'll probably write my FIRST article showing the proof session by session as well as my thoughts & considerations before making the purchase & sales - there'll be many many many parts though, since there were so many trades!)

In fact, I'm one of the first to agree with chong that LUCK is a big factor in investing success...I managed to sell KESM near the recent rebound peak only because I was too busy to watch the stock market as I was booked(free room) in Genting & managed to win $668 of their money in two days & happily leaving a winner!

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2018-11-10 16:31 | Report Abuse

When I saw the market on Friday, it was already closed & KESM ended at a price of $12.34...If I was watching the market, I'll probably have sold below $12, probably $11.50ish...

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2018-11-10 16:36 | Report Abuse

And I'm pretty sure that those who get angry about others making a living sharing their experiences & methods of trading with other are the WORST traders of all eg hstha...Wahahaha!

In fact, I now recall that it was hstha who ridiculed my (free) advice to forumers to buy KESM's mother Sunright on the Singapore Exchange when it was less than 25 cents, based on Ben Graham principles...Poetic justice on hstha lol

stklearner

177 posts

Posted by stklearner > 2018-11-10 16:38 | Report Abuse

@hstha yes, too good to be true, well good to know got supertrader in I3, hihihi..